DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/11/2026 has been entered.
Claims 3,4 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2,11,13,18 are amended.
Claims 1-2,5-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitations of smartphone and user. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,5-16,18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190271767 A1 (Keilaf et al.) in view of WO 2018191539 A1 (NA et al).
Claim 1, 11 and 18 (mutatis mutandis). Keilaf teaches an optical sensor operable in a plurality of operating modes, the optical sensor comprising:
a plurality of detectors arranged in an array (para 65 note array), wherein each detector of the plurality of detectors comprises:
one or more absorption regions configured to receive an optical signal and generate charge carriers in response to receiving the optical signal (para 116);
one or more readout regions configured to collect a portion of the charge carriers for output (Para 154,161,196 note output);
and driver circuitry configured to dynamically reconfigure the plurality of detectors based on different operating modes associated with different software applications (the word software application is broadly interpreted. The specification does not say what software application is. Keilaf teaches different operating modes and controlling the detectors based on operating modes. Switching between the operating modes are done using the software applications. In para 18 Keilaf teaches store program instructions, which are executed by at least one processing device and perform any of the methods described herein. Para163,184 note more detection elements for long range and less detection elements for short range. Para 184 note low resolution mode and high resolution mode , para 318 note power saving mode, Para 191 note increasing pixels if object is further away and decreasing pixels if an object is close to vehicle. Para 198-199 note pixels include photodiode and also note switches for allocating detection elements).
Keilaf fails to explicitly teach but NA teaches one or more control regions coupled to one or more control signals, the one or more control regions configured to control, in response to the one or more control signals, a flow of charge carriers from the one or more absorption regions to the one or more readout regions (para 14 and one or more gates coupled to one or more control signals that control carrier transports between the photodiode and the one or more readout regions.).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Keilaf and NA and modify the optical sensor such that the one or more control regions configured to control, a flow of charge carriers from the one or more absorption regions to the one or more readout regions. The motivation to do so would be determine the phase and other information of the sensed light by altering the collection of electrical charges over time ( NA para 5).
Claim 2. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the optical sensor of claim 1, wherein the one of more absorption regions comprise germanium formed on a first silicon substrate (NA para 27 note germanium), wherein the driver circuitry is formed on a second silicon substrate (NA para 208), and wherein the first silicon substrate is bonded to the second silicon substrate (NA para 208 note bonding between layers).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Keilaf and NA and modify the optical sensor such that the one of more absorption regions comprise germanium formed on a first silicon substrate, wherein the driver circuitry is formed on a second silicon substrate, and wherein the first silicon substrate is bonded to the second silicon substrate. The motivation to do so would be to increase the speed and/or the sensitivity and/or the dynamic range and/or the operating wavelength range of the device (NA para 04) and also improve electrical isolation that will reduce parasitic capacitance and power consumption.
Claim 5 and 15. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the optical sensor of claim 1, wherein the plurality of detectors are arranged in a one-dimensional array or a two-dimensional array (Keilaf para 102-104 note detector array).
Claim 6, 16 and 19. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the optical sensor of claim 1, wherein the plurality of operating modes comprise any combination of a proximity-sensing mode, a motion-detection mode, a depth- detection mode, a reduced-resolution mode, an enhanced-resolution mode, or a power-saving mode (Keilaf para 184 note low resolution mode and high resolution mode , para 318 note power saving mode, Para 191 note increasing pixels if object is further away and decreasing pixels if an object is close to vehicle ).
Claim 7 and 20. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the optical sensor of claim 6, wherein under the motion-detection mode, the driver circuitry is configured to enable first detectors of the plurality of detectors located at two or more edges of the array (para 187 and figure 7I ref 712 and 714 includes the pixels in edges and disable second detectors of the plurality of detectors (Keilaf para 185 note larger pixels for non-moving objects and para 183 note larger pixels include less detection elements which means detection elements are disabled).
Claim 8. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the optical sensor of claim 7, wherein under the proximity-sensing mode, the driver circuitry is configured to enable the second detectors and disable the first detectors (Keilaf para 191 note increasing pixels if object is further away and decreasing pixels if an object is close to vehicle).
