DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Amendments were filed 10/02/25. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, and 15-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawlath (DE 102018130181 A1, previously cited) in view of Li (CN 108188353 A, cited in IDS filed 12/20/24), Snyder (US 2016/0346831), Deines (US 2018/0161866), and Nguyen et al (US 10,751,951, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Kawlath teaches a method of forming a modular 3D printed mold (paragraph [0021], 3D printing, figs 1-9, composite mold 1) from a plurality of 3D printed mold modules (paragraph [0021], 3D printing, figs 1-9, individual molds 2), the method comprising:
depositing additive material to form a first green body (figs 1-9, note individual molds 2, paragraph [0021], each can be formed by 3D printing);
hardening the first green body to form a first 3D printed mold module (paragraph [0011], ceramic materials can be shaped before hardening, paragraph [0021], individual molds produced automatically, in typical generative manufacturing process, liquid material is cured);
depositing additive material to form a second green body (figs 1-9, note individual molds 2, paragraph [0021], each can be formed by 3D printing);
hardening the second green body to form a second 3D printed mold module (paragraph [0011], ceramic materials can be shaped before hardening, paragraph [0021], individual molds produced automatically, in typical generative manufacturing process, liquid material is cured);
wherein the first 3D printed mold module comprises a first complimentary surface feature and the second 3D printed mold module comprises a second complimentary surface feature (Kawlath, fig 1, note the sunken feature 4, and the protruding surface feature 3, also see figs 2, 5, and 8 showing the connecting elements 3 and corresponding recesses 4), the first and second complimentary surface features configured to align the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module (see figures showing the individual mold modules being aligned); and
moving the first 3D printed mold module into close proximity with the second 3D printed mold module to thereby form a mold cavity of the modular 3D printed mold (figs 1-9, note the individual molds 2 were shown separate in fig 1, and are shown moved into close proximity in figs 2-9, to thereby form the composite mold 1).
Kawlath is quiet to the surface features configured to align a vent running between the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module.
Li teaches a sand mold design (figs 3 and 6) for casting including a bottom mold, a middle mold, and a cover mold (machine translation p.2 lines 16-25), where the number of middle molds is several, and they can be overlapped as needed (p.3 lines 3-10). An upper end of the bottom mold is provided with a concave stop 4 (fig 5, p.5 lines 6-23) and the lower end of the middle mold is provided with a convex stop 5 (fig 4). Figures 3-6 show the interlocking of the molds, and that the positioning of the convex and concave stops ensure accurate positioning and reducing misalignment (p.3, beneficial effect number 3). Li further teaches that exhaust holes 11 are arranged on the bottom mold 1, the middle mold 2, and the cover mold 3, and that the exhaust holes are connected (machine translation, p.3 lines 20-22, see exhaust hole 11 in figure 4 to be connected to the corresponding portion in figure 5), and that the exhaust holes are for discharging gas in time during casting and reducing air holes in the casting (machine translation, p.3, beneficial effect 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawlath so as to include a vent running between the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module, as Li teaches individual sand mold portions having a connected vent is known for discharging gas during casting so as to reduce air holes (Li, machine translation, p.3, beneficial effect 4). Note that Li teaches that the interlocking of the mold ensures accurate positioning and reducing misalignment (Li, p.3, beneficial effect number 3).
The combination is quiet to depositing additive material to form a third green body; hardening the third green body to form a first 3D printed core module; depositing additive material to form a fourth green body; hardening the fourth green body to form a second 3D printed core module; moving the first 3D printed core module into close proximity with the second 3D printed core module to thereby form a mold core, and nesting the mold core in the mold cavity.
Snyder teaches utilizing an additive manufacturing process including the steps of CAD modeling of a casting mold, additively manufacturing the core, additively manufacturing the shell (mold), and assembling the core to the shell (fig 8, corresponding to the claimed nesting of the core into the mold cavity). The core is additively manufactured (paragraph [0007]) and can include non-line-of-sight features that are additively manufactured (paragraph [0008]). A plurality of core portions may be individually manufactured with any one or all being additively manufactured (paragraph [0044]). Snyder teaches that the additive manufacturing process reduces the expense and time in manufacturing the casting molds (paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include steps of depositing and hardening additive material to form a plurality of cores, and nesting the cores into the mold cavity, in order to form a casting having an internal structure, such as channels for cooling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the cores by additive manufacturing, as the additively manufactured cores can be designed to have more complex features such as non-line-of-sight features, and that additive manufacturing reduces the expense and time in manufacturing the molds and cores as compared to the prior art.
