DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 2 January 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-5 and 39-41 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of newly-applied prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5 and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gibby (US-2020/0159313 – cited in IDS of 7/12/2023).
Regarding claim 1: Gibby discloses a method, comprising: receiving 2D image data of patient anatomy from a medical imaging device (fig 1, fig 6, [0023]-[0025], and [0051] of Gibby – 2D image data captured for use by medical professional with AR headset); identifying a location of the 2D image data in a 3D coordinate system of an augmented reality (AR) headset (fig 1, fig 2, [0024]-[0027], and [0030] of Gibby – location of 2D image data in the 3D coordinate system is identified based on features, such as the optical code 200 and markers 206, so the medical professional can properly operate using the AR headset); receiving a graphical mark from a user for a point within the 2D image data (fig 2(200,206) and [0031]-[0032] of Gibby); and computing a 3D coordinate of the point in the 3D coordinate system using a location of the medical imaging device with respect to the AR headset to generate a 3D spatial mapping and target a structure in a person (fig 4, figs 6-7, [0047], [0051], and [0058]-[0062] of Gibby – location and orientation of medical imaging device used to reconstruct the 3D image data set for the AR display), wherein the medical imaging device captured the 2D image data (fig 6, fig 7, fig 8A, [0051], [0059], and [0068] of Gibby).
Regarding claim 2: Gibby discloses the method as in claim 1 (as rejected above), further comprising displaying 2D image data while viewing patient anatomy through an augmented reality (AR) headset (fig 1(114) and [0024]-[0025] of Gibby).
Regarding claim 3: Gibby discloses the method as in claim 1 (as rejected above), further comprising displaying a procedure guidance indicator for a medical tool or augmentation tag identified by the AR headset to the 3D coordinate of the point (fig 3, fig 4(400,402,404), [0040]-[0041], and [0046]-[0047] of Gibby).
Regarding claim 4: Gibby discloses the method as in claim 1 (as rejected above), wherein the 2D image data is an ultrasound image (fig 8B and [0071]-[0072] of Gibby).
Regarding claim 5: Gibby discloses the method as in claim 1 (as rejected above), wherein the medical imaging device has an optical marker on a surface of the medical imaging device to identify a placement of the medical imaging device and provide 3D coordinates of the 2D image data (figs 6-7(652,658), [0055], and [0059] of Gibby).
Regarding claim 39: Gibby discloses the method as in claim 1 (as rejected above), wherein the location of the medical imaging device further comprises a position and orientation of the medical imaging device (figs 6-7, [0055], and [0059]-[0060] of Gibby).
Regarding claim 40: Gibby discloses the method as in claim 1 (as rejected above), further comprising displaying 2D images from the medical imaging device while viewing patient anatomy using an augmented reality (AR) headset, in order to generate a 3D spatial mapping (fig 1 and [0027]-[0028] of Gibby).
Regarding claim 41: Gibby discloses the method as in claim 1 (as rejected above), further comprising providing a navigation path from a medical tool identified by the AR headset to the point (fig 4(404) and [0047] of Gibby).
Contact Information
/JAMES A THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615