DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 12 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no burden on the Examiner to examine all of the originally presented claims. This is not found persuasive because there is a serious search burden and/or examination burden if restriction were not required, as detailed in the Restriction Requirement mailed 23 October 2025. As detailed in that Restriction Requirement, there is a burden at least because the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okamura et al. (US 2018/0375123; hereinafter “Okamura”).
Regarding claim 1, Okamura teaches a liquid-gas separator assembly for a fuel cell system (FCS), the FCS including a transfer conduit, a hydrogen inlet, and an exhaust manifold, the separator assembly comprising:
an outer housing (casting 56 having a main body member 52, see Fig. 2; [0044]) defining therein a fluid-tight internal compartment (internal chamber 50 with sealing material 58, see Fig. 12; [0044]);
a first fluid port (a first inlet port 60, see Fig. 2; [0045]) configured to fluidly connect the internal compartment of the outer housing to the transfer conduit and receive therefrom FCS exhaust containing hydrogen and water (see [0062]-[0064]);
a second fluid port (drain port 120, see Fig. 2; [0057]) configured to fluidly connect the internal compartment to the exhaust manifold and transfer thereto extracted water separated from the FCS exhaust (see [0057] and [0079]);
a third fluid port (outlet port 64, see Fig. 2; [0045]) configured to fluidly connect the internal compartment to the hydrogen inlet and transfer thereto extracted hydrogen separated from the FCS exhaust (see [0075]);
a first fluid chamber (second gas-liquid separation chamber 72, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]) located inside the internal compartment of the outer housing (see Figs. 2-4), fluidly connecting the first fluid port (a first inlet port 60, see Fig. 2) to the second fluid port (drain port 120, see Fig. 2), and configured to evacuate the extracted water from the internal compartment (see [0057] and [0079]); and
a second fluid chamber (first gas-liquid separation chamber 70, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]) located inside the internal compartment above the first fluid chamber (see Figs. 2-4 – claimed second fluid chamber, which is equated to the first chamber 70, is located above, which is the out-of-page direction, first fluid chamber, which is equated to the second chamber 72), fluidly connecting the first fluid chamber to the third fluid port (outlet port 64, see Fig. 2), and configured to evacuate the extracted hydrogen from the internal compartment (see [0075]).
Regarding the preamble limitations (i.e., for a fuel cell system (FCS), the FCS including a transfer conduit, a hydrogen inlet, and an exhaust manifold), Applicant is reminded that if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP §2111.02(II).
Regarding claim 2, Okamura teaches the separator assembly further comprising a chamber wall (partition wall 66, see Fig. 4; [0046]) located inside the internal compartment (internal chamber 50, see Fig. 12; [0044]) and separating the first (second gas-liquid separation chamber 72, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]) and second fluid chambers (first gas-liquid separation chamber 70, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]), the chamber wall defining therethrough a connector port (either breathing hole 78a or 78b, see Fig. 4; [0049]) fluidly connecting the first and second fluid chambers (see [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Okamura teaches wherein a first height of the first fluid chamber (second gas-liquid separation chamber 72, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]) varies along a length of the internal compartment between the first and second fluid ports (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Okamura teaches wherein a first width of the first fluid chamber (second gas-liquid separation chamber 72, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]) varies along the length of the internal compartment between the first and second fluid ports (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Okamura teaches wherein a first total volume of the first fluid chamber (second gas-liquid separation chamber 72, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]) is less than a second total volume of the second fluid chamber (first gas-liquid separation chamber 70, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]).
Regarding claim 11, Okamura teaches wherein the outer housing (casting 56 having a main body member 52, see Fig. 2; [0044]) is integrally formed with the first (a first inlet port 60, see Fig. 2; [0045]), second (drain port 120, see Fig. 2; [0057]), and third fluid ports (outlet port 64, see Fig. 2; [0045]) as a single-piece structure (see Figs. 2-4), and wherein the first (second gas-liquid separation chamber 72, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]) and second fluid chambers (first gas-liquid separation chamber 70, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]) are defined as adjoining segments (see Figs. 2-4 and [0046]) of the internal compartment (internal chamber 50, see Fig. 12; [0044]).
