DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 3–18 are pending.
Claims 1 and 2 are canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0069196 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites, in the preamble, "[a] polymer electrolyte consisting of a composite." Claim 6, which is directly dependent from claim 3, recites, in the preamble, "[t]he polymer electrolyte according to claim 3, further comprising: at least one ionic liquid." Emphases added. The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP § 2111.03 I. The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948). See MPEP § 2111.03 II. Claim 3 uses a transitional phase (i.e., consisting of) with respect to the "polymer electrolyte" that excludes any element, or ingredient not specified in the claim. However, claim 6 uses a transitional phrase (i.e., comprising) with respect to the "polymer electrolyte" that is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements. It is unclear if the claimed polymer electrolyte excludes any element, or ingredient not specified in the claim or is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements.
Claim 5 is directly dependent from claim 3 and includes all the limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claim 5 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites, in the preamble, "[t]he polymer electrolyte according to claim 3, further comprising: at least one ionic liquid." Claim 3, which claim 6 is directly dependent, recites, in the preamble, "[a] polymer electrolyte consisting of a composite." Emphases added. The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP § 2111.03 I. The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948). See MPEP § 2111.03 II. Claim 3 uses a transitional phase (i.e., consisting of) with respect to the "polymer electrolyte" that excludes any element, or ingredient not specified in the claim. However, claim 6 uses a transitional phrase (i.e., comprising) with respect to the "polymer electrolyte" that is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements. It is unclear if the claimed polymer electrolyte excludes any element, or ingredient not specified in the claim or is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements.
Claims 7 and 8 recite the limitation "the polymer electrolyte according to claim 3" and include all the limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claims 7 and 8 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is directly dependent from claim 8 and includes all the limitation of claim 8. Therefore, claim 9 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the polymer electrolyte according to claim 3" and includes all the limitation of claim 3. Therefore, claim 10 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is directly dependent from claim 3 and includes all the limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claim 11 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 is directly dependent from claim 3 and includes all the limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claim 18 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites, in the preamble, "[a] polymer electrolyte consisting of a composite." Claim 13, which is directly dependent from claim 4, recites in the preamble "[t]he polymer electrolyte according to claim 4, further comprising: at least one ionic liquid." Emphases added. The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP § 2111.03 I. The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948). See MPEP § 2111.03 II. Claim 4 uses a transitional phase (i.e., consisting of) with respect to the "polymer electrolyte" that excludes any element, or ingredient not specified in the claim. However, claim 13 uses a transitional phrase (i.e., comprising) that is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements. It is unclear if the claimed polymer electrolyte excludes any element, or ingredient not specified in the claim or is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements.
Claim 12 is directly dependent from claim 4 and includes all the limitation of claim 4. Therefore, claim 12 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites, in the preamble, "[t]he polymer electrolyte according to claim 4, further comprising: at least one ionic liquid." Claim 4, which claim 13 is directly dependent, recites, in the preamble, "[a] polymer electrolyte consisting of a composite." Emphases added. The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP § 2111.03 I. The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948). See MPEP § 2111.03 II. Claim 4 uses a transitional phase (i.e., consisting of) with respect to the "polymer electrolyte" that excludes any element, or ingredient not specified in the claim. However, claim 13 uses a transitional phrase (i.e., comprising) that is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements. It is unclear if the claimed polymer electrolyte excludes any element, or ingredient not specified in the claim or is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements.
Claims 14 and 15 recite the limitation "the polymer electrolyte according to claim 4" and include all the limitations of claim 4. Therefore, claims 14 and 15 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is directly dependent from claim 15 and includes all the limitation of claim 15. Therefore, claim 16 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the polymer electrolyte according to claim 4" and includes all the limitation of claim 4. Therefore, claim 17 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5–11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isojima et al. (WO 2021/039949 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0181680 A1; or US 2022/0181680 A1, hereinafter Isojima '949) in view of Mimura et al. (WO 2019/017310 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2020/0099089 A1; hereinafter Mimura).
