Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument: On page 8 of Remarks, applicant argues that Tenny in view of Ryoo fails to teach amended claim 21 as recited “ A user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: receive, over radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information specifying separate configuration information for each logical channel of a plurality of logical channels, wherein the separate configuration information for each logical channel specifies whether grant-free scheduling mode is enabled for that logical channel; [[and]] assign one or more resources, in accordance with a logical channel prioritization procedure, of a grant-free uplink resource to one or more logical channels based at least on the received configuration information, wherein the grant-free scheduling mode is enabled for the one or more logical channels; and assign, in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure, resources allocated by an uplink grant to the one or more logical channel based on one or more allowed numerologies and one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations.”
Examiner’s argument: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 21 and other independent claims have been considered and are moot because a new ground of rejection is used that does not rely on any references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. AN updated search was conducted and new reference was found as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 29, 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenny et al. ( US 2018/0049239 A1) (hereafter “Tenny”) in view of Ryoo et al. (US 2020/0037345 A1) (“Ryoo”) in further view of Loehr et al. (US 2019/0174513 A1)(“Loehr”).
Regarding claim 21, A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, the UE comprising :
at least one memory (Tenny, Fig. 10, Ref. 606) ,
and at least one processor (Tenny, Fig. 10, Ref. 604) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive configuration information specifying for each of logical channels of a plurality of logical channel, whether grant-free scheduling mode is enabled for that logical channel;
(Tenny [0021]; When an uplink grant is received from the network, the UE populates the data transmission from data in the queues, filling the transport block size in the grant with data from the logical channels in order of priority. The data is then transmitted in an uplink transmission.
Tenny [0024]; Some logical channels may be poorly suited for grant free use. For example, a grant free configuration (configuration information) might not meet reliability criteria for a logical channel, due to the danger of contention. Accordingly, certain logical channels may be prohibited from grant free use. The prohibition may originate from the user equipment (UE), the network, or both the UE and the network, and the prohibition may be specified in advance. Alternatively, the prohibition may be decided based on implementation criteria. At any time, the UE uplink scheduler, or a configuring entity in the network, may evaluate a logical channel and determine whether grant free use is permissible (whether grant-free scheduling mode is enabled for a logical channel of the plurality of logical channels (for that logical channel). Note: If the configuring entity makes the determination, the UE must receive the configuration in order to be aware of this determination.);
Tenny [0024]; Some logical channels may be poorly suited for grant free use. For example, a grant free configuration might not meet reliability criteria for a logical channel, due to the danger of contention. Accordingly, certain logical channels may be prohibited from grant free use. The prohibition may originate from the user equipment (UE), the network, or both the UE and the network, and the prohibition may be specified in advance. Alternatively, the prohibition may be decided based on implementation criteria. At any time, the UE uplink scheduler, or a configuring entity in the network, may evaluate a logical channel and determine whether grant free use is permissible. (configuration information specifying for each of logical channels of a plurality of logical channel)
Tenny, Fig. 7 , Step 554, [0048-0049]; FIG. 7 illustrates flowchart for an embodiment method of performing grant free transmission 550. Initially, the method begins in block 552 (it is inherent the UE is receiving grant free configuration (configuration information). Then, in block 554, the UE determines whether grant free transmission is currently allowed. Grant free transmission may be prohibited because of reliability criteria, a prohibition on grant free use by logical channels, or based on implementation criteria.
assign one or more resources, in accordance with a logical channel prioritization procedure, of a grant-free uplink resource to one or more logical channels based at least on the received configuration information, wherein the grant- free scheduling mode is enabled for the one or more logical channels.
([0029]; The LCP 318 (logical channel prioritization) performs uplink scheduling for logical channel A 312, logical channel B 314, and logical channel C 316. The LCP 318 generates MAC PDUs of various sizes (assign one or more resources), which may then be separated for grant free transmission and grant based transmission. Some logical channels may have latency requirements which are respected by the LCP 318 during scheduling. Some logical channels may disallow grant free transmission (based at least on the received configuration) by the LCP 318. A protocol layer, including an LCP engine, generates PDUs from SDUs. When a MAC layer handles packet data, the SDUs may be referred to as packets. Some PDUs, for example large PDUs, such as MAC PDU 1 320, are assigned for grant based transmission, while other PDUs, for example small PDUs, such as MAC PDU 2 322, are assigned for grant free transmission. The packets are passed to the PHY layer. MAC PDU 1 320 is passed to a grant based PHY 324, while MAC PDU 2 322 is passed to a grant free PHY layer 326.( in accordance with a logical channel prioritization procedure, of a grant-free uplink resource to one or more logical channels)
[0051]; On the other hand, when grant free transmission is currently allowed ( as mentioned above: wherein the grant free scheduling mode is enabled for the one or more logical channel) , the UE proceeds to block 556. In block 556, the UE collects data eligible for grant free transmission.
