DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 30th March 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 11 and 15-20 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 1-20 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
The objections to claims 17-20 have been withdrawn.
The rejections to claims 15 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30th March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than, and located within, a region of the Tx Fov”) are not recited in the rejected claims. However, these claim limitations were not present in the original independent claims and were presented by amendment on 30th March 2026. Therefore, the issue of whether Song, Klemme, Richards addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed in the present Office Action.
In response to applicant’s argument, see page 10 paragraph 3, regarding the feature “intersect each transmission axis”. Applicant argue that the requirement that the transmission optics intersect each of the transmission axes of the plurality of emitters imposes a particular structural relationship, and Song does not specifically disclose that the moved lens array intersects all of the respective transmission axes, and there is no clear teaching in Song that this requirement is satisfied.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in non-Final Office Action, page 5, last paragraph. Song disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0034], laser beams 13 emitted by the laser beam emitting unit 104 can be steered by the laser beam direction controller 106 (equivalent to a transmit optic); [0042], the laser beam direction controller 106 includes an elastic structure 211 and a shifting device 215. The shifting device 215 together with the elastic structure 211 can shift the lens array 207 up and down (equivalent to translation along a transverse axis). Furthermore, Fig. 1 clearly shows the laser beam direction controller 106 is positioned right before laser beam emitting unit 104. Since the laser beam direction controller 106 moves vertically respect to the laser beam emitting direction, implies the laser beam direction control 106 intersect with each transmission axis. Therefore, Song disclosed the claim limitation as stated in claim 1 of “intersect each transmission axis”.
In response to applicant’s argument, see page 11 paragraph 3, regarding dependent claim 4. Applicant argued that 1st, Richards does not disclose or suggest the features of claim 4 (due to the change of scope of claim 1, this will not be addressed here). 2nd Song already incorporate a steering lens 203 to steer the light. There can be no motivation to modify Song to incorporate what Song already includes.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 4 is mainly claim a collimator lens disposed in between the series of emitters and transmit optic. As stated in the Non-Final Office Action, page 25, Richard disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 9B, paragraph [0063], a similar design as Song’s invention using a shift lens 310 to steer the light where in between the shift lens and light emitter VCSEL a collimating lens is mounted. Therefore, Richards’ invention satisfied the limitation of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 20240069167 A1, hereinafter “Song”), modified in view of Klemme et al. (US 20230008801 A1, hereinafter “Klemme”).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a lidar sensor comprising:
a series of emitters, each emitter being configured to transmit light pulses away along a transmission axis to form a transmission field-of-view (Tx FoV) (Song; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0033], LiDAR device 101 includes a laser beam emitting unit 104 (including multiple laser emitters), a laser beam direction controller 106, a laser beam receiving unit 109, a control unit 107; [0034], directions of outgoing laser beams 113 can be changed by the shifting device such that the LiDAR device 101 can have denser point clouds along the shifting orientation within the whole predetermined FOV (equivalent to Tx FoV));
at least one detector configured to receive at least a portion of the light pulses that reflect off of an object within a reception field-of-view (Rx FoV) along a reception axis (Song; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0035], the laser light receiving unit 109 can collect laser beams 112 reflected from a target object 103 (equivalent to Rx FoV) using one or more imaging lens 115, and focused the reflected laser beams (reflected pulses [0038]) on one or more light detectors 117); and
a transmit optic mounted for translation along a transverse axis and configured to intersect each transmission axis without intersecting the reception axis to adjust the Tx FoV without adjusting the Rx FoV (Song; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0034], laser beams 113 emitted by the laser beam emitting unit 104 can be steered by the laser beam direction controller 106 (equivalent to a transmit optic); [0042], the laser beam direction controller 106 includes an elastic structure 211 and a shifting device 215. The shifting device 215 together with the elastic structure 211 can shift the lens array 207 up and down (equivalent to translation along a transverse axis). Since the laser beam direction controller 106 moves vertically respect to the laser beam emitting direction, implies the laser beam direction control 106 intersect with each transmission axis. Furthermore, Fig. 1 clearly shows the laser beam direction controller 106 is positioned right before laser beam emitting unit 104 and the reflected laser beams 112 did not passing through it. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to realize the laser beam direction controller 106 only adjusts the Tx FoV without adjusting the Rx FoV).
Wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is located within a region of the Tx FoV (Song; Fig. 1, [0034], directions of outgoing laser beams 113 can be changed by the shifting device such that the LiDAR device 101 can have denser point clouds along the shifting orientation within the whole predetermined FOV; implies the adjusted Tx FoV is located within a region of the Tx FoV).
Song does not teach,
each emitter being configured to transmit light pulses away from a vehicle.
wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov.
Klemme disclosed in paragraph [0018] that LiDAR system are useful in a number of applications such as driver assisted vehicle guidance system including self-driving cars, autonomous drones, etc. to detect the range from an emitter to a target by irradiating the target with electromagnetic radiation in the form of light. This implies the transmit light pulses is emitted away from a vehicle when using the LiDAR system in driver assisted vehicle guidance system.
Klemme further disclosed in Fig. 5-7, [0036]-[0040], different regions of interest are denoted at 502, 504, so that the scanning supplied by the system can be nominally uniform across the FoV or can be enhanced in these or other areas (realized by using the manager 702 identifies an area of interest (such as 502 in Fig. 5), at least a portion of the beam 706, denoted at 708, is directed through lens 710 to output a directed beam scan pattern for the area of interest). The areas of interest 502, 504 is particular areas within the larger FoV for which enhanced resolution is desired. A background area 506 within the FoV 500 that is outside the areas of interest 502, 504 may continue to receive scanning but at a corresponding reduced resolution. In other embodiments, substantially all of the energy over the FoV may be diverted to a specific area of interest, such as 502, so that the pulses previously spread out over the entire FoV are, at least during certain intervals, are directed wholly upon the area of interest 502 (implies using lens system 710 to change the FoV from scanning full of FoV 500 to only region of interest like 502 or 504). Fig. 8, [0041]-[0042], disclosed examples of scanning from large FoV to smaller FoV with the same energy form the emitter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Song to include each emitter being configured to transmit light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using LiDAR system on driver assisted vehicle guidance systems to detect the range from an emitter to a target (Klemme; [0018]). Furthermore, identifies an area of interest (702) and uses lens system (710) to change the Tx Fov to a region of interest 502/504 (smaller than original FoV 500) such that to enhanced resolution in the region of interest (Klemme; [0036]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Song as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 1, wherein the Tx FoV and the Rx FoV overlap (Song; Fig. 1, [0034], the laser light receiving unit 109 can collect laser beams 112 reflected from a target object 103 and focus the reflected laser beams on one or more light detectors; implies Tx FoV and Rx FoV has overlap).
Regarding claim 6, Song as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 1, wherein the series of emitters comprise a linear array of emitters arranged in parallel with the transverse axis, the linear array of emitters comprising a proximal emitter, and a distal emitter arranged opposite the proximal emitter (Song; Fig. 2, [0041], the laser beam emitting unit 104 include multiple laser 201-205 which are equally spaced (equivalent to linear array of emitter comprising a proximal emitter and a distal emitter arranged opposite the proximal emitter); [0042], the shifting device 215 together with the elastic structure 211 can shift the lens array 207 up and down. This implies the transverse axis is in parallel with the laser array).
Regarding claim 7, Song as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 6, further comprising:
an actuator connected to the transmit optic (Song; Fig. 2, [0042], the laser beam direction controller 106 comprising an elastic structure 211 on one end, a shifting device 215 (can be a piezoelectric actuator that is powered by electric current) on the other end and a lens array 207 in between) and configured to translate the transmit optic through a range between a rest position and a distal position to intersect the transmission axis of the distal emitter (Song; Fig. 2, [0042], the shifting device 215 together with the elastic structure 211 can shift the lens array 207 up and down; implies the lens can be shifted from rest position to a distal position to intersect the transmission axis of the distal emitter. This can also be seen in Fig. 3B that the shifting lens can translate from rest position (Fig. 3A) to intersect the transmission axis of the distal emitter laser A 201 (Fig. 3B)).