Regarding claim 3, Isojima '949 discloses a polymer electrolyte (3) consisting of a composite (3, [0318]) comprising:
a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit (see PVdF-HFP-TFE, [0211]), and
an alkali metal salt (see lithium salt, [0295]),
wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 35.0 mol% or more and 75.0 mol% or less (see mass ratio, [0211]), and
a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 4.0 mol% or more and 57.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units (see mass ratio, [0211]), and
the fluorine-containing copolymer further comprises 5.0 to 42 mol % of a hexafluoropropylene unit with respect to all monomer units (see mass ratio, [0211]).
Isojima '949 discloses a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit, a vinylidene fluoride unit, and a hexafluoropropylene unit with a mass ratio of [PVdF:HFP:TFE] of 20 to 60:10 to 40:5 to 30 (see PVdF-HFP-TFE, [0211]), which corresponds to a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 35.0 mol% or more and 75.0 mol% or less, and a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units, and the fluorine-containing copolymer further comprises 5.0 to 42 mol % of a hexafluoropropylene unit with respect to all monomer units.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 0.1 to 10 mol %, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours.
Mimura discloses a polymer electrolyte (3) consisting of a composite (3, [0297]) comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit or a vinylidene fluoride unit (see fluorine-containing resin, [0240]), and an alkali metal salt (see metal salt, [0097]), wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery (see no volatile component, [0279]). Isojima '949 and Mimura are analogous because they are directed to polymer electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the polymer electrolyte of Isojima '949 with the volatile content of Mimura in order to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery.
Regarding claim 5, modified Isojima '949 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a polymer electrolyte:
wherein the alkali metal salt is at least one lithium salt selected from LiPF6, LiBF4, LiTFSI, LiFSI, LiPO2F2, and LiBOB (see lithium salt, [0295]), and
a content of the alkali metal salt is 0.1 to 90 mass % with respect to the fluorine-containing copolymer (see lithium salt, [0296]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Isojima '949 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a polymer electrolyte, further comprising
an ionic liquid (see additives, [0300]).
Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
at least one ionic liquid selected from combinations of 1-butyl-3-methyl imidazolium (BMI) cation or N-methyl-N-butyl-pyrrolidium (Pyr14) cation as an organic cation and BF4 anion or bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl) imide (TFSI) anion as an anion,
wherein a content of the ionic liquid is 1.0 to 500 mass % with respect to the fluorine-containing copolymer.
Mimura discloses a polymer electrolyte comprising at least one ionic liquid selected from combinations of 1-butyl-3-methyl imidazolium (BMI) cation or N-methyl-N-butyl-pyrrolidium (Pyr14) cation as an organic cation and BF4 anion or bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl) imide (TFSI) anion as an anion (see ionic liquid, [0269], wherein a content of the ionic liquid is 1.0 to 500 mass % with respect to the fluorine-containing copolymer ([0159], [0271]) to improve the ion conductivity of the polymer electrolyte (see ionic liquid, [0259]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the polymer electrolyte of Isojima '949 with the ionic liquid of Mimura in order to improve the ion conductivity of the polymer electrolyte.
Regarding claim 11, modified Isojima '949 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a polymer electrolyte:
wherein the fluorine-containing copolymer has a total content of the TFE unit and the VdF unit of 40 to 95 mol % (see mass ratio, [0211]).
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 65 to 99 mol %, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 7, Isojima '949 discloses an electrochemical device (10) comprising a polymer electrolyte (3, [0318]), wherein the polymer electrolyte (3) consists of a composite (3) comprising:
a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit (see PVdF-HFP-TFE, [0211]), and
an alkali metal salt (see lithium salt, [0295]),
wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 35.0 mol% or more and 75.0 mol% or less (see mass ratio, [0211]), and
a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 4.0 mol% or more and 57.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units (see mass ratio, [0211]), and
the fluorine-containing copolymer further comprises 5.0 to 42 mol % of a hexafluoropropylene unit with respect to all monomer units (see mass ratio, [0211]).
