DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the group of receptive surfaces” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that this limitation should read “…a group of receptive surfaces…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 13, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,531,309 to Li et al. (“Li”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0246702 to Adams et al. (“Adams”).
As to claim 1, Li discloses a method (Figs. 8A-9; Col. 7: lines 45-56 and Col. 10: lines 19-26), comprising: identifying, by network equipment (Fig. 1; Col. 8: lines 45-56, "network optimizer 130") comprising a processor (Fig. 7; Col. 7: lines 1-8, "processing unit 720"), analysis of signal propagation in a geographic area; based on the analysis, determining, by the network equipment, a connection issue between a primary signaling equipment in the geographic area and user equipment resulting in a determination (Figs. 8A-B, steps 800-815; wireless network optimizer 130 receives cell service KPIs from serving stations and UEs (i.e., analysis of signal propagation in a geographic area) and determines the need for additional antenna array(s) to provide adequate coverage based on the service KPIs (i.e., determine a connection issue between the signaling equipment in the area and UEs); see also Fig. 9 and Col. 8: lines 52-63); based on the selection, identifying, by the network equipment…the first location in the geographic area for placement of the supplemental signaling equipment to supplement signaling equipment in the geographic area (Figs. 8A-B, step 825, and Fig. 10; Col. 9: lines 22-30, "at block 825, with wireless network optimizer 130 determining a different optimum location within the geographic area for adding the additional antenna array(s)"); and facilitating, by the network equipment, placing…the supplemental signaling equipment…at the first location (Figs. 8A-B, steps 825-835; see also Col. 9: lines 13-30).
Li does not disclose: based on the determination, obtaining, by the network equipment, placement information from a location repository, wherein the placement information comprises characteristics of each of a group of receptive surfaces for placing supplemental signaling equipment, wherein each of the group of receptive surfaces is at a location resulting in a group of locations; selecting, by the network equipment, a first receptive surface from the group of receptive surfaces at a first location of the group of locations for placing the supplemental signaling equipment based on the characteristics of each of the group of receptive surfaces resulting in a selection; identifying, by the network equipment, the first receptive surface; an unmanned vehicle; or placing…the supplemental signaling equipment on the first receptive surface.
However, Adams discloses: based on the determination, obtaining, by the network equipment, placement information from a location repository, wherein the placement information comprises characteristics of each of a group of receptive surfaces for placing supplemental signaling equipment, wherein each of the group of receptive surfaces is at a location resulting in a group of locations (Fig. 2; ¶0077-84, data for a group of potential relay sites, comprising surface characteristics -- gradient, surface type (i.e. grass, swamp, concrete, metal foliage, wood, water), diameter, curvature or surface area of the surface, elevation (¶0080) -- may be gathered by the node, and/or may be stored in a database (i.e., location repository)); selecting, by the network equipment, a first receptive surface from the group of receptive surfaces at a first location of the group of locations for placing the supplemental signaling equipment based on the characteristics of each of the group of receptive surfaces resulting in a selection (Fig. 2; ¶0077-84, "relay sites 30 may be compared with each other such that the 'best' relay site 30 is chosen…" (¶0083)); identifying, by the network equipment, the first receptive surface (Fig. 2; ¶0077-84, "relay sites 30 may be compared with each other such that the 'best' relay site 30 is chosen…" (¶0083)); an unmanned vehicle (Figs. 1-4; ¶0060, the relay nodes are in the form of unmanned aerial vehicles); and placing…the supplemental signaling equipment on the first receptive surface (Figs. 1-3B; ¶0061 and ¶0065, the relay node lands on the chosen surface).
Li and Adams are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li to incorporate the teachings of Adams to include: based on the determination, obtaining, by the network equipment, placement information from a location repository, wherein the placement information comprises characteristics of each of a group of receptive surfaces for placing supplemental signaling equipment, wherein each of the group of receptive surfaces is at a location resulting in a group of locations; selecting, by the network equipment, a first receptive surface from the group of receptive surfaces at a first location of the group of locations for placing the supplemental signaling equipment based on the characteristics of each of the group of receptive surfaces resulting in a selection; identifying, by the network equipment, the first receptive surface; an unmanned vehicle; and placing…the supplemental signaling equipment on the first receptive surface. Doing so would "reduce resource and logistical burden in deploying a…communications network" (Adams, ¶0003).
