DETAILED ACTION
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 22 January 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are currently amended; claims 2, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, 17, 19, and 20 are cancelled; claims 3, 4, 8, 13, 14, and 18 are previously presented; no claims have been added. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 14, 16, and 18 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2021/0258998 A1), hereafter referred Khoshnevisan, in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0038293 A1), hereafter referred Liu, in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0387501 A1), hereafter referred Park, further in view of Huang et al. (US 2020/0267597 A1), hereafter referred Huang.
Regarding claim 1, Khoshnevisan teaches a method for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback information supporting a multicast service, comprising:
receiving N pieces of first downlink control information (DCI) and M pieces of second DCI in at least one first time unit, wherein each piece of first DCI comprises a first downlink assignment index (DAI), the first DAI comprising a first counter downlink assignment index (C-DAI) that indicates an accumulative quantity of pieces of first-type DCI for scheduling transmission of a downlink data channel, wherein each piece of second DCI comprises a second DAI, the second DAI comprising a second C-DAI that indicates an accumulative quantity of pieces of second-type DCI for scheduling transmission of a downlink data channel (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0156]-[0157] and [0274]-0276]; the UE may receive a set of DCI messages scheduling a set of downlink data channels, the set of DCI messages including at least a first DCI message and a second DCI message, the first DCI message scheduling a first downlink data channel of a first component carrier and a second downlink data channel of a second component carrier, and the second DCI message scheduling a third downlink data channel. The UE may identify a set of DAI in the received set of DCI messages, each DCI message of the set of DCI messages including a unique DAI of the set of DAI, where the DAI field may be a counter DAI field which may be used to assign a count to a received DCI message);
receiving N first downlink data channels and M second downlink data channels in at least one second time unit, wherein the N first downlink data channels are scheduled by the N pieces of first DCI, and the M second downlink data channels are scheduled by using the M pieces of second DCI (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0156]-[0157] and [0274]-0276]; the UE may receive a set of DCI messages scheduling a set of downlink data channels, the set of DCI messages including at least a first DCI message and a second DCI message, the first DCI message scheduling a first downlink data channel of a first component carrier and a second downlink data channel of a second component carrier, and the second DCI message scheduling a third downlink data channel);
generating a codebook of HARQ-ACK feedback information based on the first DAIs in the N pieces of first DCI, the second DAIs in the M pieces of second DCI, the N first downlink data channels, and the M second downlink data channels, wherein the codebook comprises a first sub-codebook and a second sub-codebook, the first sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK feedback information for the N first downlink data channels, and the second sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK feedback information for the M second downlink data channels (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0152] and [0274]-[0277]; the UE may generate a set of feedback bits of an acknowledgement codebook, the set of feedback bits including a same number of feedback bits for each DAI of the set of DAI, where the codebook is a HARQ feedback codebook (e.g. a HARQ-ACK codebook) for providing HARQ feedback for multiple scheduled PDSCH); and
sending the codebook in a third time unit (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0274]-[0278]; the UE may transmit the generated set of feedback bits on an uplink control channel).
Khoshnevisan does not expressly teach wherein the first DCI is first-type DCI, the second DCI is second-type DCI.
However, Liu teaches wherein the first DCI is first-type DCI, the second DCI is second-type DCI (Liu, [0037]; the DCI may include a first-type DCI and a second-type DCI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan to include the above recited limitations as taught by Liu in order to design a DAI indicator field in the DCI and generate a feedback codebook (Liu, [0003]).
Khoshnevisan in view of Liu does not expressly teach wherein the first-type DCI is a DCI for a multicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the first-type DCI are scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier, and
wherein the second-type DCI is a DCI for a unicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the second-type DCI are scrambled by using a cell radio network temporary identifier, a modulation and coding scheme cell radio network temporary identifier, or a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI).
