Response to an Amendment
This office action is a response to a communication made on 10/15/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending for this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant: Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 7-10, filed 10/15/2025, applicant argues that, “Jaynes and Ausfeld fail to teach or suggest "connect to a second connected device over a second network simultaneously with the first connected device without allowing the first connected device and the second connected device to communicate with each other."
Examiner: Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Jaynes teaches “connect to a second network simultaneously with the first connected device without allowing the first connected device and the second connected device to communicate with each other” because ¶0004, teaches uses a centralized sophisticated state and control management system to enable this type of simultaneous media publishing without the each user display device having manage interaction, ¶0012, teaches in distinction to existing video switching systems, each connected device is both capable of publishing imagery to the shared display and controlling the shared display simultaneously with other devices, see Fig. 5B, ¶0045-¶0046, teaches shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2). Media posts A and B were published by client 1, and media post C was published by client 2, wherein different users can access different connections through different networks, means without connecting or allowing with client 1 and client 2 can communicate with each other. Thus for at least given reasons examiner believes that Jaynes teaches or suggest these elements of applicant’s claimed invention.
Applicant: Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 7-10, filed 10/15/2025, applicant argues that, “applicant submits that it would frustrate the purpose of Ausfeld to modify Ausfeld in any manner (i.e., in combination with any other, yet-to- be-cited prior art reference) to connect to a second connected device over a second network simultaneously with the first connected device without allowing the first connected device and the second connected device to communicate with each other.”
Examiner: Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ausfeld teaches Col-5, Il. 48-57, one or more devices (i.e. second device) that enable a consumer to interact with computer system/server 12 wherein computer system/server 12 can communicate with one or more a general wide area network (WAN). Ausfeld also teaches Col-9, 2-5, The collaboration device provides wireless hotspot 210, allowing a variety of portable digital devices equipped with Wi-Fi and the like to access the network created by the device.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Jaynes with Ausfield to achieve simultaneous multi device connectivity with controlled isolation, as this architecture allows multiple users or data sources to be presented together without granting mutual access between device. Thus for at least given reasons examiner believes that Jaynes can combine with Ausfield.
Jaynes teaches “connect to a second network simultaneously with the first connected device without allowing the first connected device and the second connected device to communicate with each other” because ¶0004, teaches uses a centralized sophisticated state and control management system to enable this type of simultaneous media publishing without the each user display device having manage interaction, ¶0012, teaches in distinction to existing video switching systems, each connected device is both capable of publishing imagery to the shared display and controlling the shared display simultaneously with other devices, see Fig. 5B, ¶0045-¶0046, teaches shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2). Media posts A and B were published by client 1, and media post C was published by client 2, wherein different users can access different connections through different networks, means without connecting or allowing with client 1 and client 2 can communicate with each other. Thus for at least given reasons examiner believes that Jaynes teaches or suggest these elements of applicant’s claimed invention.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ausfeld system with connect to a second connected device over a second network simultaneously with the first connected device without allowing the first connected device and the second connected device to communicate with each other, wherein simultaneously display at least a portion of the data displayed on the first connected device and at least a portion of the data displayed on the second connected device on the display of Jaynes, in order to display data from multiple devices helps in sharing information effectively among participants without needing to switch screens or devices frequently, multiple user to share media, collaborate and communicate freely without restrictions imposed by traditional video switches, direct video cabling of each device, and keep them isolated from each other for security or privacy, and still show content from both on a single screen (Jaynes, ¶0005 and ¶0048).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausfeld (US 9473449) in view of Jaynes (US 2014/0240445).