As to claim 2, Li in view of Adams discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the unmanned vehicle comprises an unmanned aerial vehicle (Adams, Figs. 1-4; ¶0060, unmanned aerial vehicle).
As to claim 7, Li in view of Adams discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the supplemental signaling equipment comprises an antenna coupled to a transceiver (Li, Fig. 6; Col. 6: lines 26-41, "The components of the antenna array 110 include a block transmitter/receiver and power amplifier (Tx/Rx+PA) 620, a weight vector 630, and multiple connectors 640-1 through 640-x for connecting to respective antennas 1 through x of an antenna array 110 (not shown) having x antennas").
As to claim 13, Li in view of Adams discloses the method of claim 1, wherein placing the supplemental signaling equipment comprises attaching the supplemental signaling equipment to the first receptive surface (Adams, Figs. 1-3B; ¶0061 and ¶0065, the relay node lands on the chosen surface), wherein a manmade structure comprises the first receptive surface (Adams, Fig. 1 and ¶0061, relay site 30b is a lamppost (i.e. a manmade structure)).
As to claim 14, Li in view of Adams discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the analysis is based on signal propagation information collected by the unmanned vehicle (Li, Fig. 1; Col. 4: lines 44-56, "UEs 115-1 through 115-y (referred to herein as “UE 115” or “UEs 115”) each includes any type of device having one or more wireless communication interfaces for communicating via antenna arrays 110, base stations 105, and network 140"; Col. 8: lines 18-26, "Wireless network optimizer 130 receives a second set of cell service KPIs from UEs 115").
As to claim 18, Li discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium (Fig. 7; Col. 7: lines 9-23, "Main memory 730, ROM 740 and storage device 750 may each be referred to herein as a 'non-transitory computer-readable medium” or a “non-transitory storage medium.'"), comprising executable instructions (Fig.7; Col. 7: lines 9-23, "instructions for execution by processing unit 720") that, when executed by a processor of signal propagation equipment (Fig. 7; Col. 7: lines 9-23, "processing unit 720"), facilitate performance of operations (Fig. 7; Col. 7: lines 9-23, "Main memory 730 may include a random access memory (RAM) or another type of dynamic storage device that may store information and instructions for execution by processing unit 720. ROM 740 may include a ROM device or another type of static storage device that stores static information and instructions for use by processing unit 720. Storage device 750 may include a magnetic and/or optical recording medium. Main memory 730, ROM 740 and storage device 750 may each be referred to herein as a “non-transitory computer-readable medium” or a “non-transitory storage medium.”"), comprising: analyzing propagation of a network signal originated via a network to a location resulting in an analysis (Figs. 8A-B, steps 800-815, and Fig. 9; Col. 8: lines 42-63, "Wireless network optimizer 130 analyzes the current cell capacity usage (Eqn. (1)) for the cell site, and the first and/or second set of cell service KPIs"), wherein the location was selected based on past usage of network resources of the network by a user equipment (Figs. 8A-B; Col. 8: lines 26-47, "The current cell capacity usage of Eqn. (1) may be used to determine the current amount of usage, over the time interval T, by UUEs 115 receiving wireless service via B beams of the antenna array(s) 110 of the serving base station 105"); based on the analysis, determining a connection issue between a primary signaling equipment and the user equipment resulting in a determination (Figs. 8A-B, steps 800-815; wireless network optimizer 130 receives cell service KPIs from serving stations and UEs (i.e., analysis of signal propagation in a geographic area) and determines the need for additional antenna array(s) to provide adequate coverage based on the service KPIs (i.e., determine a connection issue between the signaling equipment in the area and UEs); see also Fig. 9 and Col. 8: lines 42-63); for the signal propagation increasing equipment (Figs. 8A-B, step 825, and Fig. 10; Col. 9: lines 22-30, "at block 825, with wireless network optimizer 130 determining a different optimum location within the geographic area for adding the additional antenna array(s)"); and communicating, an instruction to place the signal propagation increasing equipment…at the first location (Figs. 8A-B and 10; Col. 12: lines 33-49, "the additional antenna array(s) 110 may be manually installed at the determined optimum location(s) within the geographic area served by the cell site 125 based on instructions received from wireless network optimizer 130").