However, Park teaches wherein the first-type DCI is a DCI for a multicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the first-type DCI are scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier (Park, [0260]-[0262] and [0338]-[0340]; If a UE is set to decode a PDCCH having a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI by an higher layer, the UE may decode a PDSCH according to Table 14 which illustrates the DCI formats all use the Common Search Space, where if a DCI includes scheduling information on multicast/broadcast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a CSS and if a DCI includes scheduling information on unicast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a UE-specific search space (USS). shows through a Common Search Space which indicates multicast/broadcast data), and
wherein the second-type DCI is a DCI for a unicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the second-type DCI are scrambled by using a cell radio network temporary identifier, a modulation and coding scheme cell radio network temporary identifier, or a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) (Park, [0183] and [0338]-[0340]; when PDCCH CRC is scrambled by a C-RNTI, UE in which a CIF is configured assumes that a CIF for a serving cell is present in a PDCCH that is located within a UE-specific search space, where if a DCI includes scheduling information on multicast/broadcast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a CSS and if a DCI includes scheduling information on unicast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a UE-specific search space (USS). shows through a Common Search Space which indicates multicast/broadcast data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan in view of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Park in order to minimize the number of times for a UE to perform blind detection (Park, [0005]).
Khoshnevisan in view of Liu further in view of Park does not expressly teach determining a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource set from a plurality of PUCCH resource sets based on a payload size of the codebook, wherein each of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource; and determining a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set based on a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) in an mth piece of DCI, wherein the mth piece of DCI corresponds to the last HARQ-ACK information bit that is for the second downlink data channel and that is in the codebook.
However, Huang teaches determining a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource set from a plurality of PUCCH resource sets based on a payload size of the codebook, wherein each of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource (Huang, [0180]-[0183]; resource allocation for PUCCH carrying one or more HARQ-ACKs is determined based on at least UCI payload size); and determining a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set based on a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) in an mth piece of DCI, wherein the mth piece of DCI corresponds to the last HARQ-ACK information bit that is for the second downlink data channel and that is in the codebook (Huang, [0164]-[0166]; for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information, a UE determines a PUCCH resource after determining a set of PUCCH resources, where the PUCCH resource determination is based on a PUCCH resource indicator field in a last DCI format).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan in view of Liu further in view of Park to include the above recited limitations as taught by Huang in order to avoid resource collision and interference from other UEs (Huang, [0174]).
Regarding claim 6, Khoshnevisan teaches a method for receiving hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback information supporting a multicast service, comprising:
sending N pieces of first downlink control information (DCI) and M pieces of second DCI in at least one first time unit, wherein each piece of first DCI comprises a first downlink assignment index (DAI), the first DAI comprising a first counter downlink assignment index (C-DAI) that indicates an accumulative quantity of pieces of first-type DCI for scheduling transmission of a downlink data channel, wherein each piece of second DCI comprises a second DAI, the second DAI comprising a second C-DAI that indicates an accumulative quantity of pieces of second-type DCI for scheduling transmission of a downlink data channel (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0156]-[0157] and [0274]-0276]; the UE may receive a set of DCI messages scheduling a set of downlink data channels, the set of DCI messages including at least a first DCI message and a second DCI message, the first DCI message scheduling a first downlink data channel of a first component carrier and a second downlink data channel of a second component carrier, and the second DCI message scheduling a third downlink data channel. The UE may identify a set of DAI in the received set of DCI messages, each DCI message of the set of DCI messages including a unique DAI of the set of DAI, where the DAI field may be a counter DAI field which may be used to assign a count to a received DCI message);
sending N first downlink data channels and M second downlink data channels in at least one second time unit, wherein the N first downlink data channels are scheduled by using the N pieces of first downlink control information, and the M second downlink data channels are scheduled by using the M pieces of second downlink control information (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0156]-[0157] and [0274]-0276]; the UE may receive a set of DCI messages scheduling a set of downlink data channels, the set of DCI messages including at least a first DCI message and a second DCI message, the first DCI message scheduling a first downlink data channel of a first component carrier and a second downlink data channel of a second component carrier, and the second DCI message scheduling a third downlink data channel); and
receiving a codebook of automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback information in a third time unit, wherein the codebook comprises a first sub-codebook and a second sub-codebook, the first sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK feedback information for the N first downlink data channels, and the second sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK feedback information for the M second downlink data channels (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 19-21, [0152] and [0289]-[0297]; the base station may receive a generated set of feedback bits on an uplink control channel, the generated set of feedback bits corresponding to the set of downlink data channels, the generated set of feedback bits including a first feedback bit and a second feedback bit corresponding to the first downlink data channel and the second downlink data channel, where the first feedback bit is assigned to a first position in an acknowledgement codebook indicated by one DAI and the second feedback bit to a second position in the acknowledgement codebook that is adjacent the first position, where the codebook is a HARQ feedback codebook (e.g. a HARQ-ACK codebook) for providing HARQ feedback for multiple scheduled PDSCH).
