DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant filed remarks and amendments on 02/26/2026. Claims 1, 4, 11, and 19 were amended. Claims 1-8, 10-16, 18-19 and 21-23 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed 02/26/2026 with respect to Tan et al. (US 20180314268 A1) in view of Karatayev et al. (US 20210047037 A1), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Neither Tan nor Karatayev teaches classification of flight regions (level versus transition) or sensor switching tied to explicit transition-region determination”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Tan teaches continuous monitoring of distance-sensor readings to detect and respond to changes in terrain elevation (i.e., transitions between surface levels). See Tan, (“A distance from an aerial vehicle to a terrain feature located forward and lower … is measured … automatically adjust a flight altitude”[ Abstract]); (“terrain features include ground materials, hills, plants, trees, crops, orchards, vineries, fences, bushes, trees, buildings, obstacles, snow, or any other object located on or near ground/terrain.” [0023]); (“if the terrain ahead is sloping up, the relative height value Hf in front of the UAV at distance Lf will start decreasing” [0031]); (“The processing unit 76 further incorporates the new distance measurements to update the profile of relative heights,” [0057]); (“the relative height profile hProfile(tk) is updated based on each Hf and Lf, the confidence array hConf(tk) is updated along with Cf, the confidence level of each Hf. The confidence level Cf may be a pre-defined value” [0079]).
Karatayev teaches sensor switching to a visual-inertial (camera + IMU) system precisely when the primary sensing modality becomes unreliable, See Karatayev, Abstract; Claim 1 (“if at least the predetermined number of physical markers is not detected … determining an estimated physical position using a secondary positional system”); FIG. 4 & accompanying text (flowchart showing switch to IMU/secondary when primary unavailable, then reversion with error correction upon return); FIG. 2 (“the secondary navigation system may be calibrated … when the system returns to optical” and “difference may then be used as a correction factor”[0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-16, 18-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 20180314268 A1) in view of Karatayev et al. (US 20210047037 A1), hereinafter referred to as Tan and Karatayev respectively.
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 19, Tan discloses a method for operating an aerial robot (“FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a height estimation and control system onboard an aerial vehicle in flight.” [0005]),
determining a first height estimate of the aerial robot relative to a first region with a first surface level using data from a distance sensor of the aerial robot the distance sensor configured to emit signals to detect first round trip time of the signals reflected by objects (“For example, when installed on a flying aircraft, this height estimation system provides estimates of the aircraft's height above ground” [0023] and “For example, based on the geometric relationship of a mounting angle of the distance sensor and the pitch angle of the aerial vehicle with respect to the measured distance, a relative vertical height of the location of the terrain feature is calculated as an estimated relative height at the location.” [0024] see also [0029], [0042] and [0059]);
controlling flight of the aerial robot over at least a part of the first region based on the first estimated height detected by the first round trip time of the signals reflected by the distance sensor (“Process 1100 starts at 1102 by receiving the distance measurements from the distance sensor 72 and the pitch angle θ, the forward speed vx, and the altitude measurements from the motion sensor 74.” [0058] and (“which can be used by a height control system to maintain the aerial vehicle at desired heights in relation to varying terrain. Examples of terrain features include ground materials, hills, plants, trees, crops, orchards, vineries, fences, bushes, trees, buildings, obstacles, snow, or any other object located on or near ground/terrain.” [0023] and “a difference between a current relative height (e.g., distance between current vertical position of UAV and a terrain feature directly below the UAV) and the selected relative height (e.g., selected in 610) to be utilized to control a flight altitude is calculated and utilized as the amount of altitude increase or decrease” [0043]);
determining that the aerial robot is in a transition region between the first region and a second region with a second surface level different from the first surface level (“FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example change to the profile of relative heights at forward interval horizontal distances after vertical movement of the UAV from the initial location shown in FIG. 8. “ [0047]),
