DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10670469 Ryu (US 10670469). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application anticipate the reference claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7, 10-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smith (US 20200076244).
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches an electronic device (shown in figure 1 items 10 and 12) comprising:
a housing (figure 4 shows a housing item 155 for device 10. Figure 1 a wireless power transmitting device 10 and a wireless power receiving device such as a laptop or a mobile device 12 are known to have housings);
a battery (figure 1 shows battery item 38 and battery item 18);
a charging circuit (figure 1 shows charging circuits item 42 and 20 defined as a control circuitries);
a plurality of temperature sensors each disposed in a different positions within the housing (paragraph [0043] discloses wherein a plurality of temperature sensors, interpreted as a temperature sensor array disposed in different positions included in the wireless power transmitting device. Figure 3 and paragraph [0043] shows a plurality of temperature sensors item 57. Figure 2 shows a temperature array item 57 wherein the temperature sensors are disposed in different positions);
at least one processor operatively connected with the battery, the charging circuit, and the plurality of temperature sensors (shown in figure 1 a processor, interpreted as a control circuitry items 42 and 20 defined in paragraph [0036] which is connected to the battery and temperature sensors); and
a memory, wherein the memory stores instructions configured to, when executed, enable the electronic device to (shown in figure 1 a processor, interpreted as a control circuitry items 42 and 20 defined in column 4 lines 49-60 which includes a memory),
measure temperature values using one or more of the plurality of temperature sensors (defined in paragraph [0038] wherein a plurality of temperature sensors measure temperature), and
in response to a temperature value associated with the battery being within a threshold value, calculate a predicted surface temperature based on at least one of the measured temperature values and a position of each temperature sensor (figure 9 and paragraphs [0056] and [0060] teaches wherein surface temperature (Tsurface) is determined from sensors at different locations defined as Tbottom, Ttop and Tsurface. Paragraph [0062] teaches wherein the surface temperature is predicted in response to a temperature measurement);
identify a control step among a plurality of control steps based on an operational state of at least one device associated with the electronic device and the predicted surface temperature (defined in paragraph [0038] wherein the surface temperature is determined and this information is used to determine the type of device, electronic or foreign which is placed on the charger. When the device is detected and determined, it is determined whether to stop or start charging), and
adjust charging power for the battery through the charging circuit in response to the identified control step (defined in paragraph [0039] wherein control circuitry 42 and/or 20 may be used in processing sensor data such as temperature sensor data and adjusting charging parameters in response to a temperature sensor reading).
Smith figure 1 shows a wireless power charging system with electronic devices items 12 and 10
Smith Figure 3 shows a charging device 12 with a temperature sensor array on charging surface 60.
Regarding claim 2, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to enable the electronic device to, calculate the predicted surface temperature based on a maximum value among values obtained by multiplying an average measurement for each of the measured temperature values by a distance from a center position of the electronic device corresponding to a heat generation center point (Smith discloses an electronic device that monitors temperature values using a plurality of sensors 57 arranged across a charging surface. Paragraph [0075] teaches determining a temperature calculation based on average sensor measurements, temperature differentials and spatial (distance) relationships between sensors during a charge cycle. Smith determines temperature as a function of distance, as in Top and Bottom sensors are used to determine a change in temperature. Smith paragraph [0075] teaches the following calculation: Tave+BΔT+Cd(ΔT)/dt>M, where Tave is the average temperature of the top and bottom sensors, (ΔT) is the difference temperature between the top and bottom sensors of each pair, d(ΔT)/dt is the rate of change of the temperature difference (ΔT), and B, C and M are suitably chosen constants determined by measurements of a number of similar charging devices 10. BΔT and Cd(ΔT)/dt, are multiplications of a temperature-based value. The inequality implements a threshold comparison, thus the maximum allowable limit is M).
Regarding claim 3, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the instructions are configured to enable the electronic device to, predict the control step among the plurality of control steps based on the predicted surface temperature calculated based on the maximum value (paragraph [0063] teaches wherein when a surface temperature is predicted, a control step, or suitable action is taken based on the this predicted surface temperature calculated).
