DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication/amendment filed on 08/06/2025.
Status of claims in the instant application:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
No claim has been canceled.
No new claim has been added.
Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 11, 14, 18 and 19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page [7] of Applicant’s remarks filed on 08/06/2025, with respect to rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered in view of claim amendments and are persuasive. Therefore the claim rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page [7] of Applicant’s remarks filed on 08/06/2025, with respect to rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered in view of claim amendments and are persuasive. Therefore the claim rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page [8-10] of Applicant’s remarks filed on 08/06/2025, with respect to rejection of claims under 35 USC 103, have been fully considered in view of claim amendments but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Furthermore, Applicant’s claim amendments have rendered new grounds for rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 recites, “The non- transitory computer readable storage medium of the method wherein the information received by from user includes information to acquire the target information.”
Examiner notes that the word “by” as highlighted above in claim 4 should be deleted.
Appropriate correction required.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) has been filed by the Applicant. Applicant is reminded that per “mpep § 2011: Duty of Disclosure, Candor, and Good Faith” Applicant has the responsibility to disclose information material to patentability. It’s noted that:
(a) A patent by its very nature is affected with a public interest. The public interest is best served, and the most effective patent examination occurs when, at the time an application is being examined, the Office is aware of and evaluates the teachings of all information material to patentability. Each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty of candor and good faith in dealing with the Office, which includes a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability as defined in this section. The duty to disclose information exists with respect to each pending claim until the claim is cancelled or withdrawn from consideration, or the application becomes abandoned. Information material to the patentability of a claim that is cancelled or withdrawn from consideration need not be submitted if the information is not material to the patentability of any claim remaining under consideration in the application. There is no duty to submit information which is not material to the patentability of any existing claim. The duty to disclose all information known to be material to patentability is deemed to be satisfied if all information known to be material to patentability of any claim issued in a patent was cited by the Office or submitted to the Office in the manner prescribed by §§ 1.97(b) -(d) and 1.98. However, no patent will be granted on an application in connection with which fraud on the Office was practiced or attempted or the duty of disclosure was violated through bad faith or intentional misconduct. The Office encourages applicants to carefully examine:
(1) Prior art cited in search reports of a foreign patent office in a counterpart application, and
(2) The closest information over which individuals associated with the filing or prosecution of a patent application believe any pending claim patentably defines, to make sure that any material information contained therein is disclosed to the Office.
(c) Individuals associated with the filing or prosecution of a patent application within the meaning of this section are:
(1) Each inventor named in the application;
(2) Each attorney or agent who prepares or prosecutes the application; and
(3) Every other person who is substantively involved in the preparation or prosecution of the application and who is associated with the inventor, the applicant, an assignee, or anyone to whom there is an obligation to assign the application.
(d) Individuals other than the attorney, agent or inventor may comply with this section by disclosing information to the attorney, agent, or inventor.
(e) In any continuation-in-part application, the duty under this section includes the duty to disclose to the Office all information known to the person to be material to patentability, as defined in paragraph (b) of this section, which became available between the filing date of the prior application and the national or PCT international filing date of the continuation-in-part application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No.: US 20180075130 A1 to Rodgers (hereinafter “Rodgers”) in view of Pub. No.: US 20150348057 A1 to PARPIA et al. (hereinafter “PARPIA”).