With respect to claim 1, Ausfeld discloses an interactive display system for displaying information from multiple remote computing devices on a display, comprising:
at least one processor (Col-4, II. 20-21);
a display operatively coupled to the at least one processor (Fig. 1, step 24 teaches a display, Col-4, II. 20-21);
an interactive touch input operatively coupled to the at least one processor and positioned in front of the display (see Fig. 4, Col-10, II. 10-12, teaches presenter 400, also having user device 404, which in some embodiments may be a computer with a touch screen, gives a presentation to a group of users 414); and
a communication device operatively coupled to the at least one processor (Col-5, II. 48-50, teaches one or more devices that enable a consumer to interact with computer system/server 12), wherein the communication device is configured to:
connect to a first connected device over a first network (Col-5, II. 48-57, “one or more devices that enable a consumer to interact with computer system/server 12; and/or any devices (e.g., network card, modem, etc.) that enable computer system/server 12 to communicate with one or more other computing devices. Such communication can occur via I/O interfaces 22. Still yet, computer system/server 12 can communicate with one or more networks such as a local area network (LAN), a general wide area network (WAN), and/or a public network (e.g., the Internet) via network adapter 20”, Col-7, II.30-31, teaches an instructor may distribute an identical document to all devices in a classroom at the beginning of a lesson, wherein an instructor network is a first network) ;
Ausfeld teaches Col-5, II. 48-57, one or more devices (i.e. second device) that enable a consumer to interact with computer system/server 12 wherein computer system/server 12 can communicate with one or more a general wide area network (WAN), Col-9, 2-5, The collaboration device provides wireless hotspot 210, allowing a variety of portable digital devices equipped with Wi-Fi and the like to access the network created by the device. However, Ausfeld remain silent on connect to a second connected device over a second network simultaneously with the first connected device without allowing the first connected device and the second connected device to communicate with each other, wherein the at least one processor is configured to simultaneously display at least a portion of the data displayed on the first connected device and at least a portion of the data displayed on the second connected device on the display.
Jaynes discloses connect to a second connected device over a second network simultaneously with the first connected device without allowing the first connected device and the second connected device to communicate with each other (¶0012, teaches in distinction to existing video switching systems, each connected device is both capable of publishing imagery to the shared display and controlling the shared display simultaneously with other devices, see Fig. 5B, ¶0045-¶0046, teaches shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2). Media posts A and B were published by client 1, and media post C was published by client 2, wherein different users can access different connections through different networks, means without connecting with client 1 and client 2 can communicate with each other);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to simultaneously display at least a portion of the data displayed on the first connected device and at least a portion of the data displayed on the second connected device on the display (¶0012, teaches in distinction to existing video switching systems, each connected device is both capable of publishing imagery to the shared display and controlling the shared display simultaneously with other devices, ¶0052, teaches a shared display 102. As shown in FIG. 7A, at step 710, client 106(*) initiates a publish command by clicking an entry in the media preview bar 440 to select either (1) a new source media file (‘Media source’) or application stored in media files 109, a screen region (a portion of a screen displayed on a client display device 108 driven by one of the client source computers 116), or the entire screen; or (2) an already-published post to control on display 102).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ausfeld system with connect to a second connected device over a second network simultaneously with the first connected device without allowing the first connected device and the second connected device to communicate with each other, wherein simultaneously display at least a portion of the data displayed on the first connected device and at least a portion of the data displayed on the second connected device on the display of Jaynes, in order to display data from multiple devices helps in sharing information effectively among participants without needing to switch screens or devices frequently, multiple user to share media, collaborate and communicate freely without restrictions imposed by traditional video switches, direct video cabling of each device, and keep them isolated from each other for security or privacy, and still show content from both on a single screen (Jaynes, ¶0005 and ¶0048).