The combination of Kawlath as modified by Li and Snyder suggests a plurality of core portions are additively manufactured, but is quiet to moving the core portions into close proximity to thereby form the mold core.
Deines teaches core-shell mold components (abstract) that are manufactured using direct light processing (DLP, paragraph [0034]). Fig. 9 shows a first piece including a partial core 901 and partial shell 902 and a second piece including a partial core 903 and partial shell 904 being moved together and assembled so as to form the core-shell mold (paragraph [0043]). The partial core 901 and partial shell 902 may be an integral piece or may be separate assemblies (paragraph [0043]). The partial core-shell structures are provided with attachment points that facilitate assembly (paragraph [0043]). The two-piece molds have the advantage that they can be inspected prior to assembly and casting, whereas previous integral one-piece molds had the disadvantage that inspection of the mold before casting was difficult (paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the core is formed from two pieces that can be attached at attachment points by bringing into proximity, as shown in Deines, as Deines recognizes the advantages of forming a core in two parts, such as by enabling inspection of the parts prior to assembly and casting.
The combination of Kawlath as modified by Li, Snyder, and Deines teaches of 3D printing, but is not specific to each deposition being in accordance with a digital 3D model.
Nguyen et al teaches 3D printing, where a shell image of the object can be printed, and then reinforced with a hardenable material to form a mold (col 1 lines 30-50). A model of the object can be separated into multiple components with each component allowing direct 3D printing (col 1 lines 35-50). The term “model” refers to a software representation of the object, such as a 3D drawing or model. Thus, a shell model can be construed as a software representation, which can be inputted to a 3D printer to produce a shell mold (col 18 lines 18-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that each of the individual molds being 3D printed were formed in accordance with a digital 3D model, as the use of a digital 3D model enables customizing each of the designs individually via software. Note that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claims 5-6, the combination teaches wherein the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module are formed by a single 3D printer or formed by separate printers, as Kawlath suggests series production of individual molds (paragraph [0008]) or that all parts of the mold can be manufactured in parallel (paragraph [0021]). Note that Nguyen et al additionally describes (col 25 lines 30-68) an operation where multiple components are printed, and that the printing process can include serially or parallelly printing the multiple components. For example, all components can be printed at a same time, e.g., on multiple different printers for faster throughput (col 25 lines 30-68). In some embodiments, less number of printers can be used, thus two components having short print times can be printed in series in one printer (col 25 lines 30-68).
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches wherein moving the first 3D printed core module into close proximity with the second 3D printed core module to thereby form the mold core further comprises aligning the first 3D printed core module with the second 3D printed core module based on corresponding keyed elements on the first 3D printed core module and the second 3D printed core module (see Deines, figs 9-15, note the attachment points, can be interlocking as shown in figures 12-13, and the attachment points can be at the core portions, figs 11 and 15).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawlath as modified by Li, Snyder, Deines, and Nguyen et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al (CN 104400879 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 2, the combination is quiet to inspecting at least one of the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module for defects.
Chen et al teaches a method for making a 3D molded ceramic mold (paragraph [0002]) using computer aided design software to draw a three-dimensional structural model of the ceramic products (paragraph [0008]), use the 3D printer to print the blank (paragraph [0011]), and to take the green body out from the 3D printer, check whether there are any breaks on the surface, and if the breakage is large, it indicates the part needs to be remade (paragraph [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination to include a step of inspecting at least one of the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module for defects, to ensure there aren’t large breaks and if there are, to remake the part.
Regarding claim 3, the combination suggests detecting a defect of predetermined classification in the 3D printed mold module (Chen, paragraph [0015], check for breaks on surface, if breaks are large); removing from production the 3D printed mold module (Chen, paragraph [0015], take out from 3D printer); depositing additive material in accordance with the digital 3D model in order to form a green body (Chen, paragraph [0015], part is remade, note Kawlath teaches of 3D printing the individual molds); hardening the green body to replace the 3D printed mold module (note combination, Chen suggests remaking the part, Kawlath’s parts were 3D printed and cured); performing a test to detect whether a defect of predetermined classification exists in the third and fourth 3D printed mold module (Chen, paragraph [0016], suggests a second cleaning step, where the cleaning step in paragraph [0015] describes checking for breaks on the surface); and moving the replacement printed mold modules into close proximity with the remaining 3D printed mold module to thereby form the modular 3D printed mold (note combination, where after the part is remade, the composite mold 1 of Kawlath can be formed).
