DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/978,458 (the instant application), filed on 11/01/2022.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended. Claims 3 and 9 have been canceled. Claims 16, 18, and 20 have been canceled previously. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-15, 17, and 19 are pending in this action.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9, filed 9 February 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 3 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, claims 3 and 9 have been canceled. The rejection of claims 3 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9-10, filed 9 February 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and claims 7-14, 17, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The applicant argues that "Qin et al. does not disclose a specific process for generating a new input image frame by reducing the number of channels at an input stage based on channel-wise binary determination using an AI engine, as recited in claim 1." (applicant's remarks filed 9 February 2026, pg. 10). The examiner disagrees. Qin generates a new input image frame by reducing the number of channels at an input stage (Qin, pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 1 and fig. 3, the input channels go 224 X 224 channels with 3 layers to 56 X 56 channels with 64 layers which is understood as reducing the number of channels. The new version of the image, 56 X 56 X 64, is understood as a new input image frame. Pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2 and fig. 3, the new input image frame is input to a model. Therefore, this is performed at an input stage) based on channel-wise binary determination using an AI engine (Qin, pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1 and fig. 4, an AI model, the dynamic gate module, assigns a binary score to each channel. The channels which are assigned a values of zero are "detached from the network" which is understood as reducing the number of channels). The applicant further argues that "Qin et al. does not disclose channel filtering at all" (applicant's remarks filed 9 February 2026, pg. 10). This argument amounts to a conclusive statement without supporting evidence showing that Qin does not disclose channel filtering. Further, while Qin may not employ the words "channel filtering" in describing their process, they perform a channel selection which reduces the number of channels which is understood as a channel filtering (see Qin, pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1-2 and fig. 4). Therefore, the applicant's arguments are not persuasive and the rejections of claims 1-2, 4-6 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and claims 7-8, 10-14, 17, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained (claims 3 and 9 being canceled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. ("Learning in the Frequency Domain" full reference on PTO-892 filed with this action; hereafter, Qin).
Regarding claim 1, Qin discloses:
A method comprising: receiving, by an electronic device (pg. 1739 col. 2 para. 2, the method performs preprocessing on a CPU which is understood as an electronic device),
an image frame (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig, 2, the image is received as seen by the image being input into the flow diagram and the image being resized);
transforming, by the electronic device, the image frame from a spatial domain comprising a first plurality of channels to a non-spatial domain comprising a second plurality of channels (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 2, the image is converted into a frequency domain),
wherein a number of the second plurality of channels is greater than a number of the first plurality of channels (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 2, when converted to the frequency domain, the number of the channels of the image increase);
removing, by the electronic device, at least one channel comprising irrelevant information from among the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 2, a subset of channels are selected. Therefore, the non-selected channels are understood to be removed. The selected channels are "salient". Therefore, the removed channels are understood as unimpactful or comprising irrelevant information)
using an Artificial Intelligence (AI) engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the channel selected is "learning-based" which is understood as using an AI engine)
to generate a low-resolution image frame in the non-spatial domain (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1 and fig. 2, the non-salient channels are removed which causes the input data size to be reduced. This is understood as generating a low-resolution image)
and providing, by the electronic device, the low-resolution image frame to a neural network for an inference of the image frame (pg. 1739 col. 2 para. 2, after the task of image compression, the preserved channels are input into an AI accelerator, which may be a neural network, for inference. See also fig. 1(b) for an example of inputting the output of pre-processing into a neural network)
wherein a generic stub layer is embedded at an input of the neural network (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 3, figure 3 shows that the pre-processed input is embedded such that it may be input directly into the neural network. The block "DCT: 56X56X64" is understood as the generic stub layer. Alternatively, the combination of the three dashed boxes may also be interpreted as the generic stub layer in a way nearly identical to the applicant’s specification) for compatibility of the neural network in receiving the low-resolution image frame (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2, "Then we adjust the channel size of the next layer to match the number of channels in the frequency domain", showing that the generic stub layer is compatible with the frequency domain), wherein the generic stub layer bypasses input layers of the neural network that are relevant for the image frame in the spatial domain (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 3, "Since the input feature maps in the frequency domain are smaller in the H and W dimensions but larger in the C dimension than the spatial-domain counterpart, we skip the input layer of a conventional CNN model," therefore, the generic stub layer skips, or bypasses, input layers of the neural network),
