DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is written in response to an amendment filed on 2/11/2026. As directed by amendment: Claims 1, 4, and 9-10 were amended. Claims 6 and 11 were cancelled. Claim 14 was newly added. Thus, Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-14 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
Argument 1: The text of claim recites (in relevant part) "returning a result in response to the associating wherein the result includes obfuscated information having actual data replaced with false information." Here, Lyer does not disclose the use of false information. Instead Lyer masks personally identifiable information (PII) so the user cannot see the PII. (e.g. Lyer 0001, 0004, Fig. 2, et. al.). Lyer figure 2 illustrates Lyer's disclosure well because it shows physically obfuscated PII. This is in sharp contrast to the text of claim 1 wherein there is no physical masking, but instead false, unmasked information.
Examiner’s Response: In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., wherein there is no physical masking, but instead false, unmasked information) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Iyer teaches associating the credential with one or more data fields to determine which fields are masked, and returning a result in response to the associating wherein the result includes obfuscated information having actual data replaced with false information (Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71).
The false information is the masked PII information as shown in Fig. 2.
Therefore, Iyer still teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Iyer et al (“Iyer”, US 20230077317).
Regarding Claim 1, Iyer teaches a data management system including: a processor, said processor coupled to a network (par 25-26);
a data store coupled to the processor, said data store including a plurality of personal identifiable information fields (par 25-26; Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71);
a memory device coupled to the processor, said memory device encoded with non-transitory processor-readable instructions directing the processor to perform a method including (par 25-26):
receiving a command from a user, said command operative to operate on the personal identifiable information fields, said command including at least one credential associated with the user (Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71);
associating the credential with one or more data fields to determine which fields are masked, and returning a result in response to the associating wherein the result includes obfuscated information having actual data replaced with false information (Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71; The false information is the masked PII information as shown in Fig. 2.).
Regarding Claim 2, Iyer teaches the system of claim 1.
Iyer further teaches wherein each data field is associated with a property directing operations on the personal identifiable information (Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71; The property is the position co-ordinates.).
Regarding Claim 3, Iyer teaches the system of claim 1.
Iyer further teaches wherein the credential is a user identifier (Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71; The user identifier is the credential of the recipient having the highest level of access control. The recipient is trusted and therefore identified by the user’s credential.).
Regarding Claim 4, Iyer teaches a data management system including:
a processor, said processor coupled to a network (par 25-26);
a data store coupled to the processor, said data store including a plurality of personal identifiable information fields (par 25-26; Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71);
a memory device coupled to the processor, said memory device encoded with non-transitory processor-readable instructions directing the processor to perform a method including (par 25-26);
receiving a command from a user, said command operative to operate on personal identifiable information, said command including at least one credential associated with the user (par 25-26; Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71);
associating the credential with one or more data fields containing personal identifiable information, and returning a result in response to the associating, said result including false information in at least one of the one or more data fields (par 25-26; Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71; The false information is the masked PII information as shown in Fig. 2.).
Regarding Claim 5, Iyer teaches the system of claim 4.
Iyer further teaches wherein the association determines whether PII is masked or unmasked (par 25-26; Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71).
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 9, Iyer teaches one or more processor readable memory devices encoded with non-transitory processor instructions directing a processor to perform a method including:
receiving a command from a user, said command operative to operate on personal identifiable information, said command including at least one credential associated with the user (par 25-26; Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71);
associating the credential with one or more data fields containing personal identifiable information, and returning a result in response to the associating, said result including false information in at least one of the one or more data fields. (par 25-26; Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71; The false information is the masked PII information as shown in Fig. 2.).
Regarding Claim 10, Iyer teaches the devices of claim 9.
Iyer further teaches wherein the association determines whether PII is masked or unmasked, wherein masked data is false information (par 25-26; Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71; The false information is the masked PII information as shown in Fig. 2.).
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14, Iyer teaches the system of claim 1.
Iyer further teaches wherein the false information is in the masked fields (par 25-26; Fig. 2, element 200, par 22; Fig. 5, element 514, par 53; Fig. 11, elements {1108-1120}, par 68-71; The false information is the masked PII information as shown in Fig. 2.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Adler et al (US 20030014654), Abstract - The present invention is a system and method for handling personally identifiable information, using a rules model. The invention involves defining a limited number of privacy-related actions regarding personally identifiable information; constructing a rule for each circumstance in which one of said privacy-related actions may be taken or must be taken; allowing for the input of dynamic contextual information to precisely specify the condition for evaluation of a rule; creating a programming object containing at least one of said rules; associating the programming object with personally identifiable information; processing a request; and providing an output. The invention does not merely give a "yes-or-no answer. The invention has the advantage of being able to specify additional actions that must be taken. The invention may use a computer system and network. One aspect of the present invention is a method for handling personally identifiable information. Another aspect of the present invention is a system for executing the method of the present invention. A third aspect of the present invention is as a set of instructions on a computer-usable medium, or resident in a computer system, for executing the method of the present invention.
Netke et al (US 20220164474), Abstract - An approach for real time, round trip pseudonymization (a.k.a. anonymization or tokenization) of data on the fly, in real time, enabling remote secure processing of sensitive data such as by a cloud service. Sensitive data remains on premises with the client at all times. A user may thus run extensive queries that return sensitive data without noticing that such data was pseudonymized in transit.
Apsingekar et al (US 20220207123), Abstract - When personally identifiable information (PII) is to be stored or updated, a system first seeks consent from the user for the PII store or update. If the user grants consent, then the system stores the PII in the user's personal device or updates the PII stored in the user's personal device. The system then retrieves that PII and generates a token representing that PII. Even if the token were taken by a malicious user, it would not be possible for the malicious user to determine the user's actual PIT from the token. In this manner, the security of the PII is improved over conventional systems.
Zabar et al (US 20210176054), Abstract - A method of storing personally identifiable information includes allowing a subject to register with an application, generating private and public encryption keys, requesting and receiving a digital identity from a registrar, validating the personally identifiable information using the digital identity, and storing an encrypted version of the personally identifiable information in a data repository controlled by a subject of the personally identifiable information.
Pae et al (US 20060085443), Abstract - One embodiment of the present invention provides a system that controls access to personally identifiable information (PII) in a database system. During operation, the system receives a request from an application to perform a function which involves accessing information in the database system. In response to the request, the system identifies a purpose that the application has in making request to perform the function. Next, the system uses the purpose to identify a set of attributes in the database system, which are associated with the purpose. The system then determines if any of the identified attributes contain PII. If so, the system enforces access controls while accessing the identified attributes containing PII.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAQIUL A CHOUDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2444