DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3 and 4 include limitations stating “the activation controller is configured to, when connected to the input unit”. However the term “when” renders the claim(s) indefinite. It is unclear whether the claim(s) necessarily require the limitations which follow in a situation in which the activation controller is not connected to the input unit. For examining purposes, these limitations are interpreted as stating “the activation controller is configured to”.
Claims 1, 2 and 13 include limitations stating “the main controller is further configured to, when configured to receive the detection signals from the sensors”. However the term “when” renders the claim(s) indefinite. It is unclear whether the claim(s) necessarily require the limitations which follow in a situation in which the main controller is not configured to receive the detection signals. For examining purposes, these limitations are interpreted as stating “the main controller is further configured to”.
Claims 1 and 15 include the limitation “at least one change of the operating state occurs in accordance with the at least one predetermined operational signal”. However there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the at least one predetermined operational signal”. It is unclear whether applicants intend to reference the plural predetermined operational signals, or at least one of the plural predetermined operational signals. For examining purpose, these limitations are interpreted as stating “at least one change of the operating state occurs in accordance with at least one predetermined operational signal”.
Claim 4 includes the limitation “the activation elements such that, when connected to the input unit”. However the term “when” renders the claim(s) indefinite. It is unclear whether the claim(s) necessarily require the limitations which follow in a situation in which the activation elements is not connected to the input unit. For examining purposes, these limitations are interpreted as stating “the activation elements such that”.
Claims 8, 10 and 12 include limitations containing the word “optionally”. However the term “optionally” renders the claim(s) indefinite. It is unclear whether the claim(s) necessarily require the limitations which follow said term. For examining purposes, these limitations are interpreted as not containing the word “optionally”.
Claims 5-7, 9, 11 and 14 depend from at least claim 1 and therefore inherit all claimed limitations. These claims do not correct the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kelly (US 2020/0071133 A1).
Claims 1 and 15: Kelly discloses a stimulation system and method for monitoring an elevator system, the elevator system shown in Figure 1 to have an elevator car (11) with an input unit (door driving mechanism 111c) (page 2 paragraph [0042]) for providing operational signals to an elevator controller (3) of the elevator system and having sensors (door sensor 13) for detecting an operating state of an elevator door (111) of the elevator car and outputting corresponding detection signals (page 5 paragraph [0083]). A main controller (door sensor controller 133) includes a trigger output for sending trigger signals to open elevator door in case of an obstruction and configurable to receive the detection signals from transmitter (131) and receiver (133) (page 10 paragraph [0147]) of sensors (page 3 paragraph [0052]). An activation controller (door controller 111b) shown in Figure 1 to be connected to the input unit of the elevator car, includes a trigger input where the trigger input is connected to the trigger output of the main controller for receiving the trigger signals such that the activation controller is configured to cause, in response to a trigger signal received on the trigger input, activation of predetermined operational signals (elevator door to open or remain open) at the input unit, wherein the main controller (302) is configured to send (404) the trigger signal over the trigger output (page 10 paragraph [0147]). The main controller further determines based on the detection signals whether at least one change of the operating state occurs in accordance with at least one predetermined operational signal (page 5 paragraph [0083]).
Claim 2: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where the main controller is configured to determine based on the detection signals, that since the last use of the door being open of the elevator car, a specified dead time (delay period) has elapsed and send the trigger signal to close the elevator door when it is determined that the specified dead time has elapsed since the last use (page 6 paragraph [0103]).
Claim 3: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where the activation controller is configured to cause the activation of some or all of the predetermined operational signals in a predetermined sequence such that between each two consecutive of the operational signals of the predetermined sequence a respective delay time period (delay period) is present (page 6 paragraph [0091]).
Claim 4: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where the activation controller includes a computer program that defines rules for operating the elevator door according to a particular predetermined time delay (delay period) (page 6 paragraph [0091]). Therefore the activation controller includes a delay circuit connected to the trigger input and activation elements of a car operating panel (112) connected to the delay circuit; the activation elements connectable to the input unit; wherein the delay circuit is configured to generate operational commands in response to receiving the trigger signal (page 6 paragraph [0094]-[0100]); wherein each operational command changes a state of one of the activation elements such that, when connected to the input unit, activation of a corresponding one of the operational signals is caused; and wherein at least one of the operational commands is generated with a time delay with respect to the trigger signal (page 6 paragraph [0091]).
