This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Arguments/REMARKS correspondence filed on 02/27/2026.
Claims 1, 5-13, 15, and 17-21 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, & 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vargantwar et al (US 8,768,384) (hereinafter "Vargantwar") in view of Nishant et al (WO2022035301A1) (2021), in further view of Bao et al (CN114599060A) (2020), in further view of Ratasuk et al (WO2021083940) (2020).
Regarding claim 1, Vargantwar teaches a method for dynamically adjusting paging settings in a network, the method comprising:
determining a first page success rate for a device on the network (Fig 1 105, 120, Fig 3 310, col 2 lines 60-67, col 3 lines 1-3, col 4 lines determining a network device has not been responding to paging messages—determine successful paging rate);
comparing the first page success rate for the device with a predetermined paging threshold (Fig 2 265, Fig 1 105 110, col 7-8, lines 52-67 & 1-12, respectively, network node may determine the device has not responded to a threshold number of paging messages—comparing response (success rate paging) with a threshold number of paging messages);
categorizing the device into a subscriber profile identifier if the first page success rate for the device is less than the predetermined paging threshold (Fig 4 400 405 410, col 10 lines 12-30, categorizing devices served by the node arranged into different columns—some containing identifiers of devices for using separate paging channels based off paging response);
determining if subsequent paging of the device in a same session in a same cell is successful (col 2 lines 61-67, col 3 lines 1-15, determines response success to paging messages which includes success paging).
But Vargantwar fails to teach in response to determining that the subsequent paging of the device in the same session in the same cell is successful, determining whether a frequency used by the device is a low-band frequency or a non-low-band frequency; determining if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold; and based on the subscriber profile identifier, the determined frequency, and the number of average active RRC users, adjusting at least one of an aggregation level or a number of pages per second.
However, Nishant teaches—
in response to determining that the subsequent paging of the device in the same session in the same cell is successful, determining whether a frequency used by the device is a low-band frequency or a non-low-band frequency (pg 2 paragraph 5, and pg. 5 paragraph 35, pg 7 paragraph 40; specification explicitly distinguishes NR frequency ranges and treats FR1 vs FR2 separately; there are two types of frequency ranges FR1 and FR2 UE would need to scan for multiple NR bands (under FR1 and FR2));
Vargantwar and Nishant are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Vargantwar and Nishant to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Furthermore, Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Combining the teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
But Nishant fails to teach determining if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold;
However, Bao teaches determining if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold (English translation, Summary of the Invention, pg. 2-3 lines 20-23 & paragraphs 1-6, expressly models cell load using the number of RRC users (x) and compares it to a threshold (“suppression point” A) to decide actions – exactly the KPI/threshold construct in the claim – suppression point, x is the number of RRC users, f(x) is the DL traffic…determine whether busy-hour traffic exceeds a threshold));
Vargantwar, Nishant, and Bao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, and Lee to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
But Bao fails to teach and based on the subscriber profile identifier, the determined frequency, and the number of average active RRC users, adjusting at least one of an aggregation level or a number of pages per second.
However, Ratasuk teaches and based on the subscriber profile identifier, the determined frequency, and the number of average active RRC users, adjusting at least one of an aggregation level or a number of pages per second (pg. 2 lines 21-28, pg. 5 lines 8-25, pg. 10 lines 24-27, pg. 16 lines 13-21, pg. 5 lines 22-25 for number of users & pg. 7 lines 23-26 – number of UEs per PO relative to number of WUSs & pg. 8 lines 7-20 limiting response when many UEs might respond – number of UEs per paging occasion and large number of UEs as design parameters that affect how paging is configured; identifies FR1 vs FR2 as distinct operating regimes; shows FR2’s beam-based overhead/latency problem for paging, and prescribes a different paging policy in FR2 (WUS on all beams + beam-specific paging message) versus simplified behavior in FR1 (single-beam; WUS optionally for MCS) thereby making the paging policy contingent on the frequency class; user profile on pg. 6 lines 12-14 UE specific vs group specific vs cell-specific WUS & pg. 7 lines 23-27 stationary vs moving UEs mobility state which is UE profile that changes what PRACH resource it uses and how gNB pages & pg. 8 lines 13-16, lines 21-25 sub-groups within a group (based on UE ID, and past paging reception...a UE that has low probability of being paged can be prevented from sending a preamble—user/profile based treatment).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Lastly, Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
Regarding claim 18, Vargantwar teaches a non-transitory computer storage media storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by one or more processors, cause the processors to:
determine a first page success rate for a device on the network (Fig 1 105, 120, Fig 3 310, col 2 lines 60-67, col 3 lines 1-3, col 4 lines determining a network device has not been responding to paging messages—determine successful paging rate);
compare the first page success rate for the device with a predetermined paging threshold for a tracking area of the network (Fig 2 265, Fig 1 105 110, col 7-8, lines 52-67 & 1-12, respectively, network node may determine the device has not responded to a threshold number of paging messages—comparing response (success rate paging) with a threshold number of paging messages);
categorize the device into a subscriber profile identifier if the first page success rate for the device is less than the predetermined paging threshold (Fig 4 400 405 410, col 10 lines 12-30, categorizing devices served by the node arranged into different columns—some containing identifiers of devices for using separate paging channels based off paging response);
determining if subsequent paging of the device in a same session in a same cell is successful (col 2 lines 61-67, col 3 lines 1-15, determines response success to paging messages which includes success paging).
