Detailed Action
This Office Action is taken in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 03/30/2026 regarding Application No. 17/979,258 originally filed on 11/02/2022. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered as follows:
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues “Tsuge Teaches Centralized Emergency Reporting to a Control Center, Not Broadcast to Surrounding Vehicles” and that “to arrive at the claimed limitation—passenger location transmitted to surrounding vehicles—the Examiner must abandon Tsuge’s established communication architecture and redirect Tsuge’s emergency report through Lee’s V2V channel instead.” [Remarks, pp. 8-9]. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The rejection does not rely on Tsuge alone for transmission to surrounding vehicles. Tsuge is relied upon for detecting that an occupant who was inside the vehicle before the emergency is outside the vehicle after the emergency (as per “the processor is configured to perform determination as to whether an occupant who has been present inside the vehicle before occurrence of the emergency is present inside the vehicle or outside the vehicle after the occurrence of the emergency” in ¶6, as per “The occupant can get out of the vehicle after the collision detection, or can be thrown out of the vehicle upon the collision” in ¶76). Lee is relied upon for notifying surrounding vehicles and facilities/control centers of the fallback/MRM (as per “The vehicle 100 may provide a notification of the performance of the minimal risk maneuver to the surrounding vehicle or surrounding facilities” in ¶223). Katta is relied upon for transmitting safety/information messages through edge/vRSU infrastructure to vehicles and roadway/control-center infrastructure (as per ¶12, ¶13, ¶25, ¶28, ¶41, and ¶72). Therefore, Applicant attacks Tsuge individually rather than the applied combination.
The applicant argues “The Combination Does Not Teach Transmitting Passenger Location ‘Together with the Fallback Situation’ in a Single Unified Transmission to Surrounding Vehicles” and that the claim requires “a single, integrated transmission carrying both pieces of information to surrounding vehicles and control centers simultaneously.” [Remarks, pp. 9-10]. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claims recite transmitting the generated passenger-location information “together with the fallback situation,” but do not require the specific “single unified transmission” or “simultaneous” limitation argued by Applicant. Lee teaches that the MRM notification may include whether the MRM is performed, the time, type, position, state of the vehicle, and “various information on the minimal risk maneuver.” (as per ¶225). Katta further teaches information messages and custom message sets through edge/vRSU infrastructure. (as per “the systems and methods discussed herein may advantageously support both SAE message set and custom message sets” in ¶72). In the combined system, Wolfgang’s generated person-location information is included with Lee’s fallback/MRM notification and transmitted through Katta’s edge infrastructure. Thus, the combination teaches or suggests transmitting the passenger-location information together with the fallback situation.
The applicant argues “Tsuge’s Location Information Is Vehicle Location, Not Real-Time Location of an Escaped Passenger.” [Remarks, pp. 10]. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The rejection as maintained does not rely on Tsuge for the passenger-coordinate generation. Tsuge is relied upon for the emergency outside-occupant determination (as per ¶6, ¶61, ¶76, ¶93, ¶101, ¶147, and ¶150). Wolfgang is relied upon for generating location information for a person outside a vehicle using vehicle-mounted sensors. Wolfgang teaches recording image data of vehicle surroundings using cameras attached to the vehicle, measuring distances between detected persons and the vehicle, and using radar/distance measurement in the plausibility operation (as per ¶59, ¶69, ¶82, Abstract, and claim 7). Further, the claims do not recite “continuously-updated” tracking or require tracking a passenger “as the occupant moves away from the vehicle and potentially into a live traffic lane.” Those arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims.
The applicant argues “Wolfgang Is Misapplied—It Teaches a Search-and-Rescue Context, Not Emergency Escape Response” and that “Wolfgang does not disclose any transmission step whatsoever.” [Remarks, pp. 10-11]. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Wolfgang is relied upon for the vehicle-based person-location technique, not for the emergency-escape context or the edge transmission path. Wolfgang teaches locating a person around a vehicle using vehicle-mounted image data and distance calculations. (as per “image data depicting the surroundings of vehicle 10 are automatically and continuously recorded” in ¶59, as per “measuring distances d1, d2 between each of the detected persons 12, 14 and the vehicle 10” in ¶69, as per ¶82). Tsuge supplies the emergency outside-occupant context, Lee supplies the fallback/MRM notification framework, and Katta supplies the edge transmission path. The fact that Wolfgang’s example context differs from the claimed emergency context does not defeat the rejection because the relied-upon teaching is a known vehicle-based technique for locating a person outside/around a vehicle.
The applicant argues “Katta’s Edge Infrastructure Processes Vehicle Location, Not Passenger Location,” particularly with respect to claim 20. [Remarks, pp. 11-12]. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Katta is not relied upon for generating the passenger-location content. Wolfgang teaches obtaining person-location information and transmitting the determined position to a computing device (as per “a transmission device which is configured to transmit the determined position of the person to be located to the computing device” in ¶17, as per “A transmission device 108 is designed to transmit the specific position of the person 12 to be located to the computing device 106” in ¶95). Katta teaches edge infrastructure for transmitting, receiving, processing, and routing safety/information messages, including custom message sets and location-based routing (as per ¶12, ¶41, ¶71, and ¶72). Thus, in the combined system, the passenger-location information obtained using Wolfgang is communicated through Katta’s edge infrastructure. Applicant’s argument that Katta alone processes vehicle location does not address the combination.
The applicant argues “The Examiner’s Stated Motivation to Combine Is Legally Insufficient” because the applied references have different established functions and allegedly would not be combined. [Remarks, pp. 12-13]. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lee teaches that during an MRM/fallback situation, the vehicle warns surrounding vehicles and facilities of risks (as per ¶138 and ¶223). Tsuge teaches that, after an emergency, an occupant who was previously inside the vehicle may be outside the vehicle because the occupant got out or was thrown out (as per ¶6 and ¶76). Wolfgang teaches locating a person around a vehicle using vehicle-mounted image data and distance calculations (as per ¶59, ¶69, and ¶82). Katta teaches transmitting safety/information messages through edge infrastructure (as per ¶12, ¶13, ¶25, ¶41, and ¶72). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the generated escaped-passenger location information in Lee’s fallback/MRM notification and transmit it through Katta’s edge infrastructure because an escaped or ejected passenger near a vehicle undergoing a fallback/minimal risk maneuver is an additional roadway hazard to surrounding vehicles. The combination would predictably notify surrounding vehicles of the passenger’s location and reduce the risk of a secondary accident.
