DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on April 21, 2026 has been entered. Claims 3, 11, and 15 have been canceled in the present application. Claims 1-2, 4, 12, and 21 have been amended in the present application. Claim 23 is new in the present application. Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-14, and 16-23 are pending in the present application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C 112(a) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed October 21, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 10 that Ford fails to teach curved reflection surfaces, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that the reflective surfaces that the reflective surfaces taught by Ford are flat, referring to Ford Figure 1A and Col. 4 lines 53-54 “zones 55 in the present embodiment are reflective, aspheric lens surfaces.” However, the rejection refers to Figures 2A and 2B and zones 155 which Ford teaches are not planar and thus curved “neither of the front or rear reflecting plates 130 and 140 of the lens 120 is planar (or substantially planar) and each of those plates has some zones 155” (Col. 6 lines 3-6). Ford further states that zones 155 are aspheric (Col. 5 line 62). Applicant also argues that the surfaces are flat since the surfaces are aspheric. However the term aspheric refers to a surface that is not perfectly spheric but rather has a shape represented by different conic sections such as a hyperbola, parabola, or ellipse. Since hyperbolic, parabolic, and elliptical surfaces are all curved surfaces, Ford teaches curved reflection surfaces. Thus applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 10 that Ford fails to teach only two reflection devices, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that Ford teaches a plurality of reflection surfaces rather than the claimed limitation of only two reflection surfaces. However, claims 1, 12, and 21 state “at least two reflection devices” which indicates the there may be two reflection devices, three reflection devices, or more. Thus the plurality of reflection devices taught by Ford satisfies this limitation since Ford teaches at least two reflection devices (Figure 2B zones 155). Thus Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and Examiner maintains the 102 rejection of claims 1, 12, and 21 as anticipated by Ford.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 11 that Lu fails to teach the limitation “wherein light passes through the outer portion and is not allowed through at least a portion of an inner portion formed by the outer portion of the optical aperture” of amended claims 1, 12, and 21, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues Lu fails to teach “wherein light passes through the outer portion and is not allowed through at least a portion of an inner portion formed by the outer portion of the optical aperture.” However, Lu teaches light passes through the outer portion (Column 6 lines 3-9 lens 101 defines outer portion of aperture 126) and is not allowed through at least a portion of an inner portion (Figure 1 disc-shaped light barrier 116, Column 6 lines 56-63) formed by the outer portion of the optical aperture (Figure 1 light barrier 116 is formed by outer portion of lens 101). Since lens 101 allows light through and defines aperture 126 (Column 6 lines 3-9), lens 101 is thus the outer portion of aperture 126. Furthermore, aperture 126 has a disc-shaped light barrier 116 that prevents light from entering the central portion of aperture (Column 6 lines 56-63, Column 8 lines 66-67 shield 116 functions to block unwanted incident light rays such as the light ray 162 from entering). Thus aperture 126 has an inner portion (light barrier 116) formed by the outer portion (Figure 1 lens 101 surrounds light barrier 116) that does not let light pass. Lens 101 and light barrier 116 also satisfy a “sparsely-filled optical aperture” since lens 101 only forms an opening around the circumference of aperture 126 and light barrier 116 fills and blocks the central portion of aperture 126. Therefore Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and Examiner maintains the rejections of claims 1, 12, and 21 in view of Lu.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on page that there is no reason to combine Ford and Lu, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Lu teaches this parabolic shape “for achieving a very small thickness for the camera” (Column 7 lines 41-42). Furthermore, using the parabolic shape taught by Lu would simplify the manufacture of the mirror compared to an aspheric surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging device of Ford with the parabolic reflector of Lu in order to achieve a very small thickness for the camera (Lu Column 7 lines 41-42) and to simplify the manufacture of the mirror surfaces. Thus Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and Examiner maintains combination of Ford in view of Lu for the 103 rejection of claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-14, 16-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 12, and 14 recite the limitation "the at least one reflection device" in the third line of second paragraph (Claim 1), third line of third paragraph (Claim 12), and lines 1-2 of claim 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore it is unclear whether the imaging sensor from this wording in the imaging sensor may be located after only one of the reflection devices. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret “the at least one reflection device” as “the at least two reflection devices” stated in the first lines of the paragraphs.