But Vargantwar fails to teach in response to determining that the subsequent paging of the device in the same session in the same cell is successful, determine whether a frequency used by the device is a low-band frequency or a non-low-band frequency; determine if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold; and based on the subscriber profile identifier, the determined frequency, and the number of average active RRC users, adjusting at least one of an aggregation level or a number of pages per second.
However, Bao teaches—
in response to determining that the subsequent paging of the device in the same session in the same cell is successful, determine whether a frequency used by the device is a low-band frequency or a non-low-band frequency (pg 2 paragraph 5, and pg. 5 paragraph 35, pg 7 paragraph 40; specification explicitly distinguishes NR frequency ranges and treats FR1 vs FR2 separately; there are two types of frequency ranges FR1 and FR2 UE would need to scan for multiple NR bands (under FR1 and FR2));
Vargantwar and Nishant are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Vargantwar and Nishant to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Furthermore, Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Combining the teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
But Nishant fails to teach determine if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold;
However, Bao teaches determine if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold (English translation, Summary of the Invention, pg. 2-3 lines 20-23 & paragraphs 1-6, expressly models cell load using the number of RRC users (x) and compares it to a threshold (“suppression point” A) to decide actions – exactly the KPI/threshold construct in the claim – suppression point, x is the number of RRC users, f(x) is the DL traffic…determine whether busy-hour traffic exceeds a threshold));
Vargantwar, Nishant, and Bao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, and Lee to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
But Bao fails to teach and based on the subscriber profile identifier, the determined frequency, and the number of average active RRC users, adjusting at least one of an aggregation level or a number of pages per second.
However, Ratasuk teaches and based on the subscriber profile identifier, the determined frequency, and the number of average active RRC users, adjusting at least one of an aggregation level or a number of pages per second (pg. 2 lines 21-28, pg. 5 lines 8-25, pg. 10 lines 24-27, pg. 16 lines 13-21; identifies FR1 vs FR2 as distinct operating regimes; shows FR2’s beam-based overhead/latency problem for paging, and prescribes a different paging policy in FR2 (WUS on all beams + beam-specific paging message) versus simplied behavior in FR1 (single-beam; WUS optionally for MCS) thereby making the paging policy contingent on the frequency class)).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Lastly, Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
Regarding claim 19, Vargantwar teaches the non-transitory computer storage media wherein the predetermined paging threshold for the tracking area is 50 percent or less (Fig 1 110, 105, Fig 2B, col 7 lines 66-67, col 8 lines 1-21, network maintains a threshold paging success rate of wireless device between 1-100% which could be 50%—determines success rate).
Claims 5-13, 15, 17, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vargantwar et al (US 8,768,384) (hereinafter "Vargantwar") in view of Bao, in further view of Ratasuk, in further view of Su et al (CN108419291B) (hereinafter "Su").
Regarding claim 5, Vargantwar, Bao, and Ratasuk fails to disclose the method further comprising if the number of average active RRC users is below the defined threshold, adjusting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) aggregation level to a highest aggregation level if not already at the highest aggregation level.