and wherein the removing, by the electronic device, the at least one channels comprising the irrelevant information comprises: determining, by the electronic device using the AI engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the dynamic gate module is understood as an AI engine as it makes selections, pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, contains at least two trainable parameters, pg. 1741 col. 2 para. 1-3, and is trained by loss functions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as an AI engine for these reasons), a binary value corresponding to each of the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, "dynamic gate module that assigns a binary score to each frequency channel.");
filtering, by the electronic device, channels based on an application of the binary value to the second plurality of channels to reduce a number of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, "The salient channels are rated as one, the others as zero. The input frequency channels with zero scores are detached from the network. Thus, the input data size is reduced," The channels with zero scores being detached is understood as filtering);
and generating, by the electronic device, the low-resolution image frame in the non-spatial domain using the filtered channels (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 1 and fig. 3, the input channels go 224 X 224 channels with 3 layers to 56 X 56 channels with 64 layers which is understood as reducing the number of channels. The new version of the image, 56 X 56 X 64, is understood as a new input image frame in the non-spatial domain. Pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2 and fig. 3, the new input image frame is input to a model. Therefore, this is performed at an input stage. Finally, pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 3 and fig. 2, "As discussed in Section 3.3, the majority of the frequency channels can be pruned without sacrificing accuracy. The frequency channel pruning operation is referred to as DCT channel select in Figure 2." This is understood to show that the low resolution image frame uses the filtered channels).
Regarding claim 2, Qin discloses the subject matter of claim 1. Qin further discloses:
wherein the transforming comprises performing, by the electronic device, a Discrete Cosine Transformation (DCT) or a Fourier transformation on the image frame (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 2, the image is converted into a frequency domain by DCT).
Regarding claim 4, Qin discloses the subject matter of claim 1. Qin further discloses:
wherein the non-spatial domain comprises a Luminance, Red difference, Blue difference (Y, Cb, Cr) domain, a Hue, Saturation, Value (H, S, V) domain, or a Luminance, Chrominance (YUV) domain (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2, the images are transformed into the YCbCr color space).
Regarding claim 5, Qin discloses the subject matter of claim 1. Qin further discloses:
grouping, by the electronic device, components of the transformed image frame with a same frequency into a channel of the second plurality of channels (pg. 1740 col.1 para. 2 and Fig. 2, the frequency domain coefficients at the same frequency are gathered into "cubes")
by preserving spatial position information of each component (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 1, the coefficients are grouped while maintaining their spatial relations at each frequency).
Regarding claim 6, Qin discloses the subject matter of claim 1. Qin further discloses:
generating, by the electronic device, a tensor by performing a depth-wise convolution and average pool on each channel of the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 4, a tensor is generated by performing convolution and average pooling on the collected channels);
adding, by the electronic device, two trainable parameters with each component of the tensor (pg. 1741 col.1 para. 2 and Fig. 4, each element in the tensor is multiplied by two trainable parameters which is understood as adding the parameters to the tensor);
determining, by the electronic device, values of the two trainable parameters using the AI engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, the trainable parameters, "two numbers" in this paragraph, are determined and output by the gate module. Pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the gate module is learning based and dynamic, therefore it is understood as an AI engine);
determining, by the electronic device, a binary value of each component of the tensor based on the values of the two trainable parameters (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, the trainable parameters are used to determine the probability for each number to be a binary value);
performing, by the electronic device, an elementwise product between the second plurality of channels and the binary value of the components of the tensor (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, each channel is multiplied, by a 1X1 convolution layer understood as elementwise multiplication, by 0 or 1 depending on the value of the trainable parameters);
filtering, by the electronic device, at least one channel without a zero value among the second plurality of channels upon performing the elementwise product (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 4, the process outputs tensor with some channels off and other channels on. The “on” channels are understood as being filtered without a zero value. See Tensor 5 has channels that are not canceled);
and generating, by the electronic device, the low-resolution image frame in the nonspatial domain using the at least one filtered channel (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 4, the above process is the "channel selection" step. pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2 and fig. 2, the selected channels from the selection step are concatenated which is understood as a low-resolution image frame being generated using the at least one filtered channel).
