DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 and 10-18 and 20 under 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WO2022071006, CN101459439, JP6173611.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-18 and 20 under 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or amendment specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a side surface of the second mold” which should be removed as no second mold is disclosed as of the recent response filing.
Appropriate correction is requested.
Examiner will disregard the above limitations when applying prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
It must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NII (US6335669) in view of FURUTANI (WO2022071006) .
Regarding Claim 1. (Original) NII teaches, in Fig. 3-8, a device, comprising: a first printed circuit board (PCB) (101), including a first cavity (4) in a first surface of the first PCB (see Fig. 3-8); a power amplifier (19) mounted in the first cavity; and a second PCB (102) mounted to the first surface and mounted over the first cavity (see Fig. 3-8), but does disclose a first mold including a molding material at the first surface of the first PCB, wherein the first mold encloses the second PCB and electrical components mounted to the first surface of the first PCB and the second PCB.
FURUTANI discloses, in Fig. 1B/C, a first mold (72) including a molding material at the first surface of the first PCB (30), wherein the first mold encloses the second PCB (assume 20, see also Nii reference) and electrical components (60, see also Nii reference, also obvious to have components mounted to surfaces in PCB) mounted to the first surface of the first PCB and the second PCB.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as disclosed by NII with the mold as disclosed by FURUTANI in order to protect the electrical components by sealing as it is known in the art (FURUTANI, translation page 4 paragraph 5-8, translation page 9 paragraph 3) .
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) Nii and FURUTANI teaches the device of claim 1, further comprising: an electrical joint (Nii, 118,119,5) located on a second surface of the first PCB (see Nii, Fig. 3-8) and at a location on the second surface opposite the power amplifier (Nii, see Fig. 3-8); and a via (Nii, 8 below) electrically connecting an amplified output from the power amplifier to the electrical joint (Nii, see Fig. 3-8).
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) Nii and FURUTANI teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the first PCB is comprised of a plurality of insulating layers (Nii, See Fig. 3-8), and a depth of the first cavity includes a thickness of at least one of the plurality of insulating layers (Nii, see Fig. 3-8).
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US6633005) in view of FURUTANI (WO2022071006).
Regarding Claim 1. (Original) Wang teaches, in Fig. 4,5, and 7, a device, comprising: a first printed circuit board (PCB) (18a, 18b, 18c), including a first cavity (22) in a first surface of the first PCB (see Fig. 4 ,5 ,7); a power amplifier (24) mounted in the first cavity; and a second PCB (18d) mounted to the first surface and mounted over the first cavity (see Fig. 4,5, 7), but does not disclose a first mold including a molding material at the first surface of the first PCB, wherein the first mold encloses the second PCB and electrical components mounted to the first surface of the first PCB and the second PCB.
FURUTANI discloses, in Fig. 1B/C, a first mold (72) including a molding material at the first surface of the first PCB (30), wherein the first mold encloses the second PCB (assume 20, see also Nii reference) and electrical components (60, see also Nii reference, also obvious to have components mounted to surfaces in PCB) mounted to the first surface of the first PCB and the second PCB.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as disclosed by NII with the mold as disclosed by FURUTANI in order to protect the electrical components by sealing as it is known in the art (FURUTANI, translation page 4 paragraph 5-8, translation page 9 paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 2. Wang and FURUTANI teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the power amplifier is configured to amplify radio frequency signals (RF amplifier, implicit) and the device further comprises a first circuit (Wang, 34a, 38) mounted to the second PCB wherein the first circuit is electrically connected to the power amplifier (used for output matching so there should be a connection)
Regarding Claim 3. Wang and FURUTANI teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the first circuit includes at least one of: a bias circuit mounted to the second PCB and electrically connected to the power amplifier; or a single-ended output matching circuit mounted to the second PCB and electrically connected to the power amplifier (Wang, column 8 lines 35-42).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NII and FURUTANI in view of Ida (US7119004).
Regarding Claim 8. (Original) Nii and FURUTANI teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the power amplifier is mounted in the first cavity (Nii,4) at a joint between a first surface (Nii, bottom surface) of the power amplifier and a surface in the first cavity (Nii, see Fig. 3-8), but does not teach the device further comprises: an electromagnetic coupling shield coupled to a second surface of the power amplifier opposite the first surface of the power amplifier.
Ida teaches, in Fig. 10, an electromagnetic coupling shield (4) coupled to a second surface of the power amplifier (2) opposite the first surface (bottom surface) of the power amplifier.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as disclosed by NII and FURUTANI with the shield as disclosed by Ida in order to protect the power amplifier from external electrical noise as it is known in the art.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NII and FURUTANI in view of Wang (US6633005).
Regarding Claim 10. NII and FURUTANI teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach further comprising: an electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield enclosing the first mold, a side surface of the first PCB.