Li does not disclose: based on the determination, obtaining placement information from a location repository, wherein the placement information comprises characteristics of each of a group of receptive surfaces for placing signaling propagation increasing equipment, wherein each of the group of receptive surfaces is at a location resulting in a group of locations; selecting a first receptive surface from the group of receptive surfaces at a first location of the group of locations based on the characteristics of each of the group of receptive surfaces; an autonomous vehicle; or [placing] the signal propagation increasing equipment on the first receptive surface.
However, Adams discloses: based on the determination, obtaining placement information from a location repository, wherein the placement information comprises characteristics of each of a group of receptive surfaces for placing signaling propagation increasing equipment, wherein each of the group of receptive surfaces is at a location resulting in a group of locations (Fig. 2; ¶0077-84, data for a group of potential relay sites, comprising surface characteristics (e.g., surface material, gradient), may be gathered by the node, and/or may be stored in a database (i.e., location repository)); selecting a first receptive surface from the group of receptive surfaces at a first location of the group of locations based on the characteristics of each of the group of receptive surfaces (Fig. 2; ¶0077-84, "relay sites 30 may be compared with each other such that the 'best' relay site 30 is chosen…" (¶0083)); an autonomous vehicle (Figs. 1-4; ¶0060, the relay nodes are in the form of unmanned aerial vehicles); and [placing] the signal propagation increasing equipment on the first receptive surface (Figs. 1-3B; ¶0061 and ¶0065, the relay node lands on the chosen surface).
Li and Adams are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li to incorporate the teachings of Adams to include: based on the determination, obtaining placement information from a location repository, wherein the placement information comprises characteristics of each of a group of receptive surfaces for placing signaling propagation increasing equipment, wherein each of the group of receptive surfaces is at a location resulting in a group of locations; selecting a first receptive surface from the group of receptive surfaces at a first location of the group of locations based on the characteristics of each of the group of receptive surfaces; an autonomous vehicle; and [placing] the signal propagation increasing equipment on the first receptive surface. Doing so would "reduce resource and logistical burden in deploying a…communications network" (Adams, ¶0003).
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Adams and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,735,825 to Leung et al. (“Leung”) and U.S. Patent No. 2017/0190104 to Bostick et al. (“Bostick”).
As to claim 3, Li in view of Adams discloses the method of claim 1, wherein placing the supplemental signaling equipment comprises…the unmanned vehicle (Adams, Figs. 1-4; ¶0060, unmanned aerial vehicle).
Li in view of Adams does not disclose: generating…the supplemental signaling equipment with materials identified by the unmanned vehicle.
However, Leung discloses: generating…the supplemental signaling equipment (Figs 18A-C; Col. 15: lines 43-65, "A fused deposition modeling (FDM) 3D printer with a printing resolution of 0.05 mm and tolerance of 0.1 mm is used for making the antenna 1800").
Additionally, Bostick discloses: …with materials identified by the unmanned vehicle (Fig. 3; ¶0066,"drone 304N to return to staging area 316 (e.g., to refill depleted energy levels and/or to refill a tank or printing cartridge of drone 304N with printing material 314)").
Li, Adams, Leung, and Bostick are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Adams to incorporate the teachings of Leung to include: generating…the supplemental signaling equipment. Doing so would "[facilitate] communication of information and/or data via electromagnetic (radio) waves" (Leung, Col. 1: lines 12-13).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Adams to incorporate the teachings of Bostick to include: …with materials identified by the unmanned vehicle. Doing so would allow for "forming a 3D object with a plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV), also known as “drones”, configured to carry and deposit 3D printing material, and to fly to a depositing location (e.g., fly, hover, or land) to print a 3D object. Specifically, at a central controller, a set of specifications for a 3D object to be printed are obtained" (Bostick, ¶0011).
As to claim 5, Li in view of Adams and further in view of Leung and Bostick discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the materials are transported to the location by the unmanned vehicle (Bostick, Fig. 3; ¶0065, "drones 304A-N is configured to carry 3D printing material 314, to fly to depositing location (e.g., fly, hover, and/or land)").
As to claim 6, Li in view of Adams and further in view of Leung and Bostick discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the materials are collected from the geographic area by the unmanned vehicle (Bostick, Fig. 3; ¶0066,"drone 304N to return to staging area 316 (e.g., to refill depleted energy levels and/or to refill a tank or printing cartridge of drone 304N with printing material 314)").