With respect to claim 8, Ausfeld discloses a system comprising:
at least one processor (Col-4, II. 20-21);
an interactive touch display coupled to the at least one processor (see Fig. 4, Col-10, II. 10-12, teaches presenter 400, also having user device 404, which in some embodiments may be a computer with a touch screen, gives a presentation to a group of users 414); and
a network communication device coupled to the at least one processor (Col-5, II. 48-50, teaches one or more devices that enable a consumer to interact with computer system/server 12), wherein:
the network communication device is configured to:
simultaneously receive first display data from the first computing device via the first network and second display data from the second computing device via the second network (Col-7, II. 30-36 and 48-53, an instructor may distribute an identical document to all devices in a classroom at the beginning of a lesson. Students, on the other hand, may submit a homework assignment electronically to a document queue at the beginning of class. Participants in a class Science laboratory may Submit their results to a common electronic location so as to make those results accessible to the entire class…In Active Conference, users can exchange business cards, download presentations, and wrap the chat conversations/notes into one file for reviewing later. Active Classroom can post questions to other users, teacher speech translated to text automatically, upload and download homework and collect automatic attendance); and
the interactive touch display is configured to simultaneously display the first display data and the second display data (Col-10, II. 10-12, teaches Presenter 400, also having user device 404, which in some embodiments may be a computer with a touch screen, gives a presentation to a group of users 414) .
However, Ausfeld remain silent on simultaneously connect to a first computing device via a first network and a second computing device via a second network without providing a connection between the first network and the second network.
Jaynes discloses simultaneously connect to a first computing device via a first network and a second computing device via a second network without providing a connection between the first network and the second network (¶0012, teaches in distinction to existing video switching systems, each connected device is both capable of publishing imagery to the shared display and controlling the shared display simultaneously with other devices, see Fig. 5B, ¶0045-¶0046, teaches shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2). Media posts A and B were published by client 1, and media post C was published by client 2, wherein different users can access different connections through different networks, means without connecting with client 1 and client 2 can communicate with each other);
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ausfeld system with simultaneously connect to a first computing device via a first network and a second computing device via a second network without providing a connection between the first network and the second network of Jaynes, in order to display data from multiple devices helps in sharing information effectively among participants without needing to switch screens or devices frequently, multiple user to share media, collaborate and communicate freely without restrictions imposed by traditional video switches, direct video cabling of each device, and keep them isolated from each other for security or privacy, and still show content from both on a single screen (Jaynes, ¶0005 and ¶0048).
With respect to claims 2 and 9, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 1, wherein simultaneously displaying the at least a portion of the data displayed on the first connected device and at least a portion of the data displayed on the second connected device on the display comprises:
mirroring the at least a portion of the data displayed on the first connected device on a first portion of the display (Jaynes, See Fig. 5B, teaches multiple mirroring different user’s displays on a display device, ¶0042, teaches display device 106(1) for client 1 is displaying media post 408(1) (i.e. a portion of the first display), labeled “A”, display device 106(2) is displaying media post “C’ 408(2), and display device 106(3) is displaying media post “D” 408(3), as indicated by arrows 501-503 (i.e. media post are the portion of the display). In the present embodiment, users of devices 106(1)-106(3) are local to display device 102 and can see screen 510 (i.e. display device 102 as interactive display via first output), ¶0045, See Fig 5B, i.e. multiple mirroring of different user's displays on a display device, shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2); and
mirroring the at least a portion of the data displayed on the second connected device on a second portion of the display (Jaynes, ¶0042, i.e. display device 106(1) for client 1 is displaying media post 408(1), labeled “A”, display device 106(2) is displaying media post “C” 408(2) (i.e. portion of the second display), and display device 106(3) is displaying media post “D” 408(3), as indicated by arrows 501-503 (i.e. media post are the portion of the display). In the present embodiment, users of devices 106(1)-106(3) are local to display device 102 and can see screen 510 (i.e. display device 102 as interactive display via first output), ¶0045, See Fig 5B, i.e. multiple mirroring of different user's displays on a display device, shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2)).
