DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the crosspoint switch and photovoltaic array must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. The drawings are objected to because numerous sheets are numbered with the same number instead of consecutive numbers, e.g. “Fig.1” is used for three unique sheets of the invention, numerous reference characters are repeated for different elements in the drawings, e.g. reference character “128” is used to identify a communication module, other module, and charge pump manager in the three distinct images labeled “Fig.1”, and there is a view that does not include a number. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Examiner respectfully suggests the specification is reviewed and corrections are made after correction to the drawings, to align the descriptions provided in the specification with the new drawings. Specification The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Numerous reference characters are repeated for different elements in the drawings due to the specification including descriptions of three different figure sets with repeating reference characters, e.g. reference character “128” is used to identify a “ communication module ” in paragraph ¶0066 when it is further used to identify an “ other module ” in paragraph ¶0118. The brief description of the drawings identifies 11 unique figures however applicant appears to have submitted 22 unique figures. Paragraph ¶0131 identifies a Fig.11 however there is no drawing labeled Fig.11. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections Claim s 4, 10, & 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4, lines 2 should recite : a distinctive electronic characteristic “ that ” is determined. Claim 10, line 7 should recite: “the power control circuitry based on the” Claim 12, line 4 should recite: electrical characteristics “of the” plurality of power pack types. Appropriate correction is required. Double Patenting The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer . Claim s 1-9, 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/075402 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as shown in the table below: Instant Application 17/976,674 Copending Application 18/075402 1. a system for energy management, comprising: a plurality of power packs that include one or more supercapacitors and power control circuitry; an energy control system comprising a processor coupled to a memory, the processor configured to control a flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using the power control circuitry and based on data from a charging database ; and a display interface configured to display a status of the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs. 1. An energy storage unit for powering a device, comprising: a plurality of power packs comprising supercapacitors coupled together in series or parallel, and connected with charging/discharging hardware; an energy control system comprising a processor in communication with a memory and in communication with the charging/discharging hardware to control charging and discharging of each of the plurality of power packs ; an energy control system comprises a dynamic module adapted to anticipate power demand changes during the operation of the vehicle and in response makes proactive adjustments to the state of the energy storage unit, and wherein the processor employs data from a charging database , the energy control system and the dynamic module and the associated memory to direct the discharging of the plurality of power packs to power a device; and a display interface in communication with the processor and configured to display a status related to the charging or discharging of the plurality of power packs. 2. The system of claim 1, wherein the energy control system is part of a vehicle ; and wherein the energy control system is configured to anticipate power demand changes during operation of the vehicle and proactively adjust the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs in response to the anticipated power demand changes. 1. … an energy control system comprises a dynamic module adapted to anticipate power demand changes during the operation of the vehicle and in response makes proactive adjustments to the state of the energy storage unit, … 3. The system of claim 1, wherein the power control circuitry includes a crosspoint switch that is configured to direct the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs to use a first power pack of the plurality of power packs without using a second power pack of the plurality of power packs. 2. The energy storage unit of claim 1, wherein the charging/discharging hardware comprises a crosspoint switch to receive or provide charge individually to one or more power packs independent of the charging or discharging of the other power packs. 4. The system of claim 1, w herein the system has a distinctive electronic characteristic that is determined by the power control circuitry, wherein comparison of the distinctive electronic characteristic with a predetermined value is configured to verify that the system is or authorized 3. The system of claim 1, wherein the energy storage unit has a distinctive electronic characteristic is determined by the charging/discharging hardware in cooperation with a security module associated with the energy control system, wherein the determined distinctive electronic characteristic is compared with a predetermined value to verify that the energy storage unit is either authentic or authorized for use with the device. 5. The system of claim 1, further comprising: a photovoltaic array coupled to the plurality of power packs, wherein the photovoltaic array comprises a plurality of photovoltaic cells that are configured to supply electric charge to the plurality of power packs. 4. A system for energy management of a battery pack of an electric vehicle, the system comprising: a plurality of supercapacitor power packs coupled together in series and/or in parallel; a photovoltaic array communicatively coupled with the plurality of supercapacitor power packs, wherein the photovoltaic array comprises a plurality of cells interconnected to each other to supply electric charge to the plurality of supercapacitor power packs ; a processor coupled to the plurality of supercapacitor power packs to perform charging and/or discharging of each of the plurality of supercapacitor power packs; a memory unit communicatively coupled to the processor via a network interface, wherein the memory unit comprises a charge management database to store data related to a charging requirement for the plurality of supercapacitor power pack, charge cycle of each of the plurality of supercapacitor power packs with respect to the consumption of electric charge; an energy control system communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the energy control system comprises a plurality of modules to perform charging and/or discharging of the plurality of supercapacitor power packs according to instructions received from the processor; and a display interface integrated within the apparatus and coupled to the processor and configured to continuously display a status of charging and/or discharging of the plurality of supercapacitor power packs. 