The applicant argues “The Invention Solves a Novel Problem Unrecognized by the Prior Art” and that none of the cited references recognizes “protection of escaped passengers from secondary accidents through real-time V2V location broadcasting.” [Remarks, pp. 13]. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The prior art need not recognize the identical problem stated by Applicant where the claimed arrangement would have been obvious for reasons supported by the applied references. Lee recognizes collision risks during autonomous driving malfunction and teaches warning surrounding vehicles of risks. (as per ¶61 and ¶138). Tsuge recognizes that occupants may get out of the vehicle or be thrown out after an emergency (as per ¶76). Wolfgang teaches locating persons around a vehicle using vehicle-mounted sensors (as per ¶59, ¶69, and ¶82). Katta teaches edge-based V2X transmission of safety messages (as per ¶12, ¶13, ¶41, and ¶72). These teachings provide a sufficient reason to combine and meet the claimed subject matter. Applicant’s “novel problem” argument is therefore not persuasive.
The applicant argues that claims 10, 19, and 20 recite additional features not disclosed by the art. [Remarks, pp. 13-14]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 10 and 19 are met by the combination because Tsuge teaches detecting that the occupant is outside the vehicle after the emergency, Wolfgang teaches generating the location of the person outside the vehicle using vehicle-mounted sensors, and Katta teaches transmitting safety messages through edge infrastructure. Claim 20 is met because Wolfgang teaches obtaining the position of a person to a computing device, and Katta teaches using edge infrastructure as the communication and processing path for location-based vehicle safety messages (as per Wolfgang ¶17, ¶95; Katta ¶12, ¶41, ¶71, ¶72). Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Pub. No. 20230399019) in view of Tsuge (US Pub. No. 20230023067) in view of Wolfgang (WO Pub. No. 2014198548) in further view of Katta (US Pub. No. 20230199449).
As per Claim 1, Lee discloses of a vehicle for performing minimal risk maneuver (as per Abstract) comprising:
an autonomous driving system controlling autonomous driving of a vehicle; (as per "a vehicle 100 may support autonomous driving. According to embodiments, the vehicle 100 can perform steering, acceleration, braking, shifting, or parking without an operation of a driver, and can be driven under the control of the driver when the driver intervenes. For example, the vehicle 100 may mean a vehicle capable of performing autonomous driving according to a level 3 or higher according to society of automation engineers (SAE). " in ¶28)
an error detection unit detecting a fallback situation; (as per "the vehicle 100 may determine whether a failure occurs in the components and functions of the vehicle 100 and the position of the failure." in ¶211)
a safety controller driving a safety process for each fallback situation when a fallback situation occurs, (as per “When the vehicle 100 performs autonomous driving, a specific event that prevents the autonomous driving from continuing may occur. When the specific event occurs, the vehicle 100 may be in a (unexpected) risk state. The minimal risk maneuver may be performed on the vehicle 100 in order to release (or relieve) such a risk state” in ¶56, as per “Referring to FIGS. 1 to 3 , a request for the minimal risk maneuver is generated (S110). According to the embodiments, the processor 130 may detect the vehicle 100 and a state around the vehicle 100, and may generate the request for the minimal risk maneuver in accordance with the detection result” in ¶72)
transmits the fallback situation to surrounding vehicles and control centers (as per “when a failure occurs in the control system, the vehicle 100 may turn on or off the hazard warning light by using lighting control or transmit an emergency message to a control center by using a communication control function (or network redundancy)” in ¶114, as per “The vehicle 100 may provide a notification of the performance of the minimal risk maneuver to the surrounding vehicle or surrounding facilities (e.g., infrastructure, police station, fire station, hospital, etc.)” in ¶223)
so as to notify the surrounding vehicles of risks for preventing a secondary accident; (as per “If the minimal risk maneuver is not performed, the vehicle 100 may collide with another vehicle, pedestrians, or other structures due to a malfunction of (autonomous) driving, and thus the driver, occupant or pedestrian may be injured.” in ¶61; as per “the ADS can monitor the state of the ADS, determine the MRM type, control the subject vehicle, and warn factors (e.g., surrounding vehicles) around the subject vehicle of risks.” in ¶138; as per “This intends to prevent a collision with a vehicle behind the vehicle.” in ¶169)
Lee fails to expressly disclose:
a controller interworking with an edge infrastructure when a fallback situation occurs,
wherein, after detecting an emergency escape of a passenger from the vehicle,
the safety controller generates location information of the escaped passenger using vehicle-mounted sensors and
transmits the generated location information of the escaped passenger to control centers through the edge infrastructure.
Tsuge discloses of a vehicle with emergency reporting function, comprising:
wherein, after detecting an emergency escape of a passenger from the vehicle, (as per “The vehicle ECU 31 may collect information about the state of the occupant after the collision detection, for example, by means of the occupant monitoring device 37. The occupant can get out of the vehicle after the collision detection, or can be thrown out of the vehicle upon the collision” in ¶76, as per “The vehicle outside occupant detector is configured to perform detection that an occupant of the vehicle is present outside the vehicle. On the basis of the detection by the vehicle outside occupant detector, the processor is configured to perform determination as to whether an occupant who has been present inside the vehicle before occurrence of the emergency is present inside the vehicle or outside the vehicle after the occurrence of the emergency” in ¶6)
the safety controller generates location information using vehicle-mounted sensors (as per “The vehicle ECU 31 determines, on the basis of the detection by the vehicle inside camera 38 and the vehicle outside camera 44,” in ¶180, as per “details of the emergency report. Non-limiting examples of the details of the emergency report may include a site, i.e., a position of the automobile 2 that has made the emergency report, a report time, and a reported or predicted state about the automobile 2 and the occupant” in ¶40, as per “Non-limiting examples of the information on the emergency may include a type, a degree, an occurrence time, and a current location” in ¶117, as per “The vehicle outside camera 44 may capture an image of the outside of the vehicle, e.g., surroundings of the automobile 2. In one embodiment, the vehicle outside camera 44 may serve as a “vehicle outside occupant detector”. The vehicle outside camera 44 may be a 360-degree camera that captures an image of the entire surroundings of the automobile 2, or may be a plurality of cameras provided toward the surroundings of the automobile 2 to have angles of view differ from each other. In a case where an occupant who has got out of the automobile 2 or an occupant thrown out of the automobile 2 is present around the automobile 2, the vehicle outside camera 44 may capture an image of such an occupant present outside the vehicle. Processing a vehicle outside captured image of the vehicle outside camera 44 makes it possible to distinguish or recognize the occupant present outside the automobile 2. Note that the occupant present outside the automobile 2 may be detected by a vehicle outside occupant detector other than the vehicle outside camera 44, for example, by a radar that outputs a millimeter wave toward the surroundings of the automobile 2” in ¶61, as per “The vehicle outside calling device may include the vehicle outside camera 44 and may be capable of video calling. The vehicle outside calling device may serve as a “second calling device”. An occupant present outside the automobile 2 may use the vehicle outside speaker 45 and the vehicle outside microphone 46 for a phone call outside the vehicle” in ¶64)
transmits the generated location information to control centers; (as per “the control system 30 of the automobile 2 may make an emergency report to the operator terminal 3 of the emergency support center from the mobile communicator 33 to be described later, through the base station 6 and the communication network 7” in ¶28, as per “the vehicle ECU 31 may generate an emergency report and automatically transmit the emergency report to the operator terminal 3 via the mobile communicator 33 on the basis of the detection” in ¶69)
In this way, Tsuge teaches detecting that a passenger/occupant who was inside the vehicle before the emergency is outside the vehicle after the emergency, including where the occupant voluntarily exits or is thrown from the vehicle. Like Lee, Tsuge is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee with the emergency outside-occupant detection function of Tsuge to determine, during an emergency/fallback context, whether a passenger who was previously inside the vehicle has escaped or been thrown outside the vehicle. Such modification provides relevant emergency occupant-status information for Lee’s surrounding-vehicle/control-center MRM notification. (¶61-¶68)
Lee and Tsuge fail to expressly disclose:
a controller interworking with an edge infrastructure when a fallback situation occurs,
the safety controller generates location information of the escaped passenger
transmits information through the edge infrastructure.