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Adams, Leung, and Bostick, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0131798 to Agrawal et al. (“Agrawal”).
As to claim 4, Li in view of Adams, Leung, and Bostick discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the unmanned vehicle (Adams, Figs. 1-4; ¶0060, unmanned aerial vehicle)…generate[s] the supplemental signaling equipment (Leung, Figs 18A-C; Col. 15: lines 43-65, "A fused deposition modeling (FDM) 3D printer…is used for making the antenna 1800") with the materials (Bostick, Fig. 3; ¶0066,"printing material 314").
Li in view of Adams, Leung, and Bostick does not disclose: comprises a three-dimensional printing device, and wherein generating the supplemental signaling equipment comprises utilizing the three-dimensional printing device.
However, Agrawal discloses: comprises a three-dimensional printing device, and wherein generating the supplemental signaling equipment comprises utilizing the three-dimensional printing device (Fig. 3; ¶0055, "the unmanned aerial vehicle 314 and the three-dimensional printer 312 to create and place the three-dimensional printed sensor 306 on the apparatus 302").
Li, Adams, Leung, Bostick, and Agrawal are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Adams, Leung, and Bostick to incorporate the teachings of Agrawal to include: comprises a three-dimensional printing device, and wherein generating the supplemental signaling equipment comprises utilizing the three-dimensional printing device. Doing so would provide "technical advantages and benefits include methods, systems, and computer program products that provide dynamic sensor printing and deployment" (Agrawal, ¶0061).
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Adams and further in view of Agrawal.
As to claim 8, Li in view of Adams discloses the method of claim 1.
Li in view of Adams does not disclose: selecting, by the network equipment, a duration for the supplemental signaling equipment to be located at the location.
However, Agrawal discloses: selecting, by the network equipment, a duration for the supplemental signaling equipment to be located at the location (Fig. 5; ¶0060, "The method 500 further includes determining, based on the analysis, one or more required additional measurements of the apparatus, a type of sensor, and a lifespan of the sensor needed to capture the one or more required additional measurements, as shown at block 508").
Li, Adams, and Agrawal are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Adams to incorporate the teachings of Agrawal to include: selecting, by the network equipment, a duration for the supplemental signaling equipment to be located at the location. Doing so would provide "technical advantages and benefits include methods, systems, and computer program products that provide dynamic sensor printing and deployment" (Agrawal, ¶0061).
As to claim 19, Li in view of Adams discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18.
Li in view of Adams does not disclose: wherein the instruction comprises an assembly instruction that describes how to assemble the signal propagation increasing equipment, and wherein the autonomous vehicle is configured to use the assembly instruction to assemble the signal propagation increasing equipment at the first location.
However, Agrawal discloses: wherein the instruction comprises an assembly instruction that describes how to assemble the signal propagation increasing equipment (Fig. 3; ¶0055, "the symptom monitoring system 310 instructs the unmanned aerial vehicle 314 and the three-dimensional printer 312 to create and place the three-dimensional printed sensor 306 on the apparatus 302"), and wherein the autonomous vehicle is configured to use the assembly instruction to assemble the signal propagation increasing equipment at the first location (Fig. 5; ¶0060, "the one or more sensors are placed by an unmanned aerial vehicle, which in some embodiments may include the three-dimensional printer used to create the sensors").
Li, Adams, and Agrawal are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Adams to incorporate the teachings of Agrawal to include: wherein the instruction comprises an assembly instruction that describes how to assemble the signal propagation increasing equipment, and wherein the autonomous vehicle is configured to use the assembly instruction to assemble the signal propagation increasing equipment at the first location. Doing so would provide "technical advantages and benefits include methods, systems, and computer program products that provide dynamic sensor printing and deployment" (Agrawal, ¶0061).
Claims 9, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Adams and Agrawal, and further in view of Bostick.
As to claim 9, Li in view of Adams and Agrawal discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising, facilitating, by the network equipment, based on the duration (Agrawal, Fig. 5; ¶0060, "lifespan of the sensor").
Li in view of Adams and Agrawal does not disclose: removing the supplemental signaling equipment from the location at a selected time.