Khoshnevisan does not expressly teach wherein the first DCI is first-type DCI, the second DCI is second-type DCI.
However, Liu teaches wherein the first DCI is first-type DCI, the second DCI is second-type DCI (Liu, [0037]; the DCI may include a first-type DCI and a second-type DCI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan to include the above recited limitations as taught by Liu in order to design a DAI indicator field in the DCI and generate a feedback codebook (Liu, [0003]).
Khoshnevisan in view of Liu does not expressly teach wherein the first-type DCI is a DCI for a multicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the first-type DCI are scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier, and
wherein the second-type DCI is a DCI for a unicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the second-type DCI are scrambled by using a cell radio network temporary identifier, a modulation and coding scheme cell radio network temporary identifier, or a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI).
However, Park teaches wherein the first-type DCI is a DCI for a multicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the first-type DCI are scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier (Park, [0260]-[0262] and [0338]-[0340]; If a UE is set to decode a PDCCH having a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI by an higher layer, the UE may decode a PDSCH according to Table 14 which illustrates the DCI formats all use the Common Search Space, where if a DCI includes scheduling information on multicast/broadcast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a CSS and if a DCI includes scheduling information on unicast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a UE-specific search space (USS). shows through a Common Search Space which indicates multicast/broadcast data), and
wherein the second-type DCI is a DCI for a unicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the second-type DCI are scrambled by using a cell radio network temporary identifier, a modulation and coding scheme cell radio network temporary identifier, or a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) (Park, [0183] and [0338]-[0340]; when PDCCH CRC is scrambled by a C-RNTI, UE in which a CIF is configured assumes that a CIF for a serving cell is present in a PDCCH that is located within a UE-specific search space, where if a DCI includes scheduling information on multicast/broadcast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a CSS and if a DCI includes scheduling information on unicast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a UE-specific search space (USS). shows through a Common Search Space which indicates multicast/broadcast data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan in view of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Park in order to minimize the number of times for a UE to perform blind detection (Park, [0005]).
Khoshnevisan in view of Liu further in view of Park does not expressly teach determining a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource set from a plurality of PUCCH resource sets based on a payload size of the codebook, wherein each of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource, and the first PUCCH resource set corresponds to a payload size of the to-be-received codebook; generating a mth piece of DCI that comprises PUCCH resource indication information (PRI) for determining the first PUCCH resource; and determining a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set.
However, Huang teaches determining a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource set from a plurality of PUCCH resource sets based on a payload size of the codebook, wherein each of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource (Huang, [0180]-[0183]; resource allocation for PUCCH carrying one or more HARQ-ACKs is determined based on at least UCI payload size); and the first PUCCH resource set corresponds to a payload size of the to-be-received codebook; generating a mth piece of DCI that comprises PUCCH resource indication information (PRI) for determining the first PUCCH resource; and determining a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set (Huang, [0164]-[0166]; for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information, a UE determines a PUCCH resource after determining a set of PUCCH resources, where the PUCCH resource determination is based on a PUCCH resource indicator field in a last DCI format).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan in view of Liu further in view of Park to include the above recited limitations as taught by Huang in order to avoid resource collision and interference from other UEs (Huang, [0174]).