Regarding claim 4, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the instructions are configured to enable the electronic device to, identify the control step by adjusting the predicted control step based on the operational state of the at least one device associated with the electronic device (paragraphs [0063]-[0064] teaches wherein the predicted surface temperature information is used as a set of patterns or curves to compare with current sensor information to determine an operational state or behavior the external device on the charging surface).
Regarding claim 5, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the instructions are configured to enable the electronic device to, adjust the predicted control step, using a parameter value corresponding to the operational state of the at least one device associated with the electronic device and the predicted surface temperature calculated based on the maximum value (paragraphs [0062] – [0063] teaches wherein the predicted control step is adjusted when a parameter value, a surface temperature, exceeds a threshold, then the operation, charging state is interrupted and if it is at an acceptable level, the charge is continued. Thus, the control step is adjusted based on the surface temperature and operational parameter, the preprocessed curves/patterns).
Regarding claim 6, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to enable the electronic device to, measure the temperature values using the plurality of temperature sensors based at least in part on a determination that the electronic device is attached with an external device for charging (paragraph [0057] temperature values are measured by the temperature array item 57, with a plurality of temperature sensors. The charging circuitry determines whether or not a foreign object is detected and if no foreign object is detected, thus it is an electronic device with charging, wireless power transmission occurs).
Regarding claim 7, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the instructions are configured to enable the electronic device to, adjust charging power for the battery through the charging circuit, in response to the identified control step, based at least in part on initial power from the attached external device (Paragraph [0039] teaches wherein the charging is adjusted based on information received from the electronic device such as power management. Paragraph [0057] teaches wherein the charging circuitry determines whether or not a foreign object is detected and if no foreign object is detected, thus it is an electronic device with charging, wireless power transmission occurs).
Regarding claim 10, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one device associated with the electronic device further includes, at least one of an internal device of the electronic device and an external device connected with the electronic device (paragraph [0032] teaches a plurality of devices, including a laptop, telephone and a tablet computer, which all known to include an internal device and an external device).
Regarding claim 11, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the internal device of the electronic device further includes at least one of a keyboard, a display, and communication circuitry, and wherein the external device connected with the electronic device includes at least one of an external keyboard or an external display (paragraph [0032] teaches a plurality of devices, including a laptop, telephone and a tablet computer, which all known to include an external device such as a keyboard).
Regarding claim 12, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the housing includes, a first housing including a first surface and a second surface facing in a direction opposite to a direction in which the first surface faces; a second housing including a third surface corresponding to the first surface of the first housing and a fourth surface facing in a direction opposite to a direction in which the third surface faces; and a hinge rotatably connecting the first housing and the second housing, and wherein the electronic device further comprises a display disposed on the first surface of the first housing; and a keypad disposed on the third surface of the second housing (paragraph [0032] teaches a plurality of devices, including a laptop, telephone and a tablet computer, which all known to include a plurality of surfaces, hinges, displays and keyboards).
Regarding claim 13, Smith teaches a method for controlling surface heat generation in an electronic device (shown in figure 1 items 10 and 12),
the method comprising: measuring temperature values using a plurality of temperature sensors (paragraph [0043] discloses wherein a plurality of temperature sensors, interpreted as a temperature sensor array);
in response to a temperature value associated with a battery being within a threshold value, calculating a predicted surface temperature based on at least one of the measured temperature values and a position of each temperature sensor (figure 9 and paragraphs [0056] and [0060] teaches wherein surface temperature (Tsurface) is determined from sensors at different locations defined as Tbottom, Ttop and Tsurface. Paragraph [0062] teaches wherein the surface temperature is predicted in response to a temperature measurement);
identifying a control step among a plurality of control steps based on an operational state of at least one device associated with the electronic device and the predicted surface temperature (defined in paragraph [0038] wherein the surface temperature is determined and this information is used to determine the type of device, electronic or foreign which is placed on the charger. When the device is detected and determined, it is determined whether to stop or start charging); and
adjusting charging power for the battery in response to the identified control step (defined in paragraph [0039] wherein control circuitry 42 and/or 20 may be used in processing sensor data such as temperature sensor data and adjusting charging parameters in response to a temperature sensor reading).