[0053]; In block 564, the UE determines whether the GFTB is approved for transmission. The GFTB may be approved for transmission when there is a grant free uplink opportunity. When the GFTB is approved for transmission, the UE proceeds to block 568.)
Tenny does not teach Over radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information for each logical channel, Separate configuration information for each logical channel, wherein the separate configuration information for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode, and assign, in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure, resources allocated by an uplink grant to the one or more logical channel based one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations.
Ryoo teaches Over radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information for each logical channel,
Ryoo [0152]; (1) The eNB provides a default priority for each logical channel to the UE. This may be performed through a LogicalChannelConfig Information Element (IE) of RRC signaling.
Separate configuration information for each logical channel,
Ryoo [0398]; (8) UL resources may be separated into (i) UL grant-based resources which are allocated by transmitting UL resource allocation information, that is, UL grant through a control channel such as a PDCCH to the UE by the eNB in every resource allocation and (ii) UL grant-free-based resources which are resources allocated in advance by periodically allocating UL resources through RRC signaling regardless of the generation of data of the UE rather than the method by which the eNB allocates UL resources by transmitting the UL grant to the UE in every resource allocation. Accordingly, the eNB may configure the UE to transmit and receive data generated in a particular logical channel through UL grant-based resources and to transmit and receive data generated in another logical channel through UL grant-free-based resources.
wherein the separate configuration information for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode.
Ryoo [0426]; If UL resources having the TTI smaller than “timeParameter” are allocated, the corresponding logical channel may be transmitted and received through the corresponding UL resources. [0427] If UL resources in which the time corresponding to the number of OFDM symbols included in a predetermined unit (for example, allocated UL resources) is shorter than “timeParameter” are allocated, the corresponding logical channel may be transmitted and received through the corresponding UL resources.
Ryoo [0428]; Refers to time of a particular TTI [0429] Refers to a particular value of time corresponding to the number of OFDM symbols included in a predetermined unit (for example, allocated UL resources) [0430] In this example, the UL resource allocation scheme is expressed as “ulGrantMode”. In this example, the UL resource allocation scheme may be one of “ulGrantBased”, “ulGrantFree”, and “both”.
and assign, in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure, resources allocated by an uplink grant to the one or more logical channel based one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations.
Ryoo [0178] A. If the UE receives UL grant having a TTI of 1 ms from the eNB, the UE carries data on
the UL grant through the LCP operation in an order of the priority A>B>C>D given for logical channels
A, B, C, and D.
Ryoo [0179] B. If the UE receives UL grant having a TTI of 0.2 ms from the eNB, the UE carries data on
the UL grant through the LCP operation in an order of the priority C>B>A>D given for logical channels
A, B, C, and D.
In view of Ryoo, Tenny is modified such that the configuration information is traveled through RRC, and the separate configuration for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode.
Tenny and Ryoo are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above for the UE to receive the configuration through RRC and the separate configuration information of each logical channel for the grant-free mode based on priority of each logical channel to maintain the low latency (Ryoo [0038]).
Tenny does not teach uplink grant to the one or more logical channel based on one or more allowed
numerologies.
Loehr teaches assign uplink grant to the one or more logical channel based on one or more allowed
numerologies.
Loehr [0239]; As explained before, the uplink scheduling assignment is numerology layer specific, and
the LCP procedure shall take this into account by prioritizing during the LCP procedure the data from
those logical channels that are associated with the intended numerology layer of the received uplink
scheduling assignment. In particular, the radio resources allocated by the received uplink grant are to
be used preferably to transmit data from those logical channels associated with the
intended numerology layer. However, should radio resources remain after
having allocated radio resources for transmitting all pending data of logical channels of the
intended numerology layer, the remaining radio resources could also be used to transmit data of
logical channels that are associated with other numerology layers.
In view of Loehr, Tenny is modified such that uplink grant is assigned to the one or more logical channel
based on one or more allowed numerologies.