Claim 9. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the optical sensor of claim 1, comprising: controller circuitry configured to determine an operating mode of the plurality of optical modes of the optical sensor and to provide an output representing the operating mode to the driver circuitry (Keilaf para 190, 193 to 200 note pixel allocation and processor and controller).
Claim 10. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the optical sensor of claim 1, wherein the driver circuitry is configured to provide the control signals to disable the subset of the plurality of detectors by disabling a modulation of the corresponding control regions of the subset of the plurality of detectors to stop a flow of charge carriers through the corresponding control regions (Keilaf para 199 note switches for allocating detection elements to different subsets associated with different pixels. Note switch can stop flow of current).
Claim 12. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the optical sensor of claim 11, wherein the one of more absorption regions comprise germanium formed on a first silicon substrate (NA para 27 note germanium).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Keilaf and NA and modify the optical sensor such that the one of more absorption regions comprise germanium formed on a first silicon substrate. The motivation to do so would be to increase the speed and/or the sensitivity and/or the dynamic range and/or the operating wavelength range of the device (NA para 04).
Claim 13. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the driver circuitry is formed on a second silicon substrate (NA para 208).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Keilaf and NA and modify the optical sensor such that the the driver circuitry is formed on a second silicon substrate because this will have improved electrical isolation that will reduce parasitic capacitance and power consumption.
Claim 14. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the first silicon substrate is bonded to the second silicon substrate (NA para 208 note bonding between layers).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Keilaf and NA and modify the optical sensor such that the first silicon substrate is bonded to the second silicon substrate because this will have improved electrical isolation that will reduce parasitic capacitance and power consumption.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190271767 A1 (Keilaf et al.) in view of WO 2018191539 A1 (NA et al) further in view of US 20190361094 A1 (Harris et al.).
Claim 17. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the optical sensor of claim 11. Keilaf fails to explicitly teach but Liu teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine an operating mode of the operating modes of the optical sensor based on a user operation of the system (Liu para 35 note operating mode is selected based on user input).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Keilaf, NA and Harris and modified the optical sensor such that the controller is configured to determine an operating mode of the optical sensor based on a user operation of the system. The motivation to do so would be to improve safety and performance (Liu para 02).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190271767 A1 (Keilaf et al.) in view of WO 2018191539 A1 (NA et al) further in view of US 20150058649 A1 (SONG).
Claim 21. Keilaf as modified in view of NA teaches the optical sensor of claim 1, wherein the driver circuitry is configured to dynamically reconfigure the plurality of detectors by operating the optical sensor under a high- resolution mode and also teaches operating the optical sensor under a power-saving mode (see Para163,184 note more detection elements for long range and less detection elements for short range. Para 184 note low resolution mode and high resolution mode , para 318 note power saving mode, Para 191 note increasing pixels if object is further away and decreasing pixels if an object is close to vehicle. Para 198-199 note pixels include photodiode and also note switches for allocating detection elements).
Keilaf teaches switching between high resolution mode and power saving mode but fails to explicitly teach operating the optical sensor under a high- resolution mode when a user uses a camera software application on a smartphone that incorporates the optical sensor, and by operating the optical sensor under a power-saving mode when the user switches to a content-browsing application that does not require the use of the optical sensor.
However, SONG teaches mode switching can be performed in a smartphone with camera application based on user input (para 45 note camera unit in smartphone para 89 note mode switching).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Keilaf, NA and SONG and modified the optical sensor such that mode switching is combined with a user and smartphone because this will improve user convenience (SONG para 89).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date would modify the sensor such that by operating the optical sensor under a high- resolution mode when a user uses a camera software application on a smartphone that incorporates the optical sensor, and by operating the optical sensor under a power-saving mode when the user switches to a content-browsing application that does not require the use of the optical sensor.
Response to Arguments
During the interview it was discussed that the amendment appears to overcome the current rejection, however further search and consideration is required. After further consideration, it is seen that the amendment does not overcome the rejection. Applicant claims that the plurality of detectors are dynamically reconfigured based on different operating modes associated with different software applications. The word software application is broadly interpreted. The specification does not say what software application is. Keilaf teaches different operating modes and controlling the detectors based on operating modes. Switching between the operating modes are done using the software applications. In para 18 Keilaf teaches store program instructions, which are executed by at least one processing device and perform any of the methods described herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANJIDA NASER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645