Song does not teach,
a rest position, in which the transmit optic does not intersect any transmission axis of the linear array of emitters.
Klemme disclosed in Fig. 5, Fig. 7, paragraph [0039], an FoV resolution manager 702 provides closed loop control of the operation of a beam generator 704. During baseline operation, a normal beam scan pattern 706 is emitted by the generator 704 to rasterize over the whole FoV in Fig. 5 (this implies there is no other shifting device to intersect any transmission such that to adjust the FoV); [0040], when the manager 702 identifies an area of interest (such as 502 in Fig. 5), at least a portion of the beam 706, denoted at 708, is directed through lens 710 (equivalent to transmit optic) to output a directed beam scan pattern for the area of interest. The lens 710 can remain stationary or can additionally/alternatively be moved as required using appropriate piezo, mechanical or electromechanical mechanism to further direct the beam to the intended area. As disclosed above, during normal beam scan pattern, the laser beam can scan the full FoV in Fig. 5. During Focused beam scan pattern, a portion of the beam 706 is directed to an area of interest. This implies the lens 710 (similar to transmit optic) was position in a range between a rest position (transmit optic does not interest transmission axis) and a distal position (intersect the transmission axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Song to include each emitter being configured to transmit light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov; the transmit optic at a rest position, in which the transmit optic does not intersect any transmission axis of the linear array of emitters taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is initially positioning the transmit optic at a rest position which is not intersect with the baseline scan (scan for whole FoV) such that to scan the whole FoV and identify the area of interest to perform a focused scan (Klemme; [0039], [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Song as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 1, further comprising a controller configured to translate the transmit optic along the transverse axis (Song; Fig. 1, [0037], the control unit 107 can coordinate operations of the laser beam emitting unit 104, the laser beam direction controller 106 (equivalent to transmit optic) and the light detector 117).
Regarding claim 9, Song as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 8.
Song does not teach, wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine, from the received light pulses, that the object is an unknown object; and
translate the transmit optic along the transverse axis between a proximal position and a distal position while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic.
Klemme disclosed in Fig. 7, paragraph [0039], a FoV resolution manager 702 provides close loop control of the operation of a beam generator 704. During baseline operation, a normal beam scan pattern 706 is emitted by the generator 704 to rasterize the FoV in Fig. 5; [0040], at such time that the manager 702 identifies an area of interest (such as 502 ([0036], the area of interest 502, 504 may specifically correspond to particular targets, equivalent to unknown object) in Fig. 5), at least a portion of the beam 706, denoted at 708 is directed through lens 710 to output a directed beam scan pattern for the area of interest. The lens 710 can additionally or alternatively be moved as required using appropriate piezo, mechanical or electromechanical mechanisms to further direct the beam to the intended area (equivalent to translate the transmit optic along the transverse axis between a proximal position and a distal position while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Song to include each emitter being configured to transmit light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov; determine, from the received light pulses, that the object is an unknown object; and translate the transmit optic along the transverse axis between a proximal position and a distal position while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is identifying the unknown object/area of interest and adjusting the transmit optic to focused on the unknown object/area of interest for focused scan (Klemme; [0036], [0039], [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, Song as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 9.
Song does not teach, wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive sweep data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while translating the transmit optic;
determine a location of the unknown object based on the sweep data; and
translate the transmit optic to a position along the transverse axis such that the adjusted Tx FoV aligns with the location of the unknown object.
