Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 and 7-10 are currently under examination. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 3-6 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 7 are withdrawn.
Previous Grounds of Rejection
In the light of the amendments, the double patenting rejection as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of US 11, 331, 656 B2 is withdrawn. Among them, claims 3-6 have been cancelled.
In the light of the amendments, the double patenting rejection as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of US 12,377, 407 B2 is withdrawn. Among them, claims 3-6 have been cancelled.
Regarding claims 1-4, in the light of the amendments, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rovis et al. (US 2020/0108381 A1, published on 04/09/2020, US 11,331,656 B2) is withdrawn. Among them, claims 3-6 have been cancelled.
Regarding claims 1-7, in the light of the amendments, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rovis et al. (US 2020/01611245 A1, provisional application filed on 11/20/2020, US 12, 377, 407 B2) is withdrawn. Among them, claims 3-6 have been cancelled.
New grounds of rejections are set forth below.
New Grounds of Rejections
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of US 11, 331, 656 B2, and in view of Bantreil et al. (Organometallics, 2010, 29, 3007-3001).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. US ‘656 teaches a composition comprising a ruthenium metathesis catalyst and a photoredox catalyst that is activated by visible light including a wavelength of about 350 nm to 750 nm (which encompasses the instant claimed wavelength of deep red).
US ‘656 teaches a composition for metathesis comprising a photocatalyst that activated by a wavelength about 600 nm to about 750 nm (the instant claimed deep red) and a ruthenium catalyst having a structure as shown below (Abstract, FIG.2, [0080], claims 1-6):
As we see above, the catalyst taught by US ‘656 comprises, do not specifically disclose, the instant claimed having the formula represented in the instant claim 1.
Bantreil et al. teach ruthenium complex 1b for metathesis (Scheme 1, page 3008):
The ruthenium complex 1b taught by Bantreil et al. corresponds to the instant claimed ruthenium catalyst.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the ruthenium complex 1b taught by Bantreil et al. in the composition taught by US ‘656 as an alternative ruthenium catalyst to obtain the invention as specified in the claim 1, and expect to the same catalyzing metathesis results. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect to achieve the same beneficial results and same function, absent evidence to the contrary.
Since both of US ‘656 and Bantreil et al. teach ruthenium metathesis catalysts, one would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rapish et al. (US 2019/0083966 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Rapish et al. teach a catalyst system comprising ruthenium compound having Formula I and a photosensitizer (the claimed photocatalyst) of Os(bpy)3 (claims 10-12).
A product-by-process limitation of “ a photocatalyst that is activated by a deep red to near-infrared light…” of claim 7 is noted. It is considered while the product of the reference is made by a different process, the product made and disclosed is the same as being claimed. see "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966). Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious different between the claimed product and the prior art product (In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802,218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). See MPEP 2113.
The phrase of "for catalyzing formation of a carbon-carbon double” recites in claim 10 interpreted as intended use. Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since the reference of Rapish et al. teach the same composition as the instant claim 7, the resulting catalyst composition would expect to be capable of performing these specific carbon-carbon double formation chemical reactions as per applicant claim 7. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Regarding claims 8-10, as discussed above, Rapish et al teach Os(bpy)3 (R’ as being H) which reads on the instant claimed photocatalyst.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovis et al. (US 2020/0108381 A1, published on 04/09/2020, US 11,331,656 B2), and in view of Bantreil et al. (Organometallics, 2010, 29, 3007-3001).
Regarding claim 1, Rovis et al. teach a composition for metathesis reactions (formation of a carbon-carbon double bond) comprising a photocatalyst that activated by a wavelength about 600 nm to about 750 nm (the instant claimed deep red) and a ruthenium catalyst having a structure as shown below (Abstract, FIG.2, [0080], claims 1-6):
As we see above, the catalyst taught by Rovis et al. comprises, do not specifically disclose, the the instant claimed having the formula represented in the instant claim 1.
Bantreil et al. teach ruthenium complex 1b for metathesis (Scheme 1, page 3008):
The ruthenium complex 1b taught by Bantreil et al. corresponds to the instant claimed ruthenium catalyst.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the ruthenium complex 1b taught by Bantreil et al. in the composition taught by Rovis et al. as an alternative ruthenium catalyst to obtain the invention as specified in the claim 1, and expect to the same catalyzing metathesis results. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect to achieve the same beneficial results and same function, absent evidence to the contrary.
Since both of Rovis et al. and Bantreil et al. teach ruthenium metathesis catalysts, one would have a reasonable expectation of success.
A product-by-process limitation of “ a photocatalyst that is activated by a deep red to near-infrared light…” of claim 10 is noted. It is considered while the product of the reference is made by a different process, the product made and disclosed is the same as being claimed. see "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966). Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious different between the claimed product and the prior art product (In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802,218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). See MPEP 2113.
The phrase of "for catalyzing formation of a carbon-carbon double” recites in claim 10 interpreted as intended use. Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since the reference of Rapish et al. teach the same composition as the instant claim 10, the resulting catalyst composition would expect to be capable of performing these specific carbon-carbon double formation chemical reactions as per applicant claim 10. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Regarding claim, 2 as discussed above, the photocatalyst in the composition taught by Rovis et al. active a wavelength of about 600 nm to about 750 nm which is encompassed by the instant claimed ranges.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the previous Grounds of Rejection
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 7-10 filed on 11/20/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738