DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Patent Publication No. 2005/0033880) in view of Chang (US Patent Publication No. 2016/0012001), Fujino et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0024806; hereinafter Fujino), and Li (US Patent No 2009/0027302).
With reference to claim 1, Lin discloses an interface extension device (1) for screen sharing (see paragraphs 27-28; Figs. 1-2) comprising:
at least one video port (35) for connecting with a main screen (host); see paragraphs 26-28; Figs. 1-2);
at least one multi-function port (P2);
a first sharing port (P01) for connecting with a first sharing device (C1);
a second sharing port (P02) for connecting with a second sharing device (C2);
a multi-function control unit connected to the at least one multi-function port (P2) and the first sharing port (P01) (in teaching left endpoint FIFO);
a bridge unit connected to the multi-function control unit and the second sharing port (P02) (in teaching right endpoint FIFO); and
an image control unit (32) connected to the multi-function control unit and the at least one video port (35) (see paragraphs 27-28);
wherein the bridge unit is configured to control a data transmission between the first sharing port and the second sharing port (see paragraphs 27-28),
wherein the bridge unit is a host-to-host bridging controller that simultaneously allows the first sharing device to operate as a first USB host system and the second sharing device to operate as a second USB host system (see paragraphs 25-28).
While Lin discloses the usage of a bridge unit as described there fails to be disclosure of sharing keyboard, mouse, network, mass storage, display, and multimedia as recited.
Chang discloses a connection interface switching device (100) for multiple portable display devices (200), so as to allow the first sharing device (200) connected to the first sharing port (110) and the second sharing device (200) connected to the second sharing port (110) (see paragraphs 24-25; Figs. 1-2) to share their keyboard (321), mouse (322), network (324), mass storage (flash drive), display, and multimedia capabilities so as to share their keyboard, mouse, network, mass storage, display, and multimedia capabilities (see paragraphs 21, 28-30).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a sharing port similar to that which is taught by Chang to allow sharing of connected devices in a system similar to that which is taught by Lin to thereby enhance the expandability of the devices (see Chang; paragraph 21).
While Lin and Chang disclose the bridging unit capable of transferring data between two computers, there fails to be specific disclosure of the data being transferred.
Fujino discloses a multi-display control apparatus (see abstract; Fig. 1), wherein through the data transmission controlled by the bridge unit (50-56) (see paragraphs 20, 26, 28-29; Fig. 1), the main screen (E1 is capable of displaying a first image in a mirroring or extending manner provided by the first sharing device (1) and a second image in a mirroring or extending manner provided by the second sharing device (10) through the data transmission controlled by the bridge unit (50-56), and the first sharing device (1) and the second sharing device (10) are capable of performing a synchronous operation (in teaching mirroring function) on the first and the second images (see paragraphs 24-25, 34; Figs. 2, 4-5), wherein, the synchronous operation on the first and second images performed by any one of the first sharing device and the second sharing device is synchronously displayed on all sharing devices in a mirroring or extending manner (see paragraphs 24-25, 34; Figs. 2, 4-5), and wherein the main screen (E1) is capable of displaying a spliced image including: an extending image from one of the first sharing device and the second sharing device (see paragraph 25; Fig. 2, 4-5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow sharing in a mirror and extended mode similar to that which is taught by Fujino to be carried out in a sharing system using a bridging unit similar to that which is taught by Lin and Chang to thereby allow for sharing between multiple devices to thereby extend the display area for the user to view images (see Fujino; paragraphs 3-4).
While Fujino discloses a sharing device for displaying in a mirror or extended mode as recited, however fail to disclose an extended mirroring mode and the usage of an input device as recited.
Li discloses a system for sharing a window between a first and second terminal in an extending or mirroring manner, wherein, a mirroring image from the remaining one of the first sharing device (A) and the second sharing device (B), and the first sharing device and the second sharing device are capable of simultaneously sharing and operating the screen image (see paragraphs 33, 36, 60; Figs. 1-8), and a corresponding input device of any one of the first sharing device (A) and the second sharing device (B) may be used to perform the synchronous operation, and an operational result of the synchronous operation is displayed on the main screen (see abstract, paragraphs 38-39; Figs. 5-6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a device for mirroring and for sharing similar to that which is taught by Li to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lin, Chang, and Fujino to thereby freely share and move images between multiple devices (see Li; paragraph 61).
With reference to claim 2, Lin, Chang, Fujino, and Li disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, wherein Lin further discloses a power unit connected to the multi-function control unit and the image control unit, and connected to a power connection port (in teaching providing power by a USB device; see paragraphs 3-6).
With reference to claim 6, Lin, Chang, Fujino, and Li disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, wherein Lin further discloses that the synchronous operation includes drag operation, click operation, zoom-in operation, and zoom-out operation (see paragraph 30).