Klemme disclosed in Fig. 7, paragraph [0039], a FoV resolution manager 702 provides close loop control of the operation of a beam generator 704. During baseline operation, a normal beam scan pattern 706 is emitted by the generator 704 to rasterize the FoV in Fig. 5 (equivalent to receive sweep data); [0040], at such time that the manager 702 identifies an area of interest (such as 502 ([0036], the area of interest 502, 504 may specifically correspond to particular targets, equivalent to unknown object) in Fig. 5), at least a portion of the beam 706, denoted at 708 is directed through lens 710 to output a directed beam scan pattern for the area of interest. The lens 710 can additionally or alternatively be moved as required using appropriate piezo, mechanical or electromechanical mechanisms to further direct the beam to the intended area. Fig. 8, [0041]-[0042], further shows the scan patterns by first perform a baseline scan of FoV 1 and followed by redirected the beam into the smaller area of field to perform a focused scan of FoV 2 after unknown object/area of interest is identified. The optical element can be activated for selected number of cycles after which the system can return to scanning the entirely of FoV 1 in order to maintain tracking information for targets that are within FoV 1 but are not within FoV 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Song to include each emitter being configured to transmit light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov; determine, from the received light pulses, that the object is an unknown object; and translate the transmit optic along the transverse axis between a proximal position and a distal position while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic; receive sweep data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while translating the transmit optic; determine a location of the unknown object based on the sweep data; and translate the transmit optic to a position along the transverse axis such that the adjusted Tx FoV aligns with the location of the unknown object taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is identifying the unknown object/area of interest and adjusting the transmit optic to focused on the unknown object/area of interest for focused scan (Klemme; [0036], [0039]-[0042]).
Claims 11-13 are the method claim possess nearly identical limitation to those of claim 1, 9 and 10 and are thus rejected for the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 14, Song as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 13.
Song does not teach, further comprising:
translating the transmit optic to a position along the transverse axis corresponding to a region of the Rx FoV based on the location of the unknown object.
Klemme disclosed in Fig. 7, paragraph [0039], a FoV resolution manager 702 provides close loop control of the operation of a beam generator 704. During baseline operation, a normal beam scan pattern 706 is emitted by the generator 704 to rasterize the FoV in Fig. 5 (equivalent to receive sweep data); [0040], at such time that the manager 702 identifies an area of interest (such as 502 ([0036], the area of interest 502, 504 may specifically correspond to particular targets, equivalent to unknown object) in Fig. 5), at least a portion of the beam 706, denoted at 708 is directed through lens 710 to output a directed beam scan pattern for the area of interest. The lens 710 can additionally or alternatively be moved as required using appropriate piezo, mechanical or electromechanical mechanisms to further direct the beam to the intended area. Fig. 5 can clearly see that the area of interest 1 (502) and 2 (504) are within the Rx FoV (full FoV) and Fig. 7 disclosed using lens 710 with actuator system 712 to translate the lens 710 (equivalent to transmit optic) to the area of interest 502, 504 along the transverse axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the method taught by Song to include each emitter being configured to transmit light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov; determine, from the received light pulses, that the object is an unknown object; and translate the transmit optic along the transverse axis between a proximal position and a distal position while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic; receive sweep data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while translating the transmit optic; determine a location of the unknown object based on the sweep data; and translate the transmit optic to a position along the transverse axis such that the adjusted Tx FoV aligns with the location of the unknown object; translating the transmit optic to a position along the transverse axis corresponding to a region of the Rx FoV based on the location of the unknown object taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is identifying the unknown object/area of interest and adjusting the transmit optic to focused on the unknown object/area of interest for focused scan inside the Rx FoV (Klemme; [0036], [0039]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 15, Song as modified above teaches the method as recited in claim 14.
Song does not teach, further comprising:
receiving focused scan data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while the transmit optic is located at the position corresponding to the location of the unknown object;
identifying the unknown object based on the focused scan data; and
translating the transmit optic to the rest position along the transverse axis in response to identifying the unknown object.