Claim 5: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where at least two of the at least one of the operational commands generated with time delay with respect to the trigger signal are generated with different time delays with respect to the trigger signal (page 6 paragraph [0094]-[0100]).
Claim 6: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where the at least one predetermined operational signal comprises a door opening signal if an obstruction is detected, before re-attempting a door close operation (page 6 paragraph [0091]).
Claim 7: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where an input interface is provided on associated levels (21), and a user on a level is able to call an elevator so that the user can enter the elevator car on the level and move to a different level upon instructing the car to travel to another level via a car operating panel representing (112) (page 5 paragraph [0078]-[0079]), as is known in the art. The at least one predetermined operational signal then comprises a door opening signal and a drive signal to a second floor; wherein the activation controller is configured to cause the activation of the door opening signal prior to the activation of the drive signal to the second floor.
Claim 8: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where the main controller comprises at least one sensor input connected to one or more sensors (door sensor 13) in order to determine elevator door operations from the sensors, the sensors comprising at least one door sensor (page 6 paragraph [0087]).
Claim 9: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where each of the at least one change of the operating state is associated with one or more of the at least one predetermined operational signals (page 5 paragraph [0083], page 6 paragraph [0091]).
Claim 10: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where the main controller is configured to generate an error message (alert), when it is determined that the at least one change of the operating state does not occur in accordance with the at least one predetermined operational signal (exceeds a threshold); and sends the error message to a remote computing entity (remote maintenance system) (page 9 paragraph [0134]).
Claim 11: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where the error message includes information as to which one of the at least one change in the operating state did not occur (operation concerned) (page 9 paragraph [0134]).
Claim 14: Kelly discloses a stimulation system comprising an elevator system comprising an elevator controller and an elevator car comprising an input unit for providing operational signals to the elevator controller, the elevator system having sensors for detecting an operating state of the elevator car and outputting corresponding detection signals; wherein the main controller is configured to receive the detection signals and the activation controller is connected to the input unit, as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kelly (US 2020/0071133 A1).
Claim 13: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where the at least one change of the operating state includes a first change of the operating state and a second change of the operating state (page 6 paragraph [0091]); wherein the main controller is further configured to monitor, after sending the trigger signal, the detection signals for a specified first monitoring time period (period the elevator door takes to move from the open configuration to the closed configuration) and second monitoring time period (period the elevator door is held in the open configuration after detection of an obstruction) whether the first change and second change of the operating state occurs (page 6 paragraph [0094-0100], [0103]), and determines, when the first change of the operating state does not occur during the first monitoring time period, that the first change of the operating state occurs not in accordance with the at least one predetermined operational signal, and sends an alert to a remote maintenance system (page 9 paragraph [0134]) as a maintenance alert (page 11 paragraph [0173]). A maintenance alert indicates an abnormal operation of an elevator car and typically results in removing the elevator car from service, as is known in the art. When taken out of service, the main controller then would stop monitoring whether the second change of the operating state occurs. This reference fails to disclose the second monitoring time period to be longer than the first monitoring time period.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second monitoring time period (period the elevator door is held in the open configuration after detection of an obstruction) to be longer than the first monitoring time period (period the elevator door takes to move from the open configuration to the closed configuration), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Doing so would allow sufficient amount of time for a passenger to remove an obstruction before the elevator door is closed.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (US 2020/0071133 A1) in view of Coste et al. (US 4,750,591).
Claim 12: Kelly discloses a stimulation system as stated above, where the main controller is configured to generate a message (alert), when it is determined that the at least one change of the operating state does not occur in accordance with the at least one predetermined operational signal (exceeds a threshold); and sends the error message to a remote computing entity (remote maintenance system) (page 9 paragraph [0134]). This reference fails to disclose a success message to be generated when it is determined that the at least one change of the operating state does occur in accordance with the at least one predetermined operational signal, and the success message to be sent to a remote computing entity.
However Coste et al. teaches an elevator system, where messages corresponding to a transition to a normal or abnormal state are generated including a success message when it is determined that at least one change of an operating state occurs in accordance with at least one predetermined operational signal.
Given the teachings of Coste et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stimulation system disclosed in Kelly with providing a success message to be generated when it is determined that the at least one change of the operating state does occur in accordance with the at least one predetermined operational signal, such that the success message is sent to the remote computing entity. Doing so would allow the remote computing entity to record and store statistical analysis of the operation of the elevator system to reference during future maintenance inspections.
Conclusion
/Christopher Uhlir/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 January 7, 2026