Tenny and Loehr are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to assign the uplink grant based on the allowed numerology of layers to improve the resource allocation and LCP procedure (Loehr [0223]).
Regarding claim 29, A method (Tenny, Fig. 7) for performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receive configuration information specifying for each of logical channels of a plurality of logical channel, whether grant-free scheduling mode is enabled for that logical channel;
(Tenny [0021]; When an uplink grant is received from the network, the UE populates the data transmission from data in the queues, filling the transport block size in the grant with data from the logical channels in order of priority. The data is then transmitted in an uplink transmission.
Tenny [0024]; Some logical channels may be poorly suited for grant free use. For example, a grant free configuration (configuration information) might not meet reliability criteria for a logical channel, due to the danger of contention. Accordingly, certain logical channels may be prohibited from grant free use. The prohibition may originate from the user equipment (UE), the network, or both the UE and the network, and the prohibition may be specified in advance. Alternatively, the prohibition may be decided based on implementation criteria. At any time, the UE uplink scheduler, or a configuring entity in the network, may evaluate a logical channel and determine whether grant free use is permissible (whether grant-free scheduling mode is enabled for a logical channel of the plurality of logical channels. Note: If the configuring entity makes the determination, the UE must receive the configuration in order to be aware of this determination.);
Tenny [0024]; Some logical channels may be poorly suited for grant free use. For example, a grant free configuration might not meet reliability criteria for a logical channel, due to the danger of contention. Accordingly, certain logical channels may be prohibited from grant free use. The prohibition may originate from the user equipment (UE), the network, or both the UE and the network, and the prohibition may be specified in advance. Alternatively, the prohibition may be decided based on implementation criteria. At any time, the UE uplink scheduler, or a configuring entity in the network, may evaluate a logical channel and determine whether grant free use is permissible. (configuration information specifying for each of logical channels of a plurality of logical channel)
Tenny, Fig. 7 , Step 554, [0048-0049]; FIG. 7 illustrates flowchart for an embodiment method of performing grant free transmission 550. Initially, the method begins in block 552 (it is inherent the UE is receiving grant free configuration (configuration information). Then, in block 554, the UE determines whether grant free transmission is currently allowed. Grant free transmission may be prohibited because of reliability criteria, a prohibition on grant free use by logical channels, or based on implementation criteria.
assigning one or more resources, in accordance with a logical channel prioritization procedure, of a grant-free uplink resource to one or more logical channels based at least on the received configuration information, wherein the grant- free scheduling mode is enabled for the one or more logical channels.
([0029]; The LCP 318 (logical channel prioritization) performs uplink scheduling for logical channel A 312, logical channel B 314, and logical channel C 316. The LCP 318 generates MAC PDUs of various sizes (assign one or more resources), which may then be separated for grant free transmission and grant based transmission. Some logical channels may have latency requirements which are respected by the LCP 318 during scheduling. Some logical channels may disallow grant free transmission (based at least on the received configuration) by the LCP 318. A protocol layer, including an LCP engine, generates PDUs from SDUs. When a MAC layer handles packet data, the SDUs may be referred to as packets. Some PDUs, for example large PDUs, such as MAC PDU 1 320, are assigned for grant based transmission, while other PDUs, for example small PDUs, such as MAC PDU 2 322, are assigned for grant free transmission. The packets are passed to the PHY layer. MAC PDU 1 320 is passed to a grant based PHY 324, while MAC PDU 2 322 is passed to a grant free PHY layer 326.( in accordance with a logical channel prioritization procedure, of a grant-free uplink resource to one or more logical channels)
[0051]; On the other hand, when grant free transmission is currently allowed ( as mentioned above: wherein the grant free scheduling mode is enabled for the one or more logical channel) , the UE proceeds to block 556. In block 556, the UE collects data eligible for grant free transmission.
[0053]; In block 564, the UE determines whether the GFTB is approved for transmission. The GFTB may be approved for transmission when there is a grant free uplink opportunity. When the GFTB is approved for transmission, the UE proceeds to block 568.)
Tenny does not teach Over radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information for each logical channel, Separate configuration information for each logical channel, wherein the separate configuration information for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode, and assign, in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure, resources allocated by an uplink grant to the one or more logical channel based one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations.