With respect to claims 3, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to mirror the at least a portion of the data displayed on the first connected computing device such that the first portion of the display displays changes to the data displayed on the first connected device as the changes occur (Jaynes, See Fig. 5B, teaches multiple mirroring different user’s displays on a display device, ¶0038, teaches By selecting buttons 421-425, for example, the client can modify how the (potentially many) different media posts are displayed together. Presentation mode button 421 instructs the shared display to only display the selected media post 408 and to hide all other media posts, ¶0042, teaches display device 106(1) for client 1 is displaying media post 408(1) (i.e. a portion of the first display), labeled “A”, display device 106(2) is displaying media post “C’ 408(2), and display device 106(3) is displaying media post “D” 408(3), as indicated by arrows 501-503 (i.e. media post are the portion of the display). In the present embodiment, users of devices 106(1)-106(3) are local to display device 102 and can see screen 510 (i.e. display device 102 as interactive display via first output), ¶0045, See Fig 5B, i.e. multiple mirroring of different user's displays on a display device, shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2).
With respect to claims 4, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the interactive display system comprises an interactive touch screen display device that comprises the at least one processor (Ausfeld, Col-10, II. 10-12, teaches Presenter 400, also having user device 404, which in some embodiments may be a computer with a touch screen, gives a presentation to a group of users 414, Col-4, II. 40-42, teaches the components of computer system/server 12 may include, but are not limited to, one or more processors or processing units 16) the display (Ausfeld, Col-5, II. 48, teaches a display 24), the interactive touch input (Ausfeld, Col-6, II.8-12, teaches all of these inputs and outputs should be considered best of breed and can be upgraded and either added to or subtracted within the spirit of the invention. The hardware may contain a touch screen interface in some packaged applications), and the communication device such that the at least one processor, the display, the interactive touch input, and the communication device are integrally formed with the interactive touch screen display device (Ausfeld, Col-4, II. 40-42, teaches the components of computer system/server 12 may include, but are not limited to, one or more processors or processing units 16, Col-5, II. 46-52, teaches Computer system/server 12 may also communicate with one or more external devices 14 Such as a keyboard, a pointing device, a display 24, etc.; one or more devices that enable a consumer to interact with computer system/server 12; and/or any devices (e.g., network card, modem, etc.) that enable computer system/server 12 to communicate with one or more other computing devices, Col-6, II.8-12, teaches all of these inputs and outputs should be considered best of breed and can be upgraded and either added to or subtracted within the spirit of the invention. The hardware may contain a touch screen interface in some packaged applications, Col-8, II. 41-44, teaches the meeting with collaboration appliance 234, however, integrates both multimedia and personal electronic devices into a single hub, allowing for faster communication and learning experiences).
With respect to claims 6, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
the first network provides a first level of network access (Ausfeld, Col-5, II. 53-57, teaches, computer system/server 12 can communicate with one or more networks such as a local area network (LAN), a general wide area network (WAN), and/or a public network (e.g., the Internet) via network adapter 20, Jaynes, ¶0025); and
the second network provides a second level of network access (Ausfeld, Col-5, II. 53-57, teaches computer system/server 12 can communicate with one or more networks such as a local area network (LAN), a general wide area network (WAN), and/or a public network (e.g., the Internet) via network adapter 20, Jaynes, ¶0025).
With respect to claims 7 and 10, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 1, wherein
a. the first network comprises one of:
i. a teacher network (Ausfeld, see abstract, Col-7, II. 51-52, teaches teacher network); and
ii. a corporate network (Ausfeld, Col-6, II. 1, teaches corporations network); and
b. the second local area network comprises one of:
i. a student network (Ausfeld, abstract, Col-7, II. 30-34, student network); and
ii. a guest network
With respect to claim 11, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the second network is distinct from the first network (Jaynes, ¶0025, teaches Dotted line 120 indicates a network interconnection between clients 106 and host shared display 102, which may be wireless or wired (i.e. second network), ¶0046, teaches a “remote” user of a devices 106(*) is typically connected to server 115 via the Internet (or a private network) (i.e. first network)).
