DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the following in the reply filed on 11/12/25 is acknowledged:
Invention I (claims 1 – 13)
Species I-A (foundation type - adjustable foundation)
Species II-A (air bladder type - at least one independently pressurized bladder in sections)
III-A (location of pump and associated equipment - internal to the mattress)
IV-A (sensor location - sensor(s) adjacent to the sleep surface, including within a cover of the mattress)
and V-B (sensor type - only a single ambient sensor)
The traversal is on the ground(s) that with regard to the species, adequate explanation must be shown for the search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive for the reasons below. Examiner maintains that all requirements for a proper restriction / election requirement were met. Nevertheless, applicant is requesting examples with regard to the species and examples to assist with demonstrating serious search and/or examination burden are provided below. First, with regard to each and every species group, different search queries would be required. For example, the search queries for the foundation type group would require different text terms for adjustable foundations as compared to non-adjustable foundations. Similarly, with regard to air bladder type, searching for air bladders which inflate independently would require terms such as independent, separate, individual, alone, etc. whereas ones which inflate without independent pressurization would require terms such as group, together, series, simultaneous, etc. The location of the pump group would require different terms for each species such as internal or external, inside or outside, particular search terms for locations such as proximate / adjacent / near / separate / away / distal / etc. with regard to relative structures of the apparatus whether it is a mattress, bed base, foundation, frame, side rail, or other element. The same is true with regard to sensor locations. Similarly, sensor types each require different queries including for the type of the sensor itself which is self-evident and similar to the issues as described above. Further, the prior art applicable to one species in each of the groups would likely not be applicable to the other species within the group. If applicant believes otherwise, applicant is welcome to state on the record that the species are obvious variants. Additionally, many of the species have different classifications (which also requires different search queries; see above). For example, non-adjustable foundations are classified in a47c19/021, whereas adjustable foundations are classified in a47c19/04 or 19/12. For example, with regard to the air bladders, the classifications are also different with independent fill bladders included, for example, in a47c27/10 whereas the other species is found within a61g7/05769.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/12/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nunn et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20140277778 and hereinafter “Nunn”).
Re Claim 1
Nunn discloses:
A smart bed (see all figures), comprising:
a mattress (fig. 1; abstract, title, [0003], [0004]) including at least one air bladder (e.g. 14a and/or 14b) and at least one pump (20, but see also [0017]) that communicates with an interior of the at least one air bladder to pressurize the at least one air bladder ([0012]; fig. 1), the mattress defining a sleep surface (top of the mattress);
a pressure sensor associated with the sleep surface of the mattress (pressure sensing via the transducer and/or the A/D converter, see also [0017]-[0021]);
a processor (36) in communication with the pressure sensor and the pump ([0017]-[0021]; figures 2-6), the processor programmed to:
detect a presence of an individual on the sleep surface ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification);
detect removal of the individual from the sleep surface ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification); and
upon detecting the removal of the individual from the sleep surface, cause the pump to adjust a pressure in the at least one air bladder in a manner that places the mattress in an out-of-bed state ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification).
Re Claim 2
Nunn discloses:
wherein the processor is further programmed to:
following removal of the individual from the sleep surface, detect an absence of the individual from the sleep surface for a predetermined duration of time before causing the pump to adjust the pressure in the at least one air bladder ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification; in particular, see [0047]-[0048] but see also [0057]).
Re Claim 3
Nunn discloses:
wherein the processor, upon detecting the removal of the individual from the sleep surface, causes the at least one pump to increase a pressure in the at least one air bladder to render the sleep surface planar or convex ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification; in particular, see [0047]-[0048] but see also [0057]; see also [0044] and [0050], indicating that maximum pressure yields a “full bed” which corresponds to planar or convex).
Re Claim 4
Nunn discloses:
wherein the processor, upon detecting the removal of the individual from the sleep surface, causes the at least one pump to increase a pressure in the at least one air bladder to puff the mattress ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification).