Isojima '949 discloses a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit, a vinylidene fluoride unit, and a hexafluoropropylene unit with a mass ratio of [PVdF:HFP:TFE] of 20 to 60:10 to 40:5 to 30 (see PVdF-HFP-TFE, [0211]), which corresponds to a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 35.0 mol% or more and 75.0 mol% or less, and a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units, and the fluorine-containing copolymer further comprises 5.0 to 42 mol % of a hexafluoropropylene unit with respect to all monomer units.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 0.1 to 10 mol %, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 8, Isojima '949 discloses a polymer-based solid-state battery (10) comprising a polymer electrolyte (3, [0318]), wherein the polymer electrolyte (3) consists of a composite (3) comprising:
a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit (see PVdF-HFP-TFE, [0211]), and
an alkali metal salt (see lithium salt, [0295]),
wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 35.0 mol% or more and 75.0 mol% or less (see mass ratio, [0211]), and
a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 4.0 mol% or more and 57.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units (see mass ratio, [0211]), and
the fluorine-containing copolymer further comprises 5.0 to 42 mol % of a hexafluoropropylene unit with respect to all monomer units (see mass ratio, [0211]).
Isojima '949 discloses a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit, a vinylidene fluoride unit, and a hexafluoropropylene unit with a mass ratio of [PVdF:HFP:TFE] of 20 to 60:10 to 40:5 to 30 (see PVdF-HFP-TFE, [0211]), which corresponds to a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 35.0 mol% or more and 75.0 mol% or less, and a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units, and the fluorine-containing copolymer further comprises 5.0 to 42 mol % of a hexafluoropropylene unit with respect to all monomer units.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 0.1 to 10 mol %, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 9, modified Isojima '949 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a polymer-based solid-state battery:
wherein the battery (10) is a lithium ion secondary battery (FIG. 1, [0324]).
Regarding claim 10, Isojima '949 discloses an actuator (10) comprising a polymer electrolyte (3, [0318]), wherein the polymer electrolyte (3) consists of a composite (3) comprising:
a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit (see PVdF-HFP-TFE, [0211]), and
an alkali metal salt (see lithium salt, [0295]),
wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 35.0 mol% or more and 75.0 mol% or less (see mass ratio, [0211]), and
a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 4.0 mol% or more and 57.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units (see mass ratio, [0211]), and
the fluorine-containing copolymer further comprises 5.0 to 42 mol % of a hexafluoropropylene unit with respect to all monomer units (see mass ratio, [0211]),
wherein the actuator is selected from the group consisting of cylinders, swing motors, and motors (see cylinder, [0555]).
Isojima '949 discloses a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit, a vinylidene fluoride unit, and a hexafluoropropylene unit with a mass ratio of [PVdF:HFP:TFE] of 20 to 60:10 to 40:5 to 30 (see PVdF-HFP-TFE, [0211]), which corresponds to a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 35.0 mol% or more and 75.0 mol% or less, and a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units, and the fluorine-containing copolymer further comprises 5.0 to 42 mol % of a hexafluoropropylene unit with respect to all monomer units.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Although Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose a range of 0.1 to 10 mol %, Isojima '949 does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours.
Mimura discloses a polymer electrolyte (3) consisting of a composite (3, [0297]) comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit or a vinylidene fluoride unit (see fluorine-containing resin, [0240]), and an alkali metal salt (see metal salt, [0097]), wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery (see no volatile component, [0279]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the polymer electrolyte of Isojima '949 with the volatile content of Mimura in order to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery.
Claims 4 and 12–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isojima '949 (WO 2021/039949 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0181680 A1; or US 2022/0181680 A1) in view of Mimura (WO 2019/017310 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2020/0099089 A1) and Nakamura et al. (EP 1049108 A1, hereinafter Nakamura).