Note that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the inspecting and remaking (if necessary) of each individual mold of the combination, to ensure there aren’t large breaks in said corresponding mold.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawlath in view of Li, Snyder, Deines, Nguyen et al and Chen.
Regarding claim 7, Kawlath teaches a method of forming a casting, the method comprising:
depositing additive material in accordance with a first 3D model to form a first green body (figs 1-9, note individual molds 2, paragraph [0021], each can be formed by 3D printing);
hardening the first green body to form a first 3D printed mold module (paragraph [0011], ceramic materials can be shaped before hardening, paragraph [0021], individual molds produced automatically, in typical generative manufacturing process, liquid material is cured);
depositing additive material in accordance with a second 3D model to form a second green body (figs 1-9, note individual molds 2, paragraph [0021], each can be formed by 3D printing);
hardening the second green body to form a second 3D printed mold module (paragraph [0011], ceramic materials can be shaped before hardening, paragraph [0021], individual molds produced automatically, in typical generative manufacturing process, liquid material is cured);
wherein the first 3D printed mold module comprises a first complimentary surface feature and the second 3D printed mold module comprises a second complimentary surface feature (Kawlath, fig 1, note the sunken feature 4, and the protruding surface feature 3, also see figs 2, 5, and 8 showing the connecting elements 3 and corresponding recesses 4), the first and second complimentary surface features configured to align the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module (see figures showing the individual mold modules being aligned); and
moving the first 3D printed mold module into close proximity with the second 3D printed mold module to thereby form a modular 3D printed mold (figs 1-9, note the individual molds 2 were shown separate in fig 1, and are shown moved into close proximity in figs 2-9, to thereby form the composite mold 1);
depositing molten metal into the modular 3D printed mold (paragraph [0001, 0009], filling a melt, liquid metal); and
hardening the molten metal contained within the modular 3D printed mold (paragraph [0013], the cooled casting implies the liquid metal has solidified and thus hardened).
Kawlath is quiet to the surface features configured to align a vent running between the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module.
Li teaches a sand mold design (figs 3 and 6) for casting including a bottom mold, a middle mold, and a cover mold (machine translation p.2 lines 16-25), where the number of middle molds is several, and they can be overlapped as needed (p.3 lines 3-10). An upper end of the bottom mold is provided with a concave stop 4 (fig 5, p.5 lines 6-23) and the lower end of the middle mold is provided with a convex stop 5 (fig 4). Figures 3-6 show the interlocking of the molds, and that the positioning of the convex and concave stops ensure accurate positioning and reducing misalignment (p.3, beneficial effect number 3). Li further teaches that exhaust holes 11 are arranged on the bottom mold 1, the middle mold 2, and the cover mold 3, and that the exhaust holes are connected (machine translation, p.3 lines 20-22, see exhaust hole 11 in figure 4 to be connected to the corresponding portion in figure 5), and that the exhaust holes are for discharging gas in time during casting and reducing air holes in the casting (machine translation, p.3, beneficial effect 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawlath so as to include a vent running between the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module, as Li teaches individual sand mold portions having a connected vent is known for discharging gas during casting so as to reduce air holes (Li, machine translation, p.3, beneficial effect 4). Note that Li teaches that the interlocking of the mold ensures accurate positioning and reducing misalignment (Li, p.3, beneficial effect number 3).
The combination is quiet to depositing additive material to form a third green body; hardening the third green body to form a first 3D printed core module; depositing additive material to form a fourth green body; hardening the fourth green body to form a second 3D printed core module; moving the first 3D printed core module into close proximity with the second 3D printed core module to thereby form a mold core, and nesting the mold core in the mold cavity.
Snyder teaches utilizing an additive manufacturing process including the steps of CAD modeling of a casting mold, additively manufacturing the core, additively manufacturing the shell (mold), and assembling the core to the shell (fig 8, corresponding to the claimed nesting of the core into the mold cavity). The core is additively manufactured (paragraph [0007]) and can include non-line-of-sight features that are additively manufactured (paragraph [0008]). A plurality of core portions may be individually manufactured with any one or all being additively manufactured (paragraph [0044]). Snyder teaches that the additive manufacturing process reduces the expense and time in manufacturing the casting molds (paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include steps of depositing and hardening additive material to form a plurality of cores, and nesting the cores into the mold cavity, in order to form a casting having an internal structure, such as channels for cooling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the cores by additive manufacturing, as the additively manufactured cores can be designed to have more complex features such as non-line-of-sight features, and that additive manufacturing reduces the expense and time in manufacturing the molds and cores as compared to the prior art.