Regarding claim 12, Okamura teaches an electric-drive vehicle, comprising:
a vehicle (see [0036]) body with a plurality of road wheels attached to the vehicle body (see [0036] – fuel cell electric vehicle inherently has a plurality of road wheels attached to its body); an electric traction motor attached to the vehicle body and configured to drive one or more of the road wheels to thereby propel the electric-drive vehicle (see [0036] – fuel cell electric vehicle inherently has at least one electric traction motor attached to the vehicle body and configured to drive one or more of the road wheels to thereby propel the elective drive vehicle);
a fuel cell system (FCS) (fuel cell system 10, see Fig. 1; [0036]) attached to the vehicle body and operable to power the electric traction motor (see [0036] – fuel cell system 10 inherently attached to the vehicle body and operable to power the electric traction motor), the FCS including a fuel cell stack (fuel cell stack 12, see Fig. 1; [0037]), a transfer conduit (hydrogen discharge flow passage 16, see Fig. 1; [0038]) receiving FCS exhaust containing hydrogen and water from the fuel cell stack, a hydrogen inlet (hydrogen supply flow passage 14, see Fig. 1; [0038]) feeding hydrogen into the fuel cell stack, and an exhaust manifold (drainage flow passage 38, see Fig. 1; [0040]) evacuating FCS exhaust from the FCS; and
a liquid-gas separator assembly (gas-liquid separator 32, see Figs. 1-5; [0040]) including:
a rigid outer housing (casting 56 having a main body member 52, see Fig. 2; [0044]) mounted to the FCS (see Fig. 1) and defining therein a fluid-tight internal compartment (internal chamber 50 with sealing material 58, see Fig. 12; [0044]);
an intake fluid port (a first inlet port 60, see Fig. 2; [0045]) fluidly connecting the internal compartment to the transfer conduit and receiving therefrom at least a portion of the FCS exhaust (see [0062]-[0064]);
an exhaust fluid port (drain port 120, see Fig. 2; [0057]) fluidly connecting the internal compartment to the exhaust manifold and transferring thereto extracted water separated from the FCS exhaust (see [0057] and [0079]);
a transfer fluid port (outlet port 64, see Fig. 2; [0045]) fluidly connecting the internal compartment to the hydrogen inlet and transferring thereto extracted hydrogen separated from the FCS exhaust (see [0075]);
an exhaust chamber second gas-liquid separation chamber 72, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]) located inside the internal compartment (see Figs. 2-4), fluidly connecting the intake fluid port (a first inlet port 60, see Fig. 2) to the exhaust fluid port (drain port 120, see Fig. 2), and evacuating the extracted water from the internal compartment to the exhaust manifold (see [0057] and [0079]); and
a hydrogen chamber (first gas-liquid separation chamber 70, see Figs. 2-4; [0046]) located inside the internal compartment above the exhaust chamber (see Figs. 2-4 – claimed second fluid chamber, which is equated to the first chamber 70, is located above, which is the out-of-page direction, first fluid chamber, which is equated to the second chamber 72), fluidly connecting the exhaust chamber to the transfer fluid port (outlet port 64, see Fig. 2), and evacuating the extracted hydrogen from the internal compartment to the hydrogen inlet (see [0075]).