Regarding claim 14, Smith teaches the method of claim 13, wherein calculating the predicted surface temperature includes, calculating the predicted surface temperature based on a maximum value among values obtained by multiplying an average measurement for each of the measured temperature values by a distance from a center position of the electronic device corresponding to a heat generation center point (Smith discloses an electronic device that monitors temperature values using a plurality of sensors 57 arranged across a charging surface. Paragraph [0075] teaches determining a temperature calculation based on average sensor measurements, temperature differentials and spatial (distance) relationships between sensors during a charge cycle. Smith determines temperature as a function of distance, as in Top and Bottom sensors are used to determine a change in temperature. Smith paragraph [0075] teaches the following calculation: Tave+BΔT+Cd(ΔT)/dt>M, where Tave is the average temperature of the top and bottom sensors, (ΔT) is the difference temperature between the top and bottom sensors of each pair, d(ΔT)/dt is the rate of change of the temperature difference (ΔT), and B, C and M are suitably chosen constants determined by measurements of a number of similar charging devices 10. BΔT and Cd(ΔT)/dt, are multiplications of a temperature-based value. The inequality implements a threshold comparison, thus the maximum allowable limit is M).
Regarding claim 15, Smith teaches the method of claim 14, wherein identifying the corresponding control step among the plurality of control steps includes, predicting the control step among the plurality of control steps based on the predicted surface temperature calculated based on the maximum value (paragraph [0063] teaches wherein when a surface temperature is predicted, a control step, or suitable action is taken based on the this predicted surface temperature calculated); and
identifying the control step by adjusting the predicted control step based on the operational state of the at least one device associated with the electronic device (paragraphs [0063]-[0064] teaches wherein the predicted surface temperature information is used as a set of patterns or curves to compare with current sensor information to determine an operational state or behavior the external device on the charging surface).
Regarding claim 16, Smith teaches the method of claim 15, wherein identifying the control step includes, adjusting the predicted control step, using a parameter value corresponding to the operational state of the at least one device associated with the electronic device and the predicted surface temperature calculated based on the maximum value (paragraphs [0062] – [0063] teaches wherein the predicted control step is adjusted when a parameter value, a surface temperature, exceeds a threshold, then the operation, charging state is interrupted and if it is at an acceptable level, the charge is continued. Thus, the control step is adjusted based on the surface temperature and operational parameter, the preprocessed curves/patterns).
Regarding claim 17, Smith teaches the method of claim 13, wherein measuring the temperature values using the plurality of temperature sensors includes is performed based at least in part on upon a determination that the electronic device is attached with an external device for charging (paragraph [0057] temperature values are measured by the temperature array item 57, with a plurality of temperature sensors. The charging circuitry determines whether or not a foreign object is detected and if no foreign object is detected, thus it is an electronic device with charging, wireless power transmission occurs).
Regarding claim 18, Smith teaches the method of claim 17, wherein adjusting the charging power for the battery in response to the identified control step includes decreasing a charging current for the battery in a constant current range in response to the identified control step based on initial power from the attached external device (Paragraph [0039] teaches wherein the charging is adjusted based on information received from the electronic device such as power management. Paragraph [0057] teaches wherein the charging circuitry determines whether or not a foreign object is detected and if no foreign object is detected, thus it is an electronic device with charging, wireless power transmission occurs).
Regarding claim 20, Smith teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions, the instructions configured to be executed by at least one processor of an electronic device to enable the electronic device to perform at least one operation (shown in figure 1 items control circuitry items 20 and 42),
the at least one operation comprising: measuring temperature values using a plurality of temperature sensors (paragraph [0043] discloses wherein a plurality of temperature sensors, interpreted as a temperature sensor array);
in response to a temperature value associated with a battery being within a threshold value among the measured temperature values, calculating a predicted surface temperature based on at least one of the measured temperature values and a position of each temperature sensor (figure 9 and paragraphs [0056] and [0060] teaches wherein surface temperature (Tsurface) is determined from sensors at different locations defined as Tbottom, Ttop and Tsurface. Paragraph [0062] teaches wherein the surface temperature is predicted in response to a temperature measurement);
identifying a control step among a plurality of control steps based on an operational state of at least one device associated with the electronic device and the predicted surface temperature (defined in paragraph [0038] wherein the surface temperature is determined and this information is used to determine the type of device, electronic or foreign which is placed on the charger. When the device is detected and determined, it is determined whether to stop or start charging); and
adjusting charging power for the battery in response to the identified control step(defined in paragraph [0039] wherein control circuitry 42 and/or 20 may be used in processing sensor data such as temperature sensor data and adjusting charging parameters in response to a temperature sensor reading).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 20200076244) in view of Odaohhara (US 20090085527).