With respect to claim 12, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 8, wherein:
the first network is the second network (Ausfeld, abstract, Col-5, II. 53-57, teaches computer system/server 12 can communicate with one or more networks such as a local area network (LAN), a general wide area network (WAN), and/or a public network (e.g., the Internet) via network adapter 20, Col-7, II. 30-34, and II. 51-52, teaches student network and teacher network); and
the first network requires a first type of login credential (Ausfeld, abstract, Col-5, II. 53-57, teaches computer system/server 12 can communicate with one or more networks such as a local area network (LAN), a general wide area network (WAN), and/or a public network (e.g., the Internet) via network adapter 20, Col-7, II. 30-34, and II. 51-52, teaches student network and teacher network, Jaynes, ¶0048, teaches number of users connected…and security and authentication information (e.g., whether a password is required,); and
the second network requires a second type of login credential (Ausfeld, abstract, Col-5, II. 53-57, teaches computer system/server 12 can communicate with one or more networks such as a local area network (LAN), a general wide area network (WAN), and/or a public network (e.g., the Internet) via network adapter 20, Col-7, II. 30-34, and II. 51-52, teaches student network and teacher network, Jaynes, ¶0048, teaches number of users connected…and security and authentication information (e.g., whether a password is required).
With respect to claim 13, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the first display data from the first computing device comprises display data for a portion of a first display (Jaynes, ¶0042, teaches display device 106(1) for client 1 is displaying media post 408(1) (i.e. a portion of the first display), labeled “A”, display device 106(2) is displaying media post “C’ 408(2), and display device 106(3) is displaying media post “D” 408(3), as indicated by arrows 501-503 (i.e. media post are the portion of the display). In the present embodiment, users of devices 106(1)-106(3) are local to display device 102 and can see screen 510 (i.e. display device 102 as interactive display via first output).
With respect to claim 15, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the interactive touch display is configured to simultaneously mirror a substantially instantaneous view of respective display screens of the first computing device and the second computing device as the interactive touch display simultaneously displays the first display data and the second display data (Jaynes, ¶0012, teaches in distinction to existing video switching systems, each connected device is both capable of publishing imagery to the shared display and controlling the shared display simultaneously with other devices, see Fig. 5B, ¶0045-¶0046, teaches shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2). Media posts A and B were published by client 1, and media post C was published by client 2).
With respect to claim 16, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the network communication device and the at least one processor are integrally formed with the interactive touch display (Ausfeld, Col-4, II. 40-42, teaches the components of computer system/server 12 may include, but are not limited to, one or more processors or processing units 16, Col-5, II. 46-52, teaches Computer system/server 12 may also communicate with one or more external devices 14 Such as a keyboard, a pointing device, a display 24, etc.; one or more devices that enable a consumer to interact with computer system/server 12; and/or any devices (e.g., network card, modem, etc.) that enable computer system/server 12 to communicate with one or more other computing devices, Col-6, II.8-12, teaches all of these inputs and outputs should be considered best of breed and can be upgraded and either added to or subtracted within the spirit of the invention. The hardware may contain a touch screen interface in some packaged applications, Col-8, II. 41-44, teaches The meeting with collaboration appliance 234, however, integrates both multimedia and personal electronic devices into a single hub, allowing for faster communication and learning experiences).