Claims 2, 4-10, 13, 16-20, and 22-23 inherit indefiniteness from claims 1 and 12.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 restates final limitation of claim 1 (“the imaging device has a thickness of less than 10 millimeters”) and thus fails to further limit claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 12-13, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Ford et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,898,749 – hereinafter referred to as “Ford”).
Regarding claim 1, Ford teaches an imaging device (Figure 2A lens 120), comprising:
a sparsely-filled optical aperture (Figure 2A ring aperture 125 extending around reflecting plate 130, Column 5 lines 34-54; reflection plate 130 with ring aperture 125 makes ring aperture 125 sparsely-filled), having a shape forming an outer portion of the optical aperture (Figure 2A ring aperture 125 forms the circular shape of the aperture), wherein light passes through the outer portion (Figure 2A ring aperture 125, Column 5 line 37 light enters through ring aperture 125) and is not allowed through at least a portion of an inner portion (Figure 2A light does not enter through reflection plate 130) formed by the outer portion of the optical aperture; and
imaging optics (Figure 2A reflecting plates 130 and 140, Column 4 lines 35-37), wherein the imaging optics comprise at least two reflection device (reflecting plates 130 and 140) optically located after the optical aperture (Figures 2A and B light rays pass through ring aperture 125 and strike reflecting plates 130 and 140, Column 5 lines 44-46) and at least one imaging sensor (Figure 2A imager 60) optically located after the at least one reflection device (Figures 2A and B light rays strike imager 60 through central aperture 150 after reflecting off reflecting plates 130 and 140, Column 4 lines 45-51),
wherein light entering the optical aperture (ring aperture 125) reflects from one of the at least two reflection devices (reflecting plate 140) onto another of the at least two reflection devices (reflecting plate 130) that reflects light onto the at least one imaging sensor (Figures 2A and B reflecting plate 140 reflects light one reflecting plate 130 which reflects light onto imager 60, Column 5 lines 44-51), wherein the another of the at least two reflection devices comprises a curved reflection device (Figure 2B zones 155 of reflecting plate 130 have curved surfaces, Column 5 lines 60-62 surfaces 155 of reflecting plate 130 are aspheric which is a curved surface, Column 6 lines 3-5 reflecting plate 130 is not planar);
wherein the imaging device has a thickness of less than 10 millimeters in thickness (Column 5 lines 40-41 the thickness of the imaging device is 5 mm).
Regarding claim 2, Ford teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Ford further teaches the another of the at least two reflection devices (Figure 2A reflecting plates 130) comprises a central reflector (Figure 2A reflecting plate 130 is a central reflector, Column 5 lines 44-47) and the one of the at least two reflection devices (reflecting plate 140) comprises at least one outer reflector (Figure 2A reflecting plate 140 is an outer reflector, Column 5 lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 5, Ford teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Ford further teaches the imaging device is less than 10 millimeters in thickness (Column 5 lines 40-41 the thickness of the imaging device is 5 mm).
Regarding claim 6, Ford teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Ford further teaches the shape comprises a circular shape (Figure 2A ring aperture 125 is circular in shape, Column 5 lines 28-31 lens 120 is circular).