However, Su teaches the method further comprising if the number of average active RRC users is below the defined threshold, adjusting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) aggregation level to a highest aggregation level if not already at the highest aggregation level (pg. 47 of 49 Fig (image) 1 – 106, 102, 100, pg. 33 of 49 lines 34-37, pg. 34 of 49 lines 14-33, pg. 40 of 49 lines 21-24, adjusting PDDCH aggregation level—increasing level to higher aggregation level).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Lastly, Su provides methods and system for efficient paging and idle mode wakeup of wireless devices supporting coverage enhancement mode with dynamic adjustment of aggregation level. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
Regarding claim 6, Vargantwar, Bao, and Ratasuk fails to disclose the method further comprising increasing the number of pages per second by one step if the number of pages per second is not at a maximum number of pages per second.
However Su teaches the method further comprising increasing the number of pages per second by one step if the number of pages per second is not at a maximum number of pages per second (pg. 47 of 49 Fig (image) 1 – 106, 102, 100, pg. 37 of 49 lines 9-29, pg. 33 of 49 lines 34-37, increase pages number past a threshold value).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Lastly, Su provides methods and system for efficient paging and idle mode wakeup of wireless devices supporting coverage enhancement mode with dynamic adjustment of aggregation level. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
Regarding claim 7, Vargantwar, Bao, and Ratasuk fails to disclose the method further comprising, based on the determining the frequency used by the device is a non-low-band frequency, determining if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold.
However, Su teaches the method further comprising, based on the determining the frequency used by the device is a non-low-band frequency, determining if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold (English translation pg. 47 of 49 Fig (image) 1 – 106, 102, 100, pg. 33 of 49 lines 34-37, pg. 34 of 49 lines 14-33, pg. 40 of 49 lines 21-24, pg. 37 of 49 lines 9-29, link budget wireless device with capability of using different frequencies for various capabilities, determining low band frequency and non-low band frequency—commercial paging frequencies and higher speed-shorter distance, service request dependent, one or more wireless devices establishing RRC connection, low band and high band services, determining multiple users based on threshold number-above-below).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Lastly, Su provides methods and system for efficient paging and idle mode wakeup of wireless devices supporting coverage enhancement mode with dynamic adjustment of aggregation level. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
Regarding claim 8, Vargantwar, Bao, and Ratasuk fails to disclose the method further comprising if the number of average active RRC users of the non-low-band frequency is below the defined threshold, adjusting a physical downlink shared channel (PDCCH) to a highest aggregation level if not already at the highest aggregation level.
However, Su teaches the method further comprising if the number of average active RRC users of the non-low-band frequency is below the defined threshold, adjusting a physical downlink shared channel (PDCCH) to a highest aggregation level if not already at the highest aggregation level (Fig 1 106, 102, 100 Fig 5 504 pg. 47-47 image 1, 5, pg. 33 of 49 lines 20-37, lines pg. 40 of 49 lines 1-24, increasing/adjusting PDCCH to aggregation level, repetitively used in order to ensure the highest aggregation level when checked).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Lastly, Su provides methods and system for efficient paging and idle mode wakeup of wireless devices supporting coverage enhancement mode with dynamic adjustment of aggregation level. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
Regarding claim 9, Vargantwar, Bao, and Ratasuk fails to disclose the method further comprising categorizing the device into a poor paging profile if the first paging success rate for the device does not improve when the PDCCH aggregation level is at the highest aggregation level.
However, Su teaches the method further comprising categorizing the device into a poor paging profile if the first paging success rate for the device does not improve when the PDCCH aggregation level is at the highest aggregation level (Fig 1 106, 102, 100 Fig 5 504 pg. 47-47 image 1, 5, pg. 33 of 49 lines 20-37, lines pg. 40 of 49 lines 1-24, based on the response from the UE/multiple UEs for paging messaging in combination with the aggregation level increase-system identifies UEs on success of paging messaging and distinguishes from UEs with better paging success—continuous attempted paging of the UE).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Lastly, Su provides methods and system for efficient paging and idle mode wakeup of wireless devices supporting coverage enhancement mode with dynamic adjustment of aggregation level. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
Regarding claim 10, Vargantwar teaches the method further comprising moving the device into a low-band layer of the network using a subscriber profile identifier (Fig 4 400, col 10 lines 12-54, moving to secondary paging channel –different band frequency—wireless devices acquire identifier—network accesses categorization of devices and perform varying procedures when paging—different band layers—determine whether using a secondary channel).
