DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12 were rejected in Office Action mailed on 11/18/2025.
Applicant filed a response, amended claim(s) 1, 6-7 and 12, withdrew claim(s) 8-11 and 13-15 on 02/18/2026.
Claim(s) 1-15 are pending, and claim(s) 8-11 and 13-15 are withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12 are rejected.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,280,367 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The present claim requires a method for preparing an aluminum salt comprising: (a) reacting activated aluminum metal (Al(0)) with an anion donor in an aqueous solution; (b) producing an aluminum salt and one or more byproducts of the reaction; and (c) optionally separating the aluminum salt from the byproducts.
The patent claims meet all limitations of the present claim. Specifically, the patent claim 1 recites a method of reacting an activated aluminum, the method comprising: exposing the activated aluminum to an aqueous solution, wherein the activated aluminum comprises aluminum combined with gallium and/or indium; reacting the aluminum in the activated aluminum with water in the aqueous solution to generate hydrogen and aluminum ions; and maintaining the aluminum ions dissolved in the aqueous solution during the reaction; and patent claim 8 recites further comprising precipitating aluminum hydroxide (reading upon an aluminum salt).
Given that hydrogen is a gas, which would necessarily be separated from aluminum hydroxide precipitated.
Furthermore, given that the patent method produces an aluminum salt, therefore the method of patent can necessarily be used for preparing an aluminum salt.
Claims 1 and 3-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19033841 (reference co-pending). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The present claims require a method for preparing an aluminum salt comprising: (a) reacting activated aluminum metal (Al(0)) with an anion donor in an aqueous solution; (b) producing an aluminum salt and one or more byproducts of the reaction; and (c) optionally separating the aluminum salt from the byproducts.
The patent/co-pending claims meet all limitations of the present claims. Specifically, co-pending a method for producing oxygen gas, the method comprising: producing aluminum nitrate using an activated aluminum alloy and nitric acid; and heating the aluminum nitrate to produce the oxygen gas (co-pending claim 1); wherein producing aluminum nitrate includes precipitating aluminum nitrate (aluminum nitrate reads upon an aluminum salt) (co-pending claim 5); wherein reacting the activated aluminum alloy with the water produces hydrogen (hydrogen reads upon one or more byproducts of the reaction) (co-pending claim 8).
Given that the co-pending method produces an aluminum salt, therefore the method of patent can necessarily be used for preparing an aluminum salt.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Slocum, US 2016/0355918 A1 (Slocum).
Regarding claim 1, Slocum discloses a reaction wherein aluminum, reacts with water to produce hydrogen (wherein hydrogen reads upon one or more byproducts of the reaction), wherein the alumina is penetrated with a gallium-based eutectic (wherein aluminum penetrated with a gallium-based eutectic reads upon activated aluminum metal) (Slocum, Abstract).
Slocum further discloses Al(OH)3 is also produced when Al reacts with H2O (Slocum, [0002]), wherein Al(OH)3 reads upon an aluminum salt, and H2O reads upon an anion donor in an aqueous solution.
Given that hydrogen is a gas, which would necessarily be separated from Al(OH)3, i.e., Al(OH)3 is separated from hydrogen, reading upon separating the aluminum salt from the byproducts.
Furthermore, given that the reaction of Slocum produces Al(OH)3, which reads upon an aluminum salt, therefore the reaction of Slocum necessarily can be used for preparing an aluminum salt.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Slocum further discloses in FIG. 9A-9C, hydrogen generation systems in which different shaped of activated aluminum are used, which are necessarily solid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slocum as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al., Effects of concentrations of NaCl and organic acid on generation of hydrogen from magnesium metal scrap, International Journal of hydrogen energy, 2012 (Yu).
Regarding claims 3-5, as applied to claim 1, Slocum does not explicitly disclose wherein the anion donor is a soluble acid, a soluble base or a soluble salt.
With respect to the difference, Yu teaches producing H2 using Mg metal (Yu, Abstract). Yu specifically teaches producing H2 using Mg metal in aqueous organic acid, e.g., citric acid (Yu, Abstract).
As Yu expressly teaches, H+ mobility and H+ concentration in solution affected the total cumulative volume of generated H2 leading to that the highest H2 yield occurred at some intermediate citric acid concentration in sea water (Yu, page 3039, left column, 2nd paragraph); H2 yield was highest when the seawater contained 30 wt.% citric acid (Yu, Abstract)
Yu is analogous art as Yu is drawn to producing H2 using Mg metal.