Regarding Claim 1. Rodgers discloses A non-transitory computer readable storage medium containing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the method (Rodgers, Para [0007]: … a non-transitory memory with instructions executed for configurable searching over databases, the non-transitory memory with instructions executed on a processor performing the actions including receiving, from a first user device, a first set of specifications for a searching category, each specification of the first set of specifications including a constraint pertaining to performing a type of data processing or availing a type of data following an initial search …), a method comprising:
receiving, information from a user (Rodgers, Para [0007, 0049-0050]: … receiving, from a first user device, a first set of specifications for a searching category, each specification of the first set of specifications including a constraint pertaining to performing a type of data processing or availing a type of data following an initial search …);
sending, a request for authorization to a device associated with one or more collection units (Rodgers, Para [0068]: … At step 905, a user may access the configurable search application having an add-on (e.g., one or more extensions) that permit the configurable search application to interact with the relational access server. At step 910, the configurable search application may access or receive from the user identification information … At step 915, the relational access server may initiate a user authorization and authentication process, such as using a JAAS module. In some embodiments, at step 920, the relational database may be accessed to determine if the user is authorized and authenticated to access the relational database …);
receiving, a grant of authorization from the device associated with the one or more collection units accessing stored information (Rodgers, Para [0068]: … at step 920, the relational database may be accessed to determine if the user is authorized and authenticated to access the relational database. Assuming so, at step 925, the relational access server authorizes and authenticates the user and returns a successful authorization and authentication results to the user computer system at step 930 …);
determining, what information among the stored information is target information (Rodgers, Para [0069]: … At step 940, input may be received from user that indicate a search input for the configurable search application. At step 965, the user may submit a query to the relational access server. The query may define one or more attribute values for which the user desires corresponding entries in the relational database to be returned. The user may be permitted to enter wildcards. In some embodiments, such as illustrated in FIG. 7, a pop-up window may be used by the user to select various entries in the relational database to be included on the configurable search. The request sent to the relational access server at step 965 may be in the form of an XML request …);
extracting, the target information from a database associated with the one or more collection units (Rodgers, Para [0070]: … At step 970, the relational access server may execute the initial script received from the user computer system. A connection to the relational database may be obtained from a connection pool. At step 980, the query may result in entries and associated attribute data being retrieved from multiple tables of the relational database …);
sending, the target information to a device associated with the user (Rodgers, Para [0070-0071]: … The relational access server may access one or more tables of the relational database to retrieve the data corresponding to the request received at block 855. A SQL query may be formatted by the relational access server to interrogate the relational database. Attribute data from tables of the relational database may be retrieved for the entries corresponding to the query received at step 980. In some embodiments, each attribute may be retrieved from a different table of the relational database. The retrieved entries and associated attribute data from multiple tables may be transmitted to the relational access server and formatted into an XML response by the relational access server at step 985. At step 990, the translated data, which includes one or more entries and attribute data corresponding to the metadata for which at least some cells of the configurable search were already formatted, may be output to the configurable search application …);
identifying, one or more variables associated with the target information (Rodgers, Para [0070-0071]: … A SQL query may be formatted by the relational access server to interrogate the relational database. Attribute data from tables of the relational database may be retrieved for the entries corresponding to the query received at step 980 …); and
However, Rodgers does not explicitly teach, but PARPIA from same or similar field of endeavor teaches:
“generating, a graphical analysis comparing a number of sales for a product to a product placement in a store using the one or more identified variable of the target information (PARPIA, FIG. 3-5, Para [0121-0124]: … FIGS. 4A-4C are diagrams illustrating a set of product attribute sales summaries and information associated with the set of product attribute sales summaries according to at least one example embodiment. The examples of FIGS. 4A-4C are merely examples and do not limit the scope of the claims. For example, product attribute sales summary configuration and/or content may vary, customer store segment count may vary, product attribute count may vary, graph configuration and/or content may vary, product sales prediction table configuration and/or content may vary, and/or the like … a merchant may sell various products by way of a chain of physical store locations. In such an example, the merchant desire to sell men's athletic shoes … a set of product attributes associated with such men's athletic shoes may be identified. For example, the set of product attributes may comprise a price point and a band type … FIG. 4A is a diagram illustrating a set of product attribute sales summaries according to at least one example embodiment. As can be seen, FIG. 4A depicts product attribute sales summary 400 and product attribute sales summary 420 … FIG. 4B is a diagram illustrating a chart associated with a set of product attribute sales summaries according to at least one example embodiment. The example of FIG. 4B corresponds with the product attribute sales summaries depicted in the example of FIG. 4A. As can be seen, chart 440 depicts sales of men's athletic shoes that are in the $40-$70 price range and of the specialty type with respect to a “Middle America” customer store segment, an “Older Affluent” customer store segment, a “Hispanic Middle Income” customer store segment, and an “Older Middle Income” customer store segment. The usefulness of the results may be evaluated visually by charting the results for specific combinations of product attributes with respect to the respective customer store segment, as shown in chart 440. As can be seen, chart 440 depicts the probabilities of sale for each customer store segment for men's athletic shoes that are associated with the indicated product attributes. As can be seen, the resulting probabilities are similar to the probabilities indicated by the category average. As such, a distinctiveness rating associated with the product attribute sales summary associated with chart 440 may be lower than another product attributes sales summary that yields more interesting and/or useful results …).”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of PARPIA into the teachings of Rodgers, because it discloses that, “In many circumstances, merchants, purchasers, and/or similar individuals or entities may desire to buy merchandise, stock inventory, purchase goods, and/or the like. In such circumstances, the merchants may desire to utilize actionable information such that the actions of the merchant reflect potential consumer demand, are based on historical information, are justifiable in terms of business forecasts, and/or the like. As such, it may be desirable to improve merchants' and/or purchasers' access to actionable information. Such actionable information may be derived from synthesized customer and market data, historical sales and other transaction data, future planning objectives, and/or the like, such that the process of buying is well aligned with localized customer preferences, financial objectives, merchandise assortment goals, and/or the like. In this manner, such access to actionable information during the buying process may facilitate improvement in customer satisfaction, customer experiences, etc., and may result in improved business outcomes, increased revenue generation, decreased overstocked inventory, and/or the like (PARPIA, Para [0077])”.