However, Bostick discloses: removing the supplemental signaling equipment from the location at a selected time (Fig. 4B; ¶0075, "drone 450C…may pick up 3D printed part 460"; Examiner notes that a drone configured to "pick up 3D printed part" is sufficient to "[remove] the supplemental signaling equipment from the location", and that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this action would be performed "at [the] selected time").
Li, Adams, Agrawal, and Bostick are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Adams and Agrawal to incorporate the teachings of Bostick to include: removing the supplemental signaling equipment from the location at a selected time. Doing so would allow for "forming a 3D object with a plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV), also known as “drones”, configured to carry and deposit 3D printing material, and to fly to a depositing location (e.g., fly, hover, or land) to print a 3D object. Specifically, at a central controller, a set of specifications for a 3D object to be printed are obtained" (Bostick, ¶0011).
As to claim 10, Li in view of Adams and Agrawal and further in view of Bostick discloses the method of claim 9, wherein removing the supplemental signaling equipment (Li, Figs. 8A-B, step 825, and Fig. 10; Col. 9: lines 22-30, "additional antenna array(s)") comprises removing the supplemental signaling equipment by the unmanned vehicle (Bostick, Fig. 4B; ¶0075, "drone 450C…may pick up 3D printed part 460").
As to claim 20, Li in view of Adams and Agrawal discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 19, wherein…the autonomous vehicle (Agrawal, Fig. 3; ¶0055, "the unmanned aerial vehicle 314")…assemble[s] the signal propagation increasing equipment (Agrawal, Fig. 3; ¶0055, "create and place the three-dimensional printed sensor 306 on the apparatus 302").
Li in view of Adams and Agrawal does not disclose: wherein the assembly instruction further describes materials to be used.
However, Bostick discloses: wherein the assembly instruction further describes materials to be used (Fig. 3; ¶0066,"central controller 302 may instruct the drone 304N to return to staging area 316 (e.g., to refill depleted energy levels and/or to refill a tank or printing cartridge of drone 304N with printing material 314)").
Li, Adams, Agrawal, and Bostick are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Adams and Agrawal to incorporate the teachings of Bostick to include: wherein the assembly instruction further describes materials to be used. Doing so would allow for "forming a 3D object with a plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV), also known as “drones”, configured to carry and deposit 3D printing material, and to fly to a depositing location (e.g., fly, hover, or land) to print a 3D object. Specifically, at a central controller, a set of specifications for a 3D object to be printed are obtained" (Bostick, ¶0011).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Adams, Agrawal, and Bostick, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0172663 to Yui (“Yui”).
As to claim 11, Li in view of Adams, Agrawal, and Bostick discloses the method of claim 9, wherein facilitating the removing of the supplemental signaling equipment from the location (Bostick, Fig. 4B; ¶0075, "drone 450C…may pick up 3D printed part 460") comprises: selecting, by the network equipment, generation information comprising materials for generation of the supplemental signaling equipment (Bostick, Fig. 2; ¶0056, "Printing instructions component 250 may further comprise a set of specifications describing an object being printed"; ¶0058, "the set of specifications may comprise a description of a 3D object (e.g., dimensions, orientation, density, composition, etc.) to be printed")…after the duration (Agrawal, Fig. 5; ¶0060, "lifespan of the sensor"); and communicating, by the network equipment, the generation information to the unmanned vehicle (Bostick, Fig. 2; ¶0059, "Program component 270 may furthermore transmit or cause to be transmitted the program instructions for each drone to the plurality of drones having printing capability").
Li in view of Adams, Agrawal, and Bostick does not disclose: that are predicted to break down.
However, Yui discloses: that are predicted to break down (Fig. 1; ¶0028, "The cellular phone terminal 11 includes a transmitter 12 and a receiver 13. The transmitter 12 includes a molded article made of a biodegradable resin").
Li, Adams, Agrawal, Bostick, and Yui are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Adams, Agrawal, and Bostick to incorporate the teachings of Yui to include: that are predicted to break down. Doing so would allow "the base can be decomposed in the ground, for example. Refuse can thus be decreased to the utmost. Even when the base is incinerated, the amount of carbon dioxide can be reduced to approximately half the amount obtained in the case of a base made of a petroleum resin material" (Yui, ¶0009).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Adams, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0330047 to Wang et al. (“Wang”).