Regarding claim 4, Isojima '949 discloses a polymer electrolyte (3) consisting of a composite (3, [0318]) comprising:
a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit (see fluorine-containing polymer, [0211]), and
an alkali metal salt (see lithium salt, [0295]).
Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours.
Mimura discloses a polymer electrolyte (3) consisting of a composite (3, [0297]) comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit or a vinylidene fluoride unit (see fluorine-containing resin, [0240]), and an alkali metal salt (see metal salt, [0097]), wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery (see no volatile component, [0279]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the polymer electrolyte of Isojima '949 with the volatile content of Mimura in order to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery.
Modified Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the fluorine-containing copolymer consists of the TFE unit and the VdF unit, and
wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less, and
a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units.
Nakamura discloses a polymer electrolyte comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit, wherein the fluorine-containing copolymer consists only of the TFE unit and the VdF unit (TABLE 1, [0047]), and wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less (TABLE 1, [0047]), and a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units (TABLE 1, [0047]) to improve the strength of the polymer electrolyte (TABLE 1, [0057]). Isojima '949 and Nakamura are analogous because they are directed to polymer electrolytes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the fluorine-containing copolymer of Isojima '949 with only a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit of Nakamura in order to improve the strength of the polymer electrolyte.
Regarding claim 12, modified Isojima '949 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a polymer electrolyte:
wherein the alkali metal salt is at least one lithium salt selected from LiPF6, LiBF4, LiTFSI, LiFSI, LiPO2F2, and LiBOB (see lithium salt, [0295]), and
a content of the alkali metal salt is 0.1 to 90 mass % with respect to the fluorine-containing copolymer (see lithium salt, [0296]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Isojima '949 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a polymer electrolyte, further comprising
an ionic liquid (see additives, [0300]).
Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
at least one ionic liquid selected from combinations of 1-butyl-3-methyl imidazolium (BMI) cation or N-methyl-N-butyl-pyrrolidium (Pyr14) cation as an organic cation and BF4 anion or bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl) imide (TFSI) anion as an anion,
wherein a content of the ionic liquid is 1.0 to 500 mass % with respect to the fluorine-containing copolymer.
Mimura discloses a polymer electrolyte comprising at least one ionic liquid selected from combinations of 1-butyl-3-methyl imidazolium (BMI) cation or N-methyl-N-butyl-pyrrolidium (Pyr14) cation as an organic cation and BF4 anion or bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl) imide (TFSI) anion as an anion (see ionic liquid, [0269], wherein a content of the ionic liquid is 1.0 to 500 mass % with respect to the fluorine-containing copolymer ([0159], [0271]) to improve the ion conductivity of the polymer electrolyte (see ionic liquid, [0259]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the polymer electrolyte of Isojima '949 with the ionic liquid of Mimura in order to improve the ion conductivity of the polymer electrolyte.
Regarding claim 14, Isojima '949 discloses an electrochemical device (10) comprising a polymer electrolyte (3, [0318]), wherein the polymer electrolyte (3) consists of a composite (3) comprising:
a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit (see fluorine-containing polymer, [0211]), and
an alkali metal salt (see lithium salt, [0295]).
Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours.
Mimura discloses a polymer electrolyte (3) consisting of a composite (3, [0297]) comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit or a vinylidene fluoride unit (see fluorine-containing resin, [0240]), and an alkali metal salt (see metal salt, [0097]), wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery (see no volatile component, [0279]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the polymer electrolyte of Isojima '949 with the volatile content of Mimura in order to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery.
Modified Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the fluorine-containing copolymer consists of the TFE unit and the VdF unit, and
wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less, and
a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units.
Nakamura discloses a polymer electrolyte comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit, wherein the fluorine-containing copolymer consists only of the TFE unit and the VdF unit (TABLE 1, [0047]), and wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less (TABLE 1, [0047]), and a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units (TABLE 1, [0047]) to improve the strength of the polymer electrolyte (TABLE 1, [0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the fluorine-containing copolymer of Isojima '949 with only a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit of Nakamura in order to improve the strength of the polymer electrolyte.
