DETAILED ACTION
The first inventor to file provisions of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ) apply to any application for patent, and to any patent issuing thereon, that contains or contained at any time—
(A) a claim to a claimed invention that has an effective filing date on or after March 16, 2013 wherein the effective filing date is:
(i) if subparagraph (ii) does not apply, the actual filing date of the patent or the application for the patent containing a claim to the invention; or
(ii) the filing date of the earliest application for which the patent or application is entitled, as to such invention, to a right of priority under 35 U.S.C. 119, 365(a), or 365(b) or to the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c); or
(B) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120 , 121, or 365(c), to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time a claim as defined in paragraph (A), above.
Status of the Claims
Claim(s) 9-16 and 38-45 is/are pending. Claim(s) 9-16, 38-40, and 42-45 is/are withdrawn. Claim(s) 1-8 and 17-37 is/are canceled.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted amendment to claim 9 (and thus, claims 10-16, 38-40, and 42-45) are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons.
Species of link pattern
Species 1-1: 2-2-3-2-2-3 (previously presented in claim 9, currently in claim 41)
Species 1-2: 2-2-3-2-2-3-3 (amended into claim 9 at the 12/10/2025 response)
Applicant’s original specification at [0045] discloses both of these patterns and clearly indicates that they are separate embodiments. Likewise, [0044] discloses an alternative link pattern and also a separate embodiment as the first pattern plus an additional 3 links at the end, which mirrors that of [0045]. Thus, Applicant has consistently disclosed species 1-1 and 1-2 as different embodiments and the same kind of different embodiments for at least the pattern in [0044]. It is clear from [0044]-[0045] that each link pattern has been created for a particular reason associated with the given pattern. Therefore, each pattern is a distinct embodiment.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 9-16, 38-40, and 42-45 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Therefore, claims 9-16, 38-40, and 42-45 are withdrawn as drawn to a non-elected species.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/10/2025, with respect to the claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 15 has/have been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/10/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 9-15 has/have been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the drawing objections and filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the 2-2-3-2-2-3 link pattern is seen in Figures 5A-B, which shows the 2-2-3-2-2-3-3 pattern.
As noted supra in the election/restriction section, Applicant’s original specification at [0045] discloses both of these patterns and clearly indicates that they are separate embodiments. Likewise, [0044] discloses an alternative link pattern and also a separate embodiment as the first pattern plus an additional 3 links at the end, which mirrors that of [0045]. Thus, Applicant has consistently disclosed species 1-1 and 1-2 as different embodiments and the same kind of different embodiments for at least the pattern in [0044]. It is clear from [0044]-[0045] that each link pattern has been created for a particular reason associated with the given pattern. Therefore, each pattern is a distinct embodiment.
Therefore, the drawing objection for the elected 2-2-3-2-2-3 pattern remains.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art and claims 9-16, 38-40, and 42-45 are moot because Applicant has amended independent claim 9 to be drawn to a non-elected species as noted supra.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art and claims 41 and 46-50 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The Examiner notes the change in prior art was necessitated by the Applicants amendments.
Although the Ta prior art is re-used herein, it is not used for the argued features.
Drawing Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the 2-2-3-2-2-3 link pattern must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The Examiner notes Applicant’s Figure 5A has a 2-2-3-2-2-3-3 pattern. The last “3” prevents Figure 5A from representing a 2-2-3-2-2-3, since the next repeat of the claimed pattern would require the next connection be a “2” rather than a “3”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 48 recites “each of the rings has six peaks and the links in the 3-link pattern are separated by three peaks”. In all of Applicant’s Figures having 3-links (Figures 4A, 5A, 6A, 7A, 8A, 9A, 10A) 3-links are separated by two peaks. Further, to have six total links and 3 evenly spaced links, there must be two peaks between each pair of links. Thus, the requirement of three peaks between each pair of links is new matter. Since it is not possible to have three peaks each link in a 3-link pattern, for purposes of examination the Examiner considers this language to be two peaks between each pair of links in a 3-link pattern.
Claims 46 and 48-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 46, line 1 and claim 49, line 2 and claim 50, line 2 each recites the limitation "the 2-link pattern". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination the Examiner notes this language is being interpreted as “a 2-link pattern” between the pair(s) of rings that the pattern is associated with.
Claim 46, line 2 and claim 48, line 2 each recites the limitation "the 3-link pattern". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination the Examiner notes this language is being interpreted as “a 3-link pattern” between the pair(s) of rings that the pattern is associated with.
Claim 48 recites “each of the rings has six peaks and the links in the 3-link pattern are separated by three peaks”. To have six total links and three evenly spaced links, there must be two peaks between each pair of links. It is unclear how three links can have three peaks between pairs when there are also six total links
Claim 48, line 2 and claim 50, lines 2-3 each recites “three peaks”. It is unclear if these three peaks are part of the six peaks introduced earlier in the claim or a separate three peaks or some combination of these two options. For purposes of examination the Examiner considers this language to be “three peaks of the six peaks”.
Claim 49, line 2 recites “two peaks”. It is unclear if these two peaks are part of the six peaks introduced earlier in the claim or a separate two peaks or some combination of these two options. For purposes of examination the Examiner considers this language to be “two peaks of the six peaks”.
Claim 49, line 3 recites “four peaks”. It is unclear if these four peaks are part of the six peaks introduced earlier in the claim or a separate four peaks or some combination of these two options. For purposes of examination the Examiner considers this language to be “four peaks of the six peaks”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41 and 47-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ta, et al (Ta) (US 2011/0208286 A1) in view of Lau, et al (Lau) (US 2001/0037146 A1).
