DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 9-13, filed 3 February 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-15, and 17-22 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20200110194 A1 to Young.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-15, and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170112716 A1 to Rawls-Meehan in view of US 20230000396 A1 to Coffey and further in view of US 20200110194 A1 to Young.
Re Claim 1, Rawls-Meehan teaches:
A remote control system for a smart bed (at least [Abstract] “an adjustable bed facility comprising a computer-based controller”), comprising: the smart bed including:
a mattress (at least Figs. 1A-B and [0206] “mattresses 124”); a control unit that controls operation of at least one function of the smart bed (at least [0111] “an adjustable bed controller”.); and a receiver in communication with the control unit (at least [0111] “communicating the sensor data to at least one of the adjustable bed controller”.);
a remote control (at least Figs. 1A-B and [0206] “remote control 118”) including: a processor (at least Fig. 17A and [0438] “a processor 1712”.); at least one input in communication with the processor to enable an individual to determine a manner in which the at least one function of the smart bed will operate (at least Fig. 17A and [0438] “remote control may include a touch sensor 1708 (e.g. touch sensors as described in connection with user input devices 1602 and 1604), a processor 1712, a transmitter 1714 and a plurality of buttons and/or switches 1718. In embodiments, the touch sensor 1708 may be adapted to facilitate a user in adjusting the frame position 1724 of the adjustable bed 1720”.); a transmitter in communication with the processor (at least Fig. 17A and [0438] “a transmitter 1714”.); a transceiver in communication with the processor (at least Fig. 20A and [0468] “a transceiver 2018”.); and at least one antenna associated with the transceiver of the remote control (at least Fig. 20A and [0468] “the transceiver 2018 may operate a BLUETOOTH protocol. In embodiments, the transceiver may be an RF transceiver”.);
a portable electronic device (at least Fig. 20A) including: a processor that executes an app for use with the smart bed, the app enabling the processor to receive updates for the remote control and to cause the processor to send updates to at least one of the control unit of the smart bed and the processor of the remote control (at least [0271] “software for the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150 may be upgraded via an iPad/iPhone/iPod or other mobile device or any device capable of accessing the web. This may provide consumers a cheap and easy way to update software associated with their bed”.);
at least one transceiver in communication with the processor to establish communication between the processor of the portable electronic device and at least one of the control unit of the smart bed and the processor of the remote control to transmit the updates to at least one of the receiver and the control unit of the smart bed and the transceiver and the processor of the remote control; and at least one antenna associated with the transceiver of the portable electronic device (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150”.).
Rawls-Meehan does not explicitly teach:
wherein the app is awoken in response to detection of the portable electronic device within a predefined distance of the smart bed or detection of an engagement with the smart bed, and wherein awakening of the app causes enablement of the processor of the portable electronic device to receive updates for the remote control and to cause the processor to send updates to at least one of the control unit of the smart bed and the processor of the remote control;
and wherein the processor of the portable electronic device, independent of the control unit is further configured to
analyze sleep data of an individual as the individual sleeps, the sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session;
generate and store one or more settings of the smart bed corresponding to the individual;
identify, via a machine learning model, one or more parameters relating to how the individual sleeps from the sleep data;
update the one or more settings based on the one or more parameters; and
transmit the one or more settings from the portable electronic device to the control unit for use in configuring the smart bed for a subsequent sleep session.