Regarding the functional language (e.g., operable to power the electric traction motor, receiving FCS exhaust containing hydrogen and water from the fuel cell stack, feeding hydrogen into the fuel cell stack, evacuating FCS exhaust from the FCS), the Examiner has considered it. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamagishi et al. (JP 2009123518 A; listed in the IDS filed 21 December 2023; hereinafter “Yamagishi”; using attached English machine translation for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Yamagishi teaches a liquid-gas separator assembly (gas-liquid separator 20, see Fig. 1; [0016]) for a fuel cell system (FCS), the FCS including a transfer conduit, a hydrogen inlet, and an exhaust manifold, the separator assembly comprising:
an outer housing (outer housing of gas-liquid separator 20, see Figs. 1-2; [0016]) defining therein a fluid-tight internal compartment (see Figs. 1-5);
a first fluid port (off-gas inlet pipe 21, see Figs. 1-2; [0018]) configured to fluidly connect the internal compartment of the outer housing to the transfer conduit and receive therefrom FCS exhaust containing hydrogen and water (see [0018]);
a second fluid port (discharge pipe 26, see Fig. 2; [0018]) configured to fluidly connect the internal compartment to the exhaust manifold and transfer thereto extracted water separated from the FCS exhaust (see [0018]);
a third fluid port (circulation discharge pipe 24, see Fig. 2; [0018]) configured to fluidly connect the internal compartment to the hydrogen inlet and transfer thereto extracted hydrogen separated from the FCS exhaust (see [0018]);
a first fluid chamber (see Fig. 1 – equated to chamber below filter 30 within gas-liquid separator 20) located inside the internal compartment of the outer housing (see Figs. 1-5), fluidly connecting the first fluid port (off-gas inlet pipe 21, see Figs. 1-2; [0018]) to the second fluid port (discharge pipe 26, see Fig. 2; [0018]), and configured to evacuate the extracted water from the internal compartment (see [0018]); and
a second fluid chamber (see Fig. 1 – equated to chamber above filter 30 within gas-liquid separator 20) located inside the internal compartment above the first fluid chamber (see Figs. 1, 4, and 5), fluidly connecting the first fluid chamber to the third fluid port (circulation discharge pipe 24, see Fig. 2; [0018]), and configured to evacuate the extracted hydrogen from the internal compartment (see [0018]).
Regarding the preamble limitations (i.e., for a fuel cell system (FCS), the FCS including a transfer conduit, a hydrogen inlet, and an exhaust manifold), Applicant is reminded that if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP §2111.02(II).
Regarding claim 2, Yamagishi teaches the separator assembly further comprising a chamber wall (ion exchange filter 30, see Figs. 1-5; [0019]) located inside the internal compartment (see Figs. 1-5) and separating the first (see Fig. 1 – equated to chamber below filter 30 within gas-liquid separator 20) and second fluid chambers (see Fig. 1 – equated to chamber above filter 30 within gas-liquid separator 20), the chamber wall defining therethrough a connector port (see Fig. 3 – rectangular space between ribs 31 that support net 33) fluidly connecting the first and second fluid chambers (see Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, Yamagishi teaches wherein the chamber wall (ion exchange filter 30, see Figs. 1-5; [0019]) has a wall length extending from the first fluid port to the second fluid port (see Figs. 1, 4, and 5 – ion exchange filter 30 extends from off-gas inlet pipe 21, equated to the first fluid port, to discharge pipe 26, equated to the second fluid port), and wherein the connector port includes an elongated slot (see Fig. 3 – rectangular space between ribs 31 that support net 33) with a slot length extending about 65% or less of the wall length (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Yamagishi teaches wherein the first fluid chamber includes opposing top and bottom walls (see Figs. 1, 4, and 5) both extending between the first and second fluid ports (see Figs. 1, 4, and 5 - off-gas inlet pipe 21, equated to the first fluid port, to discharge pipe 26, equated to the second fluid port), the bottom wall extending in a downward slope from the first fluid port (off-gas inlet pipe 21, see Figs. 1, 4, and 5) to the second fluid port such that the extracted water flows, under forces of gravity, to the second fluid port (discharge pipe 26, see Figs. 1, 4, and 5).
Regarding the functional language (e.g., such that the extracted water flows, under forces of gravity, to the second fluid port), the Examiner has considered it. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 6, Yamagishi teaches wherein a first height of the first fluid chamber (Fig. 1 – equated to chamber below filter 30 within gas-liquid separator 20) varies along a length of the internal compartment between the first (off-gas inlet pipe 21, see Figs. 1, 4, and 5) and second fluid ports (discharge pipe 26, see Figs. 1, 4, and 5).
Regarding claim 7, Yamagishi teaches wherein a first width of the first fluid chamber (Fig. 1 – equated to chamber below filter 30 within gas-liquid separator 20) varies along the length of the internal compartment between the first (off-gas inlet pipe 21, see Figs. 1, 4, and 5) and second fluid ports (discharge pipe 26, see Figs. 1, 4, and 5).