With respect to claim 17, Ausfeld discloses a computer-implemented method for displaying information from multiple remote computing devices on different computer networks on an interactive display, comprising:
receiving, by computing hardware, at the interactive display (Fig. 1, step 24 teaches a display, Col-4, II. 20-21), first data displayed on a first connected device via a first network (Col-5, II. 48-57, “one or more devices that enable a consumer to interact with computer system/server 12; and/or any devices (e.g., network card, modem, etc.) that enable computer system/server 12 to communicate with one or more other computing devices. Such communication can occur via I/O interfaces 22. Still yet, computer system/server 12 can communicate with one or more networks such as a local area network (LAN), a general wide area network (WAN), and/or a public network (e.g., the Internet) via network adapter 20”, Col-7, II.30-31, teaches an instructor may distribute an identical document to all devices in a classroom at the beginning of a lesson, wherein an instructor network is a first network);
receiving, by the computing hardware, at the interactive display, second data displayed on a second connected device via a second network that is distinct from the first network (Col-7, II. 30-36 and 48-53, an instructor (i.e. first network) may distribute an identical document to all devices in a classroom at the beginning of a lesson. Students (i.e. second network), on the other hand, may submit a homework assignment electronically to a document queue at the beginning of class. Participants in a class Science laboratory may Submit their results to a common electronic location so as to make those results accessible to the entire class), wherein:
the interactive display receives the first data and the second data simultaneously (Col-7, II. 30-36, teaches Participants in a class Science laboratory may Submit their results to a common electronic location so as to make those results accessible to the entire class; and
causing, by the computing hardware, the interactive display to simultaneously display the first data and the second data on the interactive display (Col-7, II. 30-36 and 48-53, an instructor (i.e. first network) may distribute an identical document to all devices in a classroom at the beginning of a lesson. Students (i.e. second network), on the other hand, may submit a homework assignment electronically to a document queue at the beginning of class. Participants in a class Science laboratory may Submit their results to a common electronic location so as to make those results accessible to the entire class).
However, Ausfeld remain silent on the computing hardware does not provide access to the second network for the first connected device;
Jaynes discloses the computing hardware does not provide access to the second network for the first connected device (¶0012, teaches in distinction to existing video switching systems, each connected device is both capable of publishing imagery to the shared display and controlling the shared display simultaneously with other devices…these sources, because they have been passed through a traditional video cable, do not carry extensive control (i.e. access) information and, therefore, video sources are unable to control the display).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ausfeld system with the computing hardware does not provide access to the second network for the first connected device of Jaynes, in order to be useful in situations where the two networks have different purposes, security levels or accessibility requirements and multiple users need to collaborate or share information on a single screen (Jaynes, ¶0061).
With respect to claim 18, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 17, wherein:
the interactive display comprises a touch-enabled display (Ausfeld, Col-10, II, 10-12, teaches Presenter 400, also having user device404, which in some embodiments may be a computer with a touch screen, gives a presentation to a group of users 414); and
the interactive display is integrally formed with the computing hardware (Ausfeld, Col-4, II. 40-42, teaches the components of computer system/server 12 may include, but are not limited to, one or more processors or processing units 16, Col-5, II. 46-52, teaches Computer system/server 12 may also communicate with one or more external devices 14 Such as a keyboard, a pointing device, a display 24, etc.; one or more devices that enable a consumer to interact with computer system/server 12; and/or any devices (e.g., network card, modem, etc.) that enable computer system/server 12 to communicate with one or more other computing devices, Col-6, II.8-12, teaches all of these inputs and outputs should be considered best of breed and can be upgraded and either added to or subtracted within the spirit of the invention. The hardware may contain a touch screen interface in some packaged applications, Col-8, II. 41-44, teaches the meeting with collaboration appliance 234, however, integrates both multimedia and personal electronic devices into a single hub, allowing for faster communication and learning experiences).
With respect to claim 19, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 17, wherein the first network comprises a public data network and the second network comprises a private data network (Ausfeld, Col-5, II. 53-57, teaches computer system/server 12 can communicate with one or more networks such as a local area network (LAN), a general wide area network (WAN), and/or a public network (e.g., the Internet) via network adapter 20.Col-7, II. 8-10, teaches the usually private network created by the main collaboration device enables file transfer, chat, and other information sharing capabilities commonly utilized on any network).
With respect to claim 20, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 17, wherein causing the interactive display to simultaneously display the first data and the second data on the interactive display comprises simultaneously mirroring the first data displayed on the first computing device and the second data displayed on the second computing device on the interactive display (Ausfeld, Col-7, II. 30-36 and 48-53, an instructor may distribute an identical document to all devices in a classroom at the beginning of a lesson. Students, on the other hand, may submit a homework assignment electronically to a document queue at the beginning of class. Participants in a class Science laboratory may Submit their results to a common electronic location so as to make those results accessible to the entire class…In Active Conference, users can exchange business cards, download presentations, and wrap the chat conversations/notes into one file for reviewing later. Active Classroom can post questions to other users, teacher speech translated to text automatically, upload and download homework and collect automatic attendance.).