However, Coffey teaches:
wherein the app is awoken in response to detection of the portable electronic device within a predefined distance of the smart bed or detection of an engagement with the smart bed (at least [0059] “timing of the transceiver may be controlled by the microcontroller for implementing a variable range gating operation with a plurality of detection ranges by changing a range gating setting to change the sensor to monitor a resident in a second range when the resident moves to the second range from a first range previously monitored by the sensor” and [0064] “the control system is able to receive the data generated by the sensor 250 and determine that the resident 20 is generally centrally positioned within the receiving space 355 of the configurable bed apparatus 350 or otherwise positioned at a distance from an edge of the receiving space”), and wherein awakening of the app causes enablement of the processor of the portable electronic device to receive updates for the remote control and to cause the processor to send updates to at least one of the control unit of the smart bed and the processor of the remote control (at least [0061] “if a sensor array is mounted at a bed, its range settings can be pre-set at the factory to a standard two-in bed king size bed with the sensor placed on a bedside locker or night stand in a mobile configuration. These settings may be configurable, e.g. by the resident, caregiver, or installer, etc., through a controller, such as through a software application (e.g., an app) on a smartphone. Additionally, these ranges can be automatically optimized by the system, using movement, activity, respiration, and heart (i.e. from ballistocardiogram) features. For example, a subset of ranges may be automatically determined/selected, such as in a setup or initial operation procedure, by controlling the sensor to automatically scan or iterate through a larger superset of potential ranges by changing the range settings (e.g., magnitude detector receive timing pulse(s)). The selection of the detection range subset (e.g., one or more) can be dependent on detection of any one or more of the body movement or other human activity”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the remote control system taught by Rawls-Meehan with the distance detection taught by Coffey with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so “to predict future falls of the resident” (Coffey [0062]).
The combination of Rawls-Meehan and Coffey does not explicitly teach:
and wherein the processor of the portable electronic device, independent of the control unit is further configured to analyze sleep data of an individual as the individual sleeps, the sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session;
to generate and store one or more settings of the smart bed corresponding to the individual,
identify, via a machine learning model, one or more parameters relating to how the individual sleeps from the sleep data;
update the one or more settings based on the one or more parameters; and
transmit the one or more settings from the portable electronic device to the control unit for use in configuring the smart bed for a subsequent sleep session.
However, Young teaches:
and wherein the processor of the portable electronic device, independent of the control unit (at least Figs. 2 and 4 and [0064] “The MMMSA 400 includes one or more devices 410 which are connected to or in communication with (collectively “connected to”) a computing platform 420. In an implementation, a machine learning training platform 430 may be connected to the computing platform 420. In an implementation, users may access the data via a connected device 440, which may receive data from the computing platform 420 or the device 410”) is further configured to analyze sleep data of an individual as the individual sleeps, the sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session, to generate and store one or more settings of the smart bed corresponding to the individual (at least [0065] “one or more sensors 412, a controller 414, a database 416, and a communications interface 418. In an implementation, the device 410 can include a classifier 419 for applicable and appropriate machine learning techniques as described herein. The one or more sensors 412 can detect wave patterns of vibration, pressure, force, weight, presence, and motion due to subject(s) activity and/or configuration with respect to the one or more sensors 412”);
identify, via a machine learning model, one or more parameters relating to how the individual sleeps from the sleep data (at least [0066] “the classifier 419 can apply classifiers to the sensor data to determine the biometric parameters and other person-specific information via machine learning”);
update the one or more settings based on the one or more parameters; and transmit the one or more settings from the portable electronic device to the control unit for use in configuring the smart bed for a subsequent sleep session (at least [0066] “In an implementation, the sensor data and the biometric parameters and other person-specific information can be stored in the database 416. In an implementation, the sensor data, the biometric parameters and other person-specific information, and/or combinations thereof can be transmitted or sent via the communication interface 418 to the computing platform 420 for processing, storage, and/or combinations thereof”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the remote control system taught by the combination of Rawls-Meehan and Coffey with the movement detection taught by Young with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The one or more sensors 412 can detect wave patterns of vibration, pressure, force, weight, presence, and motion due to subject(s) activity and/or configuration with respect to the one or more sensors 412.” (Young [0065]).
Re Claim 2, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The remote control system of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein the app causes the processor and the transceiver of the portable electronic device to send updates for the remote control to the transceiver and the processor of the remote control (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.).
Re Claim 4, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The remote control system of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein the app causes the processor and the transceiver of the portable electronic device to send updates for the control unit of the smart bed to the receiver and the control unit of the smart bed (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.).
Re Claim 5, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The remote control system of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein the app causes the processor and the transceiver of the portable electronic device to send updates for the control unit of the smart bed to the transceiver and the processor of the remote control (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.).
Re Claim 6, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The remote control system of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein the smart bed further includes: an adjustable platform including a plurality of moveable sections (at least Figs. 6-15); and at least one motor that controls movement of the plurality of moveable sections under control of the control unit of the mattress (at least Figs. 6-15 and [0190] “adjustable bed may use electric motors with gearboxes, pneumatic springs, hydraulic springs, or the like to actuate the adjustable bed sections”.).
