DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on February 23, 2026.
Claims 1, 7 and 12 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1 – 12 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on February 23, 2026, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent Application 17/979,252 and 18/488,148 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s statement of common ownership, file February 23, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 10 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by and claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon as set forth in the office action filed October 21, 2025.
Applicant's amendments to the claims, filed February 23, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Kim as set forth in the office action filed October 21, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 2 (WO2020045976A1).
As per claims 1 – 6 and 8, Kim 2 teaches:
A plurality of host materials (Abstract: “The present disclosure relates to a plurality of host materials comprising a first host material comprising a compound represented by formula 1, and a second host material comprising a compound represented by formula 2, and an organic electroluminescent device comprising the same.”)
Comprising a first host material comprising a compound represented by the following formula 1
(In [8], Kim 2 teaches that the second host material is represented by formula 2
, wherein HAr is a substituted or unsubstituted nitrogen-containing heteroaryl; L2 represents a single bond or a substituted or unsubstituted arylene and Ar2 represents a group represented by Formula (3)
, wherein R11 to R18 can be linked to an adjacent substituent to form a ring ([16 – 25]). A specific compound taught by Kim 2 is compound C-122
, which does not contain the extended conjugation on the dibenzofuran. However, the definitions for Formula 3 allow for further condensed rings, and Kim 2 teaches compounds such as compound C-95,
where there is an extended conjugation on a ring system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound C-122 above with an additional phenyl ring as shown in C-95. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed formula wherein Y represents O; one R1 represents (L1)d-Ar1, wherein L1 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene and Ar1 is a substituted 10-membered heteroaryl containing at least one nitrogen, namely a quinoxalinyl as required by claim 5, wherein the substituents are two unsubstituted C6 aryl groups and R2 and R3 are both hydrogen. The compound is represented by Formula 1-2 in claim 3.)
Comprising a second host material comprising a compound represented by the following formula 2
(In [8], Kim 2 teaches the first host material is represented by formula 1
. A particular compound within the scope of Formula 1 taught by Kim 2 is compound H-146
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X1 is -N=; Y1 is -O-; R61 represents an unsubstituted C6 aryl; R62 to R64 are hydrogen; L4 represents an unsubstituted C6 arylene; R65 and R66 both represent a substituted C6 aryl, wherein the substituents are an unsubstituted C6 aryl so that the groups represent an unsubstituted p-biphenyl group as required by claim 6. This compound reads on claimed Formula 2-1 in claim 4. This compound is the same as claimed compound 1H-3 in claim 8.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a multi-component host composition including modified compound C-122 and H-146, resulting in the claimed host composition based on the desire to predictably practice the invention of Kim 2 and based on the totality of the teachings of Kim 2, as Kim 2 teaches that any compound within the scope of Formula 1 can be combined with any compound within the scope of Formula 2.
As per claim 7, Kim 2 teaches that in addition to the quinoxalinyl group shown in the compounds above, the HAr group of Formula 2 may be a triazinyl group, as in compound C-218
. When the modified compound above is further modified to replace the quinoxalinyl group with a triazinyl group, the resulting compound is the same compound as compound C-68
in claim 7.
Kim 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of higher luminous efficiency and/or longer lifetime (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 9, Kim 2 teaches:
An organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and at least one light-emitting layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the at least one light-emitting layer comprises the plurality of host materials ([0178]: “The organic electroluminescent device according to the present disclosure may comprise an anode, a cathode, and at least one light-emitting layer between the anode and cathode, in which the light-emitting layer may comprise a compound represented by Formula 1 and a compound represented by Formula 2.”)
Kim 2 teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Kim 2 as Kim 2 demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 – 12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claims 10 – 12, the closest prior art is considered to be Moon (US20230165142A1). However, Applicant’s statement of common ownership and certified translation of both the Korean priority documents has rendered Moon ineligible as prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789