Regarding claim 15, Qin discloses the subject matter of claim 1. Qin further discloses:
wherein the removing is based on operations on the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, each channel is multiplied, by a 1X1 convolution layer understood as elementwise multiplication, which is understood as an operation) performed using values determined from trainable parameters (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, each channel is multiplied, by a 1X1 convolution layer understood as elementwise multiplication, by 0 or 1 depending on the value of the trainable parameters. Therefore, the values are based on the trainable parameters), determined by an Artificial Intelligence (AI) engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, the trainable parameters, "two numbers" in this paragraph, are determined and output by the gate module. Pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the gate module is learning based and dynamic, therefore it is understood as an AI engine),
associated with a tensor (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 2, the trainable parameters are associated with tensor 4. Tensor 4 is from tensor 3 which is from tensor 2. The included edits are interpreted by the examiner per the explanation in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)) generated from the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 2, tensor 2 is generated from tensor 1 which is understood as the second plurality of channels. The included edits are interpreted by the examiner per the explanation in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 10-14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. ("Learning in the Frequency Domain" full reference on PTO-892 filed with this action; hereafter, Qin) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Publ. No. 20210201538; hereafter Xu).
Regarding claim 7, Qin discloses:
receive an image frame (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig, 2, the image is received as seen by the image being input into the flow diagram and the image being resized);
transform the image frame from a spatial domain comprising a first plurality of channels to a non-spatial domain comprising a second plurality of channels (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 2, the image is converted into a frequency domain),
wherein a number of the second plurality of channels is greater than a number of the first plurality of channels (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 2, when converted to the frequency domain, the number of the channels of the image increase);
remove at least one channel comprising irrelevant information from among the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 2, a subset of channels are selected. Therefore, the non-selected channels are understood to be removed. The selected channels are "salient". Therefore, the removed channels are understood as unimpactful or comprising irrelevant information)
using an Artificial Intelligence (AI) engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the channel selected is "learning-based" which is understood as using an AI engine)
to generate a low-resolution image frame in the non-spatial domain (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1 and fig. 2, the non-salient channels are removed which causes the input data size to be reduced. This is understood as generating a low-resolution image)
and provide the low-resolution image frame to a neural network for an inference of the image frame (pg. 1739 col. 2 para. 2, after the task of image compression, the preserved channels are input into an AI accelerator, which may be a neural network, for inference. See also fig. 1(b) for an example of inputting the output of pre-processing into a neural network),
wherein a generic stub layer is embedded at an input of the neural network (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 3, figure 3 shows that the pre-processed input is embedded such that it may be input directly into the neural network. The block "DCT: 56X56X64" is understood as the generic stub layer. Alternatively, the combination of the three dashed boxes may also be interpreted as the generic stub layer in a way nearly identical to the applicant’s specification) for compatibility of the neural network in receiving the low-resolution image frame (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2, "Then we adjust the channel size of the next layer to match the number of channels in the frequency domain", showing that the generic stub layer is compatible with the frequency domain), wherein the generic stub layer bypasses input layers of the neural network that are relevant for the image frame in the spatial domain (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 3, "Since the input feature maps in the frequency domain are smaller in the H and W dimensions but larger in the C dimension than the spatial-domain counterpart, we skip the input layer of a conventional CNN model," therefore, the generic stub layer skips, or bypasses, input layers of the neural network),
and wherein the image frame inferencing engine is further configured to: determine, using the AI engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the dynamic gate module is understood as an AI engine as it makes selections, pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, contains at least two trainable parameters, pg. 1741 col. 2 para. 1-3, and is trained by loss functions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as an AI engine for these reasons), a binary value corresponding to each of the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, "dynamic gate module that assigns a binary score to each frequency channel.");
filter channels based on an application of the binary value to the second plurality of channels to reduce a number of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, "The salient channels are rated as one, the others as zero. The input frequency channels with zero scores are detached from the network. Thus, the input data size is reduced," The channels with zero scores being detached is understood as filtering);
and generate the low-resolution image frame in the non-spatial domain using the filtered channels (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 1 and fig. 3, the input channels go 224 X 224 channels with 3 layers to 56 X 56 channels with 64 layers which is understood as reducing the number of channels. The new version of the image, 56 X 56 X 64, is understood as a new input image frame in the non-spatial domain. Pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2 and fig. 3, the new input image frame is input to a model. Therefore, this is performed at an input stage. Finally, pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 3 and fig. 2, "As discussed in Section 3.3, the majority of the frequency channels can be pruned without sacrificing accuracy. The frequency channel pruning operation is referred to as DCT channel select in Figure 2." This is understood to show that the low resolution image frame uses the filtered channels).
