DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-5 and 9-10 are pending as amended on 23 December 2025, claims 6-8 are withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and the remarks/arguments have been entered and fully considered.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the rejection of claims 1, 3-5 and 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) over US2017/0214051A1 (Yoon). The rejection has been withdrawn. However, the amendment does not overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Yoon.
Applicant’s arguments in light of the amendment have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Yoon’s tetralin slurry is considered to volatile during vacuum drying, however, Yoon teaches that “the solvent may be reduced by vacuum drying” after heat treatment ([0098]), thus Yoon’s vacuum drying is an optional treatment following heat treatment. Indeed Yoon expressly discloses that “the solvent may be removed by heat treatment” and exemplifies removing solvent by drying at temperature of 120°C ([0097] and [0108]). Since Yoon teaches heat treatment applying a temperature and duration similar to the instant disclosed (Yoon [0098] and instant disclosure [0045]), absent evidence to the contrary, the examiner maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable basis to expect that the amount of the residual solvent would be the same as the instantly claimed given the same solvent undergoing the same heating/drying process. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the amount of the residual tetralin in the electrode layer in order to obtain a workable product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon.
Regarding claims 1 and 3-5, Yoon teaches an electrode active material layer for all solid state battery comprises an electrode active material, a solid electrolyte and a solvent ([0013]), Figure 1 and [0100]), wherein the solid electrolyte is a sulfide based solid electrolyte([0021]), and the solvent includes tetralin ([0070]), which meets the claimed residual liquid thus inherently the claimed δp and boiling point.
Yoon does not expressly discloses the instantly claimed amount of residual liquid in the electrode layer, however, Yoon teaches that heat treatment of the electrode layer to remove/reduce solvent by applying a temperature of 20 to 150° C. for about 10 to 50 minutes ([0098]), which is similar to the instant disclosed (instant disclosure [0045]), absent evidence to the contrary, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable basis to expect that the amount of the residual solvent would be the same as the instantly claimed given the same solvent undergoing the same heating/drying process. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the amount of the residual tetralin in the electrode layer in order to obtain a workable product.
Regarding claim 9, Yoon teaches that the electrode layer can be an anode layer ([0090] and [0096]).
Regarding claim 10, Yoon teaches an all solid state battery comprises an cathode, a solid electrolyte and an anode stacked together ([0005] and [0100]), wherein the cathode and/or the anode comprises the electrode active material layer ([0090]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766