Wolfgang discloses of locating one or more persons by a vehicle, comprising:
the safety controller generates location information of the escaped passenger (as per “while the current position of vehicle 10 is determined in procedural step S02 as being within the near zone 30 which was last defined in procedural step S01, image data depicting the surroundings of vehicle 10 are automatically and continuously recorded” in ¶59, as per “measuring distances d1 , d2 between each of the detected persons 12, 14 and the vehicle 10. Additionally, a distance will be calculated between the last determined position of the person to be found 12 and the current position of the vehicle 10” in ¶69)
In this way, Wolfgang teaches generating/refining location information for a person outside a vehicle using vehicle-mounted image sensors and distance-measuring sensors, including vehicle-mounted cameras and radar/distance measurement. Like Lee and Tsuge, Wolfgang is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee and the emergency outside-occupant detection function of Tsuge with the person-location technique of Wolfgang to generate/refine the location information of the escaped passenger outside the vehicle. Tsuge supplies the emergency-escape context by determining that a previously inside occupant is outside the vehicle after the emergency, and Wolfgang supplies a known vehicle-based technique for localizing that person using vehicle-mounted sensors and distance calculations. (as per ¶59, ¶69, Abstract, Claim 7)
Lee, Tsuge, and Wolfgang fail to expressly disclose:
a controller interworking with an edge infrastructure when a fallback situation occurs,
transmits information through the edge infrastructure.
Katta discloses of virtualized road-side units for vehicle-to-everything communication, comprising:
a controller interworking with an edge infrastructure when a fallback situation occurs, (as per “instead of communicating directly with RSUs via sidelink connections, vehicles and roadside infrastructure units may communicate to vRSUs instantiated on edge computing devices (e.g., Vehicle-to-Infrastructure (V2I) communication) over point-to-point cellular communications links” in ¶28, as per “an edge computing device 104 services a first vehicle 110 and a second vehicle 120 traveling on a roadway 102, as well as a roadside infrastructure unit” in ¶24)
transmits information through the edge infrastructure. (as per “a message may be generated for transmission to the vehicle, such as over a wireless cellular communication link. The message may be based upon the set of infrastructure information, and in various embodiments may be a safety message and/or an information message” in ¶13, as per “, a vehicle (such as first vehicle 110 and/or second vehicle 120) may communicate with vRSUs with which they are associated (such as vRSUs instantiated by edge computing device 104 and/or edge computing device 204), and may transmit information to the vRSUs and receive information from the associated vRSUs. A vehicle may use a cloud server at a well-known end point to get a service listing and/or a resource endpoint corresponding with a nearest edge server (e.g., an edge computing device 104 and/or edge computing device 204)” in ¶41, as per “Roadside infrastructure unit 130, which in various embodiments may include hardware for interfacing with and/or controlling one or more traffic signaling devices and/or other roadside infrastructure devices, may be in communication with (or may include) a cabinet or controller unit 140, which may have an interface to a RO network link 152 through which it is in communication with an RO Traffic Management Center (TMC) backend device 160 (e.g., a server). Edge computing device 104 and/or TMC backend device 160 may communicate over the internet with various other portions of RO network 150, such as various other remote and/or distributed edge computing devices and/or cloud computing devices of a cloud 170 of computing resources (which may include public cloud portions and/or private cloud portions)” in ¶25)
In this way, Katta teaches edge infrastructure for transmitting information messages between vehicles, edge computing devices, and infrastructure. Like Lee, Tsuge, and Wolfgang, Katta is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee, the emergency outside-occupant detection function of Tsuge, and the person-location technique of Wolfgang with the edge communication system of Katta to transmit the generated escaped-passenger location information together with Lee’s fallback/MRM information through edge infrastructure to surrounding vehicles and control-center infrastructure (¶59, ¶25, ¶72). Lee already teaches notifying surrounding vehicles and facilities of MRM/fallback risks; Tsuge teaches that an occupant may be outside the vehicle after an emergency; Wolfgang teaches generating that person’s location using vehicle-mounted sensors; and Katta teaches using edge infrastructure to distribute safety messages to vehicles and infrastructure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an escaped or ejected passenger near a vehicle undergoing a fallback/MRM is an additional roadway hazard, and that including the passenger’s location in the fallback/MRM notification would predictably notify surrounding vehicles of the passenger’s location and reduce the risk of a secondary accident.