Re Claim 7, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The remote control system of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein the at least one function comprises at least one of a pressurizable bladder, a temperature control system (at least [0426] “temperature control”.), a ventilation system, and at least one sensor (at least [0426] “temperature sensors”.).
Re Claim 8, Rawls-Meehan teaches:
A remote control (at least [Abstract] “an adjustable bed facility comprising a computer-based controller”) system, comprising:
a remote control (at least Figs. 1A-B and [0206] “remote control 118”) including: a processor (at least Fig. 17A and [0438] “a processor 1712”.); at least one input in communication with the processor; a transmitter in communication with the processor (at least Fig. 17A and [0438] “remote control may include a touch sensor 1708 (e.g. touch sensors as described in connection with user input devices 1602 and 1604), a processor 1712, a transmitter 1714 and a plurality of buttons and/or switches 1718. In embodiments, the touch sensor 1708 may be adapted to facilitate a user in adjusting the frame position 1724 of the adjustable bed 1720”.); a transceiver in communication with the processor (at least Fig. 20A and [0468] “a transceiver 2018”.); and at least one antenna associated with the transceiver (at least Fig. 20A and [0468] “the transceiver 2018 may operate a BLUETOOTH protocol. In embodiments, the transceiver may be an RF transceiver”.);
a portable electronic device (at least Fig. 20A) including: a processor that executes an app enabling the processor to receive updates for the remote control and to cause the processor of the portable electronic device to send updates to the processor of the remote control (at least [0271] “software for the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150 may be upgraded via an iPad/iPhone/iPod or other mobile device or any device capable of accessing the web. This may provide consumers a cheap and easy way to update software associated with their bed”.);
at least one transceiver in communication with the processor of the portable electronic device to establish communication between the processor of the portable electronic device and the processor of the remote control to enable transmission of the updates to the transceiver of the remote control and the processor of the remote control; and at least one antenna associated with the transceiver of the portable electronic device (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150”.).
Rawls-Meehan does not explicitly teach:
wherein the app is awoken in response to detection of the portable electronic device within a predefined distance of a smart bed or detection of an engagement with the smart bed, and wherein awakening of the app causes enablement of the processor of the portable electronic device to receive updates for the remote control;
and wherein the processor of the portable electronic device, independent of a control unit of the smart bed, is further configured to: analyze sleep data of an individual as the individual sleeps, the sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session;
generate and store one or more settings of the smart bed based on the analyzed sleep data corresponding to the individual;
identify, via a machine learning model, one or more parameters relating to how the individual sleeps from the sleep data; update the one or more settings based on the one or more parameters; and transmit the one or more settings from the portable electronic device to the smart bed for use in configuring the smart bed for a subsequent sleep session.
However, Coffey teaches:
wherein the app is awoken in response to detection of the portable electronic device within a predefined distance of a smart bed or detection of an engagement with the smart bed (at least [0059] “timing of the transceiver may be controlled by the microcontroller for implementing a variable range gating operation with a plurality of detection ranges by changing a range gating setting to change the sensor to monitor a resident in a second range when the resident moves to the second range from a first range previously monitored by the sensor” and [0064] “the control system is able to receive the data generated by the sensor 250 and determine that the resident 20 is generally centrally positioned within the receiving space 355 of the configurable bed apparatus 350 or otherwise positioned at a distance from an edge of the receiving space”), and wherein awakening of the app causes enablement of the processor of the portable electronic device to receive updates for the remote control (at least [0061] “if a sensor array is mounted at a bed, its range settings can be pre-set at the factory to a standard two-in bed king size bed with the sensor placed on a bedside locker or night stand in a mobile configuration. These settings may be configurable, e.g. by the resident, caregiver, or installer, etc., through a controller, such as through a software application (e.g., an app) on a smartphone. Additionally, these ranges can be automatically optimized by the system, using movement, activity, respiration, and heart (i.e. from ballistocardiogram) features. For example, a subset of ranges may be automatically determined/selected, such as in a setup or initial operation procedure, by controlling the sensor to automatically scan or iterate through a larger superset of potential ranges by changing the range settings (e.g., magnitude detector receive timing pulse(s)). The selection of the detection range subset (e.g., one or more) can be dependent on detection of any one or more of the body movement or other human activity”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the remote control system taught by Rawls-Meehan with the distance detection taught by Coffey with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so “to predict future falls of the resident” (Coffey [0062]).