Ryoo teaches Over radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information for each logical channel,
Ryoo [0152]; (1) The eNB provides a default priority for each logical channel to the UE. This may be performed through a LogicalChannelConfig Information Element (IE) of RRC signaling.
Separate configuration information for each logical channel,
Ryoo [0398]; (8) UL resources may be separated into (i) UL grant-based resources which are allocated by transmitting UL resource allocation information, that is, UL grant through a control channel such as a PDCCH to the UE by the eNB in every resource allocation and (ii) UL grant-free-based resources which are resources allocated in advance by periodically allocating UL resources through RRC signaling regardless of the generation of data of the UE rather than the method by which the eNB allocates UL resources by transmitting the UL grant to the UE in every resource allocation. Accordingly, the eNB may configure the UE to transmit and receive data generated in a particular logical channel through UL grant-based resources and to transmit and receive data generated in another logical channel through UL grant-free-based resources.
wherein the separate configuration information for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode.
Ryoo [0426]; If UL resources having the TTI smaller than “timeParameter” are allocated, the corresponding logical channel may be transmitted and received through the corresponding UL resources. [0427] If UL resources in which the time corresponding to the number of OFDM symbols included in a predetermined unit (for example, allocated UL resources) is shorter than “timeParameter” are allocated, the corresponding logical channel may be transmitted and received through the corresponding UL resources.
Ryoo [0428]; Refers to time of a particular TTI [0429] Refers to a particular value of time corresponding to the number of OFDM symbols included in a predetermined unit (for example, allocated UL resources) [0430] In this example, the UL resource allocation scheme is expressed as “ulGrantMode”. In this example, the UL resource allocation scheme may be one of “ulGrantBased”, “ulGrantFree”, and “both”.
and assigning, in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure, resources allocated by an uplink grant to the one or more logical channel based one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations.
Ryoo [0178] A. If the UE receives UL grant having a TTI of 1 ms from the eNB, the UE carries data on
the UL grant through the LCP operation in an order of the priority A>B>C>D given for logical channels
A, B, C, and D.
Ryoo [0179] B. If the UE receives UL grant having a TTI of 0.2 ms from the eNB, the UE carries data on
the UL grant through the LCP operation in an order of the priority C>B>A>D given for logical channels
A, B, C, and D.
In view of Ryoo, Tenny is modified such that the configuration information is traveled through RRC, and the separate configuration for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode.
Tenny and Ryoo are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above for the UE to receive the configuration through RRC and the separate configuration information of each logical channel for the grant-free mode based on priority of each logical channel to maintain the low latency (Ryoo [0038]).
Tenny does not teach uplink grant to the one or more logical channel based on one or more allowed
numerologies.
Loehr teaches assign uplink grant to the one or more logical channel based on one or more allowed
numerologies.
Loehr [0239]; As explained before, the uplink scheduling assignment is numerology layer specific, and
the LCP procedure shall take this into account by prioritizing during the LCP procedure the data from
those logical channels that are associated with the intended numerology layer of the received uplink
scheduling assignment. In particular, the radio resources allocated by the received uplink grant are to
be used preferably to transmit data from those logical channels associated with the
intended numerology layer. However, should radio resources remain after
having allocated radio resources for transmitting all pending data of logical channels of the
intended numerology layer, the remaining radio resources could also be used to transmit data of
logical channels that are associated with other numerology layers.
In view of Loehr, Tenny is modified such that uplink grant is assigned to the one or more logical channel
based on one or more allowed numerologies.
Tenny and Loehr are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to assign the uplink grant based on the allowed numerology of layers to improve the resource allocation and LCP procedure (Loehr [0223]).
Regarding claim 37, A base station (Tenny, Fig. 2, Ref. 102 or Fig. 11) comprising: a processor; (Tenny, Fig. 10, Ref. 604, [0072]; In some embodiments, the processing system 60o is included in a network device that accesses, or part otherwise of, a telecommunications network. In one example, the processing system 60o is in a network-side device in a wireless or wireline telecommunications network, such as a base station)
At least one memory (Tenny, Fig. 10, Ref. 606 ); and
At least one processor (Tenny, Fig. 10, Ref. 604, [0072]) coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the base station:
transmit configuration information specifying for each of logical channels of a plurality of logical channel, whether grant-free scheduling mode is enabled;
(Tenny [0021]; When an uplink grant is received from the network, the UE populates the data transmission from data in the queues, filling the transport block size in the grant with data from the logical channels in order of priority. The data is then transmitted in an uplink transmission.