As per Claim 2, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Lee further discloses:
wherein the safety process includes at least one of safety zone emergency stop scenario including location and movement route to a safety zone in conjunction with the edge infrastructure; (as per "Referring to FIG. 15, the vehicle 100 may stop in a safety zone when performing the minimal risk maneuver. In the present specification, the safety zone means a zone in which the vehicle 100 can safely stop among zones on the road, and may mean, for example, a rest stop, a shoulder, or a variable lane that is not in use." in ¶200)
a vehicle control scenario of autonomous driving system maintaining autonomous driving; (as per "the vehicle 100 being driven may initiate the minimal risk maneuver when the minimal risk maneuver is required. That is, the driving state S1 may be transitioned to the minimum risk maneuver state S2... In the minimum risk maneuver state S2, the vehicle 100 may perform an operation for reducing the risk of the vehicle 100." in ¶53-¶54)
an emergency stop scenario for emergency-stopping the vehicle; (as per "When a failure occurs due to inevitable extrinsic circumstances, the vehicle 100 may reduce its speed or may perform in-lane stop or (emergency) shoulder stop." in ¶96)
a driver control switching scenario in which a control right of the autonomous vehicle is switched to a driver to guide a location and route of a safety zone. (as per “if a problem of the autonomous driving function is not resolved, the vehicle 100 may perform manual driving by transferring the control authority to the driver instead of continuously maintaining the autonomous driving.” in ¶218)
As per Claim 3, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the error detection unit includes:
an operation design domain (ODD) detection module detecting a malfunction of an ODD that defines a specific operating condition of an automated driving system (ADS); (as per “The vehicle 100 may monitor the state of each of the components of the vehicle 100 in real time.” in ¶73)
a hardware detection module detecting a malfunction of hardware installed in the autonomous vehicle; (as per "The specific event may include failure of components of the vehicle 100, deviation of the vehicle 100 path, control failure of the vehicle 100." in ¶57)
a network detection module detecting a malfunction of network equipment in the autonomous vehicle; (as per "when a failure occurs in an in-vehicle network, the vehicle 100 may perform the in-lane stop or deceleration by using network redundancy. That is, even if a failure occurs in the in-vehicle network, the vehicle 100 transmits commands on the network by using previously obtained redundancy" in ¶109)
a software detection module detecting a malfunction of software by detecting an amount and type of data transmitted and received between each hardware in the autonomous driving system; (as per "The vehicle 100 may check the state of the hardware configuration and the software configuration of the vehicle 100. According to the embodiments, the vehicle 100 may determine whether a failure occurs in the components and functions of the vehicle 100..." in ¶155)
a driving detection module detecting a malfunction in at least one of longitudinal to lateral control, stop, and speed control of the vehicle as an operation of the autonomous driving system. (as per " the level 1 MRM type may be selected in the case of a lane detection failure, control failure of a lateral actuator (steering), etc." in ¶149)
As per Claim 4, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Lee further discloses:
wherein, when the error detection unit detects a fallback situation in which it is possible to perform autonomous driving of the autonomous driving system and to switch a control right to driver, (as per "the vehicle 100 may determine whether to give the control authority of the minimal risk maneuver to the vehicle 100 or to the driver." in ¶228)
the safety controller switches the driving control right of the autonomous driving system to a driver and establishes and outputs a response strategy including at least one of:
a set destination, (as per “The type of the minimal risk maneuver may include stopping the vehicle, controlling the steering of the vehicle, maintaining a lane, providing visual, audible and tactile notifications, decelerating the vehicle, accelerating the vehicle, and initiating/ending the autonomous driving, turning off the vehicle...” in ¶76)
a movement route to a safety zone,
information on a company that can be called in an emergency by interworking with the edge infrastructure. (as per “vehicle 100 may turn on or off the hazard warning light by using lighting control or transmit an emergency message to a control center by using a communication control function (or network redundancy).” in ¶114)
As per Claim 5, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Lee further discloses:
wherein, when a detection signal of a fallback situation in which autonomous driving is impossible and it is possible to switch a driving control right to a driver is received from the error detection unit, (as per "if a problem of the autonomous driving function is not resolved, the vehicle 100 may perform manual driving by transferring the control authority to the driver instead of continuously maintaining the autonomous driving." in ¶218)
the safety controller switches a driving control right of the autonomous driving system to a driver and establishes and outputs a response strategy including at least one of:
a set destination,
a route to a safety zone, (as per “"when there exists a common safety zone indicated by each of the determinations S220 to S240, the vehicle 100 may stop in the common safety zone." in ¶206, as per "the vehicle 100 determines that the safety zone exists, and travels to the common safety zone and stops" in ¶208)
information on a company that can be called in an emergency by interworking with the edge infrastructure. (as per “vehicle 100 may turn on or off the hazard warning light by using lighting control or transmit an emergency message to a control center by using a communication control function (or network redundancy).” in ¶114)
As per Claim 6, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein, when the error detection unit detects a fallback situation in which it is impossible to switch a driving control right to a driver and it is possible to establish a fallback minimal risk condition (MRC) in the autonomous driving system, the safety controller maintains vehicle control in the autonomous driving system. (as per "When an event C1 occurs in the MRM performing step S920, a transition to a minimal risk condition (MRC) step S930 may occur. The event C1 may mean that the speed of the subject vehicle is 0, that is, the subject vehicle stops. When an event C2 occurs in the MRM performing step S920, a transition to the ADS standby or ADS off step S940 may occur. The event C2 may mean that the intervention of the driver is made while the MRM is being performed." in ¶138)
As per Claim 7, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Lee further discloses:
wherein, when the error detection unit detects a fallback situation in which it is impossible to switch a driving control right to a driver and to establish and execute a fallback MRC set in the autonomous driving system itself, (as per "The vehicle 100 may determine an entity of the control authority based on a cause that requires the minimal risk maneuver. As described above, when a specific event (e.g., risk) occurs for the vehicle 100, a request for the minimal risk maneuver may be generated. The vehicle 100 can determine the entity of the control authority based on the characteristics of the event which requests the minimal risk maneuver." in ¶229)
the safety controller requests and receives location information of a safety zone where emergency stop is possible through the edge infrastructure to move the vehicle to the safety zone (as per "The vehicle 100 may determine whether the safety zone exists or not by using navigation information (S220). According to the embodiments, the vehicle 100 may determine whether or not the safety zone exists on the road around the vehicle 100 by using the current position of the vehicle 100 and navigation information." in ¶202) and emergency-stop the vehicle by controlling the autonomous driving system. (as per “the vehicle 100 may stop in a safety zone when performing the minimal risk maneuver. In the present specification, the safety zone means a zone in which the vehicle 100 can safely stop among zones on the road, and may mean, for example, a rest stop, a shoulder, or a variable lane that is not in use.” in ¶200)
As per Claim 8, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Lee further discloses:
wherein, when the error detection unit detects a fallback situation in which it is impossible to switch a driving control right to a driver and a fallback MRC set in the autonomous driving system itself is impossible, (as per “The vehicle 100 can determine the entity of the control authority based on the characteristics of the event which requests the minimal risk maneuver." in ¶229)
and location information of a safety zone where an emergency stop is possible is not received, (as per "When the common safety zone indicated by each of the determinations S220 to S240 does not exist, the vehicle 100 may determine that there is no safety zone and continue to travel without stopping." in ¶207) the safety controller makes an emergency stop by controlling the autonomous driving system in conjunction with the edge infrastructure. (as per "When only the brake control of the vehicle 100 is possible and other control functions fail, the straight stop can be performed by controlling the brake of the vehicle 100 or by removing the driving force of the vehicle 100." in ¶81, as per "When a failure occurs due to inevitable extrinsic circumstances, the vehicle 100 may reduce its speed or may perform in-lane stop or (emergency) shoulder stop." in ¶96
As per Claim 9, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Lee further discloses:
wherein, when the error detection unit detects a fallback situation in which autonomous driving of the autonomous driving system is not possible and it is impossible to switch a driving control right to a driver, (as per “the controller 120 can control emergency braking to be operated automatically when collision is expected, etc.” in ¶43)
the safety controller emergency-stops the vehicle by controlling the autonomous driving system in conjunction with the edge infrastructure. (as per "When a failure occurs due to inevitable extrinsic circumstances, the vehicle 100 may reduce its speed or may perform in-lane stop or (emergency) shoulder stop." in ¶96)
As per Claim 10, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 8. Lee fails to expressly disclose wherein the safety controller generates location information by detecting the location of the passenger who escapes from the vehicle, and shares the location information of the passenger through the edge infrastructure.