Klemme disclosed in Fig. 7-9, [0041], a baseline 1st FoV 1 is generally denoted at 802 and represents a 1st area being scanned by the system at a baseline resolution; [0042], identified an area of interest ([0036], area of interest may specifically correspond to particular targets, equivalent to unknown object) within the field 802, denoted as a 2nd FoV 2. Beams 814 correspond to the beam 804 but are redirected into the smaller area of field 812. At the time, no beams 804 are emitted on the rest of the area of FoV 1 while FoV 2 is being scanned. In some cases the optical element can be activated for a selected number of cycles after which the system can return to scanning the entirely of FoV 1 in order to maintain tracking information for targets that are within FoV 1 but are not within FoV 2. This implies that after identifying the target in the area of interest (e.g. FoV 2), the optical element can return to original position such that the system can go back to scan the entirety of FoV 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the method taught by Song to include each emitter being configured to transmit light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov; determine, from the received light pulses, that the object is an unknown object; and translate the transmit optic along the transverse axis between a proximal position and a distal position while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic; receive sweep data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while translating the transmit optic; determine a location of the unknown object based on the sweep data; and translate the transmit optic to a position along the transverse axis such that the adjusted Tx FoV aligns with the location of the unknown object; translating the transmit optic to a position along the transverse axis corresponding to a region of the Rx FoV based on the location of the unknown object; receiving focused scan data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while the transmit optic is located at the position corresponding to the location of the unknown object; identifying the unknown object based on the focused scan data; and translating the transmit optic to the rest position along the transverse axis in response to identifying the unknown object taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is identifying the unknown object/area of interest and adjusting the transmit optic to focused on the unknown object/area of interest for focused scan inside the Rx FoV. After identifying the unknown object based on the scan data, position the transmit optic to the rest position which is not intersect to the transmission axis such that to scan the whole FoV 1 in order to maintain tracking information for targets that are within FoV 1 but are not within FoV 2 (Klemme; [0036], [0039]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 16, Song teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising (Song; [0104], some or all of the components can be implemented as software installed and stored in a persistent storage device, which can be loaded and executed in a memory by a processor to carry out the processes or operations described throughout this application):
transmitting light pulses away to form a transmission field-of-view (Tx FoV) (Song; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0033], LiDAR device 101 includes a laser beam emitting unit 104 (including multiple laser emitters), a laser beam direction controller 106, a laser beam receiving unit 109, a control unit 107; [0034], directions of outgoing laser beams 113 can be changed by the shifting device such that the LiDAR device 101 can have denser point clouds along the shifting orientation within the whole predetermined FOV (equivalent to Tx FoV));
receiving at least a portion of the light pulses that reflect off of an object within a reception field-of-view (Rx FoV) (Song; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0035], the laser light receiving unit 109 can collect laser beams 112 reflected from a target object 103 (equivalent to Rx FoV) using one or more imaging lens 115, and focused the reflected laser beams (reflected pulses [0038]) on one or more light detectors 117); and
translating a transmit optic along a transverse axis to adjust the Tx FoV without adjusting the Rx FoV (Song; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0034], laser beams 113 emitted by the laser beam emitting unit 104 can be steered by the laser beam direction controller 106 (equivalent to a transmit optic); [0042], the laser beam direction controller 106 includes an elastic structure 211 and a shifting device 215. The shifting device 215 together with the elastic structure 211 can shift the lens array 207 up and down (equivalent to translation along a transverse axis). Since the laser beam direction controller 106 moves vertically respect to the laser beam emitting direction, implies the laser beam direction control 106 intersect with each transmission axis. Furthermore, Fig. 1 clearly shows the laser beam direction controller 106 is positioned right before laser beam emitting unit 104 and the reflected laser beams 112 did not passing through it, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to realize the laser beam direction controller 106 only adjusts the Tx FoV without adjusting the Rx FoV).
Wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is located within a region of the Tx FoV (Song; Fig. 1, [0034], directions of outgoing laser beams 113 can be changed by the shifting device such that the LiDAR device 101 can have denser point clouds along the shifting orientation within the whole predetermined FOV; implies the adjusted Tx FoV is located within a region of the Tx FoV).
Song does not teach,
transmitting light pulses away from a vehicle.
wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov.
Klemme disclosed in paragraph [0018] that LiDAR system are useful in a number of applications such as driver assisted vehicle guidance system including self-driving cars, autonomous drones, etc. to detect the range from an emitter to a target by irradiating the target with electromagnetic radiation in the form of light. This implies the transmit light pulses is emitted away from a vehicle when using the LiDAR system in driver assisted vehicle guidance system.
