Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ramsey does not disclose an “in-wall power adapter”. Examiner cannot concur. The adapter of Ramsey is disclosed as having mounting structures to place the adapter in a wall structure. Applicant’s own arguments note that assemblies such as the one disclosed by Ramsey may be mounted “in” a rack, and as noted in [0034] of Ramsey horizontal mounting in a rack is possible. Such a mounting places the assembly between mounting points at the boundaries thereof, within a wall structure.
Applicant argues that Ramsey does not disclose “a recess adapted to receive an outlet control module, wherein the outlet control module is adapted to be removed from the recess.” Examiner cannot concur. The identified recess of Ramsey is able to receive a mating member which acts as a control module, thus the recess is “adapted to” receive such module and the module is “adapter to” be removed from the recess. In other words, Ramsey is able to receive a device plugged into the outlet of Ramsey, including devices which act as control modules while plugged into the outlet.
Applicant argues that the three contacts are adapter to receive a plug, and therefore are not adapter to receive a contact element of a control module and a wire of a junction box. Examiner cannot concur. The identified contacts are able to perform both requirements, for instance by receiving a plug which belongs to a control element, or be receiving a wire.
Applicant argues that it would be inappropriate to modify Ramsey in view of Baldwin, because the cover of Baldwin includes a telescoping structure which would interfere with the locking features of Ramsey. Examiner cannot concur. Baldwin teaches a variety of covers 100, including where the cover is a simple bubble structure 220. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Here, Baldwin suggests a cover which protects the connectors of a power adapter, and it would have been obvious to include such a cover in Ramsey to protect the connectors of Ramsey.
Applicant argues that the cover of Baldwin would be inappropriate on the assembly of Ramsey because Ramsey is intended to be mounted in an equipment rack. Examiner cannot concur. Nothing in the disclosure of Ramsey indicates that a movable cover such as that of Baldwin would render Ramsey unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. The connectors of Ramsey must be situated in such a way so as to allow a user to plug a mating member into the connectors, similar to the connectors of Baldwin, and the cover of Baldwin is situated over the connectors to provide protection as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2021/0288434 (“Ramsey”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,742,010 (“Baldwin”).
Regarding claim 1, Ramsey discloses an in-wall power adapter configured to apply a voltage to a load, the in-wall power adapter comprising: a recess adapted to receive an outlet control module (a control module can be received within an outlet of unit 120), wherein the outlet control module is adapted to be removed from the recess (modules mating with the connectors of 120 are removable); a first connector (first 124) having a first contact element adapted to receive a first prong of a plug, a second contact element adapted to receive a contact element of a control module, and a third contact element adapted to receive a wire of a junction box (the first 124 has three contacts, see Fig. 5, which are capable of receiving these members); a second connector (second 124) having a fourth contact element adapted to receive a second prong of a plug, a fifth contact element adapted to receive a contact element of a control module, and a sixth contact element adapted to receive a wire of a junction box (the second 124 has three contacts, see Fig. 5, which are capable of receiving these members); and a third connector (third 124) having a seventh contact element adapted to receive a third prong of a plug, and an eighth contact element adapted to receive a wire of a junction box (the third 124 has two contacts capable of receiving these members).
Ramsey does not disclose a tamper resistant element adapted to cover the second contact element of the first connector and the fifth contact element of the second connector in response to the outlet control module being removed from the recess.
However, Baldwin teaches a in wall power adapter, where the power adapter includes a housing that has a tamper resistant element (cover 100, and cover embodiments including cover 220), which covers the contact elements of the connectors of the power adapter in response to a mating connector being removed from the connector (the cover is spring loaded, see at least 126 in Fig. 27, to shut after a mating member is removed as a result of and in response to a user opening the cover to remove the mating member). It would have been obvious to include a cover as taught by Baldwin as part of the housing of Ramsey, because this cover helps ensure that outlets are protected from outside factors such as liquid and other physical intrusions. The inclusion of this cover results in the second contact element and fifth contact element being covered when an outlet control module is removed.
