DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang (J. Org. Chem. 2020, 85, 3349−3357).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 6, Liang teaches a material represented by 3a ( 3350 page):
3a reads on applicant’ Formula 1 and 1-1 wherein R1 = phenyl; A = naphthyl; R2= H (per claims 1-2). 3a contains a methyl substituent on the phenyl group of R1 (per claim 6).
Allowable Subject Matter I
Claims 3-5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of Liang fails to show:
-HAr (per claims 3-5)
Compounds (per claim 7)
Allowable Subject Matter II
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter as applicant claims a plurality of host represented by Formula 1 and Formula 2.
A search of the prior art fails to show the limitations of independent claim 8. The closest prior art as exemplified by:
Liang teaches 3a which reads on applicants’ Formula 1, as discussed above. Liang fails to teach 3a as a host in a combination reading on applicants’ Formula 1 and Formula 3.
Cho (US 2020/0028089 A1) teaches an organic electroluminescent device according to the present disclosure comprises an anode; a cathode; and at least one organic layer between the anode and the cathode. The organic layer comprises a light-emitting layer comprising a host and a phosphorescent dopant. The host comprises a plurality of host compounds, at least a first host compound of the plurality of host compounds represented by Formula 1 or Formula 2 (first host) and the second host (Formula 3) (paragraph 50). Cho’s Formula 1 and Formula 2 is shown below:
..
The office notes that Cho’s Formula 2 shows applicants’ A as a naphthyl group and R2 as an amino group but lacks the required selenium atom. Cho’s Formula 2 reads on applicants’ Formula 2 wherein X1 and Y1 can be NR, =N-, O or S; the amino group shows options point of attachment. Cho fails to teach the combination of applicants’ Formula 1 and 2 as required by independent claim 8.
Liang and Cho fail to teach, suggest or offer guidance that would render it obvious modify the exemplified compounds to arrive at combination of independent claim 8.
Claims 8-9 allowed.
Allowable Subject Matter III
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter as applicant claims a plurality of host represented by Formula 1 and Formula 3.
The closest prior art as exemplified by Liang teaches 3a which reads on applicants’ Formula 1, as discussed above. Liang fails to teach a combination of 3a and applicants’ Formula 3.
Claims 10-15 allowed.
Allowable Subject Matter IIII
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter as applicant claims a plurality of host represented by Formula 1 and Formula 4, as required by independent claim 16.
A search of the prior art fails to show the limitations of independent claim 10. The closest prior art as exemplified by Liang teaches 3a which reads on applicants’ Formula 1, as discussed above. Liang fails to teach 3a as a combination with applicants’ Formula 4. The closest prior art:
Kim (US 2017/0309841) teaches a plurality of host including a metal complex and a heterocycle compound (paragraph 8). The heterocycle is represented by H2-37 (page 21):
H2-37 reads on applicants’ Formula 4 wherein Ar10 is benzopyrimidine; L100 is a single bond; V = NX13, X13 is phenyl; X101 and X102 = H.
While Kim teaches applicants’ Formula 4, Kim fails to teach a combination with applicants’ Formula 1 as required by independent claim 16
Claims 16-17 allowed.
Allowable Subject Matter V
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter as applicant claims a plurality of host represented by Formula 1 and Formula 5, as required by independent claim 18. The closest prior art:
Liang teaches 3a which reads on applicants’ Formula 1, as discussed above. Liang fails to teach 3a as a host material in a combination with applicants’ Formula 5.
Kim II (US 2018/0182973 A1) teaches a plurality of host compounds (paragraph 7) one of the host is represented by H1-17 (page 7):
H1-17 reads on applicants’ Formula 5 wherein Ar = carbazole; Lr = biphenylene; Lq = single bond; Arq = phenyl; Lp = phenylene; T = 5-1; R6-R8 = H.
Kim II fails to teach H1-17 in a combination with applicants’ Formula 1 as required by independent claim 18.
Claims 18-20 allowed.
Allowable Subject Matter VI
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter as applicant claims the devices of independent claims 21, 22, 23, 24, and 25.
A search of the prior art did not show the claimed invention. As each of the independent claims require an OLED containing applicants’ Formula 1 and Liang (the only reference showing applicants’ Formula 1) fails to teach an OLED containing 3a as required by the limitations of independent claims 21, 22, 23, 24, and 25.
Claims 21-25 allowed.
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786