DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-17, in the reply filed on 3/4/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method expressly requires use of the specific structural system recited in the apparatus claims (page 2 of the response dated 3/4/2026). This is not found persuasive because, as stated in the restriction, the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/4/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement dated 10/31/2022 has been considered and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Higuchi et al. (US 2018/0171280) (IDS dated 10/31/2022).
With respect to claim 1, the reference of Higuchi et al. discloses:
A cell culture exposure system (CCES)(100)(Figs. 1, 6a and 6b) comprising:
at least one dilution manifold (103, 104, 105) including at least one inlet (102) for receiving a fluid flow;
at least one flow splitter (top plate)(113)(Figs. 1, 6a and 6b);
an exposure chamber (111) configured to receive a cell culture plate;
wherein the at least one flow splitter (top plate)(113) is disposed between the at least one dilution manifold (103, 104, 105) and the exposure chamber (111), and provides flow communication between the at least one dilution manifold (103, 104, 105) and a cell culture plate (¶[0035]) received in the exposure chamber.
With respect to claim 2, the dilution manifold (Fig. 1 reproduced below) includes:
at least one inlet cap (103) having the at least one inlet (102);
at least one inner diluter (104);
at least one exhaust dilutor (Fig. 1 below).
With respect to claims 4 and 6, in the absence of further positively recited structure, the at least one flow splitter (top plate)(113)(Figs. 1, 6a and 6b) is considered to be structurally capable of accommodating VOC or aerosol flows.
With respect to claim 9, the system (Figs. 1 and 5) includes:
a plenum plate (113);
an annular plate (Fig. 5);
a base configured to receive the cell culture plate (114);
wherein the annular plate is disposed between the plenum plate and the base.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, the system include a culture plate (¶[0035]) disposed within the system, wherein cell culture plate includes a plurality of wells, and the system is configured such that each well of the plurality of wells receives its own independent flow of the fluid flow from the at least one inlet.
With respect to claim 13, the reference of Higuchi et al. discloses:
A cell culture exposure system comprising:
a dilution manifold (103, 104, 105) having at least one inlet (102) for receiving a fluid flow;
an assembly of flow splitters (recesses in top plate)(113)(Figs. 1, 6a and 6b);
an exposure chamber (111) configured to receive a cell culture plate having a plurality of wells;
wherein the assembly of flow splitters is disposed between the dilution manifold (103, 104, 105) and the exposure chamber (111) and provides flow communication therebetween and the system is configured such that each well of the plurality of wells (¶[0035]) receives its own independent flow of the fluid flow downstream of the assembly of flow splitters.
With respect to claim 14, the dilution manifold (Fig. 1 reproduced above) includes:
at least one inner diluter (104);
at least one exhaust dilutor (Fig. 1 above).
With respect to claim 15, in the absence of further positively recited structure, the assembly of flow splitters (recesses in top plate)(113)(Figs. 1, 6a and 6b) are considered to be structurally capable of accommodating VOC or aerosol flows.
With respect to claim 16, the system (Figs. 1 and 5) includes:
a plenum plate (113);
an annular plate (Fig. 5);
a base configured to receive the cell culture plate (114);
wherein the annular plate is disposed between the plenum plate and the base.
With respect to claim 17, the system include a culture plate (¶[0035]) disposed within the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al. (US 2018/0171280) (IDS dated 10/31/2022) in view of Mohr et al. (US 2005/0170499) (IDS dated 10/31/2022).
The reference of Higuchi et al. has been discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 10 differs by reciting that the system includes a heating element.
The reference of Mohr et al. discloses that it is known in the art to provide the base or lower part (2) of a cell culture exposure system (Fig. 1) with a heating element (coil)(¶[0040]).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the cell culture exposure system of the reference of Higuchi et al. with a heating coil for the known and expected result of regulating the temperature of the culture chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest a cell culture exposure system, in the claimed environment or scope of claim, that includes at least two inner diluters and the at least one dilution manifold further includes: a U-turn component disposed between the at least two inner diluters and providing flow communication therebetween.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest a cell culture exposure system, in the claimed environment or scope of claim, wherein the VOC flow splitter includes: a sampling port; a flow splitter body; at least one chamber adapter.
With respect to claims 7 and 8, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest a cell culture exposure system, in the claimed environment or scope of claim, wherein the aerosol flow splitter includes: an aerosol flow adapter; a flow splitter body; at least one chamber adapter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference of Zavala et al. (Inhal. Toxicol) is cited as prior art that pertains to a cell culture exposure system.
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB