DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 13 February 2026—in which claims 8, 10, 21, and 23 are amended, and claims 8-13 and 21-26 are pending—has been entered into the record and is fully considered herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments—set forth at pp. 7-10 in the Remarks with respect to independent claims 8 and 21—have been fully considered but are not persuasive for at least the following reasons as well as those set forth in the grounds of rejection below.
Regarding amended independent claim 8, Applicant contends that SUNDARAM “merely discloses the analog beamforming extension for indications of respective analog beams for carriers.” In response, the Examiner finds that the grounds of rejection map to various limitations recited in claim 8. Remarks, p. 9.
Applicant proceeds to assert that SUNDARAM “does not teach or suggest, e.g., the features of RCIS index and the operation type for the RCIS.” Id. Applicant further asserts that OOKUBO “neither teaches nor suggests the features of RCIS index and the operation type for the RCIS.” Remarks, p. 10. Finally, Applicant asserts that WEBB “neither teaches nor suggests the features of RCIS index and the operation type for the RCIS.” Id.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). That is, claim 8 does not positively recite any “RCIS” processing by the O-RU. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments regarding RCIS-related operations are not commensurate with the scope of the claims. Amended independent claim 21 is similarly deficient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the operation" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 23 is similarly defective. Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-13 and 21-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0057921 (hereinafter, “SUNDARAM”) in view of US 2022/0345896 (hereinafter, “AHMED”), US 2019/0116514 (hereinafter, “OOKUBO”), and US 2021/0120527 (hereinafter, “RHIM”), and further in view of US 2016/0345314 (hereinafter, “WEBB”).
Regarding claim 8, SUNDARAM discloses:
A method (Fig. 6: example 600) performed by an open radio access network (0-RAN) radio unit (0-RU) (RU 610/apparatus 1300), the method comprising:
. . .
receiving, from the O-DU, a control-plane message including control information to perform a [uplink and/or downlink] communication between the O-RU and a user equipment (UE), (¶ 0074: [B]y reference number 615, the DU 605 may transmit, to the RU 610, a C-plane message that includes information that applies to all RBs and spatial layers in a group of carriers (e.g., component carriers (CCs)) or band sectors. The RU 610 may receive the C-plane message transmitted by the DU 605; ¶ 0075: By using the C-plane message associated with the dedicated section type, the DU 605 may send a single C-plane message that includes information (e.g., TDD configuration information, idle and/or active symbol information, and/or analog beamforming information); ¶ 0066: [M]essage source information and the message destination information may be indicated by extended antenna-carrier (eAxC) information. For example, the eAxC information may include a transmitting device port identifier, a band sector identifier, a transmitting antenna identifier, a component carrier identifier)
wherein the control-plane message indicates an index for the control information, an operation type for the control information, . . . , and wherein the operation type for the control information is used for indicating a setup, a modification, or a delete for the control information; and (¶ 0074: [T]he C-plane message may be associated with a section type that . . . may be associated with an index used to identify messages associated with the section type; ¶ 0102: [P]rocess 900 is an example where the RU (e.g., RU 610) performs operations associated with a carrier configuration section type and an analog beamforming extension in an O-RAN)
performing the [uplink and/or downlink] communication in the endpoint based on []using the control information. (¶ 0083: As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the RU 610 may perform beamforming for one or more communications with the UE 120 based at least in part on the information included in the C-plane message received from the DU 605. For example, the RU 610 may perform beamforming using the information, included in the C-plane message, that applies to all RBs and spatial layers in a group of carriers or band sectors. In some aspects, the RU 610 may use the TDD configuration, the idle and active pattern, and/or the analog beamforming information included in the C-plane message in the beamforming to form transmit (Tx) beams for transmitting downlink communications to the UE 120 and/or receive (Rx) beams for receiving uplink communications from the UE 120 in the indicated symbols of a slot (e.g., in the symbol mask of the section header))
SUNDARAM does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, to an O-RAN distributed unit (0-DU), capability information for an endpoint of the O-RU;
a periodic communication
wherein the control-plane message indicates
a starting slot for the control information and a period for reusing the control information in the endpoint of the O-RU; and
In the same field of endeavor, however, AHMED teaches:
transmitting, to an O-RAN distributed unit (0-DU), capability information for an endpoint of the O-RU; (¶ 0025: FIG. 2b illustrates . . . an O-RAN-based system . . . including . . . a combined O-DU and O-RU . . . in a common node 2004; ¶ 0026: [T]he O-RU can report . . . the O-RU's capabilities:; ¶ 0030: d) installationParam: Installation parameters related to the O-RU, e.g.: O-RU coordinates (latitude, longitude, height, height type, horizontal Accuracy, vertical Accuracy); whether the deployment is indoor or outdoor; antenna azimuth; antenna down tilt; antenna gain; eirp Capability; antenna Model; and antenna beamwidth)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SUNDARAM’s O-RAN-based system control messaging procedure to provide O-RU capability reporting as taught by AHMED to provide antenna parameters to the O-DU (i.e., common node 2004), so as to enable the nodes of an O-RAN based network to operate over a band with interoperability across different RU and DU vendors without requiring proprietary solutions. See AHMED, at ¶ 0009.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, OOKUBO teaches:
a periodic communication (¶ 0033: [T]he RU 2 to receive an uplink reference signal used for uplink quality measurement or the like from the user equipment UE and transmit information calculated based on the uplink reference signal to the DU 1. The uplink reference signal may be referred to as a sounding reference signal (SRS). The user equipment UE may transmit an SRS at periodic timing; ¶ 0043: DU 1 provides configuration information for transmitting and receiving signals between the user equipment UE and the RU 2 (step S101). For example, the DU 1 provides resource information of an SRS to the RU 2 in advance as configuration information necessary for SRS reception. The resource information of the SRS indicates a resource used when the user equipment UE transmits the SRS, and includes a frequency band of a periodic SRS)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SUNDARAM’s O-RAN-based system control messaging procedure to provide periodic communication as taught by OOKUBO between the O-DU and the UE, so as to support an area like a hot spot with high traffic in a network. See OOKUBO, at ¶¶ 0002, 0033.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, RHIM teaches:
wherein the control-plane message indicates a starting slot for the control information (¶ 0095: FIG. 7 is a view illustrating a format of a C-plane message; ¶ 0096: A slotId 710 indicates a specific slot in a corresponding frame. A startSymbolid 712 indicates a start Symbol in a corresponding frame)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SUNDARAM’s O-RAN-based system control messaging procedure to provide control messages as taught by RHIM to include a starting slot for control information, so as to provide an RU of the base station that does not need to analyze the subframe structure in association with other control plane sections, such that processing time and processing complexity are reduced. See RHIM, at Abstract.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, WEBB teaches:
wherein the control-plane message indicates a period for reusing the control information in the endpoint of the O-RU (¶ 0085: [T]he control message transmitted on the PDCCH is considered valid for a period that is longer than the period needed to transmit a single PDSCH message (whether in one subframe or with repeat transmissions in a plurality of subframes to provide coverage extension). This means multiple PDSCH messages can in effect be scheduled using the control-region resources of only a single PDCCH message); ¶ 0100: [I]n a first step S1 in FIG. 8 the base station determines a validity period that is to apply for an upcoming control-plane message that is to be transmitted to allocate resources; Fig. 8, S2 control-plane message (comprising repeats); ¶ 0112: [T]he DCI may comprise an indication of a number of subframes/radio frames corresponding to the validity period or may comprise an indication of a specific subframe/radio frame in which the validity period is to expire)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SUNDARAM’s O-RAN-based system control messaging procedure to provide a validity period as taught by WEBB to apply for an upcoming control-plane message that is to be transmitted, so as to provide resource allocation, such that communications with terminal devices are made over a number of subframes with a reduction in the overall amount of transmission resources needed to support the messaging as compared to conventional techniques, i.e., reduce control resource requirements, which can be especially important in the context of coverage extension where according to conventional techniques PDCCH (comprising multiple repeat transmissions) messages would have to be transmitted every time an SI-message (comprising multiple repeat transmissions) needed to be sent. See WEBB, at ¶¶ 0010, 0108.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of SUNDARAM, AHMED, OOKUBO, RHIM, and WEBB, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 8. SUNDARAM further discloses:
wherein the capability information for the endpoints includes first capability information and second capability information, (¶ 0066: [M]essage source information and the message destination information may be indicated by extended antenna-carrier (eAxC) information. For example, the eAxC information may include a transmitting device port identifier, a band sector identifier, a transmitting antenna identifier, a component carrier identifier, a receiving device port identifier, a receiving antenna identifier, an indication of a MIMO spatial steam, and/or an indication of a MIMO layer, among other examples)
wherein the first capability information indicates that the endpoint supports a section extension of the control information, and (¶ 0066: [M]essage source information and the message destination information may be indicated by extended antenna-carrier (eAxC) information. For example, the eAxC information may include a transmitting device port identifier, a band sector identifier, a transmitting antenna identifier, a component carrier identifier, a receiving device port identifier, a receiving antenna identifier, an indication of a MIMO spatial steam, and/or an indication of a MIMO layer, among other examples)
wherein the second capability information indicates a maximum value of a number of pieces of the control information supported by the endpoint. (¶ 0100: [T]he analog beamforming extension may indicate an extension type (e.g., in an extType field) and an extension length (e.g., in an extLen field). As further shown in FIG. 8, the analog beamforming extension may further include one or more analog beam indication fields (e.g., analogBeam0 - analogBeamN) that provide indications of respective analog beams for one or more carriers (e.g., carrier0 - carrierN). For example, the analog beamforming extension may include a respective indication of an analog beam for each carrier in a group of carriers or band sectors indicated a section header (e.g., section header 715) associated with the dedicated section type. As shown in FIG. 8, the analog beam indication field (e.g., analogBeam0) may include 16 bits (e.g., analogBeam0[7:0] and analogBeam0[15:8]) for providing the indication of the analog beam for a carrier. In some aspects, the indication of the analog beam for a carrier may identify a set of antenna element weights associated with the analog beam for the carrier; ¶ 0071: [T]he RU may be required to process all of the digital beams within a carrier. For example, in some cases, there may be approximately 4000 digital beams per carrier)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of SUNDARAM, AHMED, OOKUBO, RHIM, and WEBB, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 8. SUNDARAM further discloses:
wherein the performing of the . . . communication comprises:
determining a type of an operation related to the control information, based on the control-plane message; and (¶ 0100: [T]he analog beamforming extension may indicate an extension type (e.g., in an extType field) and an extension length (e.g., in an extLen field). As further shown in FIG. 8, the analog beamforming extension may further include one or more analog beam indication fields (e.g., analogBeam0 - analogBeamN) that provide indications of respective analog beams for one or more carriers (e.g., carrier0 - carrierN). For example, the analog beamforming extension may include a respective indication of an analog beam for each carrier in a group of carriers or band sectors indicated a section header (e.g., section header 715) associated with the dedicated section type. As shown in FIG. 8, the analog beam indication field (e.g., analogBeam0) may include 16 bits (e.g., analogBeam0[7:0] and analogBeam0[15:8]) for providing the indication of the analog beam for a carrier)
performing the operation related to the control information in the endpoint based on the type of the operation, (¶ 0102: Example process 900 is an example where the RU (e.g., RU 610) performs operations associated with a carrier configuration section type and an analog beamforming extension in an O-RAN)
SUNDARAM does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the type of the operation is one of a setup for periodic signals, a modification for the periodic signals, or a deactivation for the periodic signals.
In the same field of endeavor, however, OOKUBO teaches:
wherein the type of the operation is one of a setup for periodic signals, a modification for the periodic signals, or a deactivation for the periodic signals. (¶ 0032: The SCell is a cell which is provided for the user equipment UE additionally to the PCell. Addition and deletion of the SCell are performed through radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The SCell is in a deactivation state immediately after being provided for the user equipment UE and thus has to be activated to be used for communication (scheduling); ¶ 0046: [W]hen DRX is set in the user equipment UE, since the user equipment UE does not transmit an SRS except in an active time, it is necessary for the RU 2 to recognize a DRX state of the user equipment UE. For example, the DU 1 may use a DRX timer (a DRX inactive timer) in order to manage a length of time until the user equipment UE enters the deactivation state after the completion of data transmission/reception)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of SUNDARAM, AHMED, OOKUBO, RHIM, and WEBB, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 9. SUNDARAM further discloses:
wherein a total number of pieces of the control information does not exceed the maximum value indicated by the second capability information. (¶ 0104: [P]rocess 900 may include performing beamforming for one or more communications with a UE based at least in part on the information included in the control plane message (block 920). For example, the RU (e.g., using beamforming component 1308, depicted in FIG. 13) may perform beamforming for one or more communications with a UE based at least in part on the information included in the control plane message, as described above in connection with FIGS. 6-8)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of SUNDARAM, AHMED, OOKUBO, RHIM, and WEBB, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 8. SUNDARAM further discloses:
further comprising:
wherein, if the control-plane message further includes a section extension for indicating a group of extended antenna-carrier identifiers, the performing of the [uplink and/or downlink] communication comprises: (¶ 0066: The message source information and the message destination information may indicate an eAxC identifier associated with the message. The transport header may include an eCPRISeqID field (e.g., in Octet 7 and/or Octet 8) that indicates a sequence identifier associated with the message; ¶ 0076: [T]he section header associated with the dedicated section type may indicate the group of carriers or band sectors to which the information in the section header applies. For example, the section header may include an eAxC mask that identifies (e.g., based at least in part on an eAxC identifier) the indicated group of carriers or band sectors to which the information in the section header applies)
performing the [uplink and/or downlink] communication in endpoints corresponding to the group of extended antenna-carrier identifiers, based on the control-plane message. (¶ 0076: [T]he eAxC mask may indicate a set of eAxC identifiers, and the RU 610 may identify a group of band sectors from band sector identifiers associated with the eAxC identifiers or a group of component carriers from component carrier identifiers associated with the eAxC identifiers. In some aspects, the indicated group of carriers or band sectors may include one or more carriers or band sectors; ¶ 0087: As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 625, the RU 610 may transmit one or more downlink communications to the UE 120 and/or receive one or more uplink communications from the UE 120 using beams resulting from the beamforming. For example, the RU 610 may transmit one or more downlink communications to the UE 120 using one or more Tx beams resulting from the beamforming. Additionally, or alternatively, the RU 610 may receive one or more uplink communications using one or more Rx beams resulting from the beamforming. The UE 120 may receive the one or more downlink communications from the RU 610 and/or transmit the one or more uplink communications to the RU 610 using Rx and/or Tx beams corresponding to the Tx and/or Rx beams used by the RU 610)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of SUNDARAM, AHMED, OOKUBO, RHIM, and WEBB, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 8. SUNDARAM does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
refraining from receiving a periodic transmission for the control-plane message from the O-DU.
In the same field of endeavor, however, WEBB teaches:
refraining from receiving a periodic transmission for the control-plane message from the O-DU. (¶ 0106: The process of the base station sending further system information messages, and the terminal device receiving the further information messages, based on transmission resource allocation information indicated in the control-plane message of step S2 may continue (as schematically indicated in step S6 for transmitting SI message #n) until the validity period for the control-plane message received in step S2 has expired, as schematically indicated in step S7; ¶ 0107: Following step S7 the processing in effect cycles back to where it started prior to step S1. The base station may thus determine a new validity period for a new control message to be sent in a further step corresponding with step S2 (the base station determines that a new PDCCH message is required because the previous one has expired); ¶ 0064: SI messages transmitted at different periodicities. Each SI message may convey multiple SIBs suitable for scheduling with the same periodicity)
Regarding claim 21, SUNDARAM discloses:
An open radio access network (0-RAN) radio unit (0-RU) (RU 610/ apparatus 1300) comprising:
at least one transceiver including communication circuitry; (Transmission Component 1304)
memory, including one or more storage media, storing instructions, (¶ 0149)
at least one processor including processing circuitry (¶ 0149), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the O-RU to:
. . .