Regarding claim 11, Khoshnevisan teaches a communication apparatus, comprising a transceiver module and a processing module (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 8, [0205]-[0206]; the device 805 may include a transceiver and a processor), wherein the transceiver module is configured to:
receive N pieces of first downlink control information (DCI) and M pieces of second DCI in at least one first time unit, wherein each piece of first DCI comprises a first downlink assignment index (DAI), the first DAI comprising a first counter downlink assignment index (C-DAI) that indicates an accumulative quantity of pieces of first-type DCI for scheduling transmission of a downlink data channel, wherein each piece of second DCI comprises a second DAI, the second DAI comprising a second C-DAI that indicates an accumulative quantity of pieces of second-type DCI for scheduling transmission of a downlink data channel; receive N first downlink data channels and M second downlink data channels in at least one second time unit, wherein the N first downlink data channels are scheduled by using the N pieces of first downlink control information, and the M second downlink data channels are scheduled by using the M pieces of second downlink control information (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0156]-[0157] and [0274]-0276]; the UE may receive a set of DCI messages scheduling a set of downlink data channels, the set of DCI messages including at least a first DCI message and a second DCI message, the first DCI message scheduling a first downlink data channel of a first component carrier and a second downlink data channel of a second component carrier, and the second DCI message scheduling a third downlink data channel. The UE may identify a set of DAI in the received set of DCI messages, each DCI message of the set of DCI messages including a unique DAI of the set of DAI, where the DAI field may be a counter DAI field which may be used to assign a count to a received DCI message);
wherein the processing module is configured to generate a codebook of hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback information based on the first DAIs in the N pieces of first DCI, the second DAIs in the M pieces of second DCI, the N first downlink data channels, and the M second downlink data channels, wherein the codebook comprises a first sub-codebook and a second sub-codebook, the first sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK feedback information for the N first downlink data channels, and the second sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK feedback information for the M second downlink data channels (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0152] and [0274]-[0277]; the UE may generate a set of feedback bits of an acknowledgement codebook, the set of feedback bits including a same number of feedback bits for each DAI of the set of DAI, where the codebook is a HARQ feedback codebook (e.g. a HARQ-ACK codebook) for providing HARQ feedback for multiple scheduled PDSCH); and
wherein the transceiver module is further configured to send the codebook in a third time unit (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0274]-[0278]; the UE may transmit the generated set of feedback bits on an uplink control channel).
Khoshnevisan does not expressly teach wherein the first DCI is first-type DCI, the second DCI is second-type DCI.
However, Liu teaches wherein the first DCI is first-type DCI, the second DCI is second-type DCI (Liu, [0037]; the DCI may include a first-type DCI and a second-type DCI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan to include the above recited limitations as taught by Liu in order to design a DAI indicator field in the DCI and generate a feedback codebook (Liu, [0003]).
Khoshnevisan in view of Liu does not expressly teach wherein the first-type DCI is a DCI for a multicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the first-type DCI are scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier, and
wherein the second-type DCI is a DCI for a unicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the second-type DCI are scrambled by using a cell radio network temporary identifier, a modulation and coding scheme cell radio network temporary identifier, or a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI).
However, Park teaches wherein the first-type DCI is a DCI for a multicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the first-type DCI are scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier (Park, [0260]-[0262] and [0338]-[0340]; If a UE is set to decode a PDCCH having a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI by an higher layer, the UE may decode a PDSCH according to Table 14 which illustrates the DCI formats all use the Common Search Space, where if a DCI includes scheduling information on multicast/broadcast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a CSS and if a DCI includes scheduling information on unicast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a UE-specific search space (USS). shows through a Common Search Space which indicates multicast/broadcast data), and
wherein the second-type DCI is a DCI for a unicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the second-type DCI are scrambled by using a cell radio network temporary identifier, a modulation and coding scheme cell radio network temporary identifier, or a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) (Park, [0183] and [0338]-[0340]; when PDCCH CRC is scrambled by a C-RNTI, UE in which a CIF is configured assumes that a CIF for a serving cell is present in a PDCCH that is located within a UE-specific search space, where if a DCI includes scheduling information on multicast/broadcast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a CSS and if a DCI includes scheduling information on unicast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a UE-specific search space (USS). shows through a Common Search Space which indicates multicast/broadcast data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan in view of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Park in order to minimize the number of times for a UE to perform blind detection (Park, [0005]).
Khoshnevisan in view of Liu further in view of Park does not expressly teach determine a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource set from a plurality of PUCCH resource sets based on a payload size of the codebook, wherein each of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource; and determine a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set based on PUCCH resource indication information (PRI) in an mth piece of DCI, wherein the mth piece of DCI corresponds to the last HARQ-ACK information bit that is for the second downlink data channel and that is in the codebook.