See Claim 8 for teachings of Wolfgang. Wolfgang further discloses wherein the safety controller generates location information by detecting the location of the passenger who escapes from the vehicle. (as per “while the current position of vehicle 10 is determined in procedural step S02 as being within the near zone 30 which was last defined in procedural step S01, image data depicting the surroundings of vehicle 10 are automatically and continuously recorded” in ¶59, as per “measuring distances d1 , d2 between each of the detected persons 12, 14 and the vehicle 10. Additionally, a distance will be calculated between the last determined position of the person to be found 12 and the current position of the vehicle 10” in ¶69)
In this way, Wolfgang operates to localize a person using vehicle sensors (¶49-¶51, ¶91-¶92). Like Lee, Tsuge, and Katta, Wolfgang is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee, the emergency reporting function of Tsuge, and the communication system of Katta with the locating device as taught by Wolfgang to enable another standard means of derive/confirm/refine a person’s location outside of a vehicle (as per Fig. 2).
Lee, Tsuge, and Wolfgang fail to expressly disclose sharing the location information of the passenger through the edge infrastructure.
See Claim 8 for teachings of Katta. Katta further discloses sharing the location information of the passenger through the edge infrastructure. (as per “a message may be generated for transmission to the vehicle, such as over a wireless cellular communication link. The message may be based upon the set of infrastructure information, and in various embodiments may be a safety message and/or an information message” in ¶13, as per “Processors 540 may generate, based upon the subscription of the vehicle to the identifier, a message for transmission to the vehicle over the wireless cellular communication link, the message being based upon the set of infrastructure information” in ¶59)
In this way, Katta operates to facilitate the provision of infrastructure information to vehicles through the use of virtualized RSUs (vRSUs) and wireless cellular communication technologies, such as fourth-generation (4G) and/or fifth-generation (5G) wireless cellular communication technologies (¶12). Like Lee, Tsuge, and Wolfgang, Katta is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee, the emergency reporting function of Tsuge, and the locating device of Wolfgang with the communication system as taught by Katta to enable another standard means of communicating data/information (i.e. locations of vehicles, entities, etc. as per Abstract) via edge computing devices (as per ¶59, ¶13).
As per Claim 11, Lee discloses of a vehicle for performing minimal risk maneuver (as per Abstract) comprising:
controlling an autonomous vehicle in an autonomous driving system; (as per "a vehicle 100 may support autonomous driving. According to embodiments, the vehicle 100 can perform steering, acceleration, braking, shifting, or parking without an operation of a driver, and can be driven under the control of the driver when the driver intervenes. For example, the vehicle 100 may mean a vehicle capable of performing autonomous driving according to a level 3 or higher according to society of automation engineers (SAE). " in ¶28)
detecting a fallback situation during autonomous driving; (as per "the vehicle 100 may determine whether a failure occurs in the components and functions of the vehicle 100 and the position of the failure." in ¶211)
selecting any one of a plurality of scenarios set for fallback situations, (as per "vehicle 100 may determine whether to perform the minimal risk maneuver (S230). According to the embodiments, the vehicle 100 may determine whether to perform the minimal risk maneuver based on the determined state of the vehicle 100." in ¶212, as per "vehicle 100 may communicate with another vehicle (vehicle to vehicle) or with an infrastructure (vehicle to infrastructure) by using the communication circuit 150." in ¶49) and performing a safety process according to the selected scenario, (as per "vehicle 100 may determine whether to perform the minimal risk maneuver (S230). According to the embodiments, the vehicle 100 may determine whether to perform the minimal risk maneuver based on the determined state of the vehicle 100." in ¶212)
transmitting the fallback situation to surrounding vehicles and control centers; (as per “when a failure occurs in the control system, the vehicle 100 may turn on or off the hazard warning light by using lighting control or transmit an emergency message to a control center by using a communication control function (or network redundancy)” in ¶114, as per “The vehicle 100 may provide a notification of the performance of the minimal risk maneuver to the surrounding vehicle or surrounding facilities (e.g., infrastructure, police station, fire station, hospital, etc.)” in ¶223)
so as to notify the surrounding vehicles of risks for preventing a secondary accident; (as per “If the minimal risk maneuver is not performed, the vehicle 100 may collide with another vehicle, pedestrians, or other structures due to a malfunction of (autonomous) driving, and thus the driver, occupant or pedestrian may be injured.” in ¶61; as per “the ADS can monitor the state of the ADS, determine the MRM type, control the subject vehicle, and warn factors (e.g., surrounding vehicles) around the subject vehicle of risks.” in ¶138; as per “This intends to prevent a collision with a vehicle behind the vehicle.” in ¶169)
Lee fails to expressly disclose:
wherein, after detecting an emergency escape of a passenger from the vehicle,
the safety process includes generating location information of the escaped passenger using vehicle-mounted sensors and
transmitting the generated location information of the escaped passenger to control centers through the edge infrastructure.