6. The system of claim 1, wherein the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs is configured to charge the plurality of power packs . 1. … charging or discharging of the plurality of power packs. 7. The system of claim 1, wherein the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs is configured to discharge the plurality of power packs to power one or more components of a vehicle 1. … charging or discharging of the plurality of power packs. 8. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more supercapacitors are coupled together in series. 1. …supercapacitors coupled together in series or parallel … 9. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more supercapacitors are coupled together in parallel. 1. …supercapacitors coupled together in series or parallel … 14. A method of energy management, the method comprising: receiving data from a charging database; controlling a flow of power associated with a plurality of power packs using power control circuitry and based on the data from the charging database, wherein the plurality of power packs include one or more supercapacitors and the power control circuitry; and displaying a status of the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using a display interface. Claim 1 15. The method of claim 14, further comprising: anticipating power demand changes during operation of a vehicle; and proactively adjusting the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs in response to the anticipated power demand changes. Claim 1 16. The method of claim 14, wherein the power control circuitry includes a crosspoint switch that is configured to direct the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs to use a first power pack of the plurality of power packs without using a second power pack of the plurality of power packs. Claims 1 & 2 This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10, 14, 17, 19, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora (USPGPN 2017/0033408 A1 – published Feb. 2, 2017), in view of Johnsen et al. (USPGPN 2014/0375272 A1 – published Dec. 25, 2014) . Regarding Claim 1 , O’Hora (Figs. 1, 2, 3, & 8) teaches a system for energy management, comprising: a plurality of power packs (106a -106c ) that include one or more supercapacitors (214; ¶0037: super capacitors) and power control circuitry (104a & 210 ) ; an energy control system (118) comprising a processor (810) coupled to a memory (¶0064: retrieving stored parameters indicates presence of memory) , the processor configured to control a flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using the power control circuitry (¶0064: power subsystem 118 adjusts the output parameters based on the load need) and based on data from a charging database (¶0064: stored parameters) . O’Hora fails to explicitly teach a display interface configured to display a status of the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs. However, Johnsen teaches the use of a display to show the status of an energy storage apparatus and indicate the function (¶0051: control interface has info display and function mode indicator). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by O’ H ora with Johnsen to include a display interface configured to display a status of the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs. Doing so allows an operator to visually identify the state of the plurality of power packs. Regarding Claim 4 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the system has a distinctive electronic characteristic that is determined by the power control circuitry, wherein comparison of the distinctive electronic characteristic with a predetermined value is configured to verify that the system is or authorized (¶0034: power subsystem communicates with SECs to authenticate and enable/authorize them; ¶0050: authentication module performs algorithms to determine authorization of the module) . Regarding Claim 5 , O’Hora fails to explicitly teach further teaches a photovoltaic array coupled to the plurality of power packs, wherein the photovoltaic array comprises a plurality of photovoltaic cells that are configured to supply electric charge to the plurality of power packs. However, Johnsen further teaches that use of a solar photovoltaic panel array (Fig.7B, 170; ¶0043: electrical generation devices 170 may be a solar photovoltaic panel array, an array indicates a plurality of cells) to recharge energy storage devices is common in the art (¶0080: electrical generation devices input energy to the energy storage devices). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by O’Hora with Johnsen to include a photovoltaic array which is coupled to the power packs to supply electric charge to the power packs. Doing so allows the power packs to be recharged with solar power if a grid connection or other energy source is unavailable. Regarding Claim 6 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs is configured to charge the plurality of power packs (¶0045: battery subsystems in the SEC may be charged) . Regarding Claim 7 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs is configured to discharge the plurality of power packs to power one or more components of a vehicle ( ¶0034: power from the system is provided to a load, which may be an electric vehicle) . Regarding Claim 10 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the plurality of power packs also include one or more electrochemical batteries in addition to the one or more supercapacitors (¶0037: battery subsystems may include battery cells in addition to super capacitors) , and wherein the processor is configured to control the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using the power control circuitry and based on the one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more electrochemical batteries and the one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more supercapacitors (¶0041: electrical characteristics can be considered when governing operations of the charging circuit; ¶0064 processor 810 can dynamically adjust the output of the system) . O’Hora , in view of Johnsen, teaches the claimed invention except that the a submodule processor references data from a charging database (¶0041: microcontroller of submodule 102 uses a serial number to identify characteristics of the battery cells 214) to identif y one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more electrochemical batteries and one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more supercapacitors instead of the central processor 810 referencing the charging database to identify electrical characteristics. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have processor 810 reference data from the charging database to identify electrical characteristics of the battery cells instead of the submodule processor , since applicant has not disclosed that using the system processor to determine the electrical characteristics solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the system processor identifying electrical characteristics instead of submodule processors performing the identification . Doing so would reduce the processing burden of the submodule processor and memory size of the submodule processing system. Regarding Claim 13 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the processor is configured to control the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using the power control circuitry and based on the charge statuses of the plurality of power packs (¶0067: smart power system 108 monitors charge level and takes SEC 106a offline in response to voltage sag/charge level) . O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, teaches the claimed invention except that the a submodule processor references data from a charging database (¶0041: microcontroller of submodule 102 uses a serial number to identify characteristics of the battery cells 214) to identif y one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more electrochemical batteries and one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more supercapacitors instead of the central processor 810 referencing the charging database to identify electrical characteristics. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have processor 810 reference data from the charging database to identify electrical characteristics of the battery cells instead of the submodule processor , since applicant has not disclosed that using the system processor to determine the electrical characteristics solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the system processor identifying electrical characteristics instead of submodule processors performing the identification . Doing so would reduce the processing burden of the submodule processor and memory size of the submodule processing system. Regarding Claims 14 & 20 , O’Hora (Figs. 1, 2, 3, & 8) teaches a method of energy management and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program (¶0099) , wherein the program is executable by a processor to perform a method of energy management, the method comprising: receiving data from a charging database (¶0064: processor retrieves stored parameters) ; controlling a flow of power associated with a plurality of power packs (106a-106c) using power control circuitry and based on the data from the charging database (¶0064: power subsystem 118 adjusts the output parameters based on the load need) , wherein the plurality of power packs include one or more supercapacitors (214; ¶0037: super capacitors) and the power control circuitry (104a & 210) ; and O’Hora fails to explicitly teach displaying a status of the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using a display interface. However, Johnsen teaches the use of a display to show the status of an energy storage apparatus and indicate the function (¶0051: control interface has info display and function mode indicator). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by O’Hora with Johnsen to include a display interface configured to display a status of the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs. Doing so allows an operator to visually identify the state of the plurality of power packs. Regarding Claim 17 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the plurality of power packs also include one or more electrochemical batteries in addition to the one or more supercapacitors (¶0037: battery subsystems may include battery cells in addition to super capacitors) , and wherein controlling the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using power control circuitry and based on the data from the charging database includes controlling the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using the power control circuitry and based on the one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more electrochemical batteries and the one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more supercapacitors (¶0041: electrical characteristics can be considered when governing operations of the charging circuit; ¶0064 processor 810 can dynamically adjust the output of the system) . O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, teaches the claimed invention except that the a submodule processor references data from a charging database (¶0041: microcontroller of submodule 102 uses a serial number to identify characteristics of the battery cells 214) to identif y one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more electrochemical batteries and one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more supercapacitors instead of the central processor 810 referencing the charging database to identify electrical characteristics. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have processor 810 reference data from the charging database to identify electrical characteristics of the battery cells instead of the submodule processor , since applicant has not disclosed that using the system processor to determine the electrical characteristics solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the system processor identifying electrical characteristics instead of submodule processors performing the identification . Doing so would reduce the processing burden of the submodule processor and memory size of the submodule processing system. Regarding Claim 19 , O’Hora further teaches wherein controlling the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using power control circuitry and based on the data from the charging database includes controlling the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using the power control circuitry and based on the charge statuses of the plurality of power packs (¶0067: smart power system 108 monitors charge level and takes SEC 106a offline in response to voltage sag/charge level) . O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, teaches the claimed invention except that the a submodule processor references data from a charging database (¶0041: microcontroller of submodule 102 uses a serial number to identify characteristics of the battery cells 214) to identif y one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more electrochemical batteries and one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more supercapacitors instead of the central processor 810 referencing the charging database to identify electrical characteristics. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have processor 810 reference data from the charging database to identify electrical characteristics of the battery cells instead of the submodule processor , since applicant has not disclosed that using the system processor to determine the electrical characteristics solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the system processor identifying electrical characteristics instead of submodule processors performing the identification . Doing so would reduce the processing burden of the submodule processor and memory size of the submodule processing system. Claim(s) 2, 12, 15, & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, as applied to claim s 1 & 14 above, and further in view of Bhavaraju et al. (USPGPN 2014/0084817 A1 – published Mar. 27, 2014) . Regarding Claim 2 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the energy control system is part of a vehicle (¶0030: electric vehicles). O’Hora fails to explicitly teach wherein the energy control system is configured to anticipate power demand changes during operation of the vehicle and proactively adjust the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs in response to the anticipated power demand changes. However, Bhavaraju teaches an energy management method which teaches that it is common for an energy system to monitor a load and estimate the voltage or current required, and control the energy system in response to the estimated power needs of the load (¶0033: shuttle 26 may monitor short or long-term energy demand, estimate a static or changing voltage or current, and direct the flow of energy in response). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, with Bhavaraju to have the energy control system anticipate power demand changes and proactively adjust the flow of power in response. Doing so allows the system to ensure adequate power and energy for the load, prolong useful life of the energy storage device, and minimize voltage transients, as evidenced by Bhavaraju (¶0033). Regarding Claim 12 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the plurality of power packs include a plurality of power pack types including one or more electrochemical batteries and the one or more supercapacitors (¶0037: battery subsystems may include battery cells in addition to super capacitors). O’Hora fails to explicitly disclose wherein the data from the charging database identifies one or more electrical characteristics of the plurality of power pack types, and wherein the processor is configured to control a switch to connect the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs to a first power pack type of the plurality of power pack types and disconnect the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs from a second power pack type of the plurality of power pack types. Moreover, Bhavaraju (Fig. 4) teaches the use of switches (38, 40, & 42) in a power supply system where the flow of power associated with a first power pack type (30) is connected while a flow of power associated with a second power pack type (28) is disconnected . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, with Bhavaraju to use switches to connect a first power pack type while disconnecting a second power pack type based on the . Doing so may allow for the system to provide a lower power for a longer duration, as evidenced by Bhavaraju (¶0035). Moreover, O’Hora, in view of Johnsen and Bhavaraju, teaches the claimed invention except that the a submodule processor references data from a charging database (¶0041: microcontroller of submodule 102 uses a serial number to identify characteristics of the battery cells 214) to identif y one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more electrochemical batteries and one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more supercapacitors instead of the central processor 810 referencing the charging database to identify electrical characteristics. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have processor 810 reference data from the charging database to identify electrical characteristics of the battery cells instead of the submodule processor , since applicant has not disclosed that using the system processor to determine the electrical characteristics solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the system processor identifying electrical characteristics instead of submodule processors performing the identification . Doing so would reduce the processing burden of the submodule processor and memory size of the submodule processing system. Regarding Claim 15 , O’Hora fails to explicitly teach anticipating power demand changes during operation of a vehicle; and proactively adjusting the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs in response to the anticipated power demand changes. However, Bhavaraju teaches an energy management method which teaches that it is common for an energy system to monitor a load and estimate the voltage or current required, and control the energy system in response to the estimated power needs of the load (¶0033: shuttle 26 may monitor short or long-term energy demand, estimate a static or changing voltage or current, and direct the flow of energy in response). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, with Bhavaraju to have the energy control system anticipate power demand changes and proactively adjust the flow of power in response. Doing so allows the system to ensure adequate power and energy for the load, prolong useful life of the energy storage device, and minimize voltage transients, as evidenced by Bhavaraju (¶0033). Regarding Claim 18 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the plurality of power packs include a plurality of power pack types including one or more electrochemical batteries and the one or more supercapacitors (¶0037: battery subsystems may include battery cells in addition to super capacitors). O’Hora fails to explicitly teach wherein the data from the charging database identifies one or more electrical characteristics plurality of power pack types, and wherein controlling the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs using power control circuitry and based on the data from the charging database includes controlling a switch to connect the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs to a first power pack type of the plurality of power pack types and disconnect the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs from a second power pack type of the plurality of power pack types. Moreover, Bhavaraju (Fig. 4) teaches the use of switches (38, 40, & 42) in a power supply system where the flow of power associated with a first power pack type (30) is connected while a flow of power associated with a second power pack type (28) is disconnected. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, with Bhavaraju to use switches to connect a first power pack type while disconnecting a second power pack type based on the . Doing so may allow for the system to provide a lower power for a longer duration, as evidenced by Bhavaraju (¶0035). Moreover, O’Hora, in view of Johnsen and Bhavaraju, teaches the claimed invention except that the a submodule processor references data from a charging database (¶0041: microcontroller of submodule 102 uses a serial number to identify characteristics of the battery cells 214) to identif y one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more electrochemical batteries and one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more supercapacitors instead of the central processor 810 referencing the charging database to identify electrical characteristics. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have processor 810 reference data from the charging database to identify electrical characteristics of the battery cells instead of the submodule processor , since applicant has not disclosed that using the system processor to determine the electrical characteristics solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the system processor identifying electrical characteristics instead of submodule processors performing the identification . Doing so would reduce the processing burden of the submodule processor and memory size of the submodule processing system. Claim(s) 3 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, as applied to claim s 1 & 14 above, and further in view of Tamburrino et al. (USPGPN 2011/0080133 A1 – published Apr. 7, 2011) . Regarding Claim 3 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the power control circuitry is configured to direct the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs to use a first power pack of the plurality of power packs without using a second power pack of the plurality of power packs (¶0067: smart power system, which includes power sub-system 118, can stop the flow of power for SEC 106a while continuing to provide power other SECs) . O’Hora fails to explicitly teach using a crosspoint switch to direct the flow of power. However, Tamburrino teaches the use of a matrix switches (Fig.1, 23 & 25; examiner equates a matrix switch to a crosspoint switch) to selectively control the flow of power from energy storage sub-modules (Fig.1, 15, 17, & 19)(¶0014: matrix switches are used to match available inputs with desired energy storage sub-module and/or load, or they are used to supply the load using the energy storage sub-modules). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, with Tamburrino to use a crosspoint switch for directing the flow of power associated with the power packs. Doing so allows the system to match the current level demand of the load with the most desirable storage source and/or SOC of the energy storage sources, as evidenced by Tamburrino (¶0014). Regarding Claim 16 , O’Hora further teaches wherein the power control circuitry is configured to direct the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs to use a first power pack of the plurality of power packs without using a second power pack of the plurality of power packs (¶0067: smart power system, which includes power sub-system 118, can stop the flow of power for SEC 106a while continuing to provide power other SECs) . O’Hora fails to explicitly teach using a crosspoint switch to direct the flow of power. However, Tamburrino teaches the use of a matrix switches (Fig.1, 23 & 25; examiner equates a matrix switch to a crosspoint switch) to selectively control the flow of power from energy storage sub-modules (Fig.1, 15, 17, & 19)(¶0014: matrix switches are used to match available inputs with desired energy storage sub-module and/or load, or they are used to supply the load using the energy storage sub-modules). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, with Tamburrino to use a crosspoint switch for directing the flow of power associated with the power packs. Doing so allows the system to match the current level demand of the load with the most desirable storage source and/or SOC of the energy storage sources, as evidenced by Tamburrino (¶0014). Claim(s) 8 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, as applied to claim s 1 & 14 above, and further in view of Gilmore (USPGPN 20100116574 A1 – published May 13, 2010) Regarding Claim s 8 & 9 , O’Hora fails to explicitly teaches wherein the one or more supercapacitors are coupled together in series or in parallel . However, Gilmore teaches the use of supercapacitors connected in series and parallel (Fig.3, 68; ¶0023: supercapacitor arrangement may include groups of capacitors connected in series connected in series with other groups of series connected capacitors ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, with Gilmore to include one or more supercapacitors connected in series or in parallel. Doing so allows for a system with either an increased total voltage supplied by the supercapacitors, when connected in series, or an increased storage capacity of the supercapacitors, when connected in parallel. Claim(s) 1 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, as applied to claim s 10 above, and further in view of Wilhilde (USPGPN 2019/0001837 A1 – published Jan. 3, 2019) Regarding Claim 11 , O’Hora teaches wherein the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs is a discharging of the plurality of power packs. O’Hora fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more electrochemical batteries include a maximum discharge rate of the one or more electrochemical batteries, wherein the one or more electrical characteristics of the one or more supercapacitors include a maximum discharge rate of the one or more supercapacitors . However, Wilhilde teaches a power control system which controls the power output based on maximum discharge rates of batteries (¶0043: maximum battery discharge rate) and supercapacitors (¶ 0049 : maximum ultracapacitor discharge rate ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by O’Hora, in view of Johnsen, with Wilhilde to control the flow of power associated with the plurality of power packs based on maximum discharge rates of the batteries and supercapacitors. Doing so would help remove undesirable performance of the batteries and capacitors, while reducing damage to the battery, as evidenced by Wilhilde. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Slepchenkov et al. USPGPN 2022/0219549 A1 teaches a module-based energy system . Slepchenkov et al. USPGPN 2021/0170885 A1 teaches a power management system and method. Sun et al. Chinese Publication CN 10,853,977 A teaches a hybrid energy storage device. Snyder et al. USPGPN 2009/0212626 A1 teaches a dual energy storage method for a vehicle. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JOHN P ONDRASIK whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-1963 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Julian Huffman can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-2147 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN P ONDRASIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859