Regarding claim 2, Ramsey discloses wherein the first connector comprises a formed metal portion (see at least 138a or 138b, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Ramsey discloses wherein the first connector comprises a single piece of metal (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Ramsey discloses wherein the first connector comprises a first formed metal portion and a second formed metal portion that are electrically connected (see at least the upper and lower portions in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Ramsey discloses wherein the first connector comprises a ninth contact element adapted to receive a fourth wire of the junction box (the first 124 has a contact element on a lower side which is capable of receiving a wire, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Ramsey discloses wherein the first connector comprises a tab coupled between the third contact element and the ninth contact element, wherein the tab is adapted to be severed to provide electrical isolation between the third contact element and the ninth contact element (the lower portion of a terminal of 124 is a tab, which is adapted to be cut to separate an upper third contact element and lower ninth contact element).
Regarding claim 7, Ramsey discloses wherein the second connector comprises a tenth contact element to receive a fifth wire of the junction box (the second 124 has a contact element on a lower side which is capable of receiving a wire, see Fig. 3), and a second tab coupled between the sixth contact element and the tenth contact element, wherein the second tab is adapted to be severed to provide electrical isolation between the sixth contact element and the tenth contact element (the lower portion of a terminal of 124 is a tab, which is adapted to be cut to separate an upper sixth contact element and lower tenth contact element).
Regarding claim 8, Ramsey discloses an in-wall power adapter configured to apply a voltage to a load, the in-wall power adapter comprising: a recess adapted to receive an outlet control module ( a control module can be received within an outlet of unit 120), wherein the outlet control module is adapted to be removed from the recess (modules mating with the connectors of 120 are removable); a first connector (first 124) comprising a first piece of formed metal (see at least Fig. 5) and having a first contact element adapted to receive a first prong of a plug, a second contact element adapted to receive a contact element of the control module, and a third contact element adapted to receive a first wire of a junction box (the first 124 has three contacts, see Fig. 5, which are capable of receiving these members); a second connector (second 124) comprising a second piece of formed metal (see at least Fig. 5) and having a fourth contact element adapted to receive a second prong of the plug, a fifth contact element adapted to receive a contact element of the outlet control module, and a sixth contact element adapted to receive a second wire of the junction box (the second 124 has three contacts, see Fig. 5, which are capable of receiving these members); a third connector (third 124) comprising a third piece of formed metal (see at least Fig. 5) and having a seventh contact element adapted to receive a third prong of the plug, and an eighth contact element adapted to receive a third wire of the junction box (the third 124 has two contacts capable of receiving these members).
Ramsey does not disclose a tamper resistant element adapted to cover the second contact element of the first connector and the fifth contact element of the second connector in response to the outlet control module being removed from the recess.
However, Baldwin teaches a in wall power adapter, where the power adapter includes a housing that has a tamper resistant element (cover 100, and see cover embodiments including cover 220), which covers the contact elements of the connectors of the power adapter in response to a mating connector being removed from the connector (the cover is spring loaded, see at least 126 Fig. 27, to shut after a mating member is removed as a result of and in response to a user opening the cover to remove the mating member). It would have been obvious to include a cover as taught by Baldwin as part of the housing of Ramsey, because this cover helps ensure that outlets are protected from outside factors such as liquid and other physical intrusions. The inclusion of this cover results in the second contact element and fifth contact element being covered when an outlet control module is removed.
Regarding claim 9, Ramsey discloses wherein the first connector comprises a single piece of formed metal (see at least 138a or 138b, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Ramsey discloses wherein the first connector comprises a first piece of formed metal that is attached to a second piece of formed metal (see Fig. 5 in which pieces of metal are integrally attached and formed into a terminal).
Regarding claim 11, Ramsey discloses wherein the second contact element comprises a double wipe contact element adapted to receive a blade of the outlet control module (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Ramsey discloses wherein the first connector comprises a ninth contact element adapted to receive a fourth wire of the junction box (the first 124 has a contact element on a lower side which is capable of receiving a wire, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Ramsey discloses wherein the first connector comprises a tab coupled between the third contact element and the ninth contact element, wherein the tab is adapted to be severed to provide electrical isolation between the third contact element and the ninth contact element (the lower portion of a terminal of 124 is a tab, which is adapted to be cut to separate an upper third contact element and lower ninth contact element).