As to claim 12, Li in view of Adams discloses the method of claim 1.
Li in view of Adams does not disclose: wherein the analysis comprises identified parts of the geographic area where a network signal does not propagate to a threshold level of quality, and wherein identifying the location comprises identifying the location where the supplemental signaling equipment is predicted to propagate the network signal according to at least the threshold level of quality.
However, Wang discloses: wherein the analysis comprises identified parts of the geographic area where a network signal does not propagate (Fig. 6; ¶0126, " the computing device groups APs as representing a potential coverage hole by identifying a first AP having a poor AP score and having at least one neighbor also having a poor AP score (616)") to a threshold level of quality (Fig. 6; ¶0118, "thresholds for determining between a good, fair and poor RSSI SLE [service level expectation]"), and wherein identifying the location comprises identifying the location where the supplemental signaling equipment is predicted to propagate the network signal according to at least the threshold level of quality (Fig. 6; ¶0099, "the recommended actions may include adding an additional AP or moving existing APs to provide better coverage within the site").
Li, Adams, and Wang are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li in view of Adams to incorporate the teachings of Wang to include: wherein the analysis comprises identified parts of the geographic area where a network signal does not propagate to a threshold level of quality, and wherein identifying the location comprises identifying the location where the supplemental signaling equipment is predicted to propagate the network signal according to at least the threshold level of quality. Doing so would "provide for automatic identification of APs forming a so-called 'true' coverage hole in a wireless network. A 'true' coverage hole is an area with insufficient RF coverage that cannot be automatically resolved and that persists for at least a predetermined period of time. Rather than manual testing of each AP and monitoring of wireless signal strength to identify potential coverage holes, the techniques of the disclosure replace manual troubleshooting tasks with automated wireless operations. This may help to minimize costs while maximizing Wi-Fi performance and reliability" (Wang, ¶0009).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0029696 to Chaves et al. (“Chaves”) in view of Li, Wang, and Adams.
As to claim 15, Chaves discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (Fig.1; ¶0112, "UAV 110"), comprising: a processor (Fig.1; ¶112, "processors 120"); and a memory (Fig.1; ¶112, "memories 125") that stores executable instructions (Fig.1; ¶112, "computer program code 123") that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations (Fig.1; ¶112, "the one or more memories 125 and the computer program code 123 may be configured to, with the one or more processors 120, cause the user equipment 110 to perform one or more of the operations").
Chaves does not disclose: comprising: receiving instructions for placement of a temporary access point at a first location of a group of locations, wherein the instructions were generated based on a prediction that placement of the temporary access point at the location is threshold likely to increase a propagation of signals to a user device connected via a communications network, wherein a first receptive surface from the group of receptive surfaces is at the first location, based on the instructions, navigating to the location, and placing the temporary access point on the first receptive surface at the first location.
However, Li discloses: comprising: receiving instructions for placement of a temporary access point at a first location of a group of locations (Figs. 8A-B, step 825, and Fig. 10; Col. 9: lines 22-30, "at block 825, with wireless network optimizer 130 determining a different optimum location within the geographic area for adding the additional antenna array(s)"), wherein the instructions were generated based on a prediction that placement of the temporary access point at the location (Figs. 8A-B, step 825, and Fig. 10; Col. 9: lines 22-30, "adding the additional antenna array(s)").
Additionally, Wang discloses: …is threshold likely (Fig. 6; ¶0118, "thresholds for determining between a good, fair and poor RSSI SLE [service level expectation]") to increase a propagation of signals to a user device connected via a communications network (Fig. 6; ¶0099, "the recommended actions may include adding an additional AP or moving existing APs to provide better coverage within the site”).
Additionally, Adams discloses: wherein a first receptive surface from the group of receptive surfaces is at the first location, based on the instructions, navigating to the location (Fig. 2; ¶0077-84, data for a group of potential relay sites, comprising surface characteristics (e.g., surface material, gradient), may be gathered by the node, and/or may be stored in a database (i.e., location repository)), and placing the temporary access point on the first receptive surface at the first location (Figs. 1-3B; ¶0077-84, "relay sites 30 may be compared with each other such that the 'best' relay site 30 is chosen…" (¶0083); ¶0061 and ¶0065, the relay node lands on the chosen surface).