However, Huang teaches determine a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource set from a plurality of PUCCH resource sets based on a payload size of the codebook, wherein each of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource (Huang, [0180]-[0183]; resource allocation for PUCCH carrying one or more HARQ-ACKs is determined based on at least UCI payload size); and determine a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set based on PUCCH resource indication information (PRI) in an mth piece of DCI, wherein the mth piece of DCI corresponds to the last HARQ-ACK information bit that is for the second downlink data channel and that is in the codebook (Huang, [0164]-[0166]; for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information, a UE determines a PUCCH resource after determining a set of PUCCH resources, where the PUCCH resource determination is based on a PUCCH resource indicator field in a last DCI format).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan in view of Liu further in view of Park to include the above recited limitations as taught by Huang in order to avoid resource collision and interference from other UEs (Huang, [0174]).
Regarding claim 16, Khoshnevisan teaches a communication apparatus, comprising a processing module and a transceiver module (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 12, [0243]-[0244]; base station device include a receiver, transmitter, and a processor), wherein
the transceiver module is configured to send N pieces of first downlink control information (DCI) and M pieces of second DCI in at least one first time unit, wherein each piece of first DCI comprises a first downlink assignment index (DAI), the first DAI comprising a first counter downlink assignment index (C-DAI) that indicates an accumulative quantity of pieces of first-type DCI for scheduling transmission of a downlink data channel, wherein each piece of second DCI comprises a second DAI, the second DAI comprising a second C-DAI that indicates an accumulative quantity of pieces of second-type DCI for scheduling transmission of a downlink data channel (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0156]-[0157] and [0274]-0276]; the UE may receive a set of DCI messages scheduling a set of downlink data channels, the set of DCI messages including at least a first DCI message and a second DCI message, the first DCI message scheduling a first downlink data channel of a first component carrier and a second downlink data channel of a second component carrier, and the second DCI message scheduling a third downlink data channel. The UE may identify a set of DAI in the received set of DCI messages, each DCI message of the set of DCI messages including a unique DAI of the set of DAI, where the DAI field may be a counter DAI field which may be used to assign a count to a received DCI message);
the transceiver module is further configured to send N first downlink data channels and M second downlink data channels in at least one second time unit, wherein the N first downlink data channels are scheduled by the N pieces of first downlink control information, and the M second downlink data channels are scheduled by the M pieces of second downlink control information (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0156]-[0157] and [0274]-0276]; the UE may receive a set of DCI messages scheduling a set of downlink data channels, the set of DCI messages including at least a first DCI message and a second DCI message, the first DCI message scheduling a first downlink data channel of a first component carrier and a second downlink data channel of a second component carrier, and the second DCI message scheduling a third downlink data channel);
the transceiver module is further configured to receive a codebook of automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback information in a third time unit (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 16, [0274]-[0278]; the UE may transmit the generated set of feedback bits on an uplink control channel); and
the processing module is configured to determine the HARQ-ACK feedback information from the codebook, wherein the codebook comprises a first sub-codebook and a second sub-codebook, the first sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK feedback information for the N first downlink data channels, and the second sub-codebook comprises HARQ-ACK feedback information for the M second downlink data channels (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 19-21, [0152] and [0289]-[0297]; the base station may receive a generated set of feedback bits on an uplink control channel, the generated set of feedback bits corresponding to the set of downlink data channels, the generated set of feedback bits including a first feedback bit and a second feedback bit corresponding to the first downlink data channel and the second downlink data channel, where the first feedback bit is assigned to a first position in an acknowledgement codebook indicated by one DAI and the second feedback bit to a second position in the acknowledgement codebook that is adjacent the first position, where the codebook is a HARQ feedback codebook (e.g. a HARQ-ACK codebook) for providing HARQ feedback for multiple scheduled PDSCH).
Khoshnevisan does not expressly teach wherein the first DCI is first-type DCI, the second DCI is second-type DCI.
However, Liu teaches wherein the first DCI is first-type DCI, the second DCI is second-type DCI (Liu, [0037]; the DCI may include a first-type DCI and a second-type DCI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan to include the above recited limitations as taught by Liu in order to design a DAI indicator field in the DCI and generate a feedback codebook (Liu, [0003]).