Regarding claim 12, Ford teaches an information handling device (Column 1 line 35 wireless telephone with camera is an information handling device), comprising:
an imaging device (Figure 1A lens 20), comprising:
a sparsely-filled optical aperture (Figure 2A ring aperture 125 extending around reflecting plate 130, Column 5 lines 34-54; reflection plate 130 with ring aperture 125 makes ring aperture 125 sparsely-filled), having a shape forming an outer portion of the optical aperture (Figure 2A ring aperture 125 forms the circular shape of the aperture), wherein light passes through the outer portion (Figure 2A ring aperture 125, Column 5 line 37 light enters through ring aperture 125) and is not allowed through at least a portion of an inner portion (Figure 2A light does not enter through reflection plate 130) formed by the outer portion of the optical aperture; and
imaging optics (Figure 2A reflecting plates 130 and 140, Column 4 lines 35-37), wherein the imaging optics comprise at least two reflection device (reflecting plates 130 and 140) optically located after the optical aperture (Figures 2A and B light rays pass through ring aperture 125 and strike reflecting plates 130 and 140, Column 5 lines 44-46) and at least one imaging sensor (Figure 2A imager 60) optically located after the at least one reflection device (Figures 2A and B light rays strike imager 60 through central aperture 150 after reflecting off reflecting plates 130 and 140, Column 4 lines 45-51),
wherein light entering the optical aperture (ring aperture 125) reflects from one of the at least two reflection devices (reflecting plate 140) onto another of the at least two reflection devices (reflecting plate 130) that reflects light onto the at least one imaging sensor (Figures 2A and B reflecting plate 140 reflects light one reflecting plate 130 which reflects light onto imager 60, Column 5 lines 44-51), wherein the another of the at least two reflection devices comprises a curved reflection device (Figure 2B zones 155 of reflecting plate 130 have curved surfaces, Column 5 lines 60-62 surfaces 155 of reflecting plate 130 are aspheric which is a curved surface, Column 6 lines 3-5 reflecting plate 130 is not planar);
wherein the imaging device has a thickness of less than 10 millimeters in thickness (Column 5 lines 40-41 the thickness of the imaging device is 5 mm).
at least one memory device (Column 1 line 35 wireless telephone with camera is an information handling device) and has a processing device (Column 5 lines 34-35 lens 120 is similar to lens 20, Column 4 line 27) that can perform signal processing and thus will have memory); and
at least one processor (Column 4 lines 27-31 processing device has a microprocessor) operatively coupled to the imaging device and the at least one memory device (Column 4 lines 27-31 the microprocessor will be connected to lens 20 and memory in order to perform signal processing).
Regarding claim 13, Ford teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Ford further teaches a second imaging device (Figure 6B second lens 84, Column 10 lines 12-27 lens 120 can be combined with other conventional elements), wherein the second imaging device (Figure 6B second lens 84, Column 10 lines 28-37 the first lens 82 is largely identical to lens 20, Column 5 lines 34-35 lens 120 is similar to lens 20) comprises a second optical aperture (Figure 6B ring aperture 88, Column 10 line 38) having a shape forming an outer portion of the second optical aperture (Figure 6A ring aperture 88 has a circular shape) and located within the outer portion of the optical aperture (Figures 6A and B ring aperture 88 is located within ring aperture 98 which is the same as ring aperture 25, Column 10 lines 28-37) and wherein the second optical aperture (ring aperture 88) forms a second inner portion, wherein light passes through the outer portion of the second optical aperture and is not allowed through at least a portion of the second inner portion (Figure 6B light rays reflect off the front inner portion of lens 84, Column 10 lines 36-40).
Regarding claim 19, Ford teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Ford further teaches a second imaging device (Figure 6B second lens 84, Column 10 lines 12-27 lens 120 can be combined with other conventional elements) comprising a second optical aperture (Figure 6B ring aperture 88, Column 10 line 38) located within the inner portion formed by the outer portion of the optical aperture (Figures 6A and B ring aperture 88 is located within ring aperture 98, Column 10 lines 28-37 the first lens 82 is largely identical to lens 20, Column 5 lines 34-35 lens 120 is similar to lens 20).
Regarding claim 20, Ford teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Ford further teaches the information handling device is a handheld, portable information handling device (Column 1 line 35 a wireless telephone with a camera is a handheld, portable information handling device).
Regarding claim 21, Ford teaches a method (Figure 2A), comprising:
receiving light through a sparsely-filled optical aperture (Figure 2A ring aperture 125 is a sparsely-filled aperture, Column 5 lines 44-46 light enters lens 120 through ring aperture 125),
wherein the optical aperture is formed in a shape forming an outer portion of the optical aperture (Figure 2A ring aperture 125 forms the circular shape of the aperture),
wherein light passes through the outer portion (Figure 2A ring aperture 125, Column 5 line 44-46 light enters through ring aperture 125) and is not allowed through at least a portion of an inner portion (Figure 2A light does not enter through reflection plate 130) formed by the outer portion of the optical aperture; and
reflecting the light using one of at least two reflection devices (Figure 2A reflecting plate 140) optically located after the optical aperture (Figures 2A and B light rays pass through ring aperture 125 and strikes reflecting plate 130, Column 5 lines 44-49) onto another of the at least two reflection devices (reflecting plate 130) that reflects the light onto at least one imaging sensor (Figure 2A imager 60) optically located after the at least two reflection devices (Figures 2A and B reflecting plate 140 reflects light one reflecting plate 130 which reflects light onto imager 60, Column 5 lines 44-51), wherein the another of the at least two reflection devices (reflection plate 130) comprises a curved reflection device (Figure 2B zones 155 of reflecting plate 130 have curved surfaces, Column 5 lines 60-62 surfaces 155 of reflecting plate 130 are aspheric which is a curved surface, Column 6 lines 3-5 reflecting plate 130 is not planar);
wherein the imaging device has a thickness of less than 10 millimeters in thickness (Column 5 lines 40-41 the thickness of the imaging device is 5 mm).