Tenny [0024]; Some logical channels may be poorly suited for grant free use. For example, a grant free configuration (configuration information) might not meet reliability criteria for a logical channel, due to the danger of contention. Accordingly, certain logical channels may be prohibited from grant free use. The prohibition may originate from the user equipment (UE), the network, or both the UE and the network, and the prohibition may be specified in advance. Alternatively, the prohibition may be decided based on implementation criteria. At any time, the UE uplink scheduler, or a configuring entity in the network, may evaluate a logical channel and determine whether grant free use is permissible (whether grant-free scheduling mode is enabled for a logical channel of the plurality of logical channels. Note: If the configuring entity makes the determination, the UE must receive the configuration in order to be aware of this determination.);
Tenny [0024]; Some logical channels may be poorly suited for grant free use. For example, a grant free configuration might not meet reliability criteria for a logical channel, due to the danger of contention. Accordingly, certain logical channels may be prohibited from grant free use. The prohibition may originate from the user equipment (UE), the network, or both the UE and the network, and the prohibition may be specified in advance. Alternatively, the prohibition may be decided based on implementation criteria. At any time, the UE uplink scheduler, or a configuring entity in the network, may evaluate a logical channel and determine whether grant free use is permissible. (configuration information specifying for each of logical channels of a plurality of logical channel)
Tenny, Fig. 7 , Step 554, [0048-0049]; FIG. 7 illustrates flowchart for an embodiment method of performing grant free transmission 550. Initially, the method begins in block 552 (it is inherent the UE is receiving grant free configuration (configuration information). Then, in block 554, the UE determines whether grant free transmission is currently allowed. Grant free transmission may be prohibited because of reliability criteria, a prohibition on grant free use by logical channels, or based on implementation criteria.
Wherein or more resources allocated to logical channels based at least on the received configuration information, wherein the grant- free scheduling mode is enabled for the one or more logical channels.
([0029]; The LCP 318 (logical channel prioritization) performs uplink scheduling for logical channel A 312, logical channel B 314, and logical channel C 316. The LCP 318 generates MAC PDUs of various sizes (assign one or more resources), which may then be separated for grant free transmission and grant based transmission. Some logical channels may have latency requirements which are respected by the LCP 318 during scheduling. Some logical channels may disallow grant free transmission (based at least on the received configuration) by the LCP 318. A protocol layer, including an LCP engine, generates PDUs from SDUs. When a MAC layer handles packet data, the SDUs may be referred to as packets. Some PDUs, for example large PDUs, such as MAC PDU 1 320, are assigned for grant based transmission, while other PDUs, for example small PDUs, such as MAC PDU 2 322, are assigned for grant free transmission. The packets are passed to the PHY layer. MAC PDU 1 320 is passed to a grant based PHY 324, while MAC PDU 2 322 is passed to a grant free PHY layer 326.( in accordance with a logical channel prioritization procedure, of a grant-free uplink resource to one or more logical channels)
[0051]; On the other hand, when grant free transmission is currently allowed ( as mentioned above: wherein the grant free scheduling mode is enabled for the one or more logical channel) , the UE proceeds to block 556. In block 556, the UE collects data eligible for grant free transmission.
[0053]; In block 564, the UE determines whether the GFTB is approved for transmission. The GFTB may be approved for transmission when there is a grant free uplink opportunity. When the GFTB is approved for transmission, the UE proceeds to block 568.)
Tenny does not teach Over radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information for each logical channel, Separate configuration information for each logical channel, wherein the separate configuration information for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode, and specifies one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations for the logical channel.
Ryoo teaches Over radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information for each logical channel,
Ryoo [0152]; (1) The eNB provides a default priority for each logical channel to the UE. This may be performed through a LogicalChannelConfig Information Element (IE) of RRC signaling.
Separate configuration information for each logical channel,
Ryoo [0398]; (8) UL resources may be separated into (i) UL grant-based resources which are allocated by transmitting UL resource allocation information, that is, UL grant through a control channel such as a PDCCH to the UE by the eNB in every resource allocation and (ii) UL grant-free-based resources which are resources allocated in advance by periodically allocating UL resources through RRC signaling regardless of the generation of data of the UE rather than the method by which the eNB allocates UL resources by transmitting the UL grant to the UE in every resource allocation. Accordingly, the eNB may configure the UE to transmit and receive data generated in a particular logical channel through UL grant-based resources and to transmit and receive data generated in another logical channel through UL grant-free-based resources.
wherein the separate configuration information for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode.