Tsuge discloses of a vehicle with emergency reporting function, comprising:
wherein, after detecting an emergency escape of a passenger from the vehicle, (as per “The vehicle ECU 31 may collect information about the state of the occupant after the collision detection, for example, by means of the occupant monitoring device 37. The occupant can get out of the vehicle after the collision detection, or can be thrown out of the vehicle upon the collision” in ¶76, as per “The vehicle outside occupant detector is configured to perform detection that an occupant of the vehicle is present outside the vehicle. On the basis of the detection by the vehicle outside occupant detector, the processor is configured to perform determination as to whether an occupant who has been present inside the vehicle before occurrence of the emergency is present inside the vehicle or outside the vehicle after the occurrence of the emergency” in ¶6)
the safety process includes generating location information using vehicle-mounted sensors (as per “The vehicle ECU 31 determines, on the basis of the detection by the vehicle inside camera 38 and the vehicle outside camera 44,” in ¶180, as per “details of the emergency report. Non-limiting examples of the details of the emergency report may include a site, i.e., a position of the automobile 2 that has made the emergency report, a report time, and a reported or predicted state about the automobile 2 and the occupant” in ¶40, as per “Non-limiting examples of the information on the emergency may include a type, a degree, an occurrence time, and a current location” in ¶117, as per “The vehicle outside camera 44 may capture an image of the outside of the vehicle, e.g., surroundings of the automobile 2. In one embodiment, the vehicle outside camera 44 may serve as a “vehicle outside occupant detector”. The vehicle outside camera 44 may be a 360-degree camera that captures an image of the entire surroundings of the automobile 2, or may be a plurality of cameras provided toward the surroundings of the automobile 2 to have angles of view differ from each other. In a case where an occupant who has got out of the automobile 2 or an occupant thrown out of the automobile 2 is present around the automobile 2, the vehicle outside camera 44 may capture an image of such an occupant present outside the vehicle. Processing a vehicle outside captured image of the vehicle outside camera 44 makes it possible to distinguish or recognize the occupant present outside the automobile 2. Note that the occupant present outside the automobile 2 may be detected by a vehicle outside occupant detector other than the vehicle outside camera 44, for example, by a radar that outputs a millimeter wave toward the surroundings of the automobile 2” in ¶61, as per “The vehicle outside calling device may include the vehicle outside camera 44 and may be capable of video calling. The vehicle outside calling device may serve as a “second calling device”. An occupant present outside the automobile 2 may use the vehicle outside speaker 45 and the vehicle outside microphone 46 for a phone call outside the vehicle” in ¶64)
transmitting the generated location information to control centers (as per “the control system 30 of the automobile 2 may make an emergency report to the operator terminal 3 of the emergency support center from the mobile communicator 33 to be described later, through the base station 6 and the communication network 7” in ¶28, as per “the vehicle ECU 31 may generate an emergency report and automatically transmit the emergency report to the operator terminal 3 via the mobile communicator 33 on the basis of the detection” in ¶69)
In this way, Tsuge teaches detecting that a passenger/occupant who was inside the vehicle before the emergency is outside the vehicle after the emergency, including where the occupant voluntarily exits or is thrown from the vehicle. Like Lee, Tsuge is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee with the emergency outside-occupant detection function of Tsuge to determine, during an emergency/fallback context, whether a passenger who was previously inside the vehicle has escaped or been thrown outside the vehicle. Such modification provides relevant emergency occupant-status information for Lee’s surrounding-vehicle/control-center MRM notification. (¶61-¶68)
Lee and Tsuge fail to expressly disclose:
generating location information of the escaped passenger
transmitting information through the edge infrastructure.
Wolfgang discloses of locating one or more persons by a vehicle, comprising:
generating location information of the escaped passenger (as per “while the current position of vehicle 10 is determined in procedural step S02 as being within the near zone 30 which was last defined in procedural step S01, image data depicting the surroundings of vehicle 10 are automatically and continuously recorded” in ¶59, as per “measuring distances d1 , d2 between each of the detected persons 12, 14 and the vehicle 10. Additionally, a distance will be calculated between the last determined position of the person to be found 12 and the current position of the vehicle 10” in ¶69)
In this way, Wolfgang teaches generating/refining location information for a person outside a vehicle using vehicle-mounted image sensors and distance-measuring sensors, including vehicle-mounted cameras and radar/distance measurement. Like Lee and Tsuge, Wolfgang is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee and the emergency outside-occupant detection function of Tsuge with the person-location technique of Wolfgang to generate/refine the location information of the escaped passenger outside the vehicle. Tsuge supplies the emergency-escape context by determining that a previously inside occupant is outside the vehicle after the emergency, and Wolfgang supplies a known vehicle-based technique for localizing that person using vehicle-mounted sensors and distance calculations. (as per ¶59, ¶69, Abstract, Claim 7)
Lee, Tsuge, and Wolfgang fail to expressly disclose:
transmitting information through the edge infrastructure.
Katta discloses of virtualized road-side units for vehicle-to-everything communication, comprising:
transmitting information through the edge infrastructure. (as per “a message may be generated for transmission to the vehicle, such as over a wireless cellular communication link. The message may be based upon the set of infrastructure information, and in various embodiments may be a safety message and/or an information message” in ¶13, as per “Processors 540 may generate, based upon the subscription of the vehicle to the identifier, a message for transmission to the vehicle over the wireless cellular communication link, the message being based upon the set of infrastructure information” in ¶59)
In this way, Katta teaches edge infrastructure for transmitting information messages between vehicles, edge computing devices, and infrastructure. Like Lee, Tsuge, and Wolfgang, Katta is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee, the emergency outside-occupant detection function of Tsuge, and the person-location technique of Wolfgang with the edge communication system of Katta to transmit the generated escaped-passenger location information together with Lee’s fallback/MRM information through edge infrastructure to surrounding vehicles and control-center infrastructure (¶59, ¶25, ¶72). Lee already teaches notifying surrounding vehicles and facilities of MRM/fallback risks; Tsuge teaches that an occupant may be outside the vehicle after an emergency; Wolfgang teaches generating that person’s location using vehicle-mounted sensors; and Katta teaches using edge infrastructure to distribute safety messages to vehicles and infrastructure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an escaped or ejected passenger near a vehicle undergoing a fallback/MRM is an additional roadway hazard, and that including the passenger’s location in the fallback/MRM notification would predictably notify surrounding vehicles of the passenger’s location and reduce the risk of a secondary accident.