Regarding claim 23, Ford teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Ford further teaches the inner portion (Figures 6A and B ring aperture 88 is located within ring aperture 98, Column 10 lines 28-37 the first lens 82 is largely identical to lens 20, Column 5 lines 34-35 lens 120 is similar to lens 20) comprises at least one additional aperture (Figure 6B ring aperture 88, Column 10 line 38) associated with a second imaging device (Figure 6B second lens 84, Column 10 lines 12-27 lens 120 can be combined with other conventional elements).
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12, 14, 16-18, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (U.S. Patent No. 10,133,043 – cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Lu teaches an imaging device (Figure 1 camera 100), comprising:
a sparsely-filled optical aperture (Figure 1 aperture 126, Column 6 lines 3-9 light is blocked from entering camera 100 except through aperture 126 defined by lens 101) having a shape forming an outer portion of the optical aperture (Column 6 lines 34-36 lens 101, which defines aperture 126, is doughnut shaped) wherein light passes through the outer portion (lens 101 defines outer portion of aperture 126) and is not allowed through at least a portion of an inner portion (Figure 1 disc-shaped light barrier 116, Column 6 lines 56-63) formed by the outer portion of the optical aperture (Figure 1 light barrier 116 is formed by outer portion of lens 101); and
imaging optics (Figure 1 primary mirror 111 and secondary mirror 112, Column 7 lines 27-60), wherein the imaging optics comprise at least two reflection devices (Figure 1 primary mirror 111 and secondary mirror 112, Column 7 lines 27-60) optically located after the optical aperture (Column 6 lines 7-12 light received from lens 101 is incident on mirror 111) and at least one imaging sensor (Figure 1 image sensor 195, Column 7 lines 27-60) optically located after the at least one reflection device (Column 7 lines 27-60 light from mirror 111 and 112 is reflected toward image sensor 195),
wherein light entering the optical aperture reflects from one of the at least one reflection device (Figure 1 mirror 111, Column 6 lines 7-12 light received from lens 101 reflects from mirror 111) onto another of the at least two reflection devices (mirror 112, Column 6 lines 7-12 light reflects from mirror 111 onto mirror 112) that reflects light onto the at least one imaging sensor (Column 7 lines 27-60 light from mirror 112 is reflected toward image sensor 195), wherein the another of the at least two reflection devices comprises a curved reflection device (Figure 1 secondary mirror 112, Column 8 lines 25-26 hyperbolic shape).;
wherein the imaging device has a thickness of less than 10 millimeters in thickness (5 mm thickness, Column 11 lines 29-49).
Regarding claim 2, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Lu further teaches the another of the at least two reflection devices comprises a central reflector (Figure 1 secondary mirror 112, Column 7 lines 27-60) and the one of the at least two reflection devices comprises at least outer reflector (Figure 1 primary mirror 111, Column 7 lines 27-60).
Regarding claim 4, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Lu further teaches the at least one of the at least two reflection devices comprises at least one lens (Figure 1 lens 105, Column 7 lines 27-60).
Regarding claim 5, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Lu further teaches the imaging device is less than 10 millimeters in thickness (5 mm thickness, Column 11 lines 29-49).
Regarding claim 6, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Lu further teaches the shape comprises a circular shape (Figure 1 first lens 101 of aperture 126, Column 6 lines 34-36 "doughnut shape" which is a circular shape).