Klemme further disclosed in Fig. 5-7, [0036]-[0040], different regions of interest are denoted at 502, 504, so that the scanning supplied by the system can be nominally uniform across the FoV or can be enhanced in these or other areas (realized by using the manager 702 identifies an area of interest (such as 502 in Fig. 5), at least a portion of the beam 706, denoted at 708, is directed through lens 710 to output a directed beam scan pattern for the area of interest). The areas of interest 502, 504 is particular areas within the larger FoV for which enhanced resolution is desired. A background area 506 within the FoV 500 that is outside the areas of interest 502, 504 may continue to receive scanning but at a corresponding reduced resolution. In other embodiments, substantially all of the energy over the FoV may be diverted to a specific area of interest, such as 502, so that the pulses previously spread out over the entire FoV are, at least during certain intervals, are directed wholly upon the area of interest 502 (implies using lens system 710 to change the FoV from scanning full of FoV 500 to only region of interest like 502 or 504). Fig. 8, [0041]-[0042], disclosed examples of scanning from large FoV to smaller FoV with the same energy form the emitter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Song to include transmitting light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is use LiDAR system on driver assisted vehicle guidance systems to detect the range from an emitter to a target (Klemme; [0018]). Furthermore, identifies an area of interest (702) and uses lens system (710) to change the Tx Fov to a region of interest 502/504 (smaller than original Fov 500) such that to enhanced resolution in the region of interest (Klemme; [0036]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 17, Song as modified above teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium as recited in claim 16, having the instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising (Song; [0104], some or all of the components can be implemented as software installed and stored in a persistent storage device, which can be loaded and executed in a memory by a processor to carry out the processes or operations described throughout this application):
Song does not teach,
determining, from the received light pulses, that the object is an unknown object; and
translating the transmit optic along the transverse axis to adjust the Tx FoV while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic.
Klemme disclosed in Fig. 7, paragraph [0039], a FoV resolution manager 702 provides close loop control of the operation of a beam generator 704. During baseline operation, a normal beam scan pattern 706 is emitted by the generator 704 to rasterize the FoV in Fig. 5; [0040], at such time that the manager 702 identifies an area of interest (such as 502 ([0036], the area of interest 502, 504 may specifically correspond to particular targets, equivalent to unknown object) in Fig. 5), at least a portion of the beam 706, denoted at 708 is directed through lens 710 to output a directed beam scan pattern for the area of interest. The lens 710 can additionally or alternatively be moved as required using appropriate piezo, mechanical or electromechanical mechanisms to further direct the beam to the intended area (equivalent to translate the transmit optic along the transverse axis between a proximal position and a distal position while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the non-transitory computer-readable medium taught by Song to include transmitting light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov; determining, from the received light pulses, that the object is an unknown object; and translating the transmit optic along the transverse axis to adjust the Tx FoV while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is identifying the unknown object/area of interest and adjusting the transmit optic to focused on the unknown object/area of interest for focused scan (Klemme; [0036], [0039], [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, Song as modified above teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium as recited in claim 17, having the instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising (Song; [0104], some or all of the components can be implemented as software installed and stored in a persistent storage device, which can be loaded and executed in a memory by a processor to carry out the processes or operations described throughout this application):
Song does not teach,
receiving sweep data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while translating the transmit optic; and
determining a location of the unknown object based on the sweep data.
