DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after allowance. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 7/17/2026 has been entered. See the notification dated 7/23/2026 for reopening of prosecution due to consideration of an information disclosure statement filed after mailing of a notice of allowance.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/17/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the office action mailed 3/13/2026 and after payment of the issue fee. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Prosecution has been reopened as a result of the information disclosure statement.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to. In Claim 15 in Line 4, “via connecting members” should be revised to “via cellulose materials” and in Line 6, “via cellulose materials” should be revised to “via the cellulose materials” to ensure clarity in the claim. For reference see the interview summary dated 3/13/2026. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN-213491646-U to Ma (“Ma”) in view of CN-111617403-A to Yang (“Yang”).
As to Claim 1, Ma discloses a fire suppression apparatus (See Fig. 2) comprising:
a first housing (See a left shell #1 in Annotated Fig. 2) configured to contain one or more fire extinguishing agents (See #4 in Fig. 1);
an explosive charge (#3 contained in #2) within the first housing (See Figs. 1-2);
at least one trigger fuse (#5) configured to ignite reactive to flame exposure, such that, upon ignition, the at least one trigger fuse activates the explosive charge to expel the one or more fire extinguishing agents (See Paragraph 1 of Translation of Detailed Description which states “The utility model discloses a concrete implementation way does: as shown in fig. 1 and 2, the novel fire extinguisher comprises an outer shell 1 and an inner shell 2, wherein explosive media 3 are filled in the inner shell 2, fire extinguishing media 4 are filled between the inner shell 2 and the outer shell 1, the explosive media 3 in the inner shell 2 are communicated with the external environment through fuses 5, and the outer shell 1 is provided with a linking rope 6.”), and
a second housing (See a middle shell #1 in Annotated Fig. 2) configured to contain one or more fire extinguishing agents (#4), the second housing being linearly-linked, via a degradable material (#6), for deployment to the first housing and for a linked lateral displacement with respect to the first housing (See Figs. 2-3),
wherein the degradable material is uninvolved with activation of the explosive charge (See Paragraph 8 of Translation of Detailed Description which states “Specifically, as shown in Fig. 1 and 3, the linking rope 6 connects a plurality of novel fire extinguishers in series, and the fuze 5 connects in series. Can establish ties a plurality of novel fire extinguishers through chain connection rope 6, especially when reply forest fire, a plurality of fire extinguishers are put in to accessible unmanned aerial vehicle, block the fire behavior of burning, can also arrange a plurality of novel fire extinguishers through unmanned aerial vehicle or manual work, form the fire prevention median, prevent the fire behavior further to stretch, reduce the economic loss that forest fire caused”).
Regarding Claim 1, in reference to the fire suppression apparatus of Ma as applied to Claim 1, Ma does not specifically disclose wherein the degradable material is a cellulose material (See Paragraph 9 of Translation of Detailed Description which states “Specifically, as shown in fig. 1, the linking rope 6 is made of degradable material. The degradable material for making the linking rope 6 can reduce the pollution to the environment”, however Ma does not specifically disclose the degradable material being a cellulose material).
However, Yang discloses a fire suppression apparatus where a cellulose material is utilized to link components (See #420 in Fig. 1 and See Page 5 Paragraph 3 disclosing that #420 is made of hemp rope or cotton thread with flame retardant treatment).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component or material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical design expediency. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire suppression apparatus of Ma as applied to Claim 1 above such that the degradable material of Ma is the cellulose material of Yang, since doing so would utilize a known flame resistant degradable material that is suitable for linking components in fire suppression applications (See Yang Page 5 Paragraph 3).
As to Claim 5, in reference to the fire suppression apparatus of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 1 above, Ma further discloses wherein the first housing and the second housing are configured to distribute the one or more fire extinguishing agents in two directions responsive to the explosive charge activating, the one or more fire extinguishing agents distributable in a first direction towards a fire and distributable in a second direction opposite the first direction (See Annotated Fig. 1 showing “Direction A” and Direction B” and See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description. Since each housing has an explosive charge, the fire extinguishing agent will be distributed in both Direction A and Direction B. If a fire is located in one direction, material will be distributed in all directions laterally, including one direction towards a fire and another direction opposite of the fire, for both the first housing and the second housing).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the fire suppression apparatus of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 5 above, Ma further discloses wherein the one or more fire extinguishing agents distributed in the first direction are configured to suppress the fire, and the one or more fire extinguishing agents distributed in the second direction are configured to protect unburned fire fuel (See Annotated Fig. 1 showing “Direction A” and Direction B” and See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description. Since each housing has an explosive charge, the fire extinguishing agent will be distributed in both Direction A and Direction B. If a fire is located in one direction, material will be distributed in all directions laterally, including one direction towards a fire and another direction opposite of the fire. Any powder distributed in the direction opposite of the fire is configured to protect unburned fire fuel in the opposite direction, and Paragraph 9 discloses being utilized in a forest fire.).