Re Claim 7
Nunn discloses:
wherein the processor is further programmed to:
after detecting removal of the individual from the sleep surface and causing the at least one pump to adjust the pressure within the at least one air bladder, detect a presence of the individual on the sleep surface ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification); and
upon detecting the presence of the individual on the sleep surface, cause the at least one pump to readjust the pressure within the at least one air bladder to place the smart bed in a sleep state ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification; see also, for example [0070]-[0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunn et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20140277778 and hereinafter “Nunn”) in view of Official Notice.
Re Claim 5
Nunn discloses that the apparatus is a bed which is adjustable to different positions, for example the foot or head may be raised, etc. (see [0004]), but does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
an adjustable base carrying the mattress; and
at least one motor associated with the adjustable base in a manner that enables adjustment of the adjustable base.
Examiner hereby takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art to have an adjustable base carrying a mattress (which is at least suggested in the reference in paragraph [0004]) and at least one motor associated with the adjustable base in a manner that enables adjustment of the adjustable base for the purpose of providing the functions contemplated by and described in the reference in [0004], e.g. multiple adjustable sections of a bed so as to suit user comfort, preferences, and/or medical necessity. Incorporating the above limitations into Nunn would have been an obvious modification to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date for the purpose described above.
Claim(s) 6 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunn et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20140277778 and hereinafter “Nunn”) in view of Official Notice and further in view of Purser et al. (US PG Pub No. 20180325270 and hereinafter “Purser”).
Re Claim 6
Nunn as modified above discloses all claim limitations, see above, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processor, upon detecting removal of the individual from the sleep surface, causes the motor to place the adjustable base and the mattress into flat arrangements.
Purser teaches a bed with an adjustable base / mattress with a processor which, upon detecting removal of the individual from the sleep surface, causes the motor to place the adjustable base and the mattress into flat arrangements (abstract; fig. 4, for example; figs. 22-24, for example; [0102] which discusses the exemplary action of lowering the foot of the bed when complete removal of a user from the bed is detected – it is noted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to take other associated activities such as additionally lowering the head end for the same purpose – providing a bed which is ready for subsequent use for the user and to facilitate entry / use) for the same purpose of providing a bed which is ready for subsequent use for the user and to facilitate entry / use. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Nunn as modified above to include the limitations above for the purpose(s) articulated above.
Re Claim 8
Nunn discloses:
A smart bed (see all figures), comprising:
…
a mattress (fig. 1; abstract, title, [0003], [0004]) carried by the adjustable base (see all figures and also see below) and including at least one air bladder (e.g. 14a and/or 14b) and a pump (20, but see also [0017]) that communicates with an interior of the at least one air bladder to pressurize the at least one air bladder ([0012]; fig. 1), the mattress defining a sleep surface (top of the mattress);
a pressure sensor associated with the sleep surface of the mattress (pressure sensing via the transducer and/or the A/D converter, see also [0017]-[0021]);
a processor (36) in communication with the pressure sensor and the pump ([0017]-[0021]; figures 2-6), the processor programmed to:
detect a presence of an individual on the sleep surface ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification);
detect removal of the individual from the sleep surface ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification); and
upon detecting removal of the individual from the sleep surface, cause the pump to adjust a pressure in the at least one air bladder ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification) …
Nunn discloses that the apparatus is a bed which is adjustable to different positions, for example the foot or head may be raised, etc. (see [0004]), but does not explicitly disclose:
an adjustable base;
a motor associated with the adjustable base in a manner that enables adjustment of the adjustable base;
upon detecting removal of the individual from the sleep surface … cause the motor to adjust the adjustable base to place the mattress in an out-of-bed state.
Examiner hereby takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art to have an adjustable base carrying a mattress (which is at least suggested in the reference in paragraph [0004]) and a motor associated with the adjustable base in a manner that enables adjustment of the adjustable base for the purpose of providing the functions contemplated by and described in the reference in [0004], e.g. multiple adjustable sections of a bed so as to suit user comfort, preferences, and/or medical necessity. Incorporating the above limitations into Nunn would have been an obvious modification to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date for the purpose described above.