Regarding claim 7, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Lu further teaches the imaging optics further comprises at least two lenses (Figure 1 lenses 105 and 107), wherein at least one of the at least two lenses comprises a movable objective lens (Figure 1 lens 105, Column 10 lines 1-32 lens 105 is moveable by mount 118) and wherein another of the at least two lenses comprises a field lens (Figure 1 lens 107, Column 10 lines 1-32).
Regarding claim 8, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 7. Lu further teaches the at least one imaging sensor (Figure 1 image sensor 195) is a movable imaging sensor (Column 10 lines 1-32 image sensor 195 may be moveable), and wherein movement of the movable objective lens (Figure 1 lens 105) and the movable imaging sensor (image sensor 195) provides a zoom feature for the imaging device (Column 10 lines 1-32).
Regarding claim 9, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 7. Lu further teaches at least one second movable objective lens (Figure 1 lens 106, Column 10 lines 1-32 lens 106 is moveable by mount 118).
Regarding claim 10, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 9. Lu further teaches the at least one imaging sensor (Figure 1 image sensor 195) is a stationary imaging sensor and wherein movement of the movable objective lens (Figure 1 lens 105) and the at least one second movable objective lens (Figure 1 lens 106) provides a zoom feature for the imaging device (Column 10 lines 26-29 lens 105 and 106 move while image sensor 195 is stationary).
Regarding claim 12, Lu teaches an information handling device (Column 4 lines 2-3), comprising:
an imaging device (Figure 1 camera 100), comprising:
a sparsely-filled optical aperture (Figure 1 aperture 126, Column 6 lines 3-9 light is blocked from entering camera 100 except through aperture 126 defined by lens 101) having a shape forming an outer portion of the optical aperture (Column 6 lines 34-36 lens 101, which defines aperture 126, is doughnut shaped) wherein light passes through the outer portion (lens 101 defines outer portion of aperture 126) and is not allowed through at least a portion of an inner portion (Figure 1 disc-shaped light barrier 116, Column 6 lines 56-63) formed by the outer portion of the optical aperture (Figure 1 light barrier 116 is formed by outer portion of lens 101); and
imaging optics (Figure 1 primary mirror 111 and secondary mirror 112, Column 7 lines 27-60), wherein the imaging optics comprise at least two reflection devices (Figure 1 primary mirror 111 and secondary mirror 112, Column 7 lines 27-60) optically located after the optical aperture (Column 6 lines 7-12 light received from lens 101 is incident on mirror 111) and at least one imaging sensor (Figure 1 image sensor 195, Column 7 lines 27-60) optically located after the at least one reflection device (Column 7 lines 27-60 light from mirror 111 and 112 is reflected toward image sensor 195),
wherein light entering the optical aperture reflects from one of the at least one reflection device (Figure 1 mirror 111, Column 6 lines 7-12 light received from lens 101 reflects from mirror 111) onto another of the at least two reflection devices (mirror 112, Column 6 lines 7-12 light reflects from mirror 111 onto mirror 112) that reflects light onto the at least one imaging sensor (Column 7 lines 27-60 light from mirror 112 is reflected toward image sensor 195), wherein the another of the at least two reflection devices comprises a curved reflection device (Figure 1 secondary mirror 112, Column 8 lines 25-26 hyperbolic shape);
wherein the imaging device has a thickness of less than 10 millimeters in thickness (5 mm thickness, Column 11 lines 29-49).
at least one memory device (Column 4 lines 2-3 camera is configured for smartphones which have memory and a processor); and
at least one processor operatively coupled to the imaging device and the at least one memory device (Column 4 lines 2-3 camera is configured for smartphones which have memory and a processor).
Regarding claim 14, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Lu further teaches the at least one reflection device comprises at least one of a central spherical reflector, a central semi- spherical reflector (Figure 1 primary mirror 112, Column 8 lines 25-26 hyperbolic shape is semi-spherical), and at least one lens (Figure 1 lens 105, Column 7 lines 27-60).
Regarding claim 16, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Lu further teaches the imaging optics further comprises at least two lenses (Figure 1 lenses 105 and 107), wherein at least one of the at least two lenses comprises a movable objective lens (Figure 1 lens 105, Column 10 lines 1-32 lens 105 is moveable by mount 118) and wherein another of the at least two lenses comprises a field lens (Figure 1 lens 107, Column 10 lines 1-32).