Khoshnevisan in view of Liu does not expressly teach wherein the first-type DCI is a DCI for a multicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the first-type DCI are scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier, and
wherein the second-type DCI is a DCI for a unicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the second-type DCI are scrambled by using a cell radio network temporary identifier, a modulation and coding scheme cell radio network temporary identifier, or a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI).
However, Park teaches wherein the first-type DCI is a DCI for a multicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the first-type DCI are scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier (Park, [0260]-[0262] and [0338]-[0340]; If a UE is set to decode a PDCCH having a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI by an higher layer, the UE may decode a PDSCH according to Table 14 which illustrates the DCI formats all use the Common Search Space, where if a DCI includes scheduling information on multicast/broadcast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a CSS and if a DCI includes scheduling information on unicast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a UE-specific search space (USS). shows through a Common Search Space which indicates multicast/broadcast data), and
wherein the second-type DCI is a DCI for a unicast service and cyclic redundancy check bits for the second-type DCI are scrambled by using a cell radio network temporary identifier, a modulation and coding scheme cell radio network temporary identifier, or a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) (Park, [0183] and [0338]-[0340]; when PDCCH CRC is scrambled by a C-RNTI, UE in which a CIF is configured assumes that a CIF for a serving cell is present in a PDCCH that is located within a UE-specific search space, where if a DCI includes scheduling information on multicast/broadcast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a CSS and if a DCI includes scheduling information on unicast data, the DCI format is transmitted via a UE-specific search space (USS). shows through a Common Search Space which indicates multicast/broadcast data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan in view of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Park in order to minimize the number of times for a UE to perform blind detection (Park, [0005]).
Khoshnevisan in view of Liu further in view of Park does not expressly teach determine a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource set from a plurality of PUCCH resource sets based on a payload size of the codebook, wherein each of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource, and the first PUCCH resource set corresponds to a payload size of the to-be-received codebook; generate a mth piece of DCI that comprises PUCCH resource indication information (PRI) for determining the first PUCCH resource; and determine a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set.
However, Huang teaches determine a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource set from a plurality of PUCCH resource sets based on a payload size of the codebook, wherein each of the plurality of PUCCH resource sets comprises at least one PUCCH resource (Huang, [0180]-[0183]; resource allocation for PUCCH carrying one or more HARQ-ACKs is determined based on at least UCI payload size); and the first PUCCH resource set corresponds to a payload size of the to-be-received codebook; generate a mth piece of DCI that comprises PUCCH resource indication information (PRI) for determining the first PUCCH resource; and determine a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set (Huang, [0164]-[0166]; for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information, a UE determines a PUCCH resource after determining a set of PUCCH resources, where the PUCCH resource determination is based on a PUCCH resource indicator field in a last DCI format).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Khoshnevisan in view of Liu further in view of Park to include the above recited limitations as taught by Huang in order to avoid resource collision and interference from other UEs (Huang, [0174]).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, and 18, Khoshnevisan in view of Liu in view of Park further in view of Huang teaches the method according to claim 1, the method according to claim 6, the communication apparatus according to claim 11, and the communication apparatus according to claim 16 above. Further, Khoshnevisan teaches wherein a sending occasion of the HARQ-ACK feedback information corresponding to the N first downlink data channels and the M second downlink data channels is the third time unit (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 6, [0180]-[0182]; the UE may be configured to provide HARQ feedback on a PUCCH 625).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14, and 19, Khoshnevisan in view of Liu in view of Park further in view of Huang teaches the method according to claim 1, the method according to claim 6, the communication apparatus according to claim 11, and the communication apparatus according to claim 16 above. Further, Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the first sub-codebook and the second sub-codebook are concatenated, the first sub-codebook is after the second sub-codebook (Khoshnevisan, Fig. 19-21, [0152] and [0289]-[0297]; the base station may receive a generated set of feedback bits on an uplink control channel, the generated set of feedback bits corresponding to the set of downlink data channels, the generated set of feedback bits including a first feedback bit and a second feedback bit corresponding to the first downlink data channel and the second downlink data channel, where the first feedback bit is assigned to a first position in an acknowledgement codebook indicated by one DAI and the second feedback bit to a second position in the acknowledgement codebook that is adjacent the first position, where the codebook is a HARQ feedback codebook (e.g. a HARQ-ACK codebook) for providing HARQ feedback for multiple scheduled PDSCH).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416