As to Claim 8, Ma discloses a fire suppression system (See Fig. 1) comprising:
a first fire suppression apparatus (See the first housing in Annotated Fig. 1) containing one or more fire extinguishing agents (#4) configured to expel from a housing (#1) responsive to an explosive charge (#3) activated by a trigger fuse (#5) ignited by flame exposure (See Paragraph 1 of Translation of Detailed Description); and
a second fire suppression apparatus (See the second housing in Annotated Fig. 1) linearly-linked to the first fire suppression apparatus (See Annotated Fig. 1), via a degradable material (#6), for deployment and for a linked lateral displacement with the first fire suppression apparatus (See Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description),
wherein the degradable material is uninvolved with activation of the explosive charge (See Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description).
Regarding Claim 8, in reference to the fire suppression system of Ma as applied to Claim 8, Ma does not specifically disclose wherein the degradable material is a cellulose material (See Paragraph 9 of Translation of Detailed Description which states “Specifically, as shown in fig. 1, the linking rope 6 is made of degradable material. The degradable material for making the linking rope 6 can reduce the pollution to the environment”, however Ma does not specifically disclose the degradable material being a cellulose material).
However, Yang discloses a fire suppression system where a cellulose material is utilized to link components (See #420 in Fig. 1 and See Page 5 Paragraph 3 disclosing that #420 is made of hemp rope or cotton thread with flame retardant treatment).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component or material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical design expediency. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire suppression system of Ma as applied to Claim 8 above such that the degradable material of Ma is the cellulose material of Yang, since doing so would utilize a known flame resistant degradable material that is suitable for linking components in fire suppression applications (See Yang Page 5 Paragraph 3).
As to Claim 12, in reference to the fire suppression system of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 8 above, Ma further discloses wherein the housing is configured to distribute the one or more fire extinguishing agents in a first direction to suppress a fire responsive to the explosive charge activated by the trigger fuse (See Annotated Fig. 1 showing “Direction A” and Direction B” and See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description. Since each housing has an explosive charge, the fire extinguishing agent will be distributed in both Direction A and Direction B. If a fire is located in one direction, material will be distributed in all directions laterally, including one direction towards a fire and another direction opposite of the fire, for both the first housing and the second housing).
As to Claim 13, in reference to the fire suppression system of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 12 above, Ma further discloses wherein the housing is configured to distribute the one or more fire extinguishing agents in a second direction, opposite the first direction, to protect unburned fire fuel responsive to the explosive charge activated by the trigger fuse (See Annotated Fig. 1 showing “Direction A” and Direction B” and See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description. Since each housing has an explosive charge, the fire extinguishing agent will be distributed in both Direction A and Direction B. If a fire is located in one direction, material will be distributed in all directions laterally, including one direction towards a fire and another direction opposite of the fire, for both the first housing and the second housing).
As to Claim 14, in reference to the fire suppression system of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 8 above, Ma further discloses wherein multiple fire suppression apparatuses, including the first fire suppression apparatus and the second fire suppression apparatus, are linked for deployment in a path of a fire (See Annotated Fig. 1 showing at least three fire suppression apparatuses linked and See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description).
As to Claim 15, Ma discloses a method of distributing a fire extinguishing agent (See Fig. 1 and See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description), the method comprising steps of:
containing the fire extinguishing agent in a plurality of housings (See Annotated Fig. 1 and See Fig. 3), the plurality of housings (#1) being linearly-linked to each other sequentially, via connecting members (#6), for deployment and for a linearly-linked lateral displacement with respect to each other (See Fig. 1 and See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description); and
deploying the plurality of housings linearly, via degradable materials (#6), in a location expectant of approaching flame (See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 9 of Detailed Description) such that:
a trigger fuse (#5) of one or more individual housings of the plurality of housings is ignited by the approaching flame, thereby activating an explosive charge (#3 within #2) from the one or more individual housings (See Paragraphs 1 and 9 of Detailed Description), respectively, and
the fire extinguishing agent is expelled from the one or more individual housings by the explosive charge (See Paragraph 1 of Detailed Description),
wherein the degradable materials are uninvolved with activating the explosive charge (See Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description).
Regarding Claim 15, in reference to the method of Ma as applied to Claim 15 above, Ma does not specifically disclose wherein the degradable materials are cellulose materials (See Paragraph 9 of Translation of Detailed Description which states “Specifically, as shown in fig. 1, the linking rope 6 is made of degradable material. The degradable material for making the linking rope 6 can reduce the pollution to the environment”, however Ma does not specifically disclose the degradable material being a cellulose material).