wherein determining that the aerial robot is in the transition region comprises: detecting, from the distance sensor, a difference between an average of prior distance readings and a current distance reading exceeding a first threshold, and detecting a likelihood of being in a leveled region below is below a second threshold (“a difference between a current relative height (e.g., distance between current vertical position of UAV and a terrain feature directly below the UAV) and the determined relative height (e.g., determined in 304) to be utilized to control a flight altitude is calculated and utilized as the amount of altitude increase or decrease indicated in the flight control command (e.g., increase/decrease from current vertical altitude) to lower (e.g., current relative height is less than the determined relative height) or raise (e.g., current relative height is greater than the determined relative height) the flight height/altitude of an aerial vehicle.” [0035]; “The confidence array may be updated along with the relative height profile …… the relative height is determined based on both the relative height profile hProfile(tk) and the confidence array hConf(tk). …….. in step 1110, as the relative height profile hProfile(tk) is updated based on each Hf and Lf, the confidence array hConf(tk) is updated along with Cf, the confidence level of each Hf. The confidence level Cf may be a pre-defined value or it may be determined based on the characteristics (such as consistency and/or signal-to-noise ratio) of the measurements from the distance sensor.” [0079] and “the process 1200 fills in these elements by linear interpolating the new relative height and the existing last element of the relative height profile.” [0069]);
controlling the flight of the aerial robot using the second height estimate in the transition region based on the acceleration data of the aerial robot (“Such capability to anticipate height changes is crucial as it provides the UAV time to adjust its height before reaching the upcoming terrain, thus allowing the UAV to achieve safely close-to-ground terrain-following flight.” [0026] and “a difference between a current relative height (e.g., distance between current vertical position of UAV and a terrain feature directly below the UAV) and the determined relative height (e.g., determined in 1112) to be utilized to control a flight altitude is calculated and utilized as the amount of altitude increase or decrease indicated in the flight control command (e.g., increase/decrease from current vertical altitude) to lower (e.g., current relative height is less than the determined relative height) or raise (e.g., current relative height is greater than the determined relative height) the flight height/altitude of an aerial vehicle.” [0081]).
determining that the aerial robot is in the second region for more than a threshold period (“As illustrated, h0 is the current height of the UAV in relation to P0, the terrain feature directly beneath it; h1 is the UAV's height distance above P1, the terrain feature at a distance DX ahead of the horizontal location of the UAV, h2 is the UAV's height distance above P2, the terrain feature at a further distance ahead of the horizontal location of the UAV, and so on. For example, hProfile(t0)=[5, 6, 8, 9, 10 . . . ] means that the UAV is 5 m above P0, 6 m above P1, 8 m above P2, etc. The horizontal spacing/distance between the terrain feature positions (P0, P1, P2, etc.) does not have to be constant and can vary between different feature positions. For simplicity of the description, the positions are equally spaced with pre-determined distances DX. Therefore, the distance between any terrain feature position point Pi and the UAV's current ground position P0 is equal to i*DX.” [0046] and [0080])
and reverting to using the distance sensor to determine a third height estimate of the aerial robot during which the aerial robot is in the second region, the distance sensor configured to determine the third height estimate based on a second round trip time of the signals emitted by the distance sensor, the second round trip time different from the first round trip time (“The process 1200 may check if there are more relative heights and distance pairs (Hf, Lf) to process before it ends. If there are more relative heights and distance pairs to process, the process 1200 goes back to step 1202 to update the relative height profile with the next relative heights and distance pair (Hf, Lf) until there are no more relative heights and distance pairs (Hf, Lf) to process.” see at least [0070] and [0050])
determining that the aerial robot is in the second region for more than a threshold period (“As illustrated, h0 is the current height of the UAV in relation to P0, the terrain feature directly beneath it; h1 is the UAV's height distance above P1, the terrain feature at a distance DX ahead of the horizontal location of the UAV, h2 is the UAV's height distance above P2, the terrain feature at a further distance ahead of the horizontal location of the UAV, and so on. For example, hProfile(t0)=[5, 6, 8, 9, 10 . . . ] means that the UAV is 5 m above P0, 6 m above P1, 8 m above P2, etc. The horizontal spacing/distance between the terrain feature positions (P0, P1, P2, etc.) does not have to be constant and can vary between different feature positions. For simplicity of the description, the positions are equally spaced with pre-determined distances DX. Therefore, the distance between any terrain feature position point Pi and the UAV's current ground position P0 is equal to i*DX.” [0046] and [0080]).