Regarding claim 11, Vargantwar teaches the method further comprising monitoring a paging discard rate for a predefined time (Fig 1 110, 105, Fig 2B, col 7 lines 66-67, col 8 lines 1-12, network counts/monitors the number of times the wireless device does not respond to a paging message in a specific time).
Regarding claim 12, Vargantwar teaches the method wherein the paging success rate threshold is 50 percent or less (Fig 1 110, 105, Fig 2B, col 7 lines 66-67, col 8 lines 1-21, network maintains a threshold paging success rate of wireless device between 1-100% which could be 50%--determines success rate).
Regarding claim 13, Vargantwar teaches a method for dynamically adjusting paging settings in a network, comprising:
determining a paging success threshold for a tracking area of the network ((Fig 1 105, 120, Fig 3 310, col 2 lines 60-67, col 3 lines 1-3, col 4 lines determining a network device has not been responding to paging messages—determine successful paging rate);
comparing a first paging success rate for a device on the network with the paging success threshold ((Fig 2 265, Fig 1 105 110, col 7-8, lines 52-67 & 1-12, respectively, network node may determine the device has not responded to a threshold number of paging messages—comparing response (success rate paging) with a threshold number of paging messages);
determining if subsequent paging of the device in a same session in a same cell is successful (col 2 lines 61-67, col 3 lines 1-15, determines response success to paging messages which includes success paging).
But Vargantwar fails to teach in response to determining that the subsequent paging of the device in the same session in the same cell is successful, determining whether a frequency used by the device is a low-band frequency or a non-low-band frequency; determining if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold; and based on the comparison, the determined frequency, and the number of average active RRC users, increasing an aggregation level of a physical control channel (PDCCH) of the device if the first paging success rate for the device is less than the paging success threshold.
However, Nishant teaches—
in response to determining that the subsequent paging of the device in the same session in the same cell is successful, determining whether a frequency used by the device is a low-band frequency or a non-low-band frequency (pg 2 paragraph 5, and pg. 5 paragraph 35, pg 7 paragraph 40; specification explicitly distinguishes NR frequency ranges and treats FR1 vs FR2 separately; there are two types of frequency ranges FR1 and FR2 UE would need to scan for multiple NR bands (under FR1 and FR2));
Vargantwar and Nishant are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Vargantwar and Nishant to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Furthermore, Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Combining the teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
But Nishant fails to teach determining if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold;
However, Bao teaches determining if a number of average active radio resource control (RRC) users is below a defined threshold (English translation, Summary of the Invention, pg. 2-3 lines 20-23 & paragraphs 1-6, expressly models cell load using the number of RRC users (x) and compares it to a threshold (“suppression point” A) to decide actions – exactly the KPI/threshold construct in the claim – suppression point, x is the number of RRC users, f(x) is the DL traffic…determine whether busy-hour traffic exceeds a threshold));
Vargantwar, Nishant, and Bao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, and Lee to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
But Bao fails to teach and based on the subscriber profile identifier, the determined frequency, and the number of average active RRC users, adjusting at least one of an aggregation level or a number of pages per second.
However, Ratasuk teaches and based on the subscriber profile identifier, the determined frequency, and the number of average active RRC users, adjusting at least one of an aggregation level or a number of pages per second (pg. 2 lines 21-28, pg. 5 lines 8-25, pg. 10 lines 24-27, pg. 16 lines 13-21; identifies FR1 vs FR2 as distinct operating regimes; shows FR2’s beam-based overhead/latency problem for paging, and prescribes a different paging policy in FR2 (WUS on all beams + beam-specific paging message) versus simplied behavior in FR1 (single-beam; WUS optionally for MCS) thereby making the paging policy contingent on the frequency class)).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Lastly, Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
But Ratasuk fails to remedy the gaps in regards to increasing an aggregation level of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the device.