However, Yang discloses a fire suppression apparatus where a cellulose material is utilized to link components (See #420 in Fig. 1 and See Page 5 Paragraph 3 disclosing that #420 is made of hemp rope or cotton thread with flame retardant treatment).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component or material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical design expediency. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ma as applied to Claim 15 above such that the degradable materials of Ma are the cellulose material of Yang, since doing so would utilize a known flame resistant degradable material that is suitable for linking components in fire suppression applications (See Ma Page 5 Paragraph 3).
As to Claim 16, in reference to the method of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 15 above, Ma further discloses the method comprising a step of distributing the fire extinguishing agent in a first direction to suppress a fire responsive to activating the explosive charge (See Annotated Fig. 1 showing “Direction A” and Direction B” and See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description. Since each housing has an explosive charge, the fire extinguishing agent will be distributed in both Direction A and Direction B. If a fire is located in one direction, material will be distributed in all directions laterally, including one direction towards a fire and another direction opposite of the fire. Any powder distributed in the direction opposite of the fire is configured to protect unburned fire fuel in the opposite direction, and Paragraph 9 discloses being utilized in a forest fire).
As to Claim 17, in reference to the method of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 16 above, Ma further discloses the method comprising a step of distributing the fire extinguishing agent in a second direction to protect unburned fire fuel responsive to activating the explosive charge (See Annotated Fig. 1 showing “Direction A” and Direction B” and See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 8 of Detailed Description. Since each housing has an explosive charge, the fire extinguishing agent will be distributed in both Direction A and Direction B. If a fire is located in one direction, material will be distributed in all directions laterally, including one direction towards a fire and another direction opposite of the fire. Any powder distributed in the direction opposite of the fire is configured to protect unburned fire fuel in the opposite direction, and Paragraph 9 discloses being utilized in a forest fire).
As to Claim 20, in reference to the method of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 15 above, Ma further discloses wherein the step of deploying the plurality of housings includes dispersing the plurality of housings from a vehicle in a path of the approaching flame (See Detailed Description Paragraph 8 disclosing dropping the housings from an aerial vehicle).
Claims 2-4 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Yang and US PGPUB 2012/0138319 A1 to Demmitt (“Demmitt”).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the fire suppression apparatus of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 1 above, Ma further discloses wherein at least the first housing and the second housing are biodegradable (See Translation of Description Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Ma does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more fire extinguishing agents are biodegradable (See Description paragraph 4 “ultrafine dry powder” however such powder being biodegradable is not specifically disclosed).
However, Demmitt discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a fire suppression apparatus (See Figs. 1-2) comprising an elongated housing (#20) that is biodegradable (See Paragraph 0033 disclosing corrugated cardboard) and one or more fire extinguishing agents that are biodegradable (See Paragraphs 0049-0050 of Demmitt disclosing “MAP” which is biodegradable per Paragraph 0046 of applicant’s Specification.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire suppression apparatus of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 1 above such that the one or more fire extinguishing agents are biodegradable by utilizing the MAP material of Demmitt, since doing so would yield the predictable result of utilizing an environmentally friendly powder having no toxicity (See Demmitt Paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 3, in reference to the fire suppression apparatus of Ma in view of Yang and Demmitt as applied to Claim 2 above, Ma does not specifically disclose wherein the first housing and the second housing are formed from natural earthen elements.
However Demmitt discloses a fire suppression apparatus wherein a housing if formed from natural earthen elements (See Paragraphs 0030-0032 disclosing biodegradable cardboard, which is at least partially made from natural earthen elements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire suppression apparatus of Ma in view of Yang and Demmitt as applied to Claim 2 above such that the first housing and second housing are formed from the natural earthen elements of Demmitt since doing so would yield the predictable result of presenting no environmental problem after detonation (See Demmitt Paragraph 0030).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the fire suppression apparatus of Ma in view of Yang Demmitt as applied to Claim 2 above, Demmitt further discloses wherein the one or more fire extinguishing agents are biodegradable fertilizers (See Demmitt Paragraph 0049 disclosing that MAP is a water-soluble fertilizer affective on all soils for forest restoration).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the fire suppression system of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 8 above, Ma further discloses wherein at least the housing is biodegradable (See Translation of Description Paragraph 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Ma does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more fire extinguishing agents are biodegradable (See Description paragraph 4 “ultrafine dry powder” however such powder being biodegradable is not specifically disclosed).
However, Demmitt discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a fire suppression system (See Figs. 1-2) comprising an elongated housing (#20) that is biodegradable (See Paragraph 0033 disclosing corrugated cardboard) and one or more fire extinguishing agents that are biodegradable (See Paragraphs 0049-0050 of Demmitt disclosing “MAP” which is biodegradable per Paragraph 0046 of applicant’s Specification.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire suppression system of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 8 above such that the one or more fire extinguishing agents are biodegradable by utilizing the MAP material of Demmitt, since doing so would yield the predictable result of utilizing an environmentally friendly powder having no toxicity (See Demmitt Paragraph 0050).