Qin does not disclose expressly a device comprising a memory, a processor, and an image inferencing engine operably connected to the memory and processor.
Xu discloses:
An electronic device comprising: memory ([0028] the system includes a computer readable storage medium);
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry ([0028] the system includes at least one general-purpose processor. A general purpose processor is understood to include processing circuitry);
and an image frame inferencing engine comprising image processing circuitry ([0073]-[0074] the image is input into a neural network for inference calculations. The neural network is understood as an inferencing engine), operably coupled to the memory and the processor ([0040] the steps of process 200, such as inputting into the neural network of [0073]-[0074], may be performed by the general purpose and special purpose processors. [0029] the general purpose and special purpose processors are connected to each other and the memory by a bus. The edited text reflects the way the claim is being interpreted by the examiner per the explanation in the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b))
Qin and Xu are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of resizing images for inference computations (Qin, pg. 1737 col. 2 para. 1; Xu, [0012]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the memory and processor of Xu with the method of Qin.
The motivation for doing so would have been that doing so is combining prior art elements (the method of Qin and the system of Xu) according to known methods (it is well known in the art, as demonstrated by Xu, to use a memory and a processor for performing image based methods) to yield predictable results (the result of performing the method of Qin with the aid of digital processing of Xu). Both the method of Qin and the system of Xu operate in combination performing the same function as they did separately, the method of Qin continues to remove irrelevant channels and the system of Xu continues to perform calculations for image processing. Further, while Qin dos not expressly disclose a memory, a processor, and an image frame inferencing engine coupled to the memory and the processor, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand based on the disclosure of Qin that such elements are in use for the described method and calculations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xu with Qin to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Qin in view of Xu discloses the subject matter of claim 7. Qin further discloses:
perform a Discrete Cosine Transformation (DCT) or a Fourier transformation on the image frame for transforming the image frame from the spatial domain to the non-spatial domain (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 2, the image is converted into a frequency domain by DCT).
Regarding claim 10, Qin in view of Xu discloses the subject matter of claim 7. Qin further discloses:
wherein the non-spatial domain comprises a Luminance, Red difference, Blue difference (Y, Cr, Cb) domain, a Hue, Saturation, Value (H, S, V) domain, or a Luminance, Chrominance (YUV) domain (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2, the images are transformed into the YCbCr color space).
Regarding claim 11, Qin in view of Xu discloses the subject matter of claim 7. Qin further discloses:
group components of the transformed image frame with a same frequency into a channel of the second plurality of channels (pg. 1740 col.1 para. 2 and Fig. 2, the frequency domain coefficients at the same frequency are gathered into "cubes")
by preserving spatial position information of each component (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 1, the coefficients are grouped while maintaining their spatial relations at each frequency).