Regarding claim 15, Isojima '949 discloses a polymer-based solid-state battery (10) comprising a polymer electrolyte (3, [0318]), wherein the polymer electrolyte (3) consists of a composite (3) comprising:
a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit (see fluorine-containing polymer, [0211]), and
an alkali metal salt (see lithium salt, [0295]).
Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours.
Mimura discloses a polymer electrolyte (3) consisting of a composite (3, [0297]) comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit or a vinylidene fluoride unit (see fluorine-containing resin, [0240]), and an alkali metal salt (see metal salt, [0097]), wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery (see no volatile component, [0279]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the polymer electrolyte of Isojima '949 with the volatile content of Mimura in order to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery.
Modified Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the fluorine-containing copolymer consists of the TFE unit and the VdF unit, and
wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less, and
a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units.
Nakamura discloses a polymer electrolyte comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit, wherein the fluorine-containing copolymer consists only of the TFE unit and the VdF unit (TABLE 1, [0047]), and wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less (TABLE 1, [0047]), and a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units (TABLE 1, [0047]) to improve the strength of the polymer electrolyte (TABLE 1, [0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the fluorine-containing copolymer of Isojima '949 with only a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit of Nakamura in order to improve the strength of the polymer electrolyte.
Regarding claim 16, modified Isojima '949 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a polymer-based solid-state battery:
wherein the battery (10) is a lithium ion secondary battery (FIG. 1, [0324]).
Regarding claim 17, Isojima '949 discloses an actuator (10) comprising a polymer electrolyte (3, [0318]), wherein the polymer electrolyte (3) consists of a composite (3) comprising:
a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit (see fluorine-containing polymer, [0211]), and
an alkali metal salt (see lithium salt, [0295]),
wherein the actuator is selected from the group consisting of cylinders, swing motors, and motors (see cylinder, [0555]).
Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours.
Mimura discloses a polymer electrolyte (3) consisting of a composite (3, [0297]) comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit or a vinylidene fluoride unit (see fluorine-containing resin, [0240]), and an alkali metal salt (see metal salt, [0097]), wherein the composite has a volatile content of 0.1 mass % or less with respect to the entire composite, the volatile content being determined by measuring a change in mass of the composite before and after heating at 100°C under reduced pressure for 48 hours to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery (see no volatile component, [0279]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the polymer electrolyte of Isojima '949 with the volatile content of Mimura in order to improve the battery performance of all-solid state secondary battery.
Modified Isojima '949 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the fluorine-containing copolymer consists of the TFE unit and the VdF unit, and
wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less, and
a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units.
Nakamura discloses a polymer electrolyte comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that comprises a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit, wherein the fluorine-containing copolymer consists only of the TFE unit and the VdF unit (TABLE 1, [0047]), and wherein a content of the VdF unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 60.0 mol% or more and 95.0 mol% or less (TABLE 1, [0047]), and a content of the TFE unit in the fluorine-containing copolymer is 5.0 mol% or more and 40.0 mol% or less, with respect to all monomer units (TABLE 1, [0047]) to improve the strength of the polymer electrolyte (TABLE 1, [0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the fluorine-containing copolymer of Isojima '949 with only a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit of Nakamura in order to improve the strength of the polymer electrolyte.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (i.e., Isojima '950) with respect to claims 3–18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (i.e., Isojima '949) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsuchida (CONDUCTION OF LITHIUM IONS IN POLYVINYLIDENE FLUORIDE AND ITS DERIVATIVES-I) discloses a polymer electrolyte consisting of a composite comprising a fluorine-containing copolymer that consists of a tetrafluoroethylene unit and a vinylidene fluoride unit (TABLE 1, P591/C2/L10–P591/C1/L8), and an alkali metal salt (TABLE 1, P591/C2/L10–P591/C1/L8).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725