DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is not clear as it recites formula a
that may be reduced to one of the following formulae:
,
, and
.
The recitation is confusing because one would normally assume that, in formula a, each of R1, R2 and R3 is bonded to a carbon atom. That is, formula a must have at least 6 fused rings, and none of X1-4 can be R16, which is defined as a monovalent group, including hydrogen atom. The other claims are indefinite by dependency. In addition, claim 3 is unclear because it recites chemical structures that have missing bonds, such as in H22-H24, H40, H57 and EH19 (among others), or are illegible, such as PH61-PH70 and PH120 (among many others).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 113024529 Wang et al. (see attached machine-generated English-language translation).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses an OLED comprising the following compound as a host material in the light-emitting layer (see [0023]-[0024])
,
which is representative of the claimed compound wherein A is formula a1 in claim 2 with R1 being a phenyl group, L is a single bond, B is formula b wherein R17 is an aryl group and R18 is a heterocyclic group. Claims 1 and 2 are therefore anticipated. See MPEP § 2131.02(II). The features of claims 4-6 are also disclosed.
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 114702484 A to Su et al. (see attached machine-generated English-language translation).
Regarding claim 1, Su et al. discloses an OLED comprising the following compound (see compound 9),
,
which is representative of the claimed compound. Claims 1 and 2 are therefore anticipated. The compound may be included in the light-emitting layer ([0026]). Thus, claim 4 is anticipated. The features of claim 5 are disclosed in paragraph [0024].
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 114014851 A to Li et al. (see attached machine-generated English-language translation).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. discloses an OLED comprising the following compound
.
This compound is representative of the claimed compound and claims 1-2 are therefore anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113024529 Wang et al. in view of US 9,059,430 B2 to Seo et al.
Wang et al. discloses the organic light emitting element of claims 1 and 6, as explained above, but fails to disclose the multi-host structure of claim 7 or the stacked structure of claim 8. However, Seo et al. discloses an organic light emitting element comprising a stack of two light-emitting layers between two electrodes wherein each light-emitting layer includes a phosphorescent dopant, a hole-transporting host material and an electron-transporting host material, and wherein the two host materials form an exciplex and the device exhibits a high external quantum efficiency and a long lifetime (see the abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the organic light emitting element disclosed by Wang et al. in the manner suggested by Seo et al. so as to optimize the efficiency and lifetime of the device. Claims 7-11 are therefore unpatentable for being obvious. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: There is not an obvious reason for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound disclosed by Wang et al., Su et al. or Li et al. to arrive at the organic light emitting element of claim 3.
Contact Information
/VU A NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762