WANG teaches, in Fig. 4, an electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield (46) enclosing the first mold (see FURATANI), a side surface of the first PCB (18a-18c) (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as disclosed by NII and FURUTANI with the shield as disclosed by WANG in order to provide additional RF grounding and EMI shielding (Wang, column 7 lines 38-42).
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NII and FURUTANI in view of KAJIWARA (JP2018085375).
Regarding Claim 11 (Original) NII and FURUTANI teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the second PCB is mounted at a joint between the first surface of the first PCB and a second surface of the second PCB (NII, see Fig. 3-8), but does not teach the device further comprises: a solder resist layer attached to the second surface of the second PCB and coupled to a first surface of the second PCB opposite the second surface of the second PCB.
Kajiwara teaches, in Fig. 2 and 11, a solder resist layer (43) attached to the second surface of the second PCB (40) and coupled to a first surface of the second PCB opposite the second surface of the second PCB (see Fig. 2, 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as disclosed by NII and FURUTANI with the solder resist layer as disclosed by Kajiwara in order to act as a barrier to the circuit board and provide a barrier to excess solder as it is known in the art.
Regarding Claim 13. NII and FURUTANI teaches the device of claim 1, and does not teach a solder ball joint between a second surface of the second PCB and the first surface of the first PCB; and a solder resist layer around the solder ball joint.
Kajiwara teaches, in Fig. 2 and 11, a solder ball joint (38) between a second surface (bottom surface) of the second PCB (40) and the first surface (top surface) of the first PCB (10); and a solder resist layer (43,25) around the solder ball joint (Fig. 2, 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device disclosed by NII and FURUTANI with the solder ball and solder resist as disclosed by Kajiwara in order to connect electrically the second PCB to the first PCB for the purposes of low loss signal transmission as it is known in the art.
Regarding Claim 14. (Original) NII and FURUTANI teaches the device of claim 1,but does not teach a joint between a second surface of the second PCB and the first surface of the first PCB, wherein the joint has a non-circular shape.
Kajiwara teaches a joint (38) between a second surface (bottom surface) of the second PCB (40) and the first surface (top surface) of the first PCB (10), wherein the joint has a non-circular shape (cylindrical, see Fig. 2, 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device disclosed by NII and FURUTANI with the non-circular joint as disclosed by Kajiwara in order to make a better proper connection to rectangular electrical pad as it is known in the art.
It has also been held that changing the shape of an object is routine to one of ordinary skill in the art if persuasive evidence is absent that the particular configuration of the claimed object is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NII and FURUTANI in view of Nishimura (US7217993).
Regarding Claim 15. NII and FURUTANI teaches the device of claim 1, the first PCB includes a second surface (NII, bottom surface) opposite the first surface (NII, see Fig. 3-8), but does not teach the device further comprises: a solder ball grid array.
Nishimura teaches, in Fig. 4, a solder ball grid array (16).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as disclosed by NII and FURUTANI with solder ball grid array as disclosed by Nishimura for the purpose of connecting with an external circuit (Nishimura, column 3 lines 50-55).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US6633005) in view of Fukuoka (US7149496) in further view of FURUTANI (WO2022071006).
Regarding Claim 16. Wang teaches, in Fig. 4-5 and 7, an device, comprising: a first printed circuit board (PCB) (18a,18b, 18c), including a plurality of insulating layers (36); a cavity (22) in a first surface of the first PCB (see Fig. 4-5 and 7), the cavity having a depth from the first surface greater than a thickness of one of the plurality of insulating layers (see Fig. 4-5, and 7); a power amplifier (24) mounted in the cavity, wherein the power amplifier is configured to amplify radio frequency signals (column 4 lines 18-22), a second PCB (18d) mounted to the first surface (top surface) and mounted over the cavity (see Fig. 4); but does not teach a power amplifier mounted at a first electrical joint on a cavity surface; a second electrical joint on a PCB second surface of the first PCB at a location on the PCB second surface opposite the first electrical joint; a via through one or more of the plurality of insulating layers from the first electrical joint to the second electrical joint and providing an electrical connection path between an amplified output of the power amplifier to the second electrical joint; a first mold including a molding material at the first surface of the first PCB, wherein the first mold encloses the second PCB and electrical components mounted to the first surface of the first PCB and the second PCB.
Fukuoka teaches, in Fig. 12, a power amplifier (24) mounted at a first electrical joint (the joint below AMP-IC112) on a cavity surface (see Fig. 12); a second electrical joint (SLPG{5,6}) on a PCB second surface (see Fig. 12) of the first PCB at a location on the PCB second surface opposite the first electrical joint (see Fig. 12); a via (V1,V2) through one or more of the plurality of insulating layers (11,12,13,14) from the first electrical joint to the second electrical joint and providing an electrical connection path between an amplified output of the power amplifier to the second electrical joint (see Fig .12).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as disclosed by Wang with the electrical joint as disclosed by Fukuoka in order to provide a high-frequency module reduced both in size and loss and increased in isolation in its entirety (column 2 lines 55-57).