Chaves, Li, Wang, and Adams are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chaves to incorporate the teachings of Li to include: receiving instructions for placement of a temporary access point at a first location of a group of locations, wherein the instructions were generated based on a prediction that placement of the temporary access point at the location. Doing so would help "satisfy the improved utilization capacity requirements of advanced wireless systems, a greatly increased number of antennas, relative to current systems (e.g., Fourth Generation (4G) systems), will need to be deployed to support high bandwidth connections to each wireless device…The more antennas a massive MIMO system has, the more possible signal paths the system has and the better the system's performance in terms of data rate and link reliability" (Li, Col. 1: lines 34-61).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chaves to incorporate the teachings of Wang to include: …is threshold likely to increase a propagation of signals to a user device connected via a communications network. Doing so would "provide for automatic identification of APs forming a so-called 'true' coverage hole in a wireless network. A 'true' coverage hole is an area with insufficient RF coverage that cannot be automatically resolved and that persists for at least a predetermined period of time. Rather than manual testing of each AP and monitoring of wireless signal strength to identify potential coverage holes, the techniques of the disclosure replace manual troubleshooting tasks with automated wireless operations. This may help to minimize costs while maximizing Wi-Fi performance and reliability" (Wang, ¶0009).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chaves to incorporate the teachings of Adams to include: wherein a first receptive surface from the group of receptive surfaces is at the first location, based on the instructions, navigating to the location and placing the temporary access point on the first receptive surface at the first location. Doing so would "reduce resource and logistical burden in deploying a…communications network" (Adams, ¶0003).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaves in view of Li, Wang, and Adams, and further in view of Leung and Bostick.
As to claim 16, Chaves in view of Li, Wang, and Adams discloses the unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 15.
Chaves in view of Li, Wang, and Adams does not disclose: wherein the operations further comprise generating the temporary access point with materials identified by the unmanned aerial vehicle.
However, Leung discloses: wherein the operations further comprise generating the temporary access point (Figs 18A-C; Col. 15: lines 43-65, "A fused deposition modeling (FDM) 3D printer…is used for making the antenna 1800").
Additionally, Bostick discloses: …with materials identified by the unmanned aerial vehicle (Fig. 3; ¶0066,"drone 304N to return to staging area 316 (e.g., to refill depleted energy levels and/or to refill a tank or printing cartridge of drone 304N with printing material 314)").
Chaves, Li, Wang, Adams, Leung, and Bostick are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chaves in view of Li, Wang, and Adams to incorporate the teachings of Leung to include: wherein the operations further comprise generating the temporary access point. Doing so would "[facilitate] communication of information and/or data via electromagnetic (radio) waves" (Leung, Col. 1: lines 12-13).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chaves in view of Li, Wang, and Adams to incorporate the teachings of Bostick to include: …with materials identified by the unmanned aerial vehicle. Doing so would allow for "forming a 3D object with a plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV), also known as “drones”, configured to carry and deposit 3D printing material, and to fly to a depositing location (e.g., fly, hover, or land) to print a 3D object. Specifically, at a central controller, a set of specifications for a 3D object to be printed are obtained" (Bostick, ¶0011).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaves in view of Li, Wang, and Adams, and further in view of Agrawal and Bostick.
As to claim 17, Chaves in view of Li, Wang, and Adams discloses the unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise…historical usage of resources of the communications network by the user device (Li, Figs. 8A-B; Col. 8: lines 26-47, "The current cell capacity usage of Eqn. (1) may be used to determine the current amount of usage, over the time interval T, by UUEs 115 receiving wireless service via B beams of the antenna array(s) 110 of the serving base station 105").
Chaves in view of Li, Wang, and Adams does not disclose: …a time period specified by the instructions…wherein the time period was selected; or removing the temporary access point after the time period.
However, Agrawal discloses: a time period specified by the instructions (Agrawal, Fig. 5; ¶0060, "The method 500 further includes determining, based on the analysis, one or more required additional measurements of the apparatus, a type of sensor, and a lifespan of the sensor needed to capture the one or more required additional measurements, as shown at block 508")… wherein the time period was selected (Agrawal, Fig. 5; ¶0060, "determining, based on the analysis… a lifespan of the sensor").