The combination of Rawls-Meehan and Coffey does not explicitly teach:
and wherein the processor of the portable electronic device, independent of a control unit of the smart bed, is further configured to: analyze sleep data of an individual as the individual sleeps, the sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session;
generate and store one or more settings of the smart bed based on the analyzed sleep data corresponding to the individual;
identify, via a machine learning model, one or more parameters relating to how the individual sleeps from the sleep data; update the one or more settings based on the one or more parameters; and transmit the one or more settings from the portable electronic device to the smart bed for use in configuring the smart bed for a subsequent sleep session.
However, Young teaches:
and wherein the processor of the portable electronic device, independent of a control unit of the smart bed (at least Figs. 2 and 4 and [0064] “The MMMSA 400 includes one or more devices 410 which are connected to or in communication with (collectively “connected to”) a computing platform 420. In an implementation, a machine learning training platform 430 may be connected to the computing platform 420. In an implementation, users may access the data via a connected device 440, which may receive data from the computing platform 420 or the device 410”), is further configured to: analyze sleep data of an individual as the individual sleeps, the sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session; generate and store one or more settings of the smart bed based on the analyzed sleep data corresponding to the individual (at least [0065] “one or more sensors 412, a controller 414, a database 416, and a communications interface 418. In an implementation, the device 410 can include a classifier 419 for applicable and appropriate machine learning techniques as described herein. The one or more sensors 412 can detect wave patterns of vibration, pressure, force, weight, presence, and motion due to subject(s) activity and/or configuration with respect to the one or more sensors 412”);
identify, via a machine learning model, one or more parameters relating to how the individual sleeps from the sleep data (at least [0066] “the classifier 419 can apply classifiers to the sensor data to determine the biometric parameters and other person-specific information via machine learning”);
update the one or more settings based on the one or more parameters; and transmit the one or more settings from the portable electronic device to the smart bed for use in configuring the smart bed for a subsequent sleep session (at least [0066] “In an implementation, the sensor data and the biometric parameters and other person-specific information can be stored in the database 416. In an implementation, the sensor data, the biometric parameters and other person-specific information, and/or combinations thereof can be transmitted or sent via the communication interface 418 to the computing platform 420 for processing, storage, and/or combinations thereof”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the remote control system taught by the combination of Rawls-Meehan and Coffey with the movement detection taught by Young with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The one or more sensors 412 can detect wave patterns of vibration, pressure, force, weight, presence, and motion due to subject(s) activity and/or configuration with respect to the one or more sensors 412.” (Young [0065]).
Re Claim 9, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The remote control system of claim 8 (detailed with respect to claim 8).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein the at least one input of the remote control includes no more than three inputs (at least Fig. 18A first and second touch sensors).
Re Claim 10, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The remote control system of claim 8 (detailed with respect to claim 8).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein the at least one input of the remote control comprises at least one button (at least Fig. 18A first and second touch sensors).
Re Claim 11, Rawls-Meehan teaches:
A method for updating a remote control of a smart bed (at least Figs. 1A-B and [0206] “remote control 118”), comprising:
receiving a notification for an update through an app on a portable electronic device; initiating the update with the app on the portable electronic device; and transmitting the update to the remote control (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.),
wherein transmitting the update comprises transmitting the update to an intermediary device that operates under control of the remote control and then transmitting the update from the intermediary device to the remote control (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.).
Rawls-Meehan does not explicitly teach:
wherein the app is awoken in response to detection of the portable electronic device within a predefined distance of the smart bed or detection of an engagement with the smart bed, and wherein awakening of the app causes enablement of a processor of the portable electronic device to send updates for the remote control and to cause the processor to send updates to the processor of the remote control;
subsequent to awakening of the app, receiving the update that includes one or more settings of the smart bed corresponding to an individual on the smart bed as the individual sleeps,
the one or more settings generated by the portable electronic device, independent of a control unit of the smart bed, the one or more settings based on an analysis, via a machine learning model, of sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session.