Regarding Claim 2. The combination of Rodgers-PARPIA discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, PARPIA further discloses, “the method further comprising:
generating, a graph of the graphical analysis (PARPIA, FIG. 3-5, Para [0121-0124]: … … blocks 340, 440, 540 of FIG. 3-5 and related descriptions ).”
The motivation to further combine PARPIA remains same as in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3. The combination of Rodgers-PARPIA discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 2, PARPIA further discloses, “the method further comprising:
sending, the graph to the user (PARPIA, Para [0072, 0018, 0043-0045, 0121]: … In at least one example embodiment, the customer store segment sales model comprises product rate of sale information and product sales volume information … In at least one example embodiment, each product attribute sales summary of the first set of product attribute sales summaries comprises rate of sale information and sales volume information … In at least one example embodiment, the determination of the customer store segment sales model comprises normalization of product attribute sales summary sales volume information to generate the product sales volume information of the customer store segment sales model … In at least one example embodiment, the apparatus causes display of information, the causation of display may comprise displaying the information on a display comprised by the apparatus, sending the information to a separate apparatus that comprises a display, and/or the like … FIGS. 4A-4C are diagrams illustrating a set of product attribute sales summaries and information associated with the set of product attribute sales summaries according to at least one example embodiment. The examples of FIGS. 4A-4C are merely examples and do not limit the scope of the claims. For example, product attribute sales summary configuration and/or content may vary, customer store segment count may vary, product attribute count may vary, graph configuration and/or content may vary, product sales prediction table configuration and/or content may vary, and/or the like. …).”
The motivation to further combine PARPIA remains same as in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4. The combination of Rodgers-PARPIA discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, Rodgers further discloses, “the method wherein the information received by the user includes information to acquire the target information (Rodgers, Para [0003]: … A first enablement includes a processor-based method for configurable searching over databases, the method including receiving, from a first user device, a first set of specifications for a searching category, each specification of the first set of specifications including a constraint pertaining to performing a type of data processing or availing a type of data following an initial search …).”
Regarding Claim 6. The combination of Rodgers-PARPIA discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, Rodgers further discloses, “the method wherein the one or more collection units are identified in the user information (Rodgers, Para [0003]: … A first enablement includes a processor-based method for configurable searching over databases, the method including receiving, from a first user device, a first set of specifications for a searching category, each specification of the first set of specifications including a constraint pertaining to performing a type of data processing or availing a type of data following an initial search. The first set of specifications identify: one or more locations in one or more databases …).”
Regarding Claim 8. The combination of Rodgers-PARPIA discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, Rodgers further discloses, “the method further comprising:
sending, a notification of the extracted target information to the device associated with the one or more collection units (Rodgers, Para [0039, 0104]: … configurable search application may be executed remotely. For instance, configurable search application may be presented via a web-based interface, such as a web browser, to user via user computer system 120 while execution of configurable search application is managed by a remote server. For instance, in such embodiments, configurable search application may be understood as a web or cloud service … once the services and resources are provisioned, a notification of the provided service may be sent to customers on client computing devices 1104, 1106 and/or 1108 by order provisioning module 1124 of cloud infrastructure system 1102 …).
Regarding Claim 11. This claim contains all the same or similar limitations as claim 1, and hence similarly rejected as claim 1.
**** Note: Rodgers also discloses he system (Rodgers: Abstract, FIG. 1-2)
Regarding Claim 12. This claim contains all the same or similar limitations as claim 2, and hence similarly rejected as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13. This claim contains all the same or similar limitations as claim 3, and hence similarly rejected as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14. This claim contains all the same or similar limitations as claim 4, and hence similarly rejected as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 16. This claim contains all the same or similar limitations as claim 6, and hence similarly rejected as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 18. This claim contains all the same or similar limitations as claim 8, and hence similarly rejected as claim 8.