Klemme disclosed in Fig. 7, paragraph [0039], a FoV resolution manager 702 provides close loop control of the operation of a beam generator 704. During baseline operation, a normal beam scan pattern 706 is emitted by the generator 704 to rasterize the FoV in Fig. 5 (equivalent to receive sweep data); [0040], at such time that the manager 702 identifies an area of interest (such as 502 ([0036], the area of interest 502, 504 may specifically correspond to particular targets, equivalent to unknown object) in Fig. 5), at least a portion of the beam 706, denoted at 708 is directed through lens 710 to output a directed beam scan pattern for the area of interest. The lens 710 can additionally or alternatively be moved as required using appropriate piezo, mechanical or electromechanical mechanisms to further direct the beam to the intended area. Fig. 8, [0041]-[0042], further shows the scan patterns by first perform a baseline scan of FoV 1 and followed by redirected the beam into the smaller area of field to perform a focused scan of FoV 2 after unknown object/area of interest is identified. The optical element can be activated for selected number of cycles after which the system can return to scanning the entirely of FoV 1 in order to maintain tracking information for targets that are within FoV 1 but are not within FoV 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the non-transitory computer-readable medium taught by Song to include transmitting light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov; determining, from the received light pulses, that the object is an unknown object; and translating the transmit optic along the transverse axis to adjust the Tx FoV while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic; receiving sweep data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while translating the transmit optic; and determining a location of the unknown object based on the sweep data taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is identifying the unknown object/area of interest and adjusting the transmit optic to focused on the unknown object/area of interest for focused scan (Klemme; [0036], [0039]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 19, Song as modified above teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium as recited in claim 18, having the instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising (Song; [0104], some or all of the components can be implemented as software installed and stored in a persistent storage device, which can be loaded and executed in a memory by a processor to carry out the processes or operations described throughout this application):
Song does not teach,
translating the transmit optic to a position along the transverse axis corresponding to a region of the Rx FoV based on the location of the unknown object.
Klemme disclosed in Fig. 7, paragraph [0039], a FoV resolution manager 702 provides close loop control of the operation of a beam generator 704. During baseline operation, a normal beam scan pattern 706 is emitted by the generator 704 to rasterize the FoV in Fig. 5 (equivalent to receive sweep data); [0040], at such time that the manager 702 identifies an area of interest (such as 502 ([0036], the area of interest 502, 504 may specifically correspond to particular targets, equivalent to unknown object) in Fig. 5), at least a portion of the beam 706, denoted at 708 is directed through lens 710 to output a directed beam scan pattern for the area of interest. The lens 710 can additionally or alternatively be moved as required using appropriate piezo, mechanical or electromechanical mechanisms to further direct the beam to the intended area. Fig. 8, [0041]-[0042], further shows the scan patterns by first perform a baseline scan of FoV 1 and followed by redirected the beam into the smaller area of field to perform a focused scan of FoV 2 after unknown object/area of interest is identified. The optical element can be activated for selected number of cycles after which the system can return to scanning the entirely of FoV 1 in order to maintain tracking information for targets that are within FoV 1 but are not within FoV 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the non-transitory computer-readable medium taught by Song to include transmitting light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov; determining, from the received light pulses, that the object is an unknown object; and translating the transmit optic along the transverse axis to adjust the Tx FoV while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic; receiving sweep data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while translating the transmit optic; and determining a location of the unknown object based on the sweep data; translating the transmit optic to a position along the transverse axis corresponding to a region of the Rx FoV based on the location of the unknown object taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is identifying the unknown object/area of interest and adjusting the transmit optic to focused on the unknown object/area of interest for focused scan (Klemme; [0036], [0039]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 20, Song as modified above teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium as recited in claim 19, having the instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising (Song; [0104], some or all of the components can be implemented as software installed and stored in a persistent storage device, which can be loaded and executed in a memory by a processor to carry out the processes or operations described throughout this application):
Song does not teach,
receiving focused scan data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while the transmit optic is located at the position corresponding to the location of the unknown object;
identifying the unknown object based on the focused scan data; and
translating the transmit optic to the rest position along the transverse axis in response to identifying the unknown object.