Regarding claim 14, Ramsey discloses a method of configuring an in-wall power adapter to apply a voltage to a load, the method comprising: providing a recess adapted to receive an outlet control module ( a control module can be received within an outlet of unit 120), wherein the outlet control module is adapted to be removed from the recess (modules mating with the connectors of 120 are removable); routing a line voltage to a first plurality of contact elements (power distributed to a first power terminal 138a of the many connectors 124, see at least [0001] – [0002] and Figs. 2 – 3 and 15) by way of a first connector (a first 124 is part of the distribution system) having a first contact element adapted to receive a first prong of a plug, a second contact element adapted to receive a contact element of the outlet control module, and a third contact element adapted to receive a first wire of the junction box (the first 124 has three contacts, see Fig. 5, which are capable of receiving these members); routing a neutral voltage to a second plurality of contact elements (power distributed to a second power terminal 142 of the many connectors 124, see at least [0001] – [0002] and Figs. 2 – 3 and 15) by way of a second connector (a second 124 is part of the distribution system) having a fourth contact element adapted to receive a second prong of the plug, a fifth contact element adapted to receive a contact element of the outlet control module, and a sixth contact element adapted to receive a second wire of the junction box (the second 124 has three contacts, see Fig. 5, which are capable of receiving these members); and routing a ground voltage to a third plurality of contact elements (ground distributed to a ground terminal 138a of the many connectors 124, see at least [0001] – [0002] and Figs. 2 – 3 and 15) by way of a third connector having a seventh contact element adapted to receive a third prong of the plug, and an eighth contact element adapted to receive a third wire of the junction box (the third 124 has two contacts capable of receiving these members).
Ramsey does not disclose a tamper resistant element adapted to cover the second contact element of the first connector and the fifth contact element of the second connector in response to the outlet control module being removed from the recess.
However, Baldwin teaches a in wall power adapter, including providing a housing that has a tamper resistant element (cover 100, and see cover embodiments including cover 220), which covers the contact elements of the connectors of the power adapter in response to a mating connector being removed from the connector (the cover is spring loaded, see at least 126 Fig. 27, to shut after a mating member is removed as a result of and in response to a user opening the cover to remove the mating member). It would have been obvious to include a cover as taught by Baldwin as part of the housing of Ramsey, because this cover helps ensure that outlets are protected from outside factors such as liquid and other physical intrusions. The inclusion of this cover results in the second contact element and fifth contact element being covered when an outlet control module is removed.
Regarding claim 15, Ramsey discloses wherein routing a line voltage to a first plurality of contact elements by way of a first connector comprises providing a formed metal connector (see at least 138a, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Ramsey discloses wherein the formed metal connector comprises a single piece of metal (see at least 138a, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 17, Ramsey discloses wherein the formed metal connector comprises a first formed metal portion and a second formed metal portion that are electrically connected (see at least the upper portion and the lower portion).
Regarding claim 18, Ramsey discloses wherein routing a line voltage to a first plurality of contact elements by way of a first connector comprises providing the first connector having a ninth contact element adapted to receive a fourth wire of the junction box (the first 124 has a contact element on a lower side which is capable of receiving a wire, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Ramsey discloses wherein routing a line voltage to a first plurality of contact elements by way of a first connector comprises providing the first connector having a tab coupled between the third contact element and the ninth contact element, wherein the tab is adapted to be severed to provide electrical isolation between the third contact element and the ninth contact element (the lower portion of a terminal 138a of the first 124 is a tab, which is adapted to be cut to separate an upper third contact element and lower ninth contact element).
Regarding claim 20, Ramsey discloses wherein routing a neutral voltage to a second plurality of contact elements by way of a second connector comprises providing the second connector comprising a tenth contact element adapted to receive a fifth wire of the junction box, and a second tab coupled between the sixth contact element and the tenth contact element, wherein the second tab is adapted to be severed to provide electrical isolation between the sixth contact element and the tenth contact element (the lower portion of a terminal 142 of the second 124 is a tab, which is adapted to be cut to separate an upper sixth contact element and lower tenth contact element).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831