Regarding claim 8, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to enable the electronic device to, decrease a charging current for the battery in a constant current range, in response to the identified control step.
Odaohhara teaches wherein the instructions are configured to enable the electronic device to, decrease a charging current for the battery in a constant current range, in response to the identified control step (paragraph [0041] teaches wherein a constant control period is dynamically changed. Figure 6 and paragraph [0093] teaches wherein the charging current is decreased in response to a control step, such as a temperature range determination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Smith reference with the charging system of the Odaohhara reference so that the charging system may operate in within safety guidelines.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Odaohhara reference in paragraph [0013] wherein the safety guidelines are maintained by adjusting the charging current based on surface temperature of the charging device.
Regarding claim 9, Smith teaches the electronic device of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to enable the electronic device to, decrease a charging voltage for the battery in a constant voltage range, in response to the identified control step.
Odaohhara teaches wherein the instructions are configured to enable the electronic device to, decrease a charging voltage for the battery in a constant voltage range, in response to the identified control step (shown in figure 6 wherein when the charging transitions to constant voltage, the constant voltage is decreased and stopped. Figure 9B shows wherein the constant voltage is decreased in response to a controlled step such as a temperature value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Smith reference with the charging system of the Odaohhara reference so that the charging system may operate in within safety guidelines.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Odaohhara reference in paragraph [0013] wherein the safety guidelines are maintained by adjusting the charging current based on surface temperature of the charging device.
Regarding claim 19, Smith teaches the method of claim 17, but does not explicitly teach wherein adjusting the charging power for the battery in response to the identified control step includes decreasing a charging voltage for the battery in a constant voltage range in response to the identified control step based on initial power from the attached external device.
Odaohhara teaches wherein adjusting the charging power for the battery in response to the identified control step includes decreasing a charging voltage for the battery in a constant voltage range in response to the identified control step based on initial power from the attached external device (shown in figure 6 wherein when the charging transitions to constant voltage, the constant voltage is decreased and stopped. Figure 9B shows wherein the constant voltage is decreased in response to a controlled step such as a temperature value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Smith reference with the charging system of the Odaohhara reference so that the charging system may operate in within safety guidelines.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Odaohhara reference in paragraph [0013] wherein the safety guidelines are maintained by adjusting the charging current based on surface temperature of the charging device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20110037438 A1 Temperature-Based Multi-Cc-Cv Charging Bhardwaj; Ramesh C.
Us 20150069975 A1 Staggering Charging Batteries Farah; Samir F. Et Al.
Us 20200021115 A1 Managing Battery Systems Files; Jace William Et Al.
Us 20160181849 A1 Thermal Management Govindaraj; Arvind
Us 20110316486 A1 Charge Control System Inaba; Ryo Et Al.
Us 8860376 B2 Charging Controller For Secondary Battery Kimura; Daisuke Et Al.
Us 20220333998 A1 Temperature Sensing Libeer; William B. Et Al.
Us 20230113227 A1 Managing Thermal Stress Miller; Bruce A. Et Al.
Us 11662391 B1 Dynamic Adjustments To Battery Nachman; Ramez Et Al.
Us 20120235636 A1 Power Levels In A Wireless Power System Partovi; Afshin
Us 20160056664 A1 Powering With A Plurality Of Protocols Partovi; Afshin
Us 20190145833 A1 Method For Controlling Battery Charging Ryu; Sanghyun Et Al.
Us 20100225281 A1 Battery Charger Sato; Mitsugu
Us 10505403 B1 Wireless Charging System Smith; J. Stephen Et Al.
Us 20100270970 A1 Device Housing A Battery And Charging Pad Toya; Shoichi Et Al.
Us 20120025773 A1 Method Of Charging Wang; Chao-Yang Et Al.
Us 6188202 B1 Battery Charging Device Yagi; Kazuhiko Et Al.
Us 20170207647 A1 Power Management Method Zhang; Jialiang
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859