Regarding claim 12, Qin in view of Xu discloses the subject matter of claim 7. Qin further discloses:
generate a tensor by performing a depth-wise convolution and average pool on each channel of the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 4, a tensor is generated by performing convolution and average pooling on the collected channels);
add two trainable parameters with each component of the tensor (pg. 1741 col.1 para. 2 and Fig. 4, each element in the tensor is multiplied by two trainable parameters which is understood as adding the parameters to the tensor);
determine values of the two trainable parameters using the AI engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, the trainable parameters, "two numbers" in this paragraph, are determined and output by the gate module. Pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the gate module is learning based and dynamic, therefore it is understood as an AI engine);
determine a binary value of each component of the tensor based on the values of the two trainable parameters (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, the trainable parameters are used to determine the probability for each number to be a binary value);
perform an elementwise product between the second plurality of channels and the binary value of the components of the tensor (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, each channel is multiplied, by a 1X1 convolution layer understood as elementwise multiplication, by 0 or 1 depending on the value of the trainable parameters);
filter at least one channel without a zero value among the second plurality of channels upon performing the elementwise product (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 4, the process outputs tensor with some channels off and other channels on. The “on” channels are understood as being filtered without a zero value. See Tensor 5 has channels that are not canceled);
and generate the low-resolution image frame in the nonspatial domain using the at least one filtered channel (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 4, the above process is the "channel selection" step. pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2 and fig. 2, the selected channels from the selection step are concatenated which is understood as a low-resolution image frame being generated using the at least one filtered channel).
Regarding claim 13, Qin discloses:
receive an image frame (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig, 2, the image is received as seen by the image being input into the flow diagram and the image being resized);
transform the image frame from a spatial domain comprising a first plurality of channels to a non-spatial domain comprising a second plurality of channels (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 2 and Fig. 2, the image is converted into a frequency domain),
wherein a number of the second plurality of channels is greater than a number of the first plurality of channels (pg. 1740 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 2, when converted to the frequency domain, the number of the channels of the image increase);
remove at least one channel comprising irrelevant information from among the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1 and Fig. 2, a subset of channels are selected. Therefore, the non-selected channels are understood to be removed. The selected channels are "salient". Therefore, the removed channels are understood as unimpactful or comprising irrelevant information)
using an Artificial Intelligence (AI) engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the channel selected is "learning-based" which is understood as using an AI engine)
to generate a low-resolution image frame in the non-spatial domain (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1 and fig. 2, the non-salient channels are removed which causes the input data size to be reduced. This is understood as generating a low-resolution image)
and provide the low-resolution image frame to a neural network for an inference of the image frame (pg. 1739 col. 2 para. 2, after the task of image compression, the preserved channels are input into an AI accelerator, which may be a neural network, for inference. See also fig. 1(b) for an example of inputting the output of pre-processing into a neural network).
wherein a generic stub layer is embedded at an input of the neural network (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 3, figure 3 shows that the pre-processed input is embedded such that it may be input directly into the neural network. The block "DCT: 56X56X64" is understood as the generic stub layer. Alternatively, the combination of the three dashed boxes may also be interpreted as the generic stub layer in a way nearly identical to the applicant’s specification) for compatibility of the neural network in receiving the low-resolution image frame (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2, "Then we adjust the channel size of the next layer to match the number of channels in the frequency domain", showing that the generic stub layer is compatible with the frequency domain), wherein the generic stub layer bypasses input layers of the neural network that are relevant for the image frame in the spatial domain (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2 and Fig. 3, "Since the input feature maps in the frequency domain are smaller in the H and W dimensions but larger in the C dimension than the spatial-domain counterpart, we skip the input layer of a conventional CNN model," therefore, the generic stub layer skips, or bypasses, input layers of the neural network),
and determine, using the AI engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the dynamic gate module is understood as an AI engine as it makes selections, pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, contains at least two trainable parameters, pg. 1741 col. 2 para. 1-3, and is trained by loss functions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as an AI engine for these reasons), a binary value corresponding to each of the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, "dynamic gate module that assigns a binary score to each frequency channel."),
filter channels based on an application of the binary value to the second plurality of channels to reduce a number of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, "The salient channels are rated as one, the others as zero. The input frequency channels with zero scores are detached from the network. Thus, the input data size is reduced," The channels with zero scores being detached is understood as filtering),
and generate the low-resolution image frame in the non-spatial domain using the filtered channels (pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 1 and fig. 3, the input channels go 224 X 224 channels with 3 layers to 56 X 56 channels with 64 layers which is understood as reducing the number of channels. The new version of the image, 56 X 56 X 64, is understood as a new input image frame in the non-spatial domain. Pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 2 and fig. 3, the new input image frame is input to a model. Therefore, this is performed at an input stage. Finally, pg. 1740 col. 2 para. 3 and fig. 2, "As discussed in Section 3.3, the majority of the frequency channels can be pruned without sacrificing accuracy. The frequency channel pruning operation is referred to as DCT channel select in Figure 2." This is understood to show that the low resolution image frame uses the filtered channels).