Ryoo [0426]; If UL resources having the TTI smaller than “timeParameter” are allocated, the corresponding logical channel may be transmitted and received through the corresponding UL resources. [0427] If UL resources in which the time corresponding to the number of OFDM symbols included in a predetermined unit (for example, allocated UL resources) is shorter than “timeParameter” are allocated, the corresponding logical channel may be transmitted and received through the corresponding UL resources.
Ryoo [0428]; Refers to time of a particular TTI [0429] Refers to a particular value of time corresponding to the number of OFDM symbols included in a predetermined unit (for example, allocated UL resources) [0430] In this example, the UL resource allocation scheme is expressed as “ulGrantMode”. In this example, the UL resource allocation scheme may be one of “ulGrantBased”, “ulGrantFree”, and “both”.
and specifies one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations for the logical channel.
Ryoo [0178] A. If the UE receives UL grant having a TTI of 1 ms from the eNB, the UE carries data on
the UL grant through the LCP operation in an order of the priority A>B>C>D given for logical channels
A, B, C, and D.
In view of Ryoo, Tenny is modified such that the configuration information is traveled through RRC, and the separate configuration for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode.
Tenny and Ryoo are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above for the UE to receive the configuration through RRC and the separate configuration information of each logical channel for the grant-free mode based on priority of each logical channel to maintain the low latency (Ryoo [0038]).
Tenny does not teach specifies one or more allowed numerologies.
Loehr teaches specifies one or more allowed numerologies.
Loehr [0239]; As explained before, the uplink scheduling assignment is numerology layer specific, and
the LCP procedure shall take this into account by prioritizing during the LCP procedure the data from
those logical channels that are associated with the intended numerology layer of the received uplink
scheduling assignment. In particular, the radio resources allocated by the received uplink grant are to
be used preferably to transmit data from those logical channels associated with the
intended numerology layer. However, should radio resources remain after
having allocated radio resources for transmitting all pending data of logical channels of the
intended numerology layer, the remaining radio resources could also be used to transmit data of
logical channels that are associated with other numerology layers.
In view of Loehr, Tenny is modified such that uplink grant is assigned to the one or more logical channel
based on one or more allowed numerologies.
Tenny and Loehr are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to assign the uplink grant based on the allowed numerology of layers to improve the resource allocation and LCP procedure (Loehr [0223]).
Regarding claim 38, A method performed by a base station (Tenny, Fig. 11), the method comprising:
Transmitting configuration information specifying for each of logical channels of a plurality of logical channel, whether grant-free scheduling mode is enabled for that logical channel;
(Tenny [0021]; When an uplink grant is received from the network, the UE populates the data transmission from data in the queues, filling the transport block size in the grant with data from the logical channels in order of priority. The data is then transmitted in an uplink transmission.
Tenny [0024]; Some logical channels may be poorly suited for grant free use. For example, a grant free configuration (configuration information) might not meet reliability criteria for a logical channel, due to the danger of contention. Accordingly, certain logical channels may be prohibited from grant free use. The prohibition may originate from the user equipment (UE), the network, or both the UE and the network, and the prohibition may be specified in advance. Alternatively, the prohibition may be decided based on implementation criteria. At any time, the UE uplink scheduler, or a configuring entity in the network, may evaluate a logical channel and determine whether grant free use is permissible (whether grant-free scheduling mode is enabled for a logical channel of the plurality of logical channels. Note: If the configuring entity makes the determination, the UE must receive the configuration in order to be aware of this determination.);
Tenny [0024]; Some logical channels may be poorly suited for grant free use. For example, a grant free configuration might not meet reliability criteria for a logical channel, due to the danger of contention. Accordingly, certain logical channels may be prohibited from grant free use. The prohibition may originate from the user equipment (UE), the network, or both the UE and the network, and the prohibition may be specified in advance. Alternatively, the prohibition may be decided based on implementation criteria. At any time, the UE uplink scheduler, or a configuring entity in the network, may evaluate a logical channel and determine whether grant free use is permissible. (configuration information specifying for each of logical channels of a plurality of logical channel)
Tenny, Fig. 7 , Step 554, [0048-0049]; FIG. 7 illustrates flowchart for an embