Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3,6-11 and 14-16 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,6,8-11,14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2015/0245280 A1; hereinafter "Zhou"), in view of in view of Laine et al. (US 2023/0262535 A1; hereinafter “Laine”), and further in view of ZHOU et al. (US 2022/0201596 A1; hereinafter “ZHOU”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a computing device ([0147]) comprising:
a wireless communications interface (FIG. 2 214) configured to connect to a network deployed by a plurality of access points ([0064] FIG. 1 APs 110 a,b,c,d);
a controller for the wireless communications interface, the controller configured to ([0057] FIG. 2 204 controller in the wireless communication system):
initiate an access point scan to identify nearby access points of the plurality of access points ([0009] one message indicating the identity of at least a second access point, [0093] FIG. 5 initiate a scan 525 for other APs),
during the access point scan: obtain a neighbor report, the neighbor report defining a subset of the plurality of access points and an operating channel for each access point in the subset ([0009] a wireless communications device updating a neighbor report (as a neighbor list) which has the information received from an AP and operating channel; [0054], [0120]);
select a channel to scan and identify a plurality of expected access points operating on the selected channel based on the neighbor report ([0139] discloses that a neighbor list includes information regarding a plurality of other neighboring APs, [0128] the next candidate channel is scanned for available APs, [0138] identifying available access points based on the scan);
initiate a channel scan to detect the plurality of expected access points on
the selected channel ([0128] discloses scanning a candidate channel for available APs, [0129] continuing the scan across channels to detect an available AP, [0138] initiating a scan and identifying available access points based on the detected movement); and
connect to a target access point selected based on the access point scan (FIG. 9 915,940,950).
However, Zhou does not teach end the channel scan prior to expiry of a default scan time upon determining that every access point of the plurality of expected access points has been detected; wherein the controller is configured to, in response to receiving a first response from a first expected access point of the plurality of expected access points, initiate an active channel scan for a remainder of the plurality of expected access points.
In an analogous art, Laine teaches end the channel scan prior to expiry of a default scan time upon determining that every access point of the plurality of expected access points has been detected ([0061] discloses that a full scan (FIG. 4 step 406) includes scanning all detectable APs of the wireless network, thereby defining a default scan scope, and [0071], [0073] disclose performing a prioritized scan (FIG. 4 step 412) of APs in a prioritized list and not scanning other APs of the network, thereby terminating the scan before completion of the full scan upon scanning the prioritized plurality of expected access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify APs as taught by Laine within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference with radar systems that operate on the same channels to enhance system efficiency (Laine [0020]).
However, the combination of Zhou and Laine does not teach wherein the controller is configured to, in response to receiving a first response from a first expected access point of the plurality of expected access points, initiate an active channel scan for a remainder of the plurality of expected access points.
In an analogous art, ZHOU teaches wherein the controller (FIG. 10A computing component 1000; [0065] a controller) is configured to, in response to receiving a first response from a first expected access point of the plurality of expected access points, initiate an active channel scan for a remainder of the plurality of expected access points ([0081]-[0083] disclose receiving RNR information identifying neighboring APs by BSSID and channel information, thereby identifying expected APs for subsequent scanning, [0085] discloses subsequently initiating a second off-channel scanning process, [0020] discloses active BSSID scanning for APs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify APs as taught by ZHOU within the system of Zhou and Laine. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce a number of channels to scan, thereby improving efficiency of the overall system (ZHOU [0020]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhou, Laine and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: determine, based on the neighbor report, a channel list of the operating channels for the access points in the subset ([0016] the AP can scan a channel to determine which APs are also present on the channel, [0041] The channel list is determined with an original scanning in 2.4 and 5 GHz radio, and an additional 6 GHz radio scanning); and
select the channel to scan from the channel list ([0043] FIG. 2 block 255, the AP selects a channel from 6 GHz scan candidate table 430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify APs as taught by ZHOU within the system of Zhou and Laine. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce a number of channels to scan, thereby improving efficiency of the overall system (ZHOU [0020]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhou, Laine and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches wherein the controller is configured to initiate the channel scan for each operating channel in the channel list ([0079] processor is to initiate a channel scanning, and the channel list may be determined with an original scanning in 2.4 and 5 GHz radio; [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify APs as taught by ZHOU within the system of Zhou and Laine. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce a number of channels to scan, thereby improving efficiency of the overall system (ZHOU [0020]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhou, Laine and ZHOU, specifically Laine teaches wherein the channel scan comprises a dynamic frequency selection scan ([0062] devices use dynamic frequency selection (DFS) to scan available channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a dynamic frequency selection as taught by Laine within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference with radar systems that operate on the same channels to enhance system efficiency (Laine [0020]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhou, Laine and ZHOU, specifically Zhou teaches wherein the controller is configured to obtain the neighbor report from a home access point to which the computing device is connected ([0009] a wireless communications device updating a neighbor report (as a neighbor list) which has the information received from an AP; [0054], [0035] a device (STA) connects to an AP (FIG. 1 110b) to obtain general connectivity to the Internet).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches a method comprising ([0009]):
initiating an access point scan to identify nearby access points of a plurality of access points ([0009] one message indicating the identity of at least a second access point, [0093] FIG. 5 initiate a scan 525 for other APs):
during the access point scan:
obtaining a neighbor report from nearby computing devices. the neighbor report defining a subset of the plurality of access points and an operating channel for each access point in the subset ([0009] a wireless communications device updating a neighbor report (as a neighbor list) which has the information received from an AP and operating channel; [0054], [0120]);
selecting a channel to scan and identify a plurality of expected access points operating on the selected channel based on the neighbor report ([0139] discloses that a neighbor list includes information regarding a plurality of other neighboring APs, [0128] the next candidate channel is scanned for available APs, [0138] identifying available access points based on the scan);
initiating a channel scan to detect the plurality of expected access point on the selected channel ([0129] FIG. 9 scan 900 proceeds to block 935 and the next candidate channel is scanned for an available OB AP 740, [0138] initiating a scan for the desired AP based on the detected movement));
connecting to a target access point selected based on the access point scan (FIG. 9 915,940,950).