As to Claim 10, in reference to the fire suppression system of Ma in view of Yang and Demmitt as applied to Claim 9 above, Ma does not specifically disclose wherein the housing is an elongated housing (See Fig. 1 showing a spherical housing).
However, Demmitt discloses a fire suppression system having a housing that is an elongated housing (See #20 in Fig. 1 and See Paragraph 0032 disclosing a cylindrical housing with a tail #30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire suppression system of Ma in view of Yang and Demmitt as applied to Claim 9 above such that the housing is an elongated housing as taught by Demmitt, since doing so would yield the predictable result of helping the fire suppression apparatus maintain a vertical trajectory when aerially dropped on a target (See Demmitt Paragraphs 0032-0033).
As to Claim 11, in reference to the fire suppression system of Ma in view of Yang and Demmitt as applied to Claim 9 above, Demmitt further discloses wherein the one or more fire extinguishing agents are biodegradable fertilizers (See Demmitt Paragraph 0049 disclosing that MAP is a water-soluble fertilizer affective on all soils for forest restoration).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Yang and US Patent 6,796,382 to Kaimart (“Kaimart”).
Regarding Claim 7, in reference to the fire suppression apparatus of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 1 above, Ma does not disclose wherein the first housing and the second housing include a waterproof sealant, and
wherein the waterproof sealant is configured to melt due to the flame exposure, exposing the at least one trigger fuse to a fire.
However, Kaimart discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a fire suppression apparatus (See Fig. 1) comprising a housing (#3) that has a waterproof sealant (#2 along with additional application of silicone sealant, See Col. 4 Lines 12-33), wherein the waterproof sealant is configured to melt due to flame exposure, exposing at least one trigger fuse to a fire (See Fig. 1, See Col. 4 Lines 12-33 and See Col. 6 Lines 49-67. Since the wrap #2 is made of PVC plastic with silicone sealant, it is configured to melt when a flame is exposed, exposing trigger fuse #6 to a fire). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire suppression apparatus of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 1 above to have the first housing and second housing of Ma covered with the PVC plastic wrap #2 of Kaimart along with silicone sealant of Kaimart since doing so would yield the predictable result of protecting the fire suppression apparatus from water exposure and surface abrasion (See Kaimart Col. 4 Lines 25-33). Making such a modification would result in the first housing and the second housing including a waterproof sealant such that the waterproof sealant is configured to melt due to the flame exposure, exposing portions of the at least one trigger fuse to a fire.
Regarding Claim 18, in reference to the method of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 15 above, Ma does not disclose wherein ignition of the trigger fuse occurs after a waterproof element melts.
However, Kaimart discloses a method (See Fig. 1 and Col. 6 Lines 18-67) wherein ignition of a trigger fuse (#6) occurs after a waterproof element (#2 along with additional application of silicone sealant, See Col. 4 Lines 12-33) melts (See Fig. 1, See Col. 4 Lines 12-33 and See Col. 6 Lines 49-67. Since the wrap #2 is made of PVC plastic with silicone sealant, it will melt when a flame is exposed, subsequently exposing trigger fuse #6 to a fire). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 15 above to have housings #12 of Ma covered with the PVC plastic wrap #2 of Kaimart along with silicone sealant of Kaimart since doing so would yield the predictable result of providing protection to water exposure and surface abrasion for a fire suppression apparatus (See Kaimart Col. 4 Lines 25-33). Making such a modification would result in ignition of at least a portion of the trigger fuse occurring after the waterproof element melts.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Yang and US PGPUB 2005/0139363 A1 to Thomas (“Thomas”).
As to Claim 21, in reference to the method of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 15 above, Ma further discloses wherein housing of the plurality of housings are linearly linked (See Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding Claim 21, Ma does not specifically disclose wherein housings of the plurality of housings are linearly linked along a direction of elongation of the housings (See Figs. 1 and 3, the housings are spherical and not elongated).
However, Thomas discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a fire suppression system wherein housing are linearly linked along a direction of elongation of the housings (See Fig. 35 and See Paragraph 0260 disclosing a capsule being cylindrical).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ma in view of Yang as applied to Claim 15 above such that the plurality of housings are cylindrical and linearly linked along a direction of elongation of the housings, since doing so would yield the predictable result of having the housings shaped suitable to contain fire suppressant and appropriate for aerially dropping into a fire zone (See Thomas Paragraphs 0047-0047).
Conclusion
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 July 27, 2026