resetting the first round trip time of the signals emitted by the distance sensor that corresponds to the first height estimate (“the travel distance dx should be reset to be dx=dx−n*DX to prepare for the next time instance” [0056]);
and reverting to using the distance sensor to determine a third height estimate of the aerial robot during which the aerial robot is in the second region, the distance sensor configured to determine the third height estimate based on a second round trip time of the signals emitted by the distance sensor, the second round trip time different from the first round trip time (“The process 1200 may check if there are more relative heights and distance pairs (Hf, Lf) to process before it ends. If there are more relative heights and distance pairs to process, the process 1200 goes back to step 1202 to update the relative height profile with the next relative heights and distance pair (Hf, Lf) until there are no more relative heights and distance pairs (Hf, Lf) to process.” see at least [0070] and [0050])
Tan does not explicitly teach switching to a visual inertial sensor in determining a second height estimate of the aerial robot in the transition region, the second height estimate determined using data from the visual inertial sensor of the aerial robot, the visual inertial sensor comprising an inertial sensor configured to determine the second height estimate based on acceleration data of the aerial robot
However, Karatayev does teach switching to a visual inertial sensor in determining a second height estimate of the aerial robot in the transition region, the second height estimate determined using data from the visual inertial sensor of the aerial robot, the visual inertial sensor comprising an inertial sensor configured to determine the second height estimate based on acceleration data of the aerial robot (“If not enough markers of the proper type are acquired in the current video frame, the system may switch to whichever secondary navigation system is included, such as an IMU. The last known fix of the UOC in the physical environment may then be used as the initial position for the secondary navigation system.” [0058] and “This difference may then be used as a correction factor in the subsequent period when non-precision navigation is necessary. As an alternative, and if such correction is implemented at all, it would also be possible to use both the primary, optical navigation system and the secondary navigation system at the same time so as to compile error measurements and a correction factor for the non-precision system even before the system needs to switch to it.” [0037]). Both Tan and Karatayev teach methods for operating an aerial robot. However, only Karatayev explicitly teaches switching to a visual inertial sensor in determining a second height estimate of the aerial robot in the transition region, the second height estimate determined using data from the visual inertial sensor of the aerial robot, the visual inertial sensor comprising an inertial sensor configured to determine the second height estimate based on acceleration data of the aerial robot.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aerial robot operating method of Tan to also include switching to a visual inertial sensor in determining a second height estimate of the aerial robot in the transition region, the second height estimate determined using data from the visual inertial sensor of the aerial robot, the visual inertial sensor comprising an inertial sensor configured to determine the second height estimate based on acceleration data of the aerial robot, as taught by Karatayev, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety for operating aerial robots (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Karatayev, 0002-0003 and 0037, 0058]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Tan discloses wherein the first region corresponds to a ground level and the second region corresponds to an obstacle placed on the ground level(“For example, when installed on a flying aircraft, this height estimation system provides estimates of the aircraft's height above ground, which can be used by a height control system to maintain the aerial vehicle at desired heights in relation to varying terrain. Examples of terrain features include ground materials, hills, plants, trees, crops, orchards, vineries, fences, bushes, trees, buildings, obstacles, snow, or any other object located on or near ground/terrain.” [0023]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Tan discloses wherein determining the first height estimate of the aerial robot relative to the first region with the first surface level using the data from the distance sensor comprises:
receiving a distance reading from the data of the distance sensor, receiving a pose of the aerial robot, the pose comprising a roll angle and a pitch angle of the aerial robot (“In some embodiments, a distance sensor is utilized to measure a distance from the aerial vehicle to a position on a terrain feature located forward and lower with respect to the aerial vehicle. For example, a distance from the aerial vehicle to a location on a terrain/ground beneath and in front of the aerial vehicle is measured using a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) sensor. A motion sensor (e.g., orientation sensor) is utilized to detect a current orientation of the aerial vehicle with respect to a reference orientation. For example, a pitch angle of the aerial vehicle is determined. At least the distance and the current orientation are utilized to estimate a vertical difference between a vertical location of the aerial vehicle and a vertical height location of the terrain feature forward and lower with respect to the aerial vehicle. For example, based on the geometric relationship of a mounting angle of the distance sensor and the pitch angle of the aerial vehicle with respect to the measured distance, a relative vertical height of the location of the terrain feature is calculated as an estimated relative height at the location. The estimated vertical difference is utilized to automatically provide a flight control command to adjust a flight height of the aerial vehicle. For example, a flight height of the aerial vehicle is automatically adjusted to be lower or higher (without requiring manual human operator control of vertical height) to maintain a consistent height (e.g., within a range) when the aerial vehicle is flying over the object on the terrain/ground.” [0024]),