receive, from the O-DU, a control-plane message including control information to perform a [uplink and/or downlink] communication between the O-RU and a user equipment (UE), (¶ 0074: As shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 615, the DU 605 may transmit, to the RU 610, a C-plane message that includes information that applies to all RBs and spatial layers in a group of carriers (e.g., component carriers (CCs)) or band sectors. The RU 610 may receive the C-plane message transmitted by the DU 605; ¶ 0075: By using the C-plane message associated with the dedicated section type, the DU 605 may send a single C-plane message that includes information (e.g., TDD configuration information, idle and/or active symbol information, and/or analog beamforming information); ¶ 0066: [M]essage source information and the message destination information may be indicated by extended antenna-carrier (eAxC) information. For example, the eAxC information may include a transmitting device port identifier, a band sector identifier, a transmitting antenna identifier, a component carrier identifier)
wherein the control-plane message indicates an index for the control information, an operation type for the control information, . . . , and wherein the operation type for the control information is used for indicating a setup, a modification, or a delete for the control information; and (¶ 0074: [T]he C-plane message may be associated with a section type that . . . may be associated with an index used to identify messages associated with the section type; ¶ 0102: [P]rocess 900 is an example where the RU (e.g., RU 610) performs operations associated with a carrier configuration section type and an analog beamforming extension in an O-RAN)
perform the [uplink and/or downlink] communication in the endpoint based on [ ]using the control information. (¶ 0083: As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the RU 610 may perform beamforming for one or more communications with the UE 120 based at least in part on the information included in the C-plane message received from the DU 605. For example, the RU 610 may perform beamforming using the information, included in the C-plane message, that applies to all RBs and spatial layers in a group of carriers or band sectors. In some aspects, the RU 610 may use the TDD configuration, the idle and active pattern, and/or the analog beamforming information included in the C-plane message in the beamforming to form transmit (Tx) beams for transmitting downlink communications to the UE 120 and/or receive (Rx) beams for receiving uplink communications from the UE 120 in the indicated symbols of a slot (e.g., in the symbol mask of the section header))
SUNDARAM does not explicitly disclose:
transmit, to an O-RAN distributed unit (0-DU), capability information for an endpoint of the O-RU;
a periodic communication
wherein the control-plane message indicates
a starting slot for the control information and
a period for reusing the control information in the endpoint of the O-RU;
In the same field of endeavor, however, AHMED teaches:
transmit, to an O-RAN distributed unit (0-DU), capability information for an endpoint of the O-RU; (¶ 0025: FIG. 2b illustrates . . . an O-RAN-based system . . . including . . . a combined O-DU and O-RU . . . in a common node 2004; ¶ 0026: [T]he O-RU can report . . . the O-RU's capabilities:; ¶ 0030: d) installationParam: Installation parameters related to the O-RU, e.g.: O-RU coordinates (latitude, longitude, height, height type, horizontal Accuracy, vertical Accuracy); whether the deployment is indoor or outdoor; antenna azimuth; antenna down tilt; antenna gain; eirp Capability; antenna Model; and antenna beamwidth)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SUNDARAM’s O-RAN-based system control messaging procedure to provide O-RU capability reporting as taught by AHMED to provide antenna parameters to the O-DU (i.e., common node 2004), so as to enable the nodes of an O-RAN based network to operate over a band with interoperability across different RU and DU vendors without requiring proprietary solutions. See AHMED, at ¶ 0009.
In the same field of endeavor, OOKUBO teaches:
perform the periodic communication in the endpoint based on [ ]using the control information (¶ 0033: [T]he RU 2 to receive an uplink reference signal used for uplink quality measurement or the like from the user equipment UE and transmit information calculated based on the uplink reference signal to the DU 1. The uplink reference signal may be referred to as a sounding reference signal (SRS). The user equipment UE may transmit an SRS at periodic timing; ¶ 0043: DU 1 provides configuration information for transmitting and receiving signals between the user equipment UE and the RU 2 (step S101). For example, the DU 1 provides resource information of an SRS to the RU 2 in advance as configuration information necessary for SRS reception. The resource information of the SRS indicates a resource used when the user equipment UE transmits the SRS, and includes a frequency band of a periodic SRS)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SUNDARAM’s O-RAN-based system control messaging procedure to provide periodic communication as taught by OOKUBO between the O-DU and the UE, so as to support an area like a hot spot with high traffic in a network. See OOKUBO, at ¶¶ 0002, 0033.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, RHIM teaches:
wherein the control-plane message indicates a starting slot for the control information (¶ 0095: FIG. 7 is a view illustrating a format of a C-plane message; ¶ 0096: A slotId 710 indicates a specific slot in a corresponding frame. A startSymbolid 712 indicates a start Symbol in a corresponding frame)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SUNDARAM’s O-RAN-based system control messaging procedure to provide control messages as taught by RHIM to include a starting slot for control information, so as to provide an RU of the base station that does not need to analyze the subframe structure in association with other control plane sections, such that processing time and processing complexity are reduced. See RHIM, at Abstract.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, WEBB teaches:
