DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 recites “of of” in line one. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 recites the limitation “a the linear profile support element”. Applicant recites two consecutive prepositions. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 9, 16, 18, 33 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 45 recites the limitation “any combination…”. It is unclear on the combination sets that have been contemplated and feasibly claimed. Appropriate action is required. Claims are examined as best understood.
Claims 9, 16, 18 and 33 recite the limitation “any combination thereof”. It is unclear on what combinations have been contemplated or can be feasibly claimed. Appropriate action is required. Claims are examined as best understood.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species XIV in the reply filed on 6/26/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-51 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Porciatti et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0348730).
Regarding claim 1, Porciatti et al. discloses a field configurable lighting assembly (Figs. 1-11) that is supported within and assembled at a site of a ceiling grid system (Figs. 9-11), wherein the ceiling grid system comprises an array of T-bar cells (T) further comprising ceiling grid T-bars (T, Fig. 1) with vertical (S) and horizontal portions (R), wherein a plane containing the horizontal portions of the ceiling grid T-bars defines a ceiling grid plane (Figs. 9-11), the field configurable lighting assembly comprising at least one T-bar cell (T) that provides structural integrity to the lighting assembly (Figs. 2-4) at least one linear lighting module (10) comprising at least one optical assembly (62) comprising at least one LED light source (Para [0055]), at least one printed circuit board (Para [0055]), and at least one optical element (62); at least one linear support element (20) configured to be arranged onto a mounting T- bar within the at least one T-Bar cell, wherein the at least one linear support element comprises an elongate body configured to support and align components of the at least one optical assembly (62); and at least one internal reflecting surface (40, 64, Figs. 2-3; Para [0051]) configured to be arranged on a combination of linear support elements and ceiling grid T-bars to form an optical cavity (space occupied by module 10) within a T-bar cell (Figs. 9-11) and above the ceiling grid plane, wherein the reflector partially or completely encloses the optical cavity (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claims 2 and 43, Porciatti et al. discloses the field configurable lighting assembly installed in tandem with the ceiling grid system (Figs. 9-11).
Regarding claims 3 and 44, Porciatti et al. discloses the field configurable lighting assembly installed within a pre-existing ceiling grid system (Para [0023]).
Regarding claims 4 and 45, Porciatti et al. discloses a kit of reflectors (40, 64) and any combination of linear lighting modules (10), linear lighting module components (Figs. 2-4). The limitation of being “packaged are transported to the assembly site” is considered to be a process limitation.
Regarding claim 5, Porciatti et al. discloses wherein reflectors (40, 64) for assembly. The limitation of the reflectors being transported or stored in a stacked configuration is considered to be a process limitation.
Regarding claim 6, Porciatti et al. discloses the optical cavity (space approximate 10) is a central optical cavity (Figs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 7, Porciatti et al. discloses a pair of optical cavities (approximate 10 spaced throughout ceiling) are divided between two T-bar cells (Figs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 8, Porciatti et al. discloses the reflector is a planar reflective panel (40, Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Porciatti et al. discloses the reflector (40, 64) is configured to form the optical cavity having a conical shape (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, Porciatti et al. discloses the reflector (40, 64) comprises at least one of a surface causing diffuse reflection (Para [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Porciatti et al. discloses the reflector is a metallic mirror (64, aluminum reflective material).
Regarding claim 12, Porciatti et al. discloses a reflector (40, 64) partially encloses the optical cavity and the field configurable lighting assembly further comprises at least one covering element (112, Fig. 4) coupled such as to provide an enclosing face of the optical cavity within the field configurable lighting assembly (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 13, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one covering element (112) further encloses at least one longitudinal end of a linear lighting module (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one covering element (112) is arranged at an angle not parallel with the ceiling grid plane. The side portions of the covering element are arranged perpendicular to the plane of the ceiling grid plane.
Regarding claim 15, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one covering element (112) is attached to an additional T-bar (T) of a T-bar cell that is on an adjacent side from the mounting T-bar (considered to be attached to adjacent T-bars, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 16, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one covering element (112) has a shape that is rectangular.
Regarding claim 17, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one covering element (112) comprises at least one of an optical property of diffusion.
Regarding claim 18, Porciatti et al. discloses the one covering element (112) is made of metal (aluminum).
Regarding claim 19, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one covering element (112) and the reflector (40) are detachably coupled to the at least one linear supporting element (20).
Regarding claim 20, Porciatti et al. discloses two linear support elements (20) configured to support opposing edges of a reflector (40, 64) at an elevation above the ceiling grid plane (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 21, Porciatti et al. discloses “an edgelit” optical element (62) is positioned obliquely (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Porciatti et al. discloses an optical element (62) is edgelit by the at least one LED light source (Para [0045]).
Regarding claim 23, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one LED light source is proximate to one input face of a single optical element (62).
Regarding claim 24, Porciatti et al. discloses two independently electrically addressable LED light sources (approximate 62) are each positioned to input light into different input faces (approximate 40) of a common optical element (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 25, Porciatti et al. discloses wherein light from the at least one LED light source (approximate 62) is input into an input face of an edgelit optical element (first surface 62) and output from an adjacent face of the edgelit optical element (second and opposite surface).