and determining the first height estimate from the distance reading adjusted by the roll angle and the pitch angle(“A motion sensor (e.g., orientation sensor) is utilized to detect a current orientation of the aerial vehicle with respect to a reference orientation. For example, a pitch angle of the aerial vehicle is determined. At least the distance and the current orientation are utilized to estimate a vertical difference between a vertical location of the aerial vehicle and a vertical height location of the terrain feature forward and lower with respect to the aerial vehicle. For example, based on the geometric relationship of a mounting angle of the distance sensor and the pitch angle of the aerial vehicle with respect to the measured distance, a relative vertical height of the location of the terrain feature is calculated as an estimated relative height at the location. The estimated vertical difference is utilized to automatically provide a flight control command to adjust a flight height of the aerial vehicle. For example, a flight height of the aerial vehicle is automatically adjusted to be lower or higher (without requiring manual human operator control of vertical height) to maintain a consistent height (e.g., within a range) when the aerial vehicle is flying over the object on the terrain/ground.” “ [0024] and “FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a height estimation and control system onboard an aerial vehicle in flight. In FIG. 2, the UAV 10 is shown midflight, traveling forward in the right-hand direction, over terrain 18. This terrain 18 outlines any terrain/ground features including a wide variety of landscapes, flat ground, hills, plants, trees, crops, orchards, vineries, fences, bushes, trees, buildings, obstacles, etc. View 200 shows a side view of the UAV 10 and View 210 shows the front view of the UAV 10 (e.g., looking from the front of the UAV). The x, y, and z axes shown are relative to the body of the UAV 10. As shown in view 200, the x-axis is pointing towards the front of the UAV and the z-axis is pointing downward. When the UAV is viewed from the front as shown in view 210, the y-axis is pointing towards the left of the UAV. The UAV pitch motion is around its y-axis, and the roll motion is around its x-axis. The angles ? and ? correspond to the UAV's pitch angle and roll angle,” [0027]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Tan discloses wherein determining that the aerial robot in the transition region between the first region and the second region comprises:
determining a first likelihood that the aerial robot is in the first region, determining a second likelihood that the aerial robot is in the second region, and determining that the aerial robot is in the transition region based on the first likelihood and the second likelihood (“For example, the relative height is computed based on angular/geometric relationships of the distance measurement with respect to the relative height of the terrain feature given the measured pitch angle ? and known position angle 3 of the distance sensor. Given the relationships shown in FIG. 2, relative height H.sub.f of the terrain feature located at location point P can be calculated by: H.sub.f=D.sub.f*sin(|?+?|). Optionally, the processing unit 16 may also compute horizontal forward distance L.sub.f from a horizontal location of the aerial vehicle to the location of the terrain feature (e.g., from horizontal location of UAV 10 to position P as represented in FIG. 2). The calculation for L.sub.f may be calculated as follows: L.sub.f=D.sub.f*cos(|?+?|).” [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Tan discloses wherein determining that the aerial robot is in the transition region based on the first likelihood and the second likelihood comprises:
determining that the aerial robot is in the transition region responsive to both the first likelihood indicating that the aerial robot is unlikely to in the first region and the second likelihood indicating that the aerial robot is unlikely to be in the second region (“FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example change to the profile of relative heights at forward interval horizontal distances after vertical movement of the UAV from the initial location shown in FIG. 8.” [0012] and “The confidence array may be updated along with the relative height profile in steps 1108 and 1110, and then in step 1112, the relative height is determined based on both the relative height profile hProfile(t.sub.k) and the confidence array hConf(t.sub.k). In one embodiment, in step 1108, as the relative height profile is updated based on the travel distance and altitude change, the confidence levels may be reduced to account for increased uncertainties as time lapses and/or UAV moves. Subsequently in step 1110, as the relative height profile hProfile(t.sub.k) is updated based on each H.sub.f and L.sub.f, the confidence array hConf(t.sub.k) is updated along with C.sub.f, the confidence level of each H.sub.f. The confidence level C.sub.f may be a pre-defined value or it may be determined based on the characteristics (such as consistency and/or signal-to-noise ratio) of the measurements from the distance sensor.” [0079]).