wherein the control-plane message indicates a period for reusing the control information in the endpoint of the O-RU; (¶ 0085: [T]he control message transmitted on the PDCCH is considered valid for a period that is longer than the period needed to transmit a single PDSCH message (whether in one subframe or with repeat transmissions in a plurality of subframes to provide coverage extension). This means multiple PDSCH messages can in effect be scheduled using the control-region resources of only a single PDCCH message); ¶ 0100: [I]n a first step S1 in FIG. 8 the base station determines a validity period that is to apply for an upcoming control-plane message that is to be transmitted to allocate resources; Fig. 8, S2 control-plane message (comprising repeats); ¶ 0112: [T]he DCI may comprise an indication of a number of subframes/radio frames corresponding to the validity period or may comprise an indication of a specific subframe/radio frame in which the validity period is to expire)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SUNDARAM’s O-RAN-based system control messaging procedure to provide a validity period as taught by WEBB to apply for an upcoming control-plane message that is to be transmitted, so as to provide resource allocation, such that communications with terminal devices are made over a number of subframes with a reduction in the overall amount of transmission resources needed to support the messaging as compared to conventional techniques, i.e., reduce control resource requirements, which can be especially important in the context of coverage extension where according to conventional techniques PDCCH (comprising multiple repeat transmissions) messages would have to be transmitted every time an SI-message (comprising multiple repeat transmissions) needed to be sent. See WEBB, at ¶¶ 0010, 0108.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of SUNDARAM, AHMED, OOKUBO, RHIM, and WEBB, as applied above, renders obvious the O-RU of claim 21. SUNDARAM further discloses:
wherein the capability information for the endpoint includes first capability information and second capability information, (¶ 0066: [M]essage source information and the message destination information may be indicated by extended antenna-carrier (eAxC) information. For example, the eAxC information may include a transmitting device port identifier, a band sector identifier, a transmitting antenna identifier, a component carrier identifier, a receiving device port identifier, a receiving antenna identifier, an indication of a MIMO spatial steam, and/or an indication of a MIMO layer, among other examples)
wherein the first capability information indicates that the endpoint supports a section extension of the control information, and (¶ 0066: [M]essage source information and the message destination information may be indicated by extended antenna-carrier (eAxC) information. For example, the eAxC information may include a transmitting device port identifier, a band sector identifier, a transmitting antenna identifier, a component carrier identifier, a receiving device port identifier, a receiving antenna identifier, an indication of a MIMO spatial steam, and/or an indication of a MIMO layer, among other examples)
wherein the second capability information indicates a maximum value of a number of pieces of the control information supported by the endpoint. (¶ 0100: [T]he analog beamforming extension may indicate an extension type (e.g., in an extType field) and an extension length (e.g., in an extLen field). As further shown in FIG. 8, the analog beamforming extension may further include one or more analog beam indication fields (e.g., analogBeam0 - analogBeamN) that provide indications of respective analog beams for one or more carriers (e.g., carrier0 - carrierN). For example, the analog beamforming extension may include a respective indication of an analog beam for each carrier in a group of carriers or band sectors indicated a section header (e.g., section header 715) associated with the dedicated section type. As shown in FIG. 8, the analog beam indication field (e.g., analogBeam0) may include 16 bits (e.g., analogBeam0[7:0] and analogBeam0[15:8]) for providing the indication of the analog beam for a carrier. In some aspects, the indication of the analog beam for a carrier may identify a set of antenna element weights associated with the analog beam for the carrier; ¶ 0071: [T]he RU may be required to process all of the digital beams within a carrier. For example, in some cases, there may be approximately 4000 digital beams per carrier)
Regarding claim 23, the combination of SUNDARAM, AHMED, OOKUBO, RHIM, and WEBB, as applied above, renders obvious the O-RU of claim 21. SUNDARAM further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the O-RU to:
determine a type of an operation related to the control information, based on the control-plane message; and (¶ 0100: [T]he analog beamforming extension may indicate an extension type (e.g., in an extType field) and an extension length (e.g., in an extLen field). As further shown in FIG. 8, the analog beamforming extension may further include one or more analog beam indication fields (e.g., analogBeam0 - analogBeamN) that provide indications of respective analog beams for one or more carriers (e.g., carrier0 - carrierN). For example, the analog beamforming extension may include a respective indication of an analog beam for each carrier in a group of carriers or band sectors indicated a section header (e.g., section header 715) associated with the dedicated section type. As shown in FIG. 8, the analog beam indication field (e.g., analogBeam0) may include 16 bits (e.g., analogBeam0[7:0] and analogBeam0[15:8]) for providing the indication of the analog beam for a carrier)
perform the operation related to the control information in the endpoint based on the type of the operation, (¶ 0102: Example process 900 is an example where the RU (e.g., RU 610) performs operations associated with a carrier configuration section type and an analog beamforming extension in an O-RAN)
SUNDARAM does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the type of the operation is one of a setup for periodic signals, a modification for the periodic signals, or a deactivation for the periodic signals.