Regarding claim 9, Yamagishi teaches wherein the first fluid port (off-gas inlet pipe 21, see Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 5) fluidly connects to the internal compartment along a first horizontal plane (see Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 5), the second fluid port (discharge pipe 26, see Figs. 1, 4, and 5) fluidly connects to the internal compartment along a second horizontal plane below the first horizontal plane such that the extracted water flows, under forces of gravity, through the second fluid port (see Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 5), and the third fluid port (circulation discharge pipe 24, see Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 5) fluidly connects to the internal compartment along a third horizontal plane above the first horizontal plane such that the extracted hydrogen floats through the third fluid port (see Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 5).
Regarding the functional language (e.g., such that the extracted water flows, under forces of gravity, through the second fluid port, such that the extracted hydrogen floats through the third fluid port), the Examiner has considered it. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 11, Yamagishi teaches wherein the outer housing (outer housing of gas-liquid separator 20, see Figs. 1-2; [0016]) is integrally formed with the first (off-gas inlet pipe 21, see Figs. 1-2; [0018]), second (discharge pipe 26, see Fig. 2; [0018]), and third fluid ports (circulation discharge pipe 24, see Fig. 2; [0018]) as a single-piece structure (see Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 5), and wherein the first (see Fig. 1 – equated to chamber below filter 30 within gas-liquid separator 20) and second fluid chambers (see Fig. 1 – equated to chamber above filter 30 within gas-liquid separator 20) are defined as adjoining segments (see Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 5) of the internal compartment (see Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 5).
Regarding claim 12, Yamagishi teaches an electric-drive vehicle, comprising:
a vehicle (see [0010]) body with a plurality of road wheels attached to the vehicle body (see [0010] – fuel cell electric vehicle inherently has a plurality of road wheels attached to its body); an electric traction motor attached to the vehicle body and configured to drive one or more of the road wheels to thereby propel the electric-drive vehicle (see [0010] – fuel cell electric vehicle inherently has at least one electric traction motor attached to the vehicle body and configured to drive one or more of the road wheels to thereby propel the elective drive vehicle);
a fuel cell system (FCS) (fuel cell system 1, see Fig. 1; [0016]) attached to the vehicle body and operable to power the electric traction motor (see [0010] – fuel cell system 1 inherently attached to the vehicle body and operable to power the electric traction motor), the FCS including a fuel cell stack (fuel cell stack 10, see Fig. 1; [0016]), a transfer conduit (off-gas flow passage 42, see Fig. 1; [0016]) receiving FCS exhaust containing hydrogen and water from the fuel cell stack, a hydrogen inlet (hydrogen supply flow passage 41, see Fig. 1; [0016]) feeding hydrogen into the fuel cell stack, and an exhaust manifold (diluter 16, see Fig. 1; [0016]) evacuating FCS exhaust from the FCS; and
a liquid-gas separator assembly (gas-liquid separator 20, see Fig. 1; [0016]) including:
a rigid outer housing (outer housing of gas-liquid separator 20, see Figs. 1-2; [0016]) mounted to the FCS (see Fig. 1) and defining therein a fluid-tight internal compartment (see Figs. 1-5);
an intake fluid port (off-gas inlet pipe 21, see Figs. 1-2; [0018]) fluidly connecting the internal compartment to the transfer conduit and receiving therefrom at least a portion of the FCS exhaust (see [0018]);
an exhaust fluid port (discharge pipe 26, see Fig. 2; [0018]) fluidly connecting the internal compartment to the exhaust manifold and transferring thereto extracted water separated from the FCS exhaust (see [0018]);
a transfer fluid port (circulation discharge pipe 24, see Fig. 2; [0018]) fluidly connecting the internal compartment to the hydrogen inlet and transferring thereto extracted hydrogen separated from the FCS exhaust (see [0018]);
an exhaust chamber (see Fig. 1 – equated to chamber below filter 30 within gas-liquid separator 20) located inside the internal compartment (see Figs. 1-5), fluidly connecting the intake fluid port (off-gas inlet pipe 21, see Figs. 1-2; [0018]) to the exhaust fluid port (discharge pipe 26, see Fig. 2; [0018]), and evacuating the extracted water from the internal compartment to the exhaust manifold (see [0018]); and
a hydrogen chamber (see Fig. 1 – equated to chamber above filter 30 within gas-liquid separator 20) located inside the internal compartment above the exhaust chamber (see Figs. 1, 4, and 5), fluidly connecting the exhaust chamber to the transfer fluid port (circulation discharge pipe 24, see Fig. 2; [0018]), and evacuating the extracted hydrogen from the internal compartment to the hydrogen inlet (see [0018]).