Regarding claim 6, Tan discloses wherein determining that the aerial robot in the transition region between the first region and the second region comprises:
determining a presence of an obstacle (“FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a height estimation and control system onboard an aerial vehicle in flight. In FIG. 2, the UAV 10 is shown midflight, traveling forward in the right-hand direction, over terrain 18. This terrain 18 outlines any terrain/ground features including a wide variety of landscapes, flat ground, hills, plants, trees, crops, orchards, vineries, fences, bushes, trees, buildings, obstacles, etc.” [0027]),
determining the presence of the obstacle comprises: determining an average of distance readings from the data of the distance sensor, determining a difference between the average and a particular distance reading at a particular instance (“The processing unit 16 connected to the distance sensor 52 receives both the forward-downward distance measurement D.sub.f and the distance measurement D.sub.d from the ultrasonic sensor. It calculates H.sub.f from D.sub.f and integrates H.sub.f and H.sub.d (H.sub.d=D.sub.d) to determine the height of the UAV 10 above the ground. The integration may be a linear combination, e.g., a simple averaging: H=(H.sub.f+H.sub.d)/2.0 or a minimal value may be selected, e.g., H=min(H.sub.f, H.sub.d).” [0036]),
and determining that the obstacle is likely present at the particular instance responsive to the difference being larger than a threshold (“In some embodiments in step 1112, the determination of the relative height may be based on both the relative height profile and the confidence array. In one embodiment, the processing unit 76 may choose the smallest height among height elements that have confidence levels above a pre-defined threshold.” [0082]).
Regarding claims 7, 15 and 18, Tan discloses wherein switching to a visual inertial sensor in determining the second height estimate of the aerial robot in the transition region (“The distance sensor 12 may include one or more of the following: a LIDAR sensor, a radar sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, and any other sensor capable of measuring a distance. Motion sensor 14 may include one or more of the following: an inertial measurement unit, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, an orientation sensor, a magnetometer, a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, and any other sensor able to measure an orientation, acceleration, position, specific force, angular rate, or magnetic field. The distance sensor 12 is mounted on the UAV in such a way (e.g., positioned at a forward and downward angle) so as to measure a distance to a position on a surface of a feature on the ground ahead of the UAV.” [0025]) comprises:
determining a visual inertial bias, the bias being an estimated difference between readings of the distance sensor and readings of the visual inertial sensor (“The processing unit 76 is connected to both the distance sensor 72 and the motion sensor 74. It receives the measurements of the sensors and builds a profile of relative height difference between the vertical height of the UAV and the vertical height of terrain features.” [0044]),
receiving a reading from the data of the visual inertial sensor, and determining the second height estimate using the reading adjusted by the visual inertial bias (“For example, a difference between a current relative height (e.g., distance between current vertical position of UAV and a terrain feature directly below the UAV) and the determined relative height (e.g., determined in 304) to be utilized to control a flight altitude is calculated and utilized as the amount of altitude increase or decrease indicated in the flight control command (e.g., increase/decrease from current vertical altitude) to lower (e.g., current relative height is less than the determined relative height) or raise (e.g., current relative height is greater than the determined relative height) the flight height/altitude of an aerial vehicle. In some embodiments, the distance between the UAV and a terrain feature beneath the UAV must be at least a configured minimum distance and/or within a configured range and the controlling the flight altitude includes providing an instruction to increase or decrease a flight height/altitude of the aerial vehicle such that the minimum distance and/or within the range will be maintained when controlling the flight altitude.” [0043]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Tan discloses wherein the visual inertial bias is determined from an average of the readings of the visual inertial sensor from a preceding period (“FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of using a plurality of different sensors to measure distance to terrain features. Distance sensor 52 shown in FIG. 5 includes an ultrasonic sensor in addition to a LIDAR or radar sensor. The ultrasonic sensor is installed facing downward on UAV 10 towards the ground so as to measure a distance D.sub.d from the UAV 10 to the ground directly under it. Because the ultrasonic sensor is facing directly downward, the distance D.sub.d is H.sub.d (the height of the UAV 10 above the ground right under it). The processing unit 16 connected to the distance sensor 52 receives both the forward-downward distance measurement D.sub.f and the distance measurement D.sub.d from the ultrasonic sensor. It calculates H.sub.f from D.sub.f and integrates H.sub.f and H.sub.d (H.sub.d=D.sub.d) to determine the height of the UAV 10 above the ground. The integration may be a linear combination, e.g., a simple averaging: H=(H.sub.f+H.sub.d)/2.0 or a minimal value may be selected, e.g., H=min(H.sub.f, H.sub.d).” [0036]).