However, Su remedies the gap in regards to increasing an aggregation level of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the device (Fig 1 106, 102, 100 Fig 5 504 pg. 47-47 image 1, 5, pg. 33 of 49 lines 20-37, lines pg. 40 of 49 lines 1-24, –base station can adjust or increase the aggregation level to increase the success rate of paging response, increasing/adjusting PDCCH to aggregation level, repetitively used in order to ensure the highest aggregation level when checked).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Lastly, Su provides methods and system for efficient paging and idle mode wakeup of wireless devices supporting coverage enhancement mode with dynamic adjustment of aggregation level. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
Regarding claim 15, Vargantwar, Bao, and Ratasuk fails to disclose the method further comprising increasing a number of pages per second by one step if not at maximum level.
However, Su teaches the method further comprising increasing a number of pages per second by one step if not at maximum level (pg. 47 of 49 Fig (image) 1 – 106, 102, 100, pg. 37 of 49 lines 9-29, pg. 33 of 49 lines 34-37, increase pages number past a threshold value).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Lastly, Su provides methods and system for efficient paging and idle mode wakeup of wireless devices supporting coverage enhancement mode with dynamic adjustment of aggregation level. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
Regarding claim 17, Vargantwar teaches the method further comprising, based on the determining, moving the device from a non-low-band frequency to a low-band frequency (Fig 4 400, col 10 lines 12-54, moving to secondary paging channel –different band frequency—wireless devices acquire identifier—network accesses categorization of devices and perform varying procedures when paging—different band layers—determine whether using a secondary channel).
Regarding claim 21, Vargantwar, Bao, and Ratasuk fails to teach wherein increasing the aggregation level or decreasing the number of pages per second is performed after categorizing the device into the subscriber profile identifier.
However, Su teaches wherein increasing the aggregation level or decreasing the number of pages per second is performed after categorizing the device into the subscriber profile identifier.(pg. 47 of 49 Fig (image) 1 – 106, 102, 100, pg. 37 of 49 lines 9-29, pg. 33 of 49 lines 34-37, Su directly supports the Examiner’s position by teaching base-station-controlled paging behavior adjustments, including: Switching between control channels (PDCCH, mPDCCH, E-PDCCH) based on coverage mode; Increasing aggregation level, power boost, and repetition number for successive page attempts –modifying network-side transmission behavior to improve paging success; Taking into account past paging attempts (see Su: “number of attempts to page the UE that have previous occurred”)—providing a form of performance tracking increase pages number past a threshold value).
Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of efficient use of paging messages for wireless devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination of teaching of Vargantwar, Nishant, Bao, and Ratasuk to create a method with a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success rate.
Vargantwar provides general methods and devices for efficient use of multiple paging channels. Nishant provides method and UE for handling frequency scanning between FR1 and FR2. Furthermore, Bao teaches determining if a number of active RRC users is below a threshold. Ratasuk teaches determining paging policy based on high or low frequency. Lastly, Su provides methods and system for efficient paging and idle mode wakeup of wireless devices supporting coverage enhancement mode with dynamic adjustment of aggregation level. Combining the combination of teachings would allow for a dynamic mechanism to improve subscriber level paging success. The motivation to combine both references is to achieve a non-static aggregation level for all UEs with decreasing connection time and network congestion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Applicant’s Specification, the claimed “in response to determining that the subsequent paging of the device in the same session in the same cell is successful” does not require the narrow diagnostic inference urged by the Applicant, but reasonably reads on using the result of subsequent paging success/failure as a condition for what paging treatment is applied next. The Applicant’s own Specification states that “if subsequent paging during the same session is successful for the UE on the same cell non-optimal paging settings are the likely reasons,” which ties the later paging-related decision to the outcome of subsequent paging, not to any uniquely limited algorithm or exact causal diagnosis.
Vargantwar teaches the same responsive relationship. In particular, Vargantwar discloses that the “set of paging messages may include an initial paging message that the RAN transmits to the WCD on the secondary paging channel, and a subsequent paging message that the RAN transmits to the WCD on the primary paging channel,” and then expressly states “Then, at step 315, in response to this determination, the RAN transmits a first command to the WCD to instruct the WCD to only receiving paging messages on the primary paging channel.” Vargantwar further explains that the RAN determines whether the WCD “has not responded to at least some of the set of paging messages” and, based on that paging result of subsequent paging in the same serving coverage are/cell as the trigger for the next determination/action, which is sufficient under BRI to meet the claimed conditional relationship, even if Vargantwar does not use Applicant’s wording or frame the reason in the identical diagnostic terms set out in paragraph [0093].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419