Qin does not disclose expressly a device comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instruction executed by a processor.
Xu discloses:
At least one non-transitory computer-readable memory ([0029] the memory of the device may be separate embodiments, including non-transitory memory) storing instructions ([0028] instruction are stored on the memory) that, when executed by at least one processor, perform the function ([0028] stored instructions may be performed by at least one processor)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the memory and processor of Xu with the method of Qin.
The motivation for doing so would have been that doing so is combining prior art elements (the method of Qin and the system of Xu) according to known methods (it is well known in the art, as demonstrated by Xu, to use a memory and a processor for performing image based methods) to yield predictable results (the result of performing the method of Qin with the aid of digital processing of Xu). Both the method of Qin and the system of Xu operate in combination performing the same function as they did separately, the method of Qin continues to remove irrelevant channels and the system of Xu continues to perform calculations for image processing. Further, while Qin dos not expressly disclose a memory and a processor, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand based on the disclosure of Qin that such elements are in use for the described method and calculations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xu with Qin to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Qin in view of Xu discloses the subject matter of claim 13. Qin does not disclose that an electronic device comprises the non-transitory computer readable memory of claim 13.
Xu discloses:
An electronic device comprising the at least one non-transitory computer- readable memory of claim 13 ([0028] and Fig. 1, the electronic device includes the memory).
Regarding claim 17, Qin in view of Xu discloses the subject matter of claim 7. Qin further discloses:
wherein the removing is based on operations on the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, each channel is multiplied, by a 1X1 convolution layer understood as elementwise multiplication, which is understood as an operation) performed using values determined from trainable parameters (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, each channel is multiplied, by a 1X1 convolution layer understood as elementwise multiplication, by 0 or 1 depending on the value of the trainable parameters. Therefore, the values are based on the trainable parameters), determined by an Artificial Intelligence (AI) engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, the trainable parameters, "two numbers" in this paragraph, are determined and output by the gate module. Pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the gate module is learning based and dynamic, therefore it is understood as an AI engine),
associated with a tensor (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 2, the trainable parameters are associated with tensor 4. Tensor 4 is from tensor 3 which is from tensor 2. The included edits are interpreted by the examiner per the explanation in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)) generated from the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 2, tensor 2 is generated from tensor 1 which is understood as the second plurality of channels. The included edits are interpreted by the examiner per the explanation in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)).
Regarding claim 19, Qin in view of Xu discloses the subject matter of claim 13. Qin further discloses:
wherein the removing is based on operations on the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, each channel is multiplied, by a 1X1 convolution layer understood as elementwise multiplication, which is understood as an operation) performed using values determined from trainable parameters (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, each channel is multiplied, by a 1X1 convolution layer understood as elementwise multiplication, by 0 or 1 depending on the value of the trainable parameters. Therefore, the values are based on the trainable parameters), determined by an Artificial Intelligence (AI) engine (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 3, the trainable parameters, "two numbers" in this paragraph, are determined and output by the gate module. Pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 1, the gate module is learning based and dynamic, therefore it is understood as an AI engine),
associated with a tensor (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 2, the trainable parameters are associated with tensor 4. Tensor 4 is from tensor 3 which is from tensor 2. Edits interpreted by the examiner per the explanation in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)) generated from the second plurality of channels (pg. 1741 col. 1 para. 2, tensor 2 is generated from tensor 1 which is understood as the second plurality of channels. Edits interpreted by the examiner per the explanation in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shao-Yuan et al. ("Exploring Semantic Segmentation on the DCT Representation", full reference on PTO-892 included with this action) discloses a system which performs Discrete Cosine Transformation (DCT) on an image and inputs the frequency image into a neural network to perform semantic segmentation in the spatial domain. The system removes high frequency components without impacting accuracy.
/JOSHUA B. CROCKETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2661
/JOHN VILLECCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2661