Regarding the functional language (e.g., operable to power the electric traction motor, receiving FCS exhaust containing hydrogen and water from the fuel cell stack, feeding hydrogen into the fuel cell stack, evacuating FCS exhaust from the FCS), the Examiner has considered it. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura (US 2018/0375123).
Regarding claim 10, Okamura teaches wherein the first fluid port (a first inlet port 60, see Fig. 2; [0045]) has a first diameter (see Figs. 2-4), but is silent to wherein the second fluid port has a second diameter equal to or greater than the first diameter, and the third fluid port has a third diameter greater than the first and second diameters.
However, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi (JP 2009123518 A; listed in the IDS filed 21 December 2023).
Regarding claim 10, Yamagishi teaches wherein the first fluid port (off-gas inlet pipe 21, see Figs. 1-2; [0018]) has a first diameter (see Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 5), but is silent to wherein the second fluid port has a second diameter equal to or greater than the first diameter, and the third fluid port has a third diameter greater than the first and second diameters.
However, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kurz (US 2020/0328434).
Regarding claim 4, Okamura is silent to wherein the first fluid port includes a fluid constriction interposed between the internal compartment and the transfer conduit, the fluid constriction configured to cause turbulent flow of the FCS exhaust entering the first fluid chamber through the first fluid port from the transfer conduit.
Kurz teaches a gas-liquid separator 2 which includes a constriction 21 interposed between an internal compartment (equated to compression chamber 26, see Fig. 4; [0031]) and a transfer conduit (inherently must be a transfer conduit connected to the inlet 16 to transfer the medium, see Fig. 4; [0031] and [0041]). Kurz teaches that this helps to accelerate the medium in the flow direction when flowing through the constriction 21 (see [0041]).
In view of Kurz’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liquid-gas separator of Okamura to include wherein the first fluid port includes a fluid constriction interposed between the internal compartment and the transfer conduit, as taught by Kurz, because it helps to accelerate the medium in the flow direction with flowing through the constriction. Furthermore, as the combination of Okamura and Kurz teaches a structure that is indistinguishable from that of the prior art, it must follow that the fluid constriction of Okamura and Kurz is also configured to cause turbulent flow of the gas entering the first fluid chamber through the first fluid port from the transfer conduit.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kurz (US 2020/0328434).
Regarding claim 4, Yamagishi is silent to wherein the first fluid port includes a fluid constriction interposed between the internal compartment and the transfer conduit, the fluid constriction configured to cause turbulent flow of the FCS exhaust entering the first fluid chamber through the first fluid port from the transfer conduit.
Kurz teaches a gas-liquid separator 2 which includes a constriction 21 interposed between an internal compartment (equated to compression chamber 26, see Fig. 4; [0031]) and a transfer conduit (inherently must be a transfer conduit connected to the inlet 16 to transfer the medium, see Fig. 4; [0031] and [0041]). Kurz teaches that this helps to accelerate the medium in the flow direction when flowing through the constriction 21 (see [0041]).
In view of Kurz’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the liquid-gas separator of Yamagishi to include wherein the first fluid port includes a fluid constriction interposed between the internal compartment and the transfer conduit, as taught by Kurz, because it helps to accelerate the medium in the flow direction with flowing through the constriction. Furthermore, as the combination of Yamagishi and Kurz teaches a structure that is indistinguishable from that of the prior art, it must follow that the fluid constriction of Yamagishi and Kurz is also configured to cause turbulent flow of the gas entering the first fluid chamber through the first fluid port from the transfer conduit.
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 12 February 2026
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735