As per Claim 12, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 11. Lee further discloses wherein, in the detecting, a fallback situation is detected through whether at least one of an
operation design domain (ODD), (as per ¶59)
hardware, (as per "The specific event may include failure of components of the vehicle 100, deviation of the vehicle 100 path, control failure of the vehicle 100." in ¶57)
software, (as per "The vehicle 100 may check the state of the hardware configuration and the software configuration of the vehicle 100. According to the embodiments, the vehicle 100 may determine whether a failure occurs in the components and functions of the vehicle 100..." in ¶155)
network, (as per "when a failure occurs in an in-vehicle network, the vehicle 100 may perform the in-lane stop or deceleration by using network redundancy. That is, even if a failure occurs in the in-vehicle network, the vehicle 100 transmits commands on the network by using previously obtained redundancy" in ¶109)
vehicle control device, autonomous driving function operates. (as per " the level 1 MRM type may be selected in the case of a lane detection failure, control failure of a lateral actuator (steering), etc." in ¶149)
As per Claim 13, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 11. Lee further discloses wherein the selecting includes:
when a fallback situation is detected in which it is possible to perform autonomous driving of the autonomous driving system and to switch a control right to driver in the detecting, switching the driving control right of the autonomous driving system to a driver; (as per "The vehicle 100 may determine an entity of the control authority based on a cause that requires the minimal risk maneuver. As described above, when a specific event (e.g., risk) occurs for the vehicle 100, a request for the minimal risk maneuver may be generated. The vehicle 100 can determine the entity of the control authority based on the characteristics of the event which requests the minimal risk maneuver." in ¶229)
establishing and outputting a response strategy including at least one of a set destination, (as per “The type of the minimal risk maneuver may include stopping the vehicle, controlling the steering of the vehicle, maintaining a lane, providing visual, audible and tactile notifications, decelerating the vehicle, accelerating the vehicle, and initiating/ending the autonomous driving, turning off the vehicle...” in ¶76) a movement route to a safety zone, and information on a company that can be called in an emergency by interworking with the edge infrastructure. (as per “vehicle 100 may turn on or off the hazard warning light by using lighting control or transmit an emergency message to a control center by using a communication control function (or network redundancy).” in ¶114)
As per Claim 14, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 11. Lee further discloses wherein the selecting includes:
when a fallback situation is detected in which autonomous driving is impossible and it is possible to switch a driving control right to a driver in the detecting, switching a driving control right of the autonomous driving system to a driver; (as per "if a problem of the autonomous driving function is not resolved, the vehicle 100 may perform manual driving by transferring the control authority to the driver instead of continuously maintaining the autonomous driving." in ¶218)
establishing and outputting a response strategy including at least one of a set destination, a movement route to a safety zone (as per “"when there exists a common safety zone indicated by each of the determinations S220 to S240, the vehicle 100 may stop in the common safety zone." in ¶206, as per "the vehicle 100 determines that the safety zone exists, and travels to the common safety zone and stops" in ¶208), and information on a company that can be called in an emergency by interworking with the edge infrastructure. (as per “vehicle 100 may turn on or off the hazard warning light by using lighting control or transmit an emergency message to a control center by using a communication control function (or network redundancy).” in ¶114)
As per Claim 15, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 11. Lee further discloses wherein the selecting further includes when a fallback situation is detected in which it is impossible to switch a driving control right to a driver and it is possible to establish a fallback minimal risk condition (MRC) in the autonomous driving system in the detecting, maintain vehicle control in the autonomous driving system by receiving sensed information from front and rear vehicles through the edge infrastructure. (as per "When an event C1 occurs in the MRM performing step S920, a transition to a minimal risk condition (MRC) step S930 may occur. The event C1 may mean that the speed of the subject vehicle is 0, that is, the subject vehicle stops. When an event C2 occurs in the MRM performing step S920, a transition to the ADS standby or ADS off step S940 may occur. The event C2 may mean that the intervention of the driver is made while the MRM is being performed." in ¶138)
As per Claim 16, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 11. Lee further discloses wherein the selecting includes:
when a fallback situation is detected in which it is impossible to switch a driving control right to a driver and to establish and execute a fallback MRC set in the autonomous driving system itself in the detecting, (as per "The vehicle 100 may determine an entity of the control authority based on a cause that requires the minimal risk maneuver. As described above, when a specific event (e.g., risk) occurs for the vehicle 100, a request for the minimal risk maneuver may be generated. The vehicle 100 can determine the entity of the control authority based on the characteristics of the event which requests the minimal risk maneuver." in ¶229)
requesting and receiving location information of a safety zone where emergency stop is possible through the edge infrastructure; (as per "The vehicle 100 may determine whether the safety zone exists or not by using navigation information (S220). According to the embodiments, the vehicle 100 may determine whether or not the safety zone exists on the road around the vehicle 100 by using the current position of the vehicle 100 and navigation information." in ¶202)
controlling the autonomous driving system to move to a safety zone received through the edge infrastructure and making an emergency stop in the safety zone. (as per “the vehicle 100 may stop in a safety zone when performing the minimal risk maneuver. In the present specification, the safety zone means a zone in which the vehicle 100 can safely stop among zones on the road, and may mean, for example, a rest stop, a shoulder, or a variable lane that is not in use.” in ¶200)
As per Claim 17, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 11. Lee further discloses wherein the selecting includes:
when a fallback situation is detected in which it is impossible to switch a driving control right to a driver and a fallback MRC set in the autonomous driving system itself is impossible in the detecting, searching for a location of a safety zone in which emergency stop is possible through the edge infrastructure and self-sensing; (as per “The vehicle 100 can determine the entity of the control authority based on the characteristics of the event which requests the minimal risk maneuver." in ¶229)
when the safety zone in which emergency stop is possible cannot be found (as per "When the common safety zone indicated by each of the determinations S220 to S240 does not exist, the vehicle 100 may determine that there is no safety zone and continue to travel without stopping." in ¶207), controlling and emergency-stopping the autonomous driving system by interworking with the edge infrastructure. (as per "When only the brake control of the vehicle 100 is possible and other control functions fail, the straight stop can be performed by controlling the brake of the vehicle 100 or by removing the driving force of the vehicle 100." in ¶81, as per "When a failure occurs due to inevitable extrinsic circumstances, the vehicle 100 may reduce its speed or may perform in-lane stop or (emergency) shoulder stop." in ¶96)
As per Claim 18, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 11. Lee further discloses wherein the selecting includes:
when a fallback situation is detected in which autonomous driving of the autonomous driving system is not possible and it is impossible to switch a driving control right to a driver in the detecting; (as per “the controller 120 can control emergency braking to be operated automatically when collision is expected, etc.” in ¶43)
emergency-stopping the vehicle by controlling the autonomous driving system in conjunction with the edge infrastructure. (as per "When a failure occurs due to inevitable extrinsic circumstances, the vehicle 100 may reduce its speed or may perform in-lane stop or (emergency) shoulder stop." in ¶96)
As per Claim 19, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 17. Lee fails to expressly disclose wherein the selecting includes:
generating location information by detecting a location of a passenger who escapes to the outside of the vehicle, and
sharing the location information of the passenger through the edge infrastructure.