Additionally, Bostick discloses: removing the temporary access point after the time period (Fig. 4B; ¶0075, "drone 450C…may pick up 3D printed part 460"; Examiner notes that a drone configured to "pick up 3D printed part" is sufficient to "[remove] the temporary access point", and that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this action would be performed "after [a] time period")
Chaves, Li, Wang, Adams, Agrawal, and Bostick are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: wireless communication networks; antennas; additive manufacturing, shaping or joining of plastics, and/or shaping of material in a plastic state; and/or radio transmission systems for communication between two or more posts, including arrangements for base station coverage control and/or using relays. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chaves in view of Li, Wang, and Adams to incorporate the teachings of Agrawal to include: a time period specified by the instructions…wherein the time period was selected. Doing so would provide "technical advantages and benefits include methods, systems, and computer program products that provide dynamic sensor printing and deployment" (Agrawal, ¶0061).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chaves in view of Li, Wang, and Adams to incorporate the teachings of Bostick to include: removing the temporary access point after the time period. Doing so would allow for "forming a 3D object with a plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV), also known as “drones”, configured to carry and deposit 3D printing material, and to fly to a depositing location (e.g., fly, hover, or land) to print a 3D object. Specifically, at a central controller, a set of specifications for a 3D object to be printed are obtained" (Bostick, ¶0011).
References Cited
Adams, Alexander Luke et al. (2023). Communications network (US 2023/0246702 A1). Filed 2021-06-07.
Agrawal, Tushar et al. (2024). Dynamic sensor printing and deployment (US 2024/0131798 A1). Filed 2022-10-19.
Bostick, James E. et al. (2017). Multi-drone based three-dimensional printing (US 2017/0190104 A1). Filed 2016-01-06.
Chaves, Fabiano de Sousa et al. (2022). Solutions for uav communications in a network with receiver-only mmwave 5g bs antennas and in other networks (US 2022/0029696 A1). Filed 2018-11-29.
Leung, Kwok Wa et al. (2023). Antenna (US 11,735,825 B1). Filed 2022-06-09.
Li, Yuk Lun et al. (2020). Systems and methods for optimizing wireless network coverage, capacity, and throughput (US 10,531,309 B1). Filed 2019-02-27.
Wang, Wenfeng et al. (2022). Detection of insufficient rf coverage areas in a wireless network (US 2022/0330047 A1). Filed 2021-12-08.
Yui, Yasushi (2007). Article made of biodegradable resin and method of making the same (US 2007/0172663 A1). Filed 2006-03-30.
Other Pertinent References
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Adams, Benjamin Joseph (2007). Method and apparatus for establishing a wireless communications network solar powered access points (US 2007/0171888 A1). Filed 2007-01-19.
Anderson, Michael et al. (2023). Plural relay sensor delivery system (US 2023/0249825 A1). Filed 2022-08-29.
Badichi, Harel et al. (2022). Flexible array antenna and methods of operating same (US 2022/0285836 A1). Filed 2019-11-07.
Lekutai, Gaviphat (2020). Uav supported vehicle-to-vehicle communication (US 2020/0186964 A1). Filed 2018-12-07.
Lekutai, Gaviphat (2021). Drone-assisted deployment of wireless access infrastructure (US 10,993,120 B1). Filed 2019-11-25.
Lekutai, Gaviphat (2022). Unmanned aerial vehicle assisted positioning (US 2022/0283313 A1). Filed 2021-03-03.
Michael, Gil (2021). Ad hoc dynamic data link repeater (US 2021/0221503 A1). Filed 2020-10-15.
Miller, Trent J. et al. (2019). Dynamic management of incident area deployable communications systems (US 10,278,053 B1). Filed 2018-01-31.
Reitsma, Katrin et al. (2016). Method for intelligently and dynamically selecting beacon transmitting nodes in ad-hoc networks (US 2016/0330675 A1). Filed 2015-05-05.
Rofougaran, Ahmadreza et al. (2021). Managing a network of radio frequency (rf) repeater devices (US 11,177,872 B1). Filed 2020-06-24.
Wicker, Ryan B. et al. (2013). Extrusion-based additive manufacturing system for 3d structural electronic, electromagnetic and electromechanical components/devices (US 2013/0170171 A1). Filed 2012-01-04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL H. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649