Claims 5, 9, 10, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No.: US 20180075130 A1 to Rodgers (hereinafter “Rodgers”) in view of Pub. No.: US 20150348057 A1 to PARPIA et al. (hereinafter “PARPIA”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pub. No.: US 20130041779 A1 to Byrne (hereinafter “Byrne”).
Regarding Claim 5. The combination of Rodgers-PARPIA discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, however it does not explicitly teach but Byrne from same or similar field of endeavor teaches, “the method wherein the information to acquire the target information includes stock keeping units (Byrne, FIG. 1, Para [0008, 0026]: … The method comprises providing access to a computer interface for at least one supplier. Information is presented to the at least one supplier through the computer interface regarding activity of at least one stock keeping unit (SKU) offered by the at least one supplier on a retailer's website. The at least one supplier is enabled to directly modify at least one parameter associated with a presentation of the at least one SKU on the retailer's website …).”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byrne into the combined teachings of Rodgers-PARPIA, because it discloses that, “The act of enabling the at least one supplier to directly modify at least one parameter associated with a presentation of the at least one SKU may include enabling the at least one supplier to modify a plurality of parameters associated with a plurality of SKUs. Additionally, the method may include enabling the at least one supplier to upload the plurality of modified parameters to the retailer's website in a single upload-action (Byrne, Para [0012])”.
Regarding Claim 9. The combination of Rodgers-PARPIA discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, however it does not explicitly teach but Byrne from same or similar field of endeavor teaches, “the method further comprising:
receiving one or more suggestions to change secondary variables (Byrne, Para [0039]: … an option may be provided for the supplier or partner to include or modify various attributes associated with the SKU. For example, the type of material that the product is made from (e.g., leather, silk, stainless steel, aluminum), the size of the product, the color of the product and other such attributes that would indicate to the customer whether they had found a product that matched their desired criteria …).”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byrne into the combined teachings of Rodgers-PARPIA, because it discloses that, “The act of enabling the at least one supplier to directly modify at least one parameter associated with a presentation of the at least one SKU may include enabling the at least one supplier to modify a plurality of parameters associated with a plurality of SKUs. Additionally, the method may include enabling the at least one supplier to upload the plurality of modified parameters to the retailer's website in a single upload-action (Byrne, Para [0012])”.
Regarding Claim 10. The combination of Rodgers-PARPIA-Byrne discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 9, Byrne further discloses, “the method further comprising:
receiving, information concerning the effect after the change of the secondary variables (Byrne, Para [0027]: … the supplier may directly access one or more modification options associated with the presentation and offering of the product of SKU, as indicated at 104. Examples of such modifications are discussed in further detail below. If the supplier modifies certain parameters, as indicated at 106, they may then continue to monitor the product by reviewing updated data (i.e., return to act 102) …).”
The motivation to further combine Byrne remains same as in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 15. This claim contains all the same or similar limitations as claim 5, and hence similarly rejected as claim 5.
Regarding Claim 19. This claim contains all the same or similar limitations as claim 9, and hence similarly rejected as claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20. This claim contains all the same or similar limitations as claim 10, and hence similarly rejected as claim 10.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No.: US 20180075130 A1 to Rodgers (hereinafter “Rodgers”) in view of Pub. No.: US 20150348057 A1 to PARPIA et al. (hereinafter “PARPIA”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of over Pub. No.: US 20180189893 A1 to ELIAS (hereinafter “ELIAS”).
Regarding Claim 7. The combination of Rodgers-PARPIA discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 1, however it does not explicitly teach, but ELIAS from same or similar field of endeavor teaches, “the method wherein sending the request for authorization is generated automatically (ELIAS, Abstract, Para [0007]: … A system for managing objects, the system performing the steps of: at a first application: receiving user input identifying a user request to access the first application, the application facilitating creation of competition objects and notification of the competition objects to a social network; Retrieving a user identification for the user; The first application automatically generating a request for user access rights to the social network and transmitting the request to a social network platform for the social network using the user identification …).”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ELIAS into the combined teachings of Rodgers-PARPIA, because it discloses that, “Social network applications are increasing popular with subscribers checking their accounts regularly. Such social network applications provide an effective forum for subscribers with similar interests to share views and opinions and ideas (ELIAS, Para [0003])”.