See Claim 17 for teachings of Wolfgang. Wolfgang further discloses:
generating location information by detecting a location of a passenger who escapes to the outside of the vehicle, and (as per “while the current position of vehicle 10 is determined in procedural step S02 as being within the near zone 30 which was last defined in procedural step S01, image data depicting the surroundings of vehicle 10 are automatically and continuously recorded” in ¶59, as per “measuring distances d1 , d2 between each of the detected persons 12, 14 and the vehicle 10. Additionally, a distance will be calculated between the last determined position of the person to be found 12 and the current position of the vehicle 10” in ¶69)
In this way, Wolfgang operates to localize a person using vehicle sensors (¶49-¶51, ¶91-¶92). Like Lee, Tsuge, and Katta, Wolfgang is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee, the emergency reporting function of Tsuge, and the communication system of Katta with the locating device as taught by Wolfgang to enable another standard means of derive/confirm/refine a person’s location outside of a vehicle (as per Fig. 2).
Lee, Tsuge, and Wolfgang fail to expressly disclose sharing the location information of the passenger through the edge infrastructure.
See Claim 17 for teachings of Katta. Katta further discloses sharing the location information of the passenger through the edge infrastructure. (as per “a message may be generated for transmission to the vehicle, such as over a wireless cellular communication link. The message may be based upon the set of infrastructure information, and in various embodiments may be a safety message and/or an information message” in ¶13, as per “Processors 540 may generate, based upon the subscription of the vehicle to the identifier, a message for transmission to the vehicle over the wireless cellular communication link, the message being based upon the set of infrastructure information” in ¶59)
In this way, Katta teaches edge infrastructure for transmitting information messages between vehicles, edge computing devices, and infrastructure. Like Lee, Tsuge, and Wolfgang, Katta is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee, the emergency outside-occupant detection function of Tsuge, and the person-location technique of Wolfgang with the edge communication system of Katta to transmit the generated escaped-passenger location information together with Lee’s fallback/MRM information through edge infrastructure to surrounding vehicles and control-center infrastructure (¶59, ¶25, ¶72). Lee already teaches notifying surrounding vehicles and facilities of MRM/fallback risks; Tsuge teaches that an occupant may be outside the vehicle after an emergency; Wolfgang teaches generating that person’s location using vehicle-mounted sensors; and Katta teaches using edge infrastructure to distribute safety messages to vehicles and infrastructure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an escaped or ejected passenger near a vehicle undergoing a fallback/MRM is an additional roadway hazard, and that including the passenger’s location in the fallback/MRM notification would predictably notify surrounding vehicles of the passenger’s location and reduce the risk of a secondary accident.
As per Claim 20, the combination of Lee, Tsuge, Wolfgang, and Katta teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. See Claim 1 for teachings of Tsuge and Wolfgang. Tsuge teaches the passenger outside-occupant determination, and Wolfgang teaches generating person-location information for a person outside the vehicle. (as per Tsuge: “The occupant can get out of the vehicle after the collision detection, or can be thrown out of the vehicle upon the collision” in ¶76; as per Wolfgang: “Determining (S01) at least once a position of a person (12) to be located and defining a proximity zone (30) around this position” in Abstract; as per Wolfgang: “while the current position of vehicle 10 is determined in procedural step S02 as being within the near zone 30 which was last defined in procedural step S01, image data depicting the surroundings of vehicle 10 are automatically and continuously recorded” in ¶59; as per Wolfgang: “measuring distances d1, d2 between each of the detected persons 12, 14 and the vehicle 10” in ¶69).
Wolfgang further teaches transmitting the determined position of the person to be located to a computing device. (as per “a transmission device which is configured to transmit the determined position of the person to be located to the computing device” in ¶17; as per “The headquarters continuously provides this information to the Vehicle 10… which receives this via a communication device” in ¶51-¶52; as per “A transmission device 108 is designed to transmit the specific position of the person 12 to be located to the computing device 106” in ¶95).
Lee, Tsuge, and Wolfgang fail to expressly disclose obtaining the passenger-location information through edge infrastructure.
See Claim 1 for teachings of Katta. Katta further discloses obtaining/processing/transmitting information through edge infrastructure. (as per “The vRSUs may be instantiated at a network's edge, closer to vehicles and roadway infrastructure—e.g., on edge servers inside an operator's network” in ¶12; as per “a vehicle… may communicate with vRSUs with which they are associated… and may transmit information to the vRSUs and receive information from the associated vRSUs” in ¶41; as per “the systems and methods discussed herein may advantageously support both SAE message set and custom message sets” in ¶72). Katta further teaches edge infrastructure processing and routing location-based information/messages. (as per “A location service running on edge computing device 104 may map such vehicles and/or other units to vRSUs” in ¶27; as per “the subscriber and publisher model incorporating dynamic construction of topic namespace based on location, requester identifier (ID), and service context may advantageously facilitate the routing of messages in a secure and scalable manner” in ¶71).
In this way, Katta teaches edge infrastructure for transmitting information messages between vehicles, edge computing devices, and infrastructure. Like Lee, Tsuge, and Wolfgang, Katta is concerned with vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the minimal risk maneuver system of Lee, the emergency outside-occupant detection function of Tsuge, and the person-location technique of Wolfgang with the edge communication system of Katta to transmit the generated escaped-passenger location information together with Lee’s fallback/MRM information through edge infrastructure to surrounding vehicles and control-center infrastructure (¶59, ¶25, ¶72). Lee already teaches notifying surrounding vehicles and facilities of MRM/fallback risks; Tsuge teaches that an occupant may be outside the vehicle after an emergency; Wolfgang teaches generating that person’s location using vehicle-mounted sensors; and Katta teaches using edge infrastructure to distribute safety messages to vehicles and infrastructure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that an escaped or ejected passenger near a vehicle undergoing a fallback/MRM is an additional roadway hazard, and that including the passenger’s location in the fallback/MRM notification would predictably notify surrounding vehicles of the passenger’s location and reduce the risk of a secondary accident.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658