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausfeld in view of Jaynes, and further in view of Lewis et al. (US 9544723), hereinafter "Lewis".
With respect to claims 5, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
the communication device is configured to:
simultaneously connect to the first computing device via the first network, the second computing device via the second network without providing a connection between or among the first network, the second network (Jaynes, ¶0012, teaches in distinction to existing video switching systems, each connected device is both capable of publishing imagery to the shared display and controlling the shared display simultaneously with other devices, see Fig. 5B, ¶0045-¶0046, teaches shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2). Media posts A and B were published by client 1, and media post C was published by client 2, wherein different users can access different connections through different networks, means without connecting with client 1 and client 2 can communicate with each other); and
simultaneously receive the first display data from the first computing device via the first network, the second display data from the second computing device via the second network (Jaynes, ¶0012, teaches in distinction to existing video switching systems, each connected device is both capable of publishing imagery to the shared display and controlling the shared display simultaneously with other devices, see Fig. 5B, ¶0045-¶0046, teaches shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2). Media posts A and B were published by client 1, and media post C was published by client 2); and
the interactive touch display is configured to simultaneously display the first display data, the second display data (Ausfeld, Col-10, II, 10-12, teaches Presenter 400, also having user device404, which in some embodiments may be a computer with a touch screen, gives a presentation to a group of users 414, Jaynes, ¶0012, teaches in distinction to existing video switching systems, each connected device is both capable of publishing imagery to the shared display and controlling the shared display simultaneously with other devices, see Fig. 5B, ¶0045-¶0046, teaches shared display device 102 is displaying media posts from remote client 106(1) and also from local client 106(2) (clients 1 and 2). Media posts A and B were published by client 1, and media post C was published by client 2).
However, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes remain silent on a third computing device via a third network, third display data from the third computing device via the third network, the third display data.
Lewis discloses a third computing device via a third network (Col-11, II. 38-39 and 60-62, teaches a guest user is defined as a person who is does not have authorization to access the network 65… the guest user to connect to the interactive board 22 via its wireless network device 60 is displayed on the window 330, wherein guest network is a third network),
third display data from the third computing device via the third network (Col. 5, II. 11-19, teaches, the smart display device works with all types of networks);
the third display data (Col. 5, II. 11-19, teaches, the smart display device works with all types of networks).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ausfeld's in view of Jaynes’s system with a third computing device via a third network, third display data from the third computing device via the third network, the third display data of Lewis. The combination would allow to the visual information identifying the portable computing device within the collaboration system can be displayed together with the information identifying a target collaboration site for the portable computing device and as the number of wireless network devices within collaboration system increases, the accuracy of locating a portable computing device within the collaboration system increases (Lewis).
With respect to claim 14, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes discloses the system of claim 8, however, Ausfeld in view of Jaynes remain silent on wherein: the network communication device is configured to form an ad-hoc network; and the second network is the ad-hoc network.
Lewis discloses wherein: the network communication device is configured to form an ad-hoc network (Col-10, II. 33-35, teaches FIG. 12 shows the state of the user interface 200 on the portable computing device 50 at the start of the ad hoc meeting); and
the second network is the ad-hoc network (Col-11, II. 42-43, teaches the guest user to join a scheduled meeting or conduct an ad hoc meeting).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ausfeld's in view of Jaynes’s system with the network communication device is configured to form an ad-hoc network; and the second network is the ad-hoc network of Lewis, in order to useful in situations where devices need to communicate with each other over a short distance, such as in a meeting room and provide greater flexibility, cost savings, security and reliability compared to traditional infrastructure network (Lewis).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2458
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458