In light of the motivation of reacting metal with citric acid to product H2, as taught by Yu, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add citric acid to the water in Slocum, when reacting with activated aluminum to produce H2, in order to achieve higher H2 yield, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, as applied to claim 1, Slocum in view of Yu further teaches Fig. 9B (also shown below), wherein the activated metal is immersed in aqueous solution; produced hydrogen is sent through an outlet (Slocum, [0087]); hydrogen can then react with oxygen in a fuel cell to produce electricity (Slocum, Abstract), therefore, the produced hydrogen would necessarily be allowed to bubble out of solution and Slocum in vie of Yu would necessarily comprise collecting the hydrogen in order to react with oxygen in a fuel cell to produce electricity.
Slocum, FIG. 9B
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1, given that Slocum in view of Yu teaches an identical or substantially identical process, i.e., reacting activated aluminum metal with citric acid, with that of the present invention (claims 1 and 7), therefore it is clear that in the reaction of Slocum in view of Yu, the activated aluminum would necessarily react with citric acid to form aluminum citrate and H2.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s remark, regarding the double patenting rejection to be held in abeyance, Applicants’ request that the double patenting rejections to be held in abeyance is noted. However, the double patenting rejection will be maintained until such time as the rejection is properly overcome (see MPEP 804 IB and IB1).
Applicant primarily argues:
“These passages show that in the claimed methods, the reaction endpoint is a clear solution containing a dissolved, water-soluble aluminum salt (e.g., aluminum citrate, aluminum oxalate), which can then be separated from other materials (gases, residual solids, or co-dissolved species) by transferring, drying, or other purification steps. That is the described context for step (c).
Slocum is directed to a different purpose and different handling of the aluminum solid. Its Abstract states:
"Aluminum can be used as a fuel source when reacted with water if its native surrounding oxide coating is penetrated with a gallium-based eutectic.... After the aluminum objects are treated, the aluminum objects can be reacted in a reactor to produce hydrogen which can, for example, react with oxygen in a fuel cell to
produce electricity..."
Slocum describes activated aluminum reacting with water to produce hydrogen and solid aluminum reaction products (aluminum hydroxide/oxy-hydroxide). Those solids are sparingly soluble and accumulate as a slurry at the bottom of the reactor. Slocum discusses these solids in terms of fouling and disposal, not as materials to be purified as products. Nowhere does Slocum:
" identify any aluminum salt as the intended product of the method; or
" disclose any step of separating an aluminum salt from byproducts in the sense of claim 1(c).”
Remarks, p. 7-8
The Examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
Firstly, Slocum meets the present claim 1, including producing an aluminum salt and separating the aluminum salt, as set forth above on pages 6-7.
Secondly, the present claim 1 does not require the reaction endpoint being a clear solution containing a dissolved, water-soluble aluminum salt. Instead, regarding the aluminum salt, claim 1 only recites “an aluminum salt”.
Applicant further argues:
“The Action equates Slocum's water with the claimed "anion donor." Applicant submits that such a reading is inconsistent with the present specification and dependent claims, which defines "anion donor" as:
"a chemical entity capable of providing an anion for pairing with aluminum in order to form an aluminum salt. The anion donor may be a soluble acid, base, or salt."
Specification as filed, [0027].”
Remarks, p. 8
The Examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
While applicants point to the specification to clarify the definition of “anion donor” as a chemical entity capable of providing an anion for pairing with aluminum in order to form an aluminum salt, it is noted that water meets this definition of “anion donor”, given that the hydroxide ion of water reacts with aluminum and forms Al(OH)3, absent evidence to the contrary.
Applicant further argues:
“Applicants do not dispute that, as a matter of chemistry, aluminum hydroxide is an aluminum salt in a broad sense and that such a solid may form in Slocum's systems. The issue under § 102 is what Slocum teaches one of ordinary skill to do. Slocum teaches using activated aluminum as a fuel to generate hydrogen with water; any aluminum hydroxide solid forms incidentally as a sparingly soluble precipitate at the bottom of the reactor. Slocum does not teach reaction conditions tailored to produce aluminum hydroxide as a useful product, nor any processing or separation steps directed to isolating aluminum hydroxide (or any other aluminum salt) as a purified product.
By contrast, amended claim 1 requires a method:
" whose purpose is "preparing an aluminum salt";
" that uses an "anion donor" as defined in the instant specification; and
" that must include a step of "separating the aluminum salt from the byproducts."”
Remarks, p. 8-9
The Examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
Firstly, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Slocum meets the present claim 1, including a method for preparing an aluminum salt comprising: (a) reacting activated aluminum metal (Al(0)) with an anion donor in an aqueous solution;(b) producing an aluminum salt and one or more byproducts of the reaction; and (c) separating the aluminum salt from the byproducts, as set forth above on page 6.
Secondly, furthermore, given that the reaction of Slocum produces Al(OH)3, which reads upon an aluminum salt, therefore the reaction of Slocum necessarily can be used for preparing an aluminum salt.