The combination of Kawlath as modified by Li and Snyder suggests a plurality of core portions are additively manufactured, but is quiet to moving the core portions into close proximity to thereby form the mold core.
Deines teaches core-shell mold components (abstract) that are manufactured using direct light processing (DLP, paragraph [0034]). Fig. 9 shows a first piece including a partial core 901 and partial shell 902 and a second piece including a partial core 903 and partial shell 904 being moved together and assembled so as to form the core-shell mold (paragraph [0043]). The partial core 901 and partial shell 902 may be an integral piece or may be separate assemblies (paragraph [0043]). The partial core-shell structures are provided with attachment points that facilitate assembly (paragraph [0043]). The two-piece molds have the advantage that they can be inspected prior to assembly and casting, whereas previous integral one-piece molds had the disadvantage that inspection of the mold before casting was difficult (paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the core is formed from two pieces that can be attached at attachment points by bringing into proximity, as shown in Deines, as Deines recognizes the advantages of forming a core in two parts, such as by enabling inspection of the parts prior to assembly and casting.
Kawlath teaches of 3D printing, but is not specific to each deposition being in accordance with a digital 3D model.
Nguyen et al teaches 3D printing, where a shell image of the object can be printed, and then reinforced with a hardenable material to form a mold (col 1 lines 30-50). A model of the object can be separated into multiple components with each component allowing direct 3D printing (col 1 lines 35-50). The term “model” refers to a software representation of the object, such as a 3D drawing or model. Thus, a shell model can be construed as a software representation, which can be inputted to a 3D printer to produce a shell mold (col 18 lines 18-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that each of the individual molds being 3D printed were formed in accordance with a digital 3D model, as the use of a digital 3D model enables customizing each of the designs individually via software. Note that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The combination is quiet to inspecting the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module for defects, wherein in response to detecting the defects in the first and second 3D printed mold module, removing from production the first 3D printed mold module, depositing additive material in accordance with the corresponding model in order to form a replacement, and hardening the replacement to replace the corresponding module.
Chen et al teaches a method for making a 3D molded ceramic mold (paragraph [0002]) using computer aided design software to draw a three-dimensional structural model of the ceramic products (paragraph [0008]), use the 3D printer to print the blank (paragraph [0011]), and to take the green body out from the 3D printer, check whether there are any breaks on the surface, and if the breakage is large, it indicates the part needs to be remade (paragraph [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination to include a step of inspecting both the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module for defects, to ensure there aren’t large breaks and if there are, to remake the part.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches separating the hardened metal from the modular 3D printed mold (Kawlath, paragraph [0013], release of the casting after the melt has cooled).
Regarding claim 11, the combination suggests that the first and the second complimentary surface features are nonsymmetrical, as Kawlath teaches an embodiment in which the positive/non-positive connection is in a form-fitting manner that only allows one possible position in which the molds can be connected to one another (Kawlath, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches wherein moving the first 3D printed mold module into close proximity with the second 3D printed mold module to thereby form the modular 3D printed mold further comprises aligning the first complimentary surface feature with the second complimentary surface feature (see figures of Kawlath, note that the protruding and correspondingly shaped sunken features are aligned when the molds are moved together, see fig 2, fig 5, fig 8).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches wherein aligning the first complimentary surface feature with the second complimentary surface feature is further configured to align at least one of a pattern cavity, sprue, riser, or runner present in both the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module (see figs of Kawlath, fig 1 would align the cavity, fig 2 has aligned cavity, figs 3-5 show aligning the sprues and runners).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawlath as modified by Li, Snyder, Deines, Nguyen et al, and Chen as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Jaster (US 2020/0198249, previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, the combination is quiet to separating the hardened metal from the modular 3D printed mold comprises shaking the mold.