Regarding Claim 17. This claim contains all the same pr similar limitations as claim 7, hence similarly rejected as claim 7.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150120378 A1; Arden: Arden discloses Methods and systems for acquiring, processing and tracking product consumption data acquired from a point of sale and standardizing the consumption data using financial transaction data are provided. The method includes acquiring member information, product information and purchase ticket information for a given purchase by a given member where the member includes an individual, a household, a group, a third party, or combinations thereof. Associating product content dimensions with products for at least two purchases, where the product content dimensions include quantitative or qualitative values of any of nutrients, calories, ingredients, chemicals, and combinations thereof. Generating a cumulative set of data points for a given product content dimension over a period of time or set of purchases. Fitting the data to trend equations where slopes can be used to determine consumption rates for a given member over a period of time or a set of purchases.
US 20140059649 A1; Hu et al.: Hu discloses apparatus, system and method for accessing internet webpage. The system includes a user terminal and a proxy server. The user terminal is configured to initiate an access request to the proxy server, the access request including URL information of a target webpage which carries an identifier of requiring security authentication, and receive and display target webpage information outputted from the proxy server. The proxy server is configured to receive the access request, perform security authentication on the URL information of the target webpage which carries the identifier of requiring security authentication according to pre-stored webpage security database information; if the security authentication is passed, obtain the target webpage information and output the target webpage information to the user terminal. By applying the present invention, network delay overload for accessing the internet webpage can be reduced, and user experience can be improved.
US 20150032546 A1; Calman et al.: Calman discloses systems, methods, and computer program products for determining and providing an offer to a customer based at least in part on product level data associated with a transaction. The system, method, and computer program product are configured to receive unstructured data from a customer account, wherein the unstructured data comprises product level data for a transaction; convert the unstructured data into structured data; determine a transaction at a financial institution corresponding to the structured data; determine an offer for a customer based on the product level data and the transaction; and provide the offer to the customer. Typically, product level data related to transactions is not available to financial institution. This disclosure describes a system and method for identifying and using product level data.
US 20020107861 A1; Clendinning et al.: Clendinning discloses A system and method for collecting and displaying information on a product at a website, and related method for storing a product's various identifiers, where the system comprises a database that stores a plurality of identifiers for each product and the relationships between the identifiers. The system recognizes the different identifiers that refer to the same product. The system accepts product information from a variety of sources, regardless of the product identifier used by the sources. The system then sends out the product information to users and to other servers. The information displayed at the website includes: (1) a general description of the product; (2) a numerical user rating of the product; (3) one or more user reviews of the product; (4) one or more industry reviews of the product; (5) one or more comparisons between the product and other similar items; (6) a list of one or more vendors that sell the product; (7) a list price of the product; (8) a price for the product at each of the vendors; (9) an indication of the availability of the product at each of the one or more vendors; (10) a profile on each of the one or more vendors, and (11) a rating and/or review for each of the one or more vendors. The website may further provide access to discussions regarding the product and related products. The website may further suggest complementary products that may be purchased along with the product of interest.
US 20140123316 A1; Leggette et al.: Leggette discloses A method for a dispersed storage (DS) processing module receiving, from a user device, a data access request and accessing hierarchical data access control information. The method continues with the DS processing module obtaining a logical memory access control file from the hierarchical data access control information and determining a data access request type of the request is within access rights of the user device. When the data access request type is within the access rights of the user device, the method continues with the DS processing module obtaining a data object access control file from the hierarchical data access control information. The method continues with the DS processing module determining, from the data object access control file, whether the data access request type is restricted. When the data access request type is not restricted, the method continues with the DS processing module processing the data access request.
US 6961712 B1; Perkowski: Perkowski discloses A consumer product information requesting (CPIR) enabling Servlet for execution on the server-side of an information network such as the Internet. The CPIR-enabling Servlet comprises a Universal Product Number (UPN) a uniquely associated with a particular consumer product on which an information search is to be carried out within a database management subsystem. One or more classes are loaded on a an Internet-enabled information server. When the consumer selects a CPIR-enabling Servlet tag embedded within the WWW and corresponding CPIR-enabling Servlet, a UPN-directed-search is automatically carried out within the database management subsystem, the a graphical user interface (GUI) is displayed within the Internet-enabled browser program used by the consumer, and the results from the UPN-directed search are displayed within the GUI in the form of a menu of categorized URLs pointing to consumer product related information resources published on the WWW, without disturbing the consumer's point of presence thereon. The CPIR-enabling Servlets can be used to build various types of consumer product information systems for operation on the WWW.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHABUB S AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/KAMBIZ ZAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2434