Regarding Claim 41, Ta teaches a stent (e.g. Figure 6A), comprising:
a tubular body having a distal end ring and a plurality of body rings including a first body ring, a second body ring, a third body ring, a fourth body ring, a fifth body ring and a sixth body ring (e.g. Figure 6A, where distal is to the bottom as shown on the page (which is also to left with “Fig. 6A” at the bottom)), the tubular body having a compressed diameter and an expanded implanted diameter (e.g. [0018]);
the distal end ring and the body rings being positioned in an in-phase relationship (e.g. Figure 6A);
the distal end ring and the body rings being connected by a pattern of links (e.g. Figure 6A).
Ta discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach:
the distal end ring and the body rings being connected by a pattern of 2 links - 2 links - 3 links - 2 links - 2 links - 3 links;
the distal end ring being connected to the first body ring by only two links, the first body ring being connected to the second body ring by only two links, the second body ring being connected to the third body ring by only three links, the third body ring being connected to the fourth body ring by only two links, the fourth body ring being connected to the fifth body ring by only two links, and the fifth body ring being connected to the sixth body ring by only three links.
Lau teaches stents having rings interconnected by links (e.g. Figures 7-10) where “[t]he number and location of elements interconnecting adjacent cylindrical elements can be varied in order to develop the desired longitudinal flexibility in the stent structure” (e.g. [0014]).
Lau and Ta are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely stents having multiple rings interconnected by links.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ta such that the distal end ring and the body rings being connected by a pattern of only 2 links – only 2 links – only 3 links – only 2 links – only 2 links – only 3 links ...since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05, B; "In reBoesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980))". In this case, Lau teaches varying the number of links between rings in order to “minimize alteration of the natural physiology of the body lumen into which the stent is implanted and to maintain the compliance of the body lumen which is internally supported by the stent.” (e.g. Lau, [0014]).
Therefore, the combination of Ta and Lau teaches:
the distal end ring being connected to the first body ring by only two links, the first body ring being connected to the second body ring by only two links, the second body ring being connected to the third body ring by only three links, the third body ring being connected to the fourth body ring by only two links, the fourth body ring being connected to the fifth body ring by only two links, and the fifth body ring being connected to the sixth body ring by only three links
Regarding Claim 47, the stent is formed from a metal alloy taken from the group of metal alloys consisting of stainless steel, nickel-titanium, titanium, tantalum, and cobalt-chromium (e.g. Ta, [0037]).
Regarding Claim 48, each of the rings has six peaks (e.g. Ta, Figure 6A) and the links in the 3-link pattern are separated by three peaks (see 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) sections supra; e.g. Ta, Figure 6A).
Claims 46 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ta, et al (Ta) (US 2011/0208286 A1) in view of Lau, et al (Lau) (US 2001/0037146 A1) as discussed supra and further in view of Pienknaguyra (US 2007/0265698 A1).
Regarding Claim 46, the combination of Ta and Lau discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the links in the 2-link pattern are linear and the links in the 3-link pattern are non-linear.
Pienknaguyra teaches a stent the end rings are connected by straight links and the remaining rings are connected by non-linear links (e.g. Figure 9A).
Pienknaguyra and the combination of Ta and Lau are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely stents having rings connected by links.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ta and Lau such that the links in the 2-link pattern at each end of the stent are linear and the links in the 3-link pattern are non-linear as taught by Pienknaguyra to increase stent stability by having the straight struts at the stent ends (e.g. Pienknaguyra, [0069]).
The Examiner notes as broadly claimed, the claim requires the 2-link pattern and the 3-link pattern meet the claimed requirements, which is one pattern of each kind of linkages. In this combination, there is at least one set of links between a pair of rings meeting the requirement for each “pattern”.
Regarding Claim 50, each of the rings has six peaks (e.g. Ta, Figure 6A).
The combination of Ta and Lau discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the links in the 2-link pattern between the distal end ring and the first body ring are separated by three peaks.
Pienknaguyra teaches a stent end ring having six peaks and connected to the immediately adjacent ring by 2 links that are evenly spaced and thus have three rings between the pair of links (e.g. Figure 11).
Pienknaguyra and the combination of Ta and Lau are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely stents having rings connected by links.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ta and Lau such that the links in the 2-link pattern between the distal end ring and the first body ring are separated by three peaks as taught by Pienknaguyra to increase stent stability by having the straight struts at the stent ends (e.g. Pienknaguyra, [0069]).
Claim 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ta, et al (Ta) (US 2011/0208286 A1) in view of Lau, et al (Lau) (US 2001/0037146 A1) as discussed supra and further in view of Santos, et al (Santos) (US 7,169,178 B1).
Regarding Claim 49, each of the rings has six peaks (e.g. Ta, Figure 6A).
The combination of Ta and Lau discloses the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach the links is the 2-link pattern between the body rings are separated by two peaks in one circumferential direction and four peaks in the opposite circumferential direction.
Santos teaches a stent having rings connected by links (e.g. Figure 1) where two body rings are connected by 2 links such that the 2-link pattern between the body rings are separated by an unequal number of peaks one circumferential direction versus the opposite circumferential direction (e.g. Figure 1).
Santos and the combination of Ta and Lau are concerned with the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely stents having rings connected by links.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tau and Lau such that the 2-link pattern between the body rings are separated by two peaks in one circumferential direction and four peaks in the opposite circumferential direction as taught by Santos as it is a simple substitution of one known element (link pattern) for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)) of stent rings connected to each other having circumferential cells of differing circumferential size, which allows side branches to be placed through the bigger opening (e.g. Ta, [0016]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE A LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 3/11/2026