Jaster teaches that removal of casting material from the final part can be accomplished using various methods, including shaking or jarring the part to dislodge a sandy or otherwise granular support or biasing material forming the cast (paragraph [0056]). Jaster teaches an embodiment where the shell, which is additively manufactured, is the mold (paragraph [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to shaking the mold in order to separate the hardened metal, as Jaster teaches that those having skill in the art would recognize that various methods can be used to dislodge the sandy material from the casting (paragraph [0056]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawlath in view of Li, Snyder, Deines, and Hozner et al (US 2008/0153069, previously cited).
Regarding claim 15, Kawlath teaches a method for forming a modular 3D printed mold (paragraph [0001], composite mold 1) from a plurality of 3D printed mold modules (paragraph [0001], individual molds 2) where at least one 3D printer deposits additive material to form a first 3D printed mold module to form a first green body (figs 1-9, note individual molds 2, paragraph [0021], each can be formed by 3D printing); and at least one 3D printer to deposit additive material to form a second 3D printed mold module to form a second green body (figs 1-9, note individual molds 2, paragraph [0021], each can be formed by 3D printing), wherein the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module are configured to join to thereby form a mold cavity (see figures); wherein the first 3D printed mold module comprises a first complimentary surface feature and the second 3D printed mold module comprises a second complimentary surface feature (Kawlath, fig 1, note the sunken feature 4, and the protruding surface feature 3, also see figs 2, 5, and 8 showing the connecting elements 3 and corresponding recesses 4), the first and second complimentary surface features configured to align the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module (see figures showing the individual mold modules being aligned).
Kawlath is quiet to the surface features configured to align a vent running between the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module.
Li teaches a sand mold design (figs 3 and 6) for casting including a bottom mold, a middle mold, and a cover mold (machine translation p.2 lines 16-25), where the number of middle molds is several, and they can be overlapped as needed (p.3 lines 3-10). An upper end of the bottom mold is provided with a concave stop 4 (fig 5, p.5 lines 6-23) and the lower end of the middle mold is provided with a convex stop 5 (fig 4). Figures 3-6 show the interlocking of the molds, and that the positioning of the convex and concave stops ensure accurate positioning and reducing misalignment (p.3, beneficial effect number 3). Li further teaches that exhaust holes 11 are arranged on the bottom mold 1, the middle mold 2, and the cover mold 3, and that the exhaust holes are connected (machine translation, p.3 lines 20-22, see exhaust hole 11 in figure 4 to be connected to the corresponding portion in figure 5), and that the exhaust holes are for discharging gas in time during casting and reducing air holes in the casting (machine translation, p.3, beneficial effect 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kawlath so as to include a vent running between the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module, as Li teaches individual sand mold portions having a connected vent is known for discharging gas during casting so as to reduce air holes (Li, machine translation, p.3, beneficial effect 4). Note that Li teaches that the interlocking of the mold ensures accurate positioning and reducing misalignment (Li, p.3, beneficial effect number 3).
The combination of Kawlath as modified by Li is quiet to the method causing at least one 3D printer to deposit additive material to form a third green body; depositing additive material to form a fourth green body; and wherein the first 3D printed core module and the second 3D printed core module are configured to be nested in the mold cavity to thereby form a modular 3D printed mold.
Snyder teaches utilizing an additive manufacturing process including the steps of CAD modeling of a casting mold, additively manufacturing the core, additively manufacturing the shell (mold), and assembling the core to the shell (fig 8, corresponding to the claimed nesting of the core into the mold cavity). The core is additively manufactured (paragraph [0007]) and can include non-line-of-sight features that are additively manufactured (paragraph [0008]). A plurality of core portions may be individually manufactured with any one or all being additively manufactured (paragraph [0044]). Snyder teaches that the additive manufacturing process reduces the expense and time in manufacturing the casting molds (paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include steps of depositing and hardening additive material to form a plurality of cores, and nesting the cores into the mold cavity, in order to form a casting having an internal structure, such as channels for cooling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the cores by additive manufacturing, as the additively manufactured cores can be designed to have more complex features such as non-line-of-sight features, and that additive manufacturing reduces the expense and time in manufacturing the molds and cores as compared to the prior art.
The combination of Kawlath as modified by Li and Snyder suggests a plurality of core portions are additively manufactured, but is quiet to moving the core portions into close proximity to thereby form the mold core.