However, Coffey teaches:
wherein the app is awoken in response to detection of the portable electronic device within a predefined distance of the smart bed or detection of an engagement with the smart bed (at least [0059] “timing of the transceiver may be controlled by the microcontroller for implementing a variable range gating operation with a plurality of detection ranges by changing a range gating setting to change the sensor to monitor a resident in a second range when the resident moves to the second range from a first range previously monitored by the sensor” and [0064] “the control system is able to receive the data generated by the sensor 250 and determine that the resident 20 is generally centrally positioned within the receiving space 355 of the configurable bed apparatus 350 or otherwise positioned at a distance from an edge of the receiving space”), and wherein awakening of the app causes enablement of a processor of the portable electronic device to send updates for the remote control and to cause the processor to send updates to the processor of the remote control (at least [0061] “if a sensor array is mounted at a bed, its range settings can be pre-set at the factory to a standard two-in bed king size bed with the sensor placed on a bedside locker or night stand in a mobile configuration. These settings may be configurable, e.g. by the resident, caregiver, or installer, etc., through a controller, such as through a software application (e.g., an app) on a smartphone. Additionally, these ranges can be automatically optimized by the system, using movement, activity, respiration, and heart (i.e. from ballistocardiogram) features. For example, a subset of ranges may be automatically determined/selected, such as in a setup or initial operation procedure, by controlling the sensor to automatically scan or iterate through a larger superset of potential ranges by changing the range settings (e.g., magnitude detector receive timing pulse(s)). The selection of the detection range subset (e.g., one or more) can be dependent on detection of any one or more of the body movement or other human activity”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the remote control system taught by Rawls-Meehan with the distance detection taught by Coffey with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so “to predict future falls of the resident” (Coffey [0062]).
The combination of Rawls-Meehan and Coffey does not explicitly teach:
subsequent to awakening of the app, receiving the update that includes one or more settings of the smart bed corresponding to an individual on the smart bed as the individual sleeps,
the one or more settings generated by the portable electronic device, independent of a control unit of the smart bed, the one or more settings based on an analysis, via a machine learning model, of sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session.
However, Young teaches:
subsequent to awakening of the app, receiving the update that includes one or more settings of the smart bed corresponding to an individual on the smart bed as the individual sleeps (at least [0130] “The configuration server 2020 obtains the generated or retrained classifiers and generates an update (2055) for devices 2005. The configuration server 2020 sends the update (2060) to both the first set of devices 2025 and to the second set of devices 2065, where the second set of devices 2065 may be new devices”),
the one or more settings generated by the portable electronic device, independent of a control unit of the smart bed (at least Figs. 2 and 4 and [0064] “The MMMSA 400 includes one or more devices 410 which are connected to or in communication with (collectively “connected to”) a computing platform 420. In an implementation, a machine learning training platform 430 may be connected to the computing platform 420. In an implementation, users may access the data via a connected device 440, which may receive data from the computing platform 420 or the device 410”), the one or more settings based on an analysis, via a machine learning model (at least [0066] “the classifier 419 can apply classifiers to the sensor data to determine the biometric parameters and other person-specific information via machine learning”), of sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session (at least [0066] “In an implementation, the sensor data and the biometric parameters and other person-specific information can be stored in the database 416. In an implementation, the sensor data, the biometric parameters and other person-specific information, and/or combinations thereof can be transmitted or sent via the communication interface 418 to the computing platform 420 for processing, storage, and/or combinations thereof”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the remote control system taught by the combination of Rawls-Meehan and Coffey with the movement detection taught by Young with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The one or more sensors 412 can detect wave patterns of vibration, pressure, force, weight, presence, and motion due to subject(s) activity and/or configuration with respect to the one or more sensors 412.” (Young [0065]).
Re Claim 12, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The method of claim 11 (detailed with respect to claim 11).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein receiving the notification for the update with the portable electronic device comprises automatically receiving the notification for the update (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.).
Re Claim 13, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The method of claim 12 (detailed with respect to claim 12).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein initiating the update with the portable electronic device comprises automatically initiating the update with the portable electronic device (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0270] “automatically initiated”.).