With reference to claim 7, Lin, Chang, Fujino, and Li disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, wherein Lin further discloses wherein the bridge unit is USB 3.0 host-to-host bridge controller (see paragraphs 27-28, 42; Figs. 1-2).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, Chang, Fujino, and Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shen (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0039550).
With reference to claim 3, Lin, Chang, Fujino, and Li disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, however fails to disclose that the USB sharing ports are type-c as recited.
Shen discloses a USB base station (200) which connects a host (106) with an external device including various ports for transferring data (see paragraphs 34-35, 37; Figs. 1-4), wherein the first and second sharing ports are a USB Type-C port (see paragraph 37; Figs. 3-4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a Type-C USB port similar to that which is taught by Shen to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lin, Chang, Fujino, and Li to thereby allow transfer of data as well known in the art.
With reference to claim 4, Lin, Chang, Fujino, and Li disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, however fails to disclose an HDMI port.
Shen discloses a USB base station (200) which connects a host (106) with an external device including various ports for transferring data (see paragraphs 34-35, 37; Figs. 1-4), wherein the at least one video port is an HDMI port (see paragraphs 44, 49; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 5, Lin, Chang, Fujino, and Li disclose the interface extension device according to claim 1, however fails to disclose the recited ports.
Shen discloses a USB base station (200) which connects a host (106) with an external device including various ports for transferring data (see paragraphs 34-35, 37; Figs. 1-4), while wherein the at least one multi-function port includes a network port, a card reader port, and a USB 3.0 port (see paragraphs 37, 44, 46; Figs. 4-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the combination of references fail to disclose a bridge unit configured to control a data transmission between a first and second sharing port to allow the connected devices to share keyboard, mouse, network, mass storage, display, and multimedia capabilities, and wherein the bridge unit is a host-to-host bridging controller that simultaneously allow the first and second USB host system s to share their keyboard, mouse, network, mass storage, display and multimedia capabilities as recited. The applicant argues that the I/O peripheral set (300) of Chang cannot be used by other portable devices (200). The examiner disagrees and finds that Chang specifically discloses the recited limitations in teaching that the switching device (bridge unit) connects multiple electronic devices (200) which allows for transmitting and receiving signals from the portable devices and allowing the multiple portable devices to share the I/O peripheral set (300), wherein the I/O peripheral set includes a keyboard, a mouse, a flash drive, a card reader, a speaker, a display device, or a network device (see paragraphs 21, 28-30; Figs. 1-2). Therefore the examiner finds that the references disclose the features argued by the applicant. The applicant further argues that Lin fails to discloses or suggest simultaneous operation of both ends as USB host systems, routing or bridging of multiple USB classes, including HID, display and multimedia classes, and exposing the native capabilities of one host to another host. The examiner finds that Lin specifically discloses the system improves functionality by providing a USB-based host-to-host networking method between a first and second host (see paragraphs 27-28). The applicant further argues that Lin fails to disclose or suggest simultaneous USB host-to-host operation with multi-class sharing, a multi-class host-to-host bridging architecture, synchronous operation, and multi-image display. However, the arguments fail to point to language in the claim that is not taught by the references. Therefore it is not clear what limitations the applicant is arguing. The arguments do not appear to be directed to actual limitations of the claims. Therefore the examiner finds that the combination of references disclose the subject matter recited in the claims.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. HUNDAL (US2019/0018811) discloses a system for enhancing power and connectivity functionality comprising an interface device comprising at least one video port, a multi-function port, a first and second sharing port, a multi-function control unit, a brig unit, and an image control unit, wherein the bridge unit allows data transmission between the first and second sharing device (see abstract; paragraphs 16-43; Figs. 1-5).
b. KILE, JR. et al. (US2023/0135704) discloses systems method and devices for enabling real-time gestures on shared canvases wherein a plurality of user devices may be granted access to a shared object such that if cursor movements or input device operations are transformed and rendered on canvases of each connected user device (see abstract, paragraphs 16-31; Figs. 1-5).
c. Bian (US2012/0030584) discloses a system for screen sharing wherein the screen is capable of displaying the image in the extending manner for one of the first sharing device and the second sharing device, and displaying the image in the mirroring manner for the remaining one of the first sharing device and the second sharing device (see paragraph 18).
d. HUNG et al. (US2011/0113166) discloses a USB intermediate device, such as a switch, selectively interconnects computers and console peripherals, wherein the USB switch allows selective sharing of one or more computer desktops among one or more displays, and allows selective sharing of storage or other peripherals among USB connected computers, whether the shared peripheral is internal to connected computer or connected to the switch (see abstract; paragraphs 26-78; Figs. 1-3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625