Klemme disclosed in Fig. 7-9, [0041], a baseline 1st FoV 1 is generally denoted at 802 and represents a 1st area being scanned by the system at a baseline resolution; [0042], identified an area of interest (area of interest may specifically correspond to particular targets, equivalent to unknown object) within the field 802, denoted as a 2nd FoV 2. Beams 814 correspond to the beam 804 but are redirected into the smaller area of field 812. At the time, no beams 804 are emitted on the rest of the area of FoV 1 while FoV 2 is being scanned. In some cases the optical element can be activated for a selected number of cycles after which the system can return to scanning the entirely of FoV 1 in order to maintain tracking information for targets that are within FoV 1 but are not within FoV 2. This implies that after identifying the target in the area of interest (e.g. FoV 2), the optical element can return to original position such that the system can go back to scan the entirety of FoV 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the non-transitory computer-readable medium taught by Song to include transmitting light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov; determining, from the received light pulses, that the object is an unknown object; and translating the transmit optic along the transverse axis to adjust the Tx FoV while transmitting light pulses through the transmit optic; receiving sweep data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while translating the transmit optic; and determining a location of the unknown object based on the sweep data; translating the transmit optic to a position along the transverse axis corresponding to a region of the Rx FoV based on the location of the unknown object; receiving focused scan data indicative of the light pulses that reflect off of the unknown object while the transmit optic is located at the position corresponding to the location of the unknown object; identifying the unknown object based on the focused scan data; and translating the transmit optic to the rest position along the transverse axis in response to identifying the unknown object taught by Klemme with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is identifying the unknown object/area of interest and adjusting the transmit optic to focused on the unknown object/area of interest for focused scan inside the Rx FoV. After identifying the unknown object based on the scan data, position the transmit optic to the rest position which is not intersect to the transmission axis such that to scan the whole FoV 1 in order to maintain tracking information for targets that are within FoV 1 but are not within FoV 2 (Klemme; [0036], [0039]-[0042]).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, modified in view of Klemme, in view of Richards et al. (US 20210311171 A1, hereinafter “Richards”).
Regarding claim 3, Song as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 1.
Song does not teach, further comprising a collimator mounted adjacent to the series of emitters and configured to focus and direct the light pulses along each transmission axis to collectively form a transmission beam.
Richards teaches, further comprising a collimator mounted adjacent to the series of emitters and configured to focus and direct the light pulses along each transmission axis to collectively form a transmission beam (Richards; Fig. 1, Fig. 9B, [0063], shows the similar design as Song’s invention using a miniature actuator 110 to shift a lens 310 to steer the light (equivalent to transmit optic). The optical stack also includes a collimation lens 311 which is separate from the shift lens 310. From Fig. 9B, the collimation lens is adjacent to the VCSEL (the light source 106 may comprise at least one laser, laser array (e.g. a VCSEL array…) [0045])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Song to include each emitter being configured to transmit light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov taught by Klemme, include further comprising a collimator mounted adjacent to the series of emitters and configured to focus and direct the light pulses along each transmission axis to collectively form a transmission beam taught by Richards with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including collimation lens system for collimation of the light (Richards; [0061], [0063]).
Regarding claim 4, Song as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 3, wherein the transmit optic configured to focus the transmission beam onto a region of the Tx FoV to form the adjusted Tx FoV (Song; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0034], [0042]; Klemme; Fig. 5-8, [0036]-[0042], please also see mapping in claim 1).
Song does not teach, wherein the transmit optic is arranged adjacent to the collimator.
Richards disclosed in Fig. 9B, [0063], illustrates an example in which the miniature actuator 110 is used to shift a lens 310 to steer the light (this shift lens (310) is equivalent to transmit optic and similar to the laser beam direction controller of Song’s invention). The shifting lens system 310 is adjacent to the collimator as shown in Fig. 9B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the lidar sensor taught by Song to include each emitter being configured to transmit light pulses away from a vehicle; wherein the adjusted Tx FoV is smaller than a region of the Tx Fov taught by Klemme, include further comprising a collimator mounted adjacent to the series of emitters and configured to focus and direct the light pulses along each transmission axis to collectively form a transmission beam; wherein the transmit optic is arranged adjacent to the collimator taught by Richards with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including collimation lens system disposed in between the shift lens and the transmit optics such that to collimation of the emitted light beam to the transmit optics (Richards; [0061], [0063]).
Regarding claim 5, Song as modified above teaches the lidar sensor as recited in claim 4, wherein the transmit optic comprises a cylindrical lens (Song; Fig. 2, [0045], the lens array 207 includes at least one fast axis collimator (FAC); [0090], a customized collimation lens assembly (the lens array 207 in Fig. 2) can include a number of cylinder lenses to collimate laser beams from the EELs in the laser beam unit).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645