FURUTANI teaches, in Fig. 1B/C, a first mold (72) including a molding material at the first surface of the first PCB (see Fig. 1B/C), wherein the first mold encloses the second PCB (see above references) and electrical components mounted to the first surface of the first PCB and the second PCB (see Fig. 1B/C).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as disclosed by Wang and Fukuoka with the mold as disclosed by FURUTANI in order to protect the electrical components by sealing as it is known in the art (FURUTANI, translation page 4 paragraph 5-8, translation page 9 paragraph 3).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US6633005) in view of Fukuoka (US7149496) in further view of ROLFOGOLAN(ROLF) (CN101459439).
Regarding Claim 17. (Original) Wang teaches, in Fig. 4-5 and 7, an device, comprising: a first printed circuit board (18a,18b,18c) including a first cavity (22) in a first surface of the first PCB (see Fig. 4-5, 7); a power amplifier (24) mechanically and electrically coupled to an inner surface of the first cavity (see Fig. 4-5, 7); a second PCB (18d) mechanically and electrically coupled to the first surface and mounted over the first cavity (see Fig. 4-5, 7) but does not teach a bias circuit configured to regulate an output of the power amplifier; and an output matching circuit configured to match the output of the power amplifier to and output device; an impedance transformer embedded in the second PCB and configured to match an output of the power amplifier.
Fukuoka teaches, in Fig. 3, 4, and 12, a bias circuit (SW100) configured to regulate an output of the power amplifier (left of AMP 120,110); and an output matching circuit (MAT 20, MAT 10) configured to match the output of the power amplifier to an output device (ANT).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as disclosed by Wang with the bias circuit and output matching circuit as disclosed by Fukuoka in order to provide a high-frequency module in which the output power changes linearly with respect to the output control voltage without any change in the designing of the high-frequency power amplifiers (Fukuoka, column 2 lines 63-67).
ROLF teaches, in Fig. 2B and Abstract, an impedance transformer (156, 250) embedded in the second PCB (104) and configured to match an output of the power amplifier ([0063],[0041]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device disclosed by Wang and Fukuoka with the impedance transformer as disclosed by ROLF in order to to further improve the transmission efficiency (Rolf, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 18. (Original) Wang, Fukuoka, and ROLF teaches the device of claim 17, wherein: the bias circuit (SW110) is mechanically and electrically coupled to the second PCB (Fukuoka, Fig. 12, shows an example, but would be obvious); and the output matching circuit (MAT10, MAT 20) is mechanically and electrically coupled to the second PCB (Fukuoka, Fig. 12 shows an example, but would be obvious).
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NII in view of Fukuoka (US7149496) in further view of ROLFOGOLAN(ROLF) (CN101459439).
NII teaches, in Fig. 3-8, an device, comprising: a first printed circuit board (1) including a first cavity (4) in a first surface of the first PCB (see Fig. 3-8); a power amplifier (19) mechanically and electrically coupled to an inner surface of the first cavity (see Fig. 3-8); a second PCB (2) mechanically and electrically coupled to the first surface and mounted over the first cavity (see Fig. 3-8) but does not teach a bias circuit configured to regulate an output of the power amplifier; and an output matching circuit configured to match the output of the power amplifier to and output device; an impedance transformer embedded in the second PCB and configured to match an output of the power amplifier.
Fukuoka teaches, in Fig. 3 4, and 12, a bias circuit (SW100) configured to regulate an output of the power amplifier (left of AMP 120,110); and an output matching circuit (MAT 20, MAT 10) configured to match the output of the power amplifier to an output device (ANT).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device as disclosed by Wang with the bias circuit and output matching circuit as disclosed by Fukuoka in order to provide a high-frequency module in which the output power changes linearly with respect to the output control voltage without any change in the designing of the high-frequency power amplifiers (Fukuoka, column 2 lines 63-67).
ROLF teaches, in Fig. 2B and Abstract, an impedance transformer (156, 250) embedded in the second PCB (104) and configured to match an output of the power amplifier ([0063],[0041]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device disclosed by Wang and Fukuoka with the impedance transformer as disclosed by ROLF in order to to further improve the transmission efficiency (Rolf, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 20. NII, Fukuoka, and ROLF teaches the device of claim 17, further comprising: an electrical joint (NII,the point where 13 and 11 meet) located on a second surface (bottom surface) of the first PCB (NII, see Fig.3-8), wherein the second surface is opposite the first surface (NII, Fig. 3-8) and the electrical joint is located on the second surface opposite the power amplifier (NII, Fig. 3-8); and a via (13,8) electrically connecting an amplified output from the power amplifier to the electrical joint.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is presented in the Notice of References Cited.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2848
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2848