Applicant further argues:
“Applicants respectfully submit that the combination of Slocum and Yu does not teach or suggest the claimed methods for preparing aluminum salts with a required separation step.
Yu's work is clearly framed around magnesium, not aluminum. Its title is:
"Effects of concentrations of NaCl and organic acid on generation of hydrogen
from magnesium metal scrap."
Yu systematically studies low-grade magnesium scrap in aqueous citric and acetic acid solutions (with NaCl) and reports hydrogen evolution rates and yields. Yu does not disclose aluminum, activated aluminum, or any aluminum salt preparation. Its motivation is to utilize magnesium scrap for hydrogen, not to develop general salt synthesis methods.”
Remarks, p. 9
The Examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
Firstly, Slocum meets the present claim 1, including producing an aluminum salt and separating the aluminum salt, as set forth above on pages 6-7.
Secondly, it is noted that while Yu does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Yu is used as teaching reference, namely add citric acid to the water in Slocum, when reacting with activated aluminum to produce H2, in order to achieve higher H2 yield, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Thirdly, given that Yu teaches producing H2 using Mg metal, which is a similar process with that of the Slocum, which is producing H2 using Al metal, and Yu provides proper motivation to combine, i.e., H2 yield was highest when the seawater contained 30 wt.% citric acid, therefore it is examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Slocum with Yu.
Applicant further argues:
“Slocum is, as noted above, a water-only activated aluminum fuel system designed to use water as the reactive medium for portable, safe hydrogen generation. Slocum emphasizes the practical
advantages of using water (availability, low hazard, simplicity) with Ga/In-activated aluminum. Adding substantial amounts of organic acids (as Yu does for magnesium) to Slocum's system would:
" alter the handling profile from benign water to corrosive acid solutions; " increase weight/volume burdens for transported reagents; and " undercut the very advantages Slocum highlights. A person of ordinary skill in the art, starting from Slocum, would not be naturally motivated by Yu's magnesium-in-citric-acid experiments to abandon Slocum's water-only design. Moreover, even if one hypothesizes combining the references and reacting activated aluminum with water plus citric acid, the resulting process would still be viewed as a hydrogen-generation process, because that is the goal in both Slocum and Yu. Neither reference suggests: "
treating any aluminum salt (e.g., aluminum citrate) as the primary product; "
designing reaction conditions for aluminum salt yield, solubility, and purity; or "
performing a step of "separating the aluminum salt from the byproducts".”
Remarks, p. 9-10
The Examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
Firstly, while Slocum teaches the use of water in reaction with aluminum, Slocum does not teach away from adding other additives, such as citric acid, in order to achieve benefits such as improved H2 yield.
Second, given that Yu provides proper motivation to combine, i.e., H2 yield was highest when the seawater contained 30 wt.% citric acid, therefore it is examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Slocum with Yu.
Applicant further argues:
“In other words, in the claimed invention, aluminum salts (e.g., aluminum citrate, aluminum oxalate) are the intended products, and the process is arranged so that they remain soluble, can be separated from the reaction mixture, and can be purified. Hydrogen is relegated to a byproduct. In Slocum and Yu, hydrogen is the primary goal; metal solids or salts are not treated as products to be purified.
Claim 1, step (c) makes this distinction even sharper: every embodiment of claim 1 includes a separation step directed to an aluminum salt as a product. Neither Slocum nor Yu, nor any combination of them, teaches or suggests such a separation step for any aluminum salt:
" Slocum separates hydrogen; it does not separate an aluminum salt product.
" Yu collects hydrogen from magnesium; it does not separate aluminum salts at all.
" Neither reference uses the solubility of an aluminum salt (as in our citrate/oxalate
examples) as a basis for transferring and purifying a desired aluminum product.
In a purely stoichiometric sense, reacting Al0 with citric acid can be written as forming aluminum citrate and H2. But under In re Best, it is not enough that a chemical equation can be written; the question is whether the prior art and the claimed process are truly the same in nature and objective. Here, the combination of Slocum and Yu would still be understood as a hydrogen-generation scheme with incidental solid/waste; the present claims are drafted as a salt-manufacturing scheme with a required separation step for the aluminum salt product.”
Remarks, p. 11
The Examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
Firstly, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Slocum meets the present claim 1, including a method for preparing an aluminum salt comprising: (a) reacting activated aluminum metal (Al(0)) with an anion donor in an aqueous solution;(b) producing an aluminum salt and one or more byproducts of the reaction; and (c) separating the aluminum salt from the byproducts, as set forth above on page 6.
Secondly, furthermore, given that the reaction of Slocum produces Al(OH)3, which reads upon an aluminum salt, therefore the reaction of Slocum necessarily can be used for preparing an aluminum salt.
Therefore, the Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments, but they are found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732