However, Zhou does not teach end the channel scan prior to expiry of a default scan time upon determining that every access point of the plurality of expected access points has been detected; in response to receiving a first response from a first expected access point of the plurality of expected access points, initiating an active channel scan for a remainder of the plurality of expected access points.
In an analogous art, Laine teaches end the channel scan prior to expiry of a default scan time upon determining that every access point of the plurality of expected access points has been detected ([0061] discloses that a full scan (FIG. 4 step 406) includes scanning all detectable APs of the wireless network, thereby defining a default scan scope, and [0071], [0073] disclose performing a prioritized scan (FIG. 4 step 412) of APs in a prioritized list and not scanning other APs of the network, thereby terminating the scan before completion of the full scan upon scanning the prioritized plurality of expected access points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify APs as taught by Laine within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference with radar systems that operate on the same channels to enhance system efficiency (Laine [0020]).
However, the combination of Zhou and Laine does not teach in response to receiving a first response from a first expected access point of the plurality of expected access points, initiating an active channel scan for a remainder of the plurality of expected access points.
In an analogous art, ZHOU teaches in response to receiving a first response from a first expected access point of the plurality of expected access points, initiating an active channel scan for a remainder of the plurality of expected access points ([0081]-[0083] disclose receiving RNR information identifying neighboring APs by BSSID and channel information, thereby identifying expected APs for subsequent scanning, [0085] discloses subsequently initiating a second off-channel scanning process, [0020] discloses active BSSID scanning for APs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify APs as taught by ZHOU within the system of Zhou and Laine. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce a number of channels to scan, thereby improving efficiency of the overall system (ZHOU [0020]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhou, Laine and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches determining, based on the neighbor report, a channel list of the operating channels for the access points in the subset ([0016] the AP can scan a channel to determine which APs are also present on the channel, [0041] The channel list is determined with an original scanning in 2.4 and 5 GHz radio, and an additional 6 GHz radio scanning); and
selecting the channel to scan from the channel list ([0043] FIG. 2 block 255, the AP selects a channel from 6 GHz scan candidate table 430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify APs as taught by ZHOU within the system of Zhou and Laine. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce a number of channels to scan, thereby improving efficiency of the overall system (ZHOU [0020]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhou, Laine and ZHOU, specifically ZHOU teaches initiating the channel scan for each operating channel in the channel list ([0079] processor is to initiate a channel scanning, and the channel list may be determined with an original scanning in 2.4 and 5 GHz radio; [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify APs as taught by ZHOU within the system of Zhou and Laine. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce a number of channels to scan, thereby improving efficiency of the overall system (ZHOU [0020]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhou and Laine, specifically Laine teaches wherein the channel scan comprises a dynamic frequency selection scan ([0062] devices use dynamic frequency selection (DFS) to scan available channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a dynamic frequency selection as taught by Laine within the parameter of Zhou. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference with radar systems that operate on the same channels to enhance system efficiency (Laine [0020]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhou and Laine, specifically Zhou teaches further comprising obtaining the neighbor report from a home access point to which the computing device is connected ([0009] a wireless communications device updating a neighbor report (as a neighbor list) which has the information received from an AP; [0054], [0035] a device (STA) connects to an AP to obtain general connectivity to the Internet).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, in view of Laine, in view of ZHOU, and further in view of Segev et al. (US 2020/0137597 A1; hereinafter “Segev”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhou, Laine and ZHOU does not teach wherein, after ending the channel scan, the controller is configured to return to a home access point to complete buffered incoming and outgoing transmissions.
In an analogous art, Segev teaches wherein, after ending the channel scan, the controller is configured to return to a home access point to complete buffered incoming and outgoing transmissions ([0096] discloses that the device returns to the same channel at the same AP to perform input and output transmissions with buffering, thereby corresponding to returning a home access point to complete buffered incoming and outgoing transmissions, [0030] device 102 can be a main AP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a transmission time as taught by Segev within the parameter of Zhou, Laine and ZHOU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce a duration of a wireless scan procedure, thereby improving system efficiency (Segev [0078]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhou, Laine, ZHOU and Segev, specifically Segev teaches after ending the channel scan, returning to a home access point to complete buffered incoming and outgoing transmissions ([0096] discloses that the device returns to the same channel at the same AP to perform input and output transmissions with buffering, thereby corresponding to returning a home access point to complete buffered incoming and outgoing transmissions, [0030] device 102 can be a main AP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a transmission time as taught by Segev within the parameter of Zhou, Laine and ZHOU. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce a duration of a wireless scan procedure, thereby improving system efficiency (Segev [0078]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2019/0273545 A1 (XING) discloses an 802.11 network-based CSI (Channel State Information) obtaining method and apparatus.
US 2021/0185597 A1 (CHITRAKAR et al.) discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: Primary Connectivity Radio (PCR) circuitry.
US 2024/0172099 A1 (Gan et al.) discloses an information indication method, including generating a first frame.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413