Deines teaches core-shell mold components (abstract) that are manufactured using direct light processing (DLP, paragraph [0034]). Fig. 9 shows a first piece including a partial core 901 and partial shell 902 and a second piece including a partial core 903 and partial shell 904 being moved together and assembled so as to form the core-shell mold (paragraph [0043]). The partial core 901 and partial shell 902 may be an integral piece or may be separate assemblies (paragraph [0043]). The partial core-shell structures are provided with attachment points that facilitate assembly (paragraph [0043]). The two-piece molds have the advantage that they can be inspected prior to assembly and casting, whereas previous integral one-piece molds had the disadvantage that inspection of the mold before casting was difficult (paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the core is formed from two pieces that can be attached at attachment points by bringing into proximity, as shown in Deines, as Deines recognizes the advantages of forming a core in two parts, such as by enabling inspection of the parts prior to assembly and casting.
The combination above is quiet to the 3D printed module is in accordance with digital 3D models, and thus the combination is quiet to a computer program product, wherein the computer program product is embodied by instructions on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that, when executed by a processor, cause the claimed steps.
However, Hozner et al teaches preparing a mold on the basis of mold model data with a CAM/CAD method (abstract) for metal casting (abstract), where the model data describes the shape of the mold (abstract, fig 4). The invention furthermore relates to a computer with a machine-readable medium, for example, a storage medium, for carrying out the method (paragraph [0026-0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the 3D printed modules are in accordance with digital 3D models, as Hozner et al teaches individually shaped castable materials can be manufactured easily and inexpensively (paragraph [0005]), where model data can be scanned for precise data (paragraph [0012]), and that data acquired can be sent to manufacturing while remote from another location (paragraph [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a computer with the readable medium that when executed carries out the claimed method, as the means for controlling the 3D printing of the combination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues, on p.8 of the Remarks, that the Office is utilizing up to 6 references in combination for teaching an individual claim, and that the claimed invention is not obvious when so many references are required and that the Office is using impermissible hindsight.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner has combined an excessive number of references, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues, on p.8-10 of the Remarks, that none of the cited references teaches or suggests the features of amended claim 1, in particular, the specific functionality of complimentary surface features configured to align a vent running between the first 3D printed mold module and the second 3D printed mold module as now recited by amended claims 1 and 16. Applicant argues that the prior art teaches general alignment features for mold assembly, but does not disclose the specific purpose of aligning vents between modular mold components.
Note that the rejections above now look towards Li for the teaching of aligned vents between modular mold components, and that it would have been obvious to modify Kawlath to include aligned vents to discharge gas during casting so as to reduce air holes in the cast product.
In response to applicant's argument that the prior art’s complimentary surface features provide the advantage of aligning the vents, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991). See MPEP 2144 (IV).
"A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. The "hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art." Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). See MPEP 2141.03(I).
Note that in the combination, the complimentary surface features align the individual molds, which would in effect, be “configured to” align the vent channels, the cavity recesses, the sprues, runners, etc. Similarly, Li shows a convex bottom of a mold and concave shape of a mold configured to connect and provide alignment to the mold (p.3, beneficial effect number 3), which would therefore align the cavity, sprue, and the exhaust holes (figs 3-6).
Applicant argues, on p.10 of the Remarks, that the application of Deines with regards to claim 16 is in error. Applicant argues that Deines describes a first point of attachment 1105 is provided within the tip portion of the core assembly and a second point of attachment 1106 is provided at a portion of the shell region, and that filaments 1505 and/or 1506 connect core and shell portions, rather than keyed elements between core modules. Applicant argues that Deines does not teach or suggest corresponding keyed elements on the first 3D printed core module and the second 3D printed core module.
The examiner disagrees. In figure 11 of Deines, reference number 1105 represents an attachment mechanism that attaches the tip portion of the core assembly, corresponding to attaching a first core module 1101 and a second core module 1103. In figure 15, reference numbers 1507 and 1508 represent an attachment mechanism of first core portion 1503 and reference numbers 1509 and 1510 represent an attachment mechanism of second core portion 1503. Deines shows several non-limited examples of attachment mechanisms in figures 12-14, showing corresponding keyed elements (figs 12-14, note protrusion 1204 and inside portion 1202, dovetail portions 1302 and 1304, 1402 and 1404).
Applicant argues that claims 2-3, 7-9, 11-13, and 15 require the amended feature, which is not taught in the prior art. The examiner notes the arguments above, where Li is cited for the teachings of the aligned vent channels in the individual mold portions that are connected by complimentary surface features (figs 3-6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKY YUEN/
Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735