DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 and 8-10 are currently under examination. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 3-7 have been cancelled. Claims 8 and 10 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Previous Grounds of Rejection
The double patenting rejection as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of US 11, 331, 656 B2, and in view of Bantreil et al. (Organometallics, 2010, 29, 3007-3001) stands.
In the light of the amendments, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rapish et al. (US 2019/0083966 A1) with respect to claims 7-10 is withdrawn. Among them, claim 7 has been cancelled.
Regarding claims 1-2, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovis et al. (US 2020/0108381 A1, published on 04/09/2020, US 11,331,656 B2), and in view of Bantreil et al. (Organometallics, 2010, 29, 3007-3001) stands.
New grounds of rejections are set forth below.
Previous & New Grounds of Rejections
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of US 11, 331, 656 B2, and in view of Bantreil et al. (Organometallics, 2010, 29, 3007-3001).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. US ‘656 teaches a composition comprising a ruthenium metathesis catalyst and a photoredox catalyst that is activated by visible light including a wavelength of about 350 nm to 750 nm (which encompasses the instant claimed wavelength of deep red).
US ‘656 teaches a composition for metathesis comprising a photocatalyst that activated by a wavelength about 600 nm to about 750 nm (the instant claimed deep red) and a ruthenium catalyst having a structure as shown below (Abstract, FIG.2, [0080], claims 1-6):
As we see above, the catalyst taught by US ‘656 comprises, do not specifically disclose, the instant claimed having the formula represented in the instant claim 1.
Bantreil et al. teach ruthenium complex 1b for metathesis (Scheme 1, page 3008):
The ruthenium complex 1b taught by Bantreil et al. corresponds to the instant claimed ruthenium catalyst.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the ruthenium complex 1b taught by Bantreil et al. in the composition taught by US ‘656 as an alternative ruthenium catalyst to obtain the invention as specified in the claim 1, and expect to the same catalyzing metathesis results. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect to achieve the same beneficial results and same function, absent evidence to the contrary.
Since both of US ‘656 and Bantreil et al. teach ruthenium metathesis catalysts, one would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovis et al. (US 2020/0108381 A1, published on 04/09/2020, US 11,331,656 B2), and in view of Bantreil et al. (Organometallics, 2010, 29, 3007-3001).
Regarding claim 1, Rovis et al. teach a composition for metathesis reactions (formation of a carbon-carbon double bond) comprising a photocatalyst that activated by a wavelength about 600 nm to about 750 nm (the instant claimed deep red) and a ruthenium catalyst having a structure as shown below (Abstract, FIG.2, [0080], claims 1-6):
As we see above, the catalyst taught by Rovis et al. comprises, do not specifically disclose, the instant claimed having the formula represented in the instant claim 1.
Bantreil et al. teach ruthenium complex 1b for metathesis (Scheme 1, page 3008):
The ruthenium complex 1b taught by Bantreil et al. corresponds to the instant claimed ruthenium catalyst.
Regarding claim, 2 as discussed above, the photocatalyst in the composition taught by Rovis et al. active a wavelength of about 600 nm to about 750 nm which is encompassed by the instant claimed ranges.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovis et al. (US 2020/0108381 A1, published on 04/09/2020, US 11,331,656 B2), and in view of Tan et al. (Spin-Forbidden Excitation Enables Infrared Photoredox Catalysis, 2020, 1-6, https:// doi.org/10.26434/chemrxiv.12124215.v1, posted on 04/23/2020).
Regarding claim 8, Rovis et al. teach a composition for metathesis reactions (formation of a carbon-carbon double bond) comprising a photocatalyst that activated by a wavelength about 600 nm to about 750 nm (the instant claimed deep red) and a ruthenium catalyst having a structure as shown below (Abstract, FIG.2, [0080], claims 1-6):
Although Rovis et al. do not specifically disclose the instant claimed photocatalyst as per applicant claim 8, Tan et al. teach a photoredox catalyst Os4 having the structure as shown below for converting near-infrared (NIR) and deep red (DR) light into chemical energy with minimal energetic waste (Abstract, FIG.2):
As we see above, the OS4 taught by Tan et al. corresponds to the instant claimed photocatalyst, wherein R’ is H.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the photocatalyst taught by Tan et al. in the composition taught by Rovis et al. to obtain the invention as specified in the claim 8, motivated by the fact that Os catalysts converts the near-infrared (NIR) and deep red (DR) light into chemical energy with minimal energetic waste and have lower extinction coefficients in the NIR and DR and bypass the energy losses associated with ISC rendering it more suitable for large scale reaction in batch (Abstract and page 4).
Since both of Rovis et al. and Tan et al. teach photocatalysts activated by deep red light, one would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 9-10, as discussed above, the OS4 taught by Tan et al. reads on the instant claimed photocatalyst wherein R’ is H.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the previous Grounds of Rejection
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 with respect to claims 1-2 and 8-10, have been considered but are not persuasive. The examiner would like to take this opportunity to address the Applicant's arguments.
Regarding the rejection on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of US 11, 331, 656 B2, and in view of Bantreil et al. (Organometallics, 2010, 29, 3007-3001), applicant argued that the Bantreil Publication teaches away from selecting complex lb. The Bantreil Publication states that several ruthenium complexes have been tested. Among those, the Bantreil Publication provides that the best ruthenium complex was complex la, NOT complex lb. a skilled artisan would have chosen complex la having IMeMe instead of complex lb having IiPrMe for modifying the composition of the '656 Patent. Such a modification with complex la would NOT have arrived at the recited subject matter of presently-pending independent claim 1.
Accordingly, based on at least the reasons provided herein above, it would not have been obvious to combine the '656 Patent and the Bantreil Publication should be withdrawn (Remarks, pages 12-13).
The Office respectfully disagrees. As set forth in the previous office actions and the discussion above, the combine the '656 Patent and the Bantreil Publication read on the instant claims. Applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach away the complex 1b. See In re Courtright, 377 F.2d 647, 153 USPQ 735,739 (CCPA 1967).
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). MPEP 2123 I.
Applicant is reminded that patents are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain, and that disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or non-preferred embodiments (MPEP2123). As such, the rejection is proper and stands.
Conclusion
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738