Purser teaches a bed with an adjustable base / mattress with a processor which, upon detecting removal of the individual from the sleep surface … causes adjustment to place the mattress in an out-of-bed state, which would readily be known to utilize the motor via adjustment of the adjustable base (e.g. via the lowering action discussed in the disclosure, citations to follow, although the reference does not describe the motors used in great detail, see the modification above regarding the use of motors and adjustable bases which are old and well known in the art). Among other things, Purser’s teachings include placing the bed into a flat arrangement, e.g. causing adjustment to place the mattress in an out-of-bed state (abstract; fig. 4, for example; figs. 22-24, for example; [0102] which discusses the exemplary action of lowering the foot of the bed when complete removal of a user from the bed is detected – it is noted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to take other associated activities such as additionally lowering the head end for the same purpose – providing a bed which is ready for subsequent use for the user and to facilitate entry / use) for the same purpose of providing a bed which is ready for subsequent use for the user and to facilitate entry / use. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Nunn as modified above to include the limitations above, including adjustments via the motor of the base in conjunction with the at least one bladder as claimed, for the purpose(s) articulated above.
Re Claim 9
Nunn as modified above discloses:
wherein the processor is further programmed to:
following removal of the individual from the sleep surface, detect an absence of the individual from the sleep surface for a predetermined duration of time before causing the pump to adjust the pressure in the at least one air bladder and before causing the motor to adjust the adjustable base ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification; in particular, see [0047]-[0048] but see also [0057]; additionally, see above regarding motor adjustment which would operate in conjunction with generally adjusting the bed as described in the citations above).
Re Claim 10
Nunn as modified above discloses:
wherein the out-of-bed state includes planar or convex orientation of the sleep surface of the mattress ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification; in particular, see [0047]-[0048] but see also [0057]; see also [0044] and [0050], indicating that maximum pressure yields a “full bed” which corresponds to planar or convex).
Re Claim 11
Nunn as modified above discloses:
wherein the processor, upon detecting the removal of the individual from the sleep surface, causes the pump to increase a pressure in the at least one air bladder to puff the mattress ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification).
Re Claim 12
Nunn as modified above discloses:
wherein the processor is further programmed to:
after detecting removal of the individual from the sleep surface and causing the pump to adjust the pressure within the at least one air bladder, detect a presence of the individual on the sleep surface ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification); and
upon detecting the presence of the individual on the sleep surface, cause the pump to readjust the pressure within the at least one air bladder to place the smart bed in a sleep state ([0044]-[0053] and [0057]-[0060]; figs. 2-6 and corresponding description in the specification; see also, for example [0070]-[0074]).
Re Claim 13
Nunn as modified above discloses:
wherein the processor is further programmed to:
upon detecting the presence of the individual on the sleep surface (Nunn teaches additional monitoring upon detection, see citations above)…
Nunn as modified above does not explicitly disclose:
cause the motor to readjust the adjustable base to further place the adjustable base and the mattress in the sleep state.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have Nunn, via its detection and monitoring (see above), cause the motor to readjust the adjustable base to further place the adjustable base and the mattress in the sleep state as making adjustments of the base to maintain a sleep state goes along with and in conjunction with making adjustments to a bladder to maintain a sleep state. To the extent necessary, it is noted that Purser monitors and causes the motor to readjust the adjustable base to further place the adjustable base and the mattress in the sleep state for the purpose of maintaining a sleep state and it would have been obvious to modify Nunn as modified above to incorporate the limitations above for the purpose(s) as articulated above (see Purser figs. 22-24, see [0102], [0004], [0077]-[0080], see figs. 37-38 and [0143]-[0144]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references are provided with automatic bed bladder / frame movement systems, movement systems which occur in response to time or detected parameters, and movement systems which rely upon user presence or the lack thereof.
/DAVID E. SOSNOWSKI/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/David E Sosnowski/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673