In the same field of endeavor, however, OOKUBO teaches:
wherein the type of the operation is one of a setup for periodic signals, a modification for the periodic signals, or a deactivation for the periodic signals. (¶ 0032: The SCell is a cell which is provided for the user equipment UE additionally to the PCell. Addition and deletion of the SCell are performed through radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The SCell is in a deactivation state immediately after being provided for the user equipment UE and thus has to be activated to be used for communication (scheduling); ¶ 0046: [W]hen DRX is set in the user equipment UE, since the user equipment UE does not transmit an SRS except in an active time, it is necessary for the RU 2 to recognize a DRX state of the user equipment UE. For example, the DU 1 may use a DRX timer (a DRX inactive timer) in order to manage a length of time until the user equipment UE enters the deactivation state after the completion of data transmission/reception)
Regarding claim 24, the combination of SUNDARAM, AHMED, OOKUBO, RHIM, and WEBB, as applied above, renders obvious the O-RU of claim 22. SUNDARAM further discloses:
wherein a total number of pieces of the control information does not exceed the maximum value indicated by the second capability information. (¶ 0104: [P]rocess 900 may include performing beamforming for one or more communications with a UE based at least in part on the information included in the control plane message (block 920). For example, the RU (e.g., using beamforming component 1308, depicted in FIG. 13) may perform beamforming for one or more communications with a UE based at least in part on the information included in the control plane message, as described above in connection with FIGS. 6-8)
Regarding claim 25, the combination of SUNDARAM, AHMED, OOKUBO, RHIM, and WEBB, as applied above, renders obvious the O-RU of claim 21. SUNDARAM further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the O-RU to:
if the control-plane message further includes a section extension for indicating a group of extended antenna-carrier identifiers, (¶ 0066: The message source information and the message destination information may indicate an eAxC identifier associated with the message. The transport header may include an eCPRISeqID field (e.g., in Octet 7 and/or Octet 8) that indicates a sequence identifier associated with the message; ¶ 0076: [T]he section header associated with the dedicated section type may indicate the group of carriers or band sectors to which the information in the section header applies. For example, the section header may include an eAxC mask that identifies (e.g., based at least in part on an eAxC identifier) the indicated group of carriers or band sectors to which the information in the section header applies)
perform the [uplink and/or downlink] communication in endpoints corresponding to the group of extended antenna-carrier identifiers, based on the control-plane message. (¶ 0076: [T]he eAxC mask may indicate a set of eAxC identifiers, and the RU 610 may identify a group of band sectors from band sector identifiers associated with the eAxC identifiers or a group of component carriers from component carrier identifiers associated with the eAxC identifiers. In some aspects, the indicated group of carriers or band sectors may include one or more carriers or band sectors; ¶ 0087: As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 625, the RU 610 may transmit one or more downlink communications to the UE 120 and/or receive one or more uplink communications from the UE 120 using beams resulting from the beamforming. For example, the RU 610 may transmit one or more downlink communications to the UE 120 using one or more Tx beams resulting from the beamforming. Additionally, or alternatively, the RU 610 may receive one or more uplink communications using one or more Rx beams resulting from the beamforming. The UE 120 may receive the one or more downlink communications from the RU 610 and/or transmit the one or more uplink communications to the RU 610 using Rx and/or Tx beams corresponding to the Tx and/or Rx beams used by the RU 610)
Regarding claim 26, the combination of SUNDARAM, AHMED, OOKUBO, RHIM, and WEBB, as applied above, renders obvious the O-RU of claim 21. SUNDARAM does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the O-RU to:
refrain from receiving a periodic transmission for the control-plane message from the O-DU.
In the same field of endeavor, however, WEBB teaches:
refrain from receiving a periodic transmission for the control-plane message from the O-DU. (¶ 0106: The process of the base station sending further system information messages, and the terminal device receiving the further information messages, based on transmission resource allocation information indicated in the control-plane message of step S2 may continue (as schematically indicated in step S6 for transmitting SI message #n) until the validity period for the control-plane message received in step S2 has expired, as schematically indicated in step S7; ¶ 0107: Following step S7 the processing in effect cycles back to where it started prior to step S1. The base station may thus determine a new validity period for a new control message to be sent in a further step corresponding with step S2 (the base station determines that a new PDCCH message is required because the previous one has expired); ¶ 0064: SI messages transmitted at different periodicities. Each SI message may convey multiple SIBs suitable for scheduling with the same periodicity)
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644