Regarding claim 10, Tan discloses wherein reverting to using the data from the distance sensor to determine the third height estimate of the aerial robot during which the aerial robot is in the second region comprises: determining a distance sensor bias (“FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating an embodiment of a height estimation system for building a profile of relative heights. The height estimation system comprises a distance sensor 72, a motion sensor 74, and a processing unit 76. The distance sensor 72 may comprise a LIDAR or radar or ultrasonic sensor, which is installed at a pre-determined forward-downward angle ? with respect to the axes of the UAV 10. Distance sensor 72 measures a distance D.sub.f between the UAV 10 and a position P.sub.f ahead of the UAV of a feature on the terrain feature outline 18. The motion sensor 74 may comprise an IMU and a positioning system such as a GPS to detect the pitch angle (?) of the UAV, the position of the UAV including its altitude, and the traveling speed of the UAV. The processing unit 76 is connected to both the distance sensor 72 and the motion sensor 74. It receives the measurements of the sensors and builds a profile of relative height difference between the vertical height of the UAV and the vertical height of terrain features.” [0044]),
and determining the third height estimate using the data from the distance sensor adjusted by the distance sensor bias (“The processing unit 76 is connected to both the distance sensor 72 and the motion sensor 74. It receives the measurements of the sensors and builds a profile of relative height difference between the vertical height of the UAV and the vertical height of terrain features.” [0044]).
Regarding claim 21, Tan discloses wherein the first region corresponds to a ground level and the second region corresponds to an obstacle placed on the ground level (“Controlling an aerial vehicle is disclosed. In some embodiments, a height estimation system is utilized by an aerial vehicle (e.g., UAV, drone, airplane, helicopter, or any other flying object) to conduct close-to-ground flights over hilly and/or unpredictable terrain. For example, when installed on a flying aircraft, this height estimation system provides estimates of the aircraft's height above ground, which can be used by a height control system to maintain the aerial vehicle at desired heights in relation to varying terrain. Examples of terrain features include ground materials, hills, plants, trees, crops, orchards, vineries, fences, bushes, trees, buildings, obstacles, snow, or any other object located on or near ground/terrain.” [0023]).
Regarding claim 22, Tan discloses, wherein determining the first height estimate of the aerial robot relative to the first region with the first surface level using the data from the distance sensor (“In some embodiments, a distance sensor is utilized to measure a distance from the aerial vehicle to a position on a terrain feature located forward and lower with respect to the aerial vehicle” [0024]) comprises:
receiving a distance reading from the data of the distance sensor(“In some embodiments, a distance sensor is utilized to measure a distance from the aerial vehicle to a position on a terrain feature located forward and lower with respect to the aerial vehicle” [0024]), receiving a pose of the aerial robot, the pose comprising a roll angle and a pitch angle of the aerial robot, and determining the first height estimate from the distance reading adjusted by the roll angle and the pitch angle (“For example, a distance from the aerial vehicle to a location on a terrain/ground beneath and in front of the aerial vehicle is measured using a Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) sensor. A motion sensor (e.g., orientation sensor) is utilized to detect a current orientation of the aerial vehicle with respect to a reference orientation. For example, a pitch angle of the aerial vehicle is determined. At least the distance and the current orientation are utilized to estimate a vertical difference between a vertical location of the aerial vehicle and a vertical height location of the terrain feature forward and lower with respect to the aerial vehicle.” [0024]).
Regarding claim 23, Tan discloses The method of claim 19, wherein reverting to using the data from the distance sensor to determine the third height estimate of the aerial robot during which the aerial robot is in the second region comprises: determining a distance sensor bias, and determining the third height estimate using the data from the distance sensor adjusted by the distance sensor bias (“The height estimation module 17 estimates the UAV's relative height above a terrain feature (e.g., ahead of the UAV based on measurements from the distance sensor 12 and the motion sensor 14) and provides this height estimate to the height control module. Based on this relative height estimate, the height control module determines flight control commands (e.g., commands to the motors/engines), which in turn increase or decrease the corresponding lift to maintain the UAV at a desired relative height. By estimating the relative height of terrain features ahead of the UAV in the UAV's flight path and controlling the UAV to maintain a relatively constant height above the terrain features as the UAV flies over the features, the height estimation and control system 100 is capable of reacting in advance to height changes of the upcoming terrain. Such capability to anticipate height changes is crucial as it provides the UAV time to adjust its height before reaching the upcoming terrain, thus allowing the UAV to achieve safely close-to-ground terrain-following flight. “ [0026] and “In step 1110, the relative height profile is updated based on each relative height and its associated horizontal distance determined in step 1104. FIG. 12 is a flowchart illustrating an embodiment of at least a portion of a process of updating the relative height profile. The process of FIG. 12 may be performed in step 1110 of FIG. 11. To assist in the description of step 1110 (e.g., how each H and L are used to update the relative height profile) and process 1200, FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an example of the UAV at the same third time instance t3 as the time instance for FIG. 8 with the addition of the illustration of a current distance measurement Df from the distance sensor together with its corresponding relative height at its associated horizontal distance determined in step 1104.” [0066]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668