Regarding claim 17, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 16. Lu further teaches the at least one imaging sensor (Figure 1 image sensor 195) is a movable imaging sensor (Column 10 lines 1-32 image sensor 195 may be moveable), and wherein movement of the movable objective lens (Figure 1 lens 105) and the movable imaging sensor (image sensor 195) provides a zoom feature for the imaging device (Column 10 lines 1-32).
Regarding claim 18, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 16. Lu further teaches at least one second movable objective lens (Figure 1 lens 106, Column 10 lines 1-32); and wherein the at least one imaging sensor (Figure 1 image sensor 195) is a stationary imaging sensor and wherein movement of the movable objective lens (Figure 1 lens 105) and the at least one second movable objective lens (Figure 1 lens 106) provides a zoom feature for the imaging device (Column 10 lines 26-29 lens 105 and 106 move while image sensor 195 is stationary).
Regarding claim 20, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Lu further teaches the information handling device is a handheld, portable information handling device (Column 4 lines 2-3 camera is configured for smartphones which are handheld devices).
Regarding claim 21, Lu teaches a method (Figure 1, method described in Columns 6 -7), comprising:
receiving light through a sparsely-filled optical aperture (Figure 1 aperture 126, Column 6 lines 3-9 light is blocked from entering camera 100 except through aperture 126 defined by lens 101) wherein the optical aperture is formed in a shape forming an outer portion of the optical aperture (Column 6 lines 34-36 lens 101, which defines aperture 126, is doughnut shaped),
wherein light passes through the outer portion (lens 101 defines outer portion of aperture 126) and is not allowed through at least a portion of an inner portion (Figure 1 disc-shaped light barrier 116, Column 6 lines 56-63) formed by the outer portion of the optical aperture (Figure 1 light barrier 116 is formed by outer portion of lens 101); and
reflecting the light using one of at least two reflection devices (Figure 1 primary mirror 111, Column 7 lines 27-60) optically located after the optical aperture (Column 6 lines 7-12 light received from lens 101 is incident on mirror 111) onto another of the at least two reflection devices (mirror 112, Column 6 lines 7-12 light reflects from mirror 111 onto mirror 112) that reflects the light onto at least one imaging sensor (Figure 1 image sensor 195, Column 7 lines 27-60 light from mirror 112 is reflected toward image sensor 195) optically located after the at least two reflection devices (Column 7 lines 27-60 image sensor 195 is optically located after mirrors 111 and 112), wherein the another of the at least two reflection devices comprises a curved reflection device (Figure 1 secondary mirror 112, Column 8 lines 25-26 hyperbolic shape);
wherein the imaging device has a thickness of less than 10 millimeters in thickness (5 mm thickness, Column 11 lines 29-49).
Regarding claim 22, Lu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Lu further teaches the curved reflection device comprises a curved reflection device selected from the group consisting of: a spherical reflection device, a parabolic reflection device, or a hyperbolic reflection device (Figure 1 secondary mirror 112, Column 8 lines 25-26 hyperbolic shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ford (U.S. Patent No. 7,898,749) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Lu (U.S. Patent No. 10,133,043).
Regarding claim 22, Ford teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Ford further teaches the curved reflection device comprises an aspheric reflection device (Column 5 lines 60-62 surfaces 155 are aspheric). Ford fails to teach the curved reflection device comprises a curved reflection device selected from the group consisting of: a spherical reflection device, a parabolic reflection device, or a hyperbolic reflection device.
However, Lu teaches a compact telephoto lens camera (Figure 1) having a curved reflection device selected from the group consisting of: a spherical reflection device, a parabolic reflection device, or a hyperbolic reflection device (Figure 1 primary mirror 111, Column 7 lines 41-42). Lu teaches this parabolic shape “for achieving a very small thickness for the camera” (Column 7 lines 41-42). Furthermore, using the parabolic shape taught by Lu would simplify the manufacture of the mirror compared to an aspheric surface. In addition, parabolic and hyperbolic surfaces are both types of aspheric surfaces. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging device of Ford with the parabolic reflector of Lu in order to achieve a very small thickness for the camera (Lu Column 7 lines 41-42) and to simplify the manufacture of the mirror surfaces.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872