DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 and 17-20, in the reply filed on September 8, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 8, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borrelli et al. (US 2017/0355636).
Regarding claim 1, Borelli discloses a glass-based substrate comprising: 40-85 mol % SiO2; 0-30 mol % Al2O3; 0-20 mol % B2O3; 0-30 mol % Li2O+Na2O+K2O+Rb2O; 0-30 mol % MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO; 0-10 mol % Y2O3; and 0-10 mol % La2O3 [0006]. Note that the disclosed ranges overlap the claimed ranges for the individual components as well as for the sum of La2O2 and Y2O3 and the claimed ratio. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Further note that the reference renders obvious at least Applicant’s Example E1, which satisfies the claimed sum and ratio.
Regarding claim 2, given the reference discloses that the glass comprises 0-30 mol % Li2O+Na2O+K2O+Rb2O, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed range of Na2O, see above discussion and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 3, given the reference discloses that the glass comprises 0-10 mol % Y2O3 and 0-10 mol % La2O3, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed sum, see above discussion and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 4, based on the ranges disclosed for La2O2, Y2O3, R2O, RO and Al2O3, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed ratio, see above discussion and MPEP 2144.05 I. Further note that the reference renders obvious at least Applicant’s Example E1, which satisfies the claimed ratio.
Regarding claim 5, given the reference discloses that the glass comprises 0-30 mol % MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed range of MgO, see above discussion and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 6, the reference discloses the glass comprises 0-10 mol % La2O3, which overlaps the claimed range [0006]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges.
Regarding claim 7, the reference discloses the glass comprises 0-10 mol % Y2O3, which overlaps the claimed range [0006]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, while the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed properties, given the reference renders obvious the claimed composition including at least Applicant’s Example E1, the reference is considered to render obvious a glass article with the claimed properties, see above discussion. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties; see MPEP 2112.01 II.
Regarding claim 17, Borelli discloses a glass-based substrate comprising: 40-85 mol % SiO2; 0-30 mol % Al2O3; 0-20 mol % B2O3; 0-30 mol % Li2O+Na2O+K2O+Rb2O; 0-30 mol % MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO; 0-10 mol % Y2O3; and 0-10 mol % La2O3 [0006]. Note that the disclosed ranges overlap the claimed ranges for the individual components as well as for the sum of La2O2 and Y2O3 and the claimed ratio. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Further note that the reference renders obvious at least Applicant’s Example E1, which satisfies the claimed sum and ratio.
Regarding claim 18, given the reference discloses that the glass comprises 0-30 mol % Li2O+Na2O+K2O+Rb2O, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed range of Na2O, see above discussion and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 19, given the reference discloses that the glass comprises 0-10 mol % Y2O3 and 0-10 mol % La2O3, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed sum, see above discussion and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 20, based on the ranges disclosed for La2O2, Y2O3, R2O, RO and Al2O3, the reference is considered to render obvious the claimed ratio, see above discussion and MPEP 2144.05 I. Further note that the reference renders obvious at least Applicant’s Example E1, which satisfies the claimed ratio.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783