Re Claim 14, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The method of claim 13 (detailed with respect to claim 13).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein transmitting the update to the remote control comprises automatically transmitting the update through a wireless network to the remote control (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0270] “automatically initiated”.).
Re Claim 15, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The method of claim 11 (detailed with respect to claim 11).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein transmitting the update to the portable electronic device comprises transmitting the update directly from the portable electronic device to the remote control (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0270] “automatically initiated”.).
Re Claim 17, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The method of claim 11 (detailed with respect to claim 11).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein transmitting the update to the intermediary device comprises transmitting the update to the smart bed (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0270] “upon insertion of the USB device or flash card”.).
Re Claim 18, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The method of claim 11 (detailed with respect to claim 11).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein transmitting the update comprises transmitting the update to a smart bed that can operate under control of the remote control and then transmitting the update from the smart bed to the remote control (at least [0271-272] “software for the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150 may be upgraded via an iPad/iPhone/iPod or other mobile device or any device capable of accessing the web. This may provide consumers a cheap and easy way to update software associated with their bed. The remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a WIFI and/or Bluetooth module such that it can communicate with a mobile device such as an iPad, iPod, iPhone and the like. The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150. In an embodiment, the controller 150 may have a connection interface with the modular controls 148 to provide the user with control over other devices that may be connected to the adjustable bed facility 102. The controller 150 may receive commands from the remote control 118 for the modular controls 148 and may pass the command through to the modular control 148, may interpret the remote control 118 command and command the modular control 148, or the like”.).
Re Claim 19, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The method of claim 11 (detailed with respect to claim 11).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
further comprising: transmitting a confirmation signal from the remote control to the portable electronic device (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.).
Re Claim 20, Rawls-Meehan teaches:
A method for updating a remote control of a smart bed (at least Figs. 1A-B and [0206] “remote control 118”), comprising:
receiving, by a transceiver of the remote control in communication with a processor of the remote control, an update for the remote control; initiating the update with the remote control; and downloading the update to the remote control (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.),
wherein the update for the remote control is received from the smart bed (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.).
Rawls-Meehan does not explicitly teach:
wherein an app of a portable electronic device is awoken in response to detection of the portable electronic device within a predefined distance of the smart bed or detection of an engagement with the smart bed, and wherein awakening of the app causes the portable electronic device to receive the update for the remote control and cause the portable electronic device to send the update to the remote control;
wherein a processor of the portable electronic device independent of a control unit of the smart bed is further configured to: analyze sleep data of an individual as the individual sleeps, the sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session;
generate and store one or more settings of the smart bed based on the analyzed sleep data corresponding to the individual;
identify, via a machine learning model, one or more parameters relating to how the individual sleeps from the sleep data; update the one or more settings based on the one or more parameters; and transmit the one or more settings from the portable electronic device to the smart bed for use in configuring the smart bed for a subsequent sleep session.
However, Coffey teaches:
wherein an app of a portable electronic device is awoken in response to detection of the portable electronic device (at least [0059] “timing of the transceiver may be controlled by the microcontroller for implementing a variable range gating operation with a plurality of detection ranges by changing a range gating setting to change the sensor to monitor a resident in a second range when the resident moves to the second range from a first range previously monitored by the sensor”) within a predefined distance of the smart bed or detection of an engagement with the smart bed (at least [0064] “the control system is able to receive the data generated by the sensor 250 and determine that the resident 20 is generally centrally positioned within the receiving space 355 of the configurable bed apparatus 350 or otherwise positioned at a distance from an edge of the receiving space”), and wherein awakening of the app causes the portable electronic device to receive the update for the remote control and cause the portable electronic device to send the update to the remote control (at least [0061] “if a sensor array is mounted at a bed, its range settings can be pre-set at the factory to a standard two-in bed king size bed with the sensor placed on a bedside locker or night stand in a mobile configuration. These settings may be configurable, e.g. by the resident, caregiver, or installer, etc., through a controller, such as through a software application (e.g., an app) on a smartphone. Additionally, these ranges can be automatically optimized by the system, using movement, activity, respiration, and heart (i.e. from ballistocardiogram) features. For example, a subset of ranges may be automatically determined/selected, such as in a setup or initial operation procedure, by controlling the sensor to automatically scan or iterate through a larger superset of potential ranges by changing the range settings (e.g., magnitude detector receive timing pulse(s)). The selection of the detection range subset (e.g., one or more) can be dependent on detection of any one or more of the body movement or other human activity”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the remote control system taught by Rawls-Meehan with the distance detection taught by Coffey with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so “to predict future falls of the resident” (Coffey [0062]).