Regarding claim 26, Porciatti et al. discloses wherein a portion of light from an LED light source (approximate 62) is reflected by the reflector (40, 64) within the optical cavity.
Regarding claim 27, Porciatti et al. discloses a portion of light emitted from the at least one optical element (62) is projected below the reflector (40, 64) and a portion is incident upon the reflector (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 28, Porciatti et al. discloses wherein light distribution emitted from the field configurable lighting assembly is non-lambertian and has a light distribution shape that is medium (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 29, Porciatti et al. discloses the edgelit optical element (62) is a high clarity light guide (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 30, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one optical assembly (approximate 62) is housed in a module (10) configured to be removable from the at least one linear support element (20). The Examiner considers that optical assembly capable of being removed and replaced.
Regarding claim 31, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one optical element (62) is supported by the at least one linear profile support element at an angle oblique to the ceiling grid plane (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 32, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one optical element (62) comprises a TIR optic configured to receive and transmit light from the at least one LED light source (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 33, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one optical element (62) has a cross-sectional profile shape that is rectangular.
Regarding claim 34, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one optical assembly (approximate 62) further comprises a diffusing outer lens positioned to redirect light from the at least one optical element (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 35, Porciatti et al. discloses a height of the elongate body of the at least one linear support element (20) is less than a height of a ceiling grid T- Bar (T) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 36, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one linear support (20) element further comprises bracket (F) for attachment to the mounting T-Bar (T, Figs. 1).
Regarding claim 37, Porciatti et al. discloses a reflector (40) is a planar reflective panel.
Regarding claim 38, Porciatti et al. discloses a reflector (40, 64) includes a reflective surface having an optical property of diffusing.
Regarding claim 39, Porciatti et al. discloses a support portion (30) of a linear support element (20) is configured to replicate a structure of a horizontal portion of a ceiling grid T-Bar (T, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 40, Porciatti et al. discloses the support portion (30) of the linear profile support element is configured to replicate a structure of a horizontal portion (R) of a 9/16" slot style T-Bar (T).
Regarding claim 41, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one linear support element (20) has a 3-dimensional shape of a cross-sectional profile area extended linearly into a third axis (Fig. 1) and configured to provide a central structural portion (considered to be portion midway of the element approximate 25) to which other portions (portions of the module) are connected; a mounting portion (25) that extends from a top of a vertical structural portion and mounts over a vertical portion (F) of the mounting T-Bar (T); at least one utility component supporting portion (30) integral with the central structural portion; and iv) at least one reflector supporting portion (considered to be the top portion of the linear support element) integral with the at least one central structural portion (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 42, Porciatti et al. discloses a field configurable lighting assembly that is supported within and assembled at a site of a ceiling grid system (Figs. 9-11), wherein the ceiling grid system comprises an array of T-bar cells (approximate C, Figs. 9-11) having ceiling grid T-bars (T) with vertical (S) and horizontal portions (R), wherein a plane containing the horizontal portions of the ceiling grid T-bars defines a ceiling grid plane, the field configurable lighting assembly comprising a T-bar cell within the T-bar grid array that provides structural integrity to the lighting assembly; at least one linear lighting module (10) arranged within the T-bar cell and supported on vertical portions (via F) of a pair of laterally (mounting) spaced apart T-bars of the T-bar cell, the at least one linear lighting module comprising an optical assembly (approximate 62) having at least one LED light source and at least one printed circuit board (Para [0055]); and; a reflector (40) configured to be arranged on horizontal portions of at least a pair of laterally spaced apart T-bars of the T-bar cell; and wherein the reflector is configured to form an optical cavity (approximate 66) that spans at least partially over the T-bar cell and above the ceiling grid plane, and wherein the reflector and the at least one linear lighting module are configured to illuminate a space below the ceiling grid plane at least directly or indirectly (Figs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 43, Porciatti et al. discloses the field configurable lighting assembly installed in tandem with the ceiling grid system.
Regarding claim 44, Porciatti et al. discloses the field configurable lighting assembly installed within a pre-existing ceiling grid system.
Regarding claim 45, Porciatti et al. discloses a kit of reflectors and any combination of linear lighting modules, linear lighting module components, or linear lighting module sub-assemblies packaged are transported to the assembly site.
Regarding claim 46, Porciatti et al. discloses reflectors for assembly are transported or stored in a stacked configuration.
Regarding claim 47, Porciatti et al. discloses the reflector (40) comprises at least a pair of support flanges (42, 44, Fig. 2) configured at a pair of laterally opposite edges of the reflector (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 48, Porciatti et al. discloses each of the at least one linear lighting module (10) comprises a pair of hooks (20) configured to be supported on vertical portions (via 25 and F) of the pair of laterally spaced apart T-bars of the T-bar cell (Figs. 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 49, Porciatti et al. discloses the optical assembly (approximate 62) further comprises at least one optical element (62).
Regarding claim 50, Porciatti et al. discloses at least one ceiling panel (C) configured to cover a gap of the T-bar cell when the reflector partially spans over the T-bar cell (Figs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 51, Porciatti et al. discloses the at least one linear lighting module (10) is arranged centrally with respect to the central optical cavity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3633