The combination of Rawls-Meehan and Coffey does not explicitly teach:
wherein a processor of the portable electronic device independent of a control unit of the smart bed is further configured to: analyze sleep data of an individual as the individual sleeps, the sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session;
generate and store one or more settings of the smart bed based on the analyzed sleep data corresponding to the individual;
identify, via a machine learning model, one or more parameters relating to how the individual sleeps from the sleep data; update the one or more settings based on the one or more parameters; and transmit the one or more settings from the portable electronic.
However, Young teaches:
wherein a processor of the portable electronic device independent of a control unit of the smart bed (at least Figs. 2 and 4 and [0064] “The MMMSA 400 includes one or more devices 410 which are connected to or in communication with (collectively “connected to”) a computing platform 420. In an implementation, a machine learning training platform 430 may be connected to the computing platform 420. In an implementation, users may access the data via a connected device 440, which may receive data from the computing platform 420 or the device 410”) is further configured to: analyze sleep data of an individual as the individual sleeps, the sleep data detected via at least one sensor of the smart bed and comprising at least one of a sleep position or a movement during a sleep session; generate and store one or more settings of the smart bed based on the analyzed sleep data corresponding to the individual (at least [0065] “one or more sensors 412, a controller 414, a database 416, and a communications interface 418. In an implementation, the device 410 can include a classifier 419 for applicable and appropriate machine learning techniques as described herein. The one or more sensors 412 can detect wave patterns of vibration, pressure, force, weight, presence, and motion due to subject(s) activity and/or configuration with respect to the one or more sensors 412”);
identify, via a machine learning model, one or more parameters relating to how the individual sleeps from the sleep data (at least [0066] “the classifier 419 can apply classifiers to the sensor data to determine the biometric parameters and other person-specific information via machine learning”); update the one or more settings based on the one or more parameters; and transmit the one or more settings from the portable electronic (at least [0066] “In an implementation, the sensor data and the biometric parameters and other person-specific information can be stored in the database 416. In an implementation, the sensor data, the biometric parameters and other person-specific information, and/or combinations thereof can be transmitted or sent via the communication interface 418 to the computing platform 420 for processing, storage, and/or combinations thereof”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the remote control system taught by the combination of Rawls-Meehan and Coffey with the movement detection taught by Young with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The one or more sensors 412 can detect wave patterns of vibration, pressure, force, weight, presence, and motion due to subject(s) activity and/or configuration with respect to the one or more sensors 412.” (Young [0065]).
Re Claim 21, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The remote control system of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein the receiver and the control unit of the smart bed send the update for the remote control to the remote control (at least [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.).
Re Claim 22, the combination of Rawls-Meehan, Coffey, and Young teaches:
The remote control system of claim 8 (detailed with respect to claim 8).
Rawls-Meehan further teaches:
wherein the app causes the processor and the transmitter of the remote control to send the update for the smart bed to the smart bed (at least [0271] “The networked device may download a software update and then upload the updated software to the remote controller 118 and/or the controller 150 via the Bluetooth and/or WIFI module. In embodiments the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 may be equipped with a docking port for an iPad, iPhone, iPod, smartphone, cell phone, tablet computer or other mobile or networked device such that the device may be docked with the remote control 118 and/or controller 150 to upload the software through a hardwired connection. In an embodiment, a user may interact with the networked device to cause the program update to be delivered to the remote control 118 and/or the controller 150” and [0298] “the controller 150 may be able to communicate with the network to periodically check for application software updates. In an embodiment, if an application software update is located, the controller 150 may send the user an email, instant messenger message, phone message, phone call, cell phone message, cell phone call, fax, pager message, or the like to indicate that software updates are available. The user, using the device that received the notice of software update, may send a reply to the control box that the software upgrade should be downloaded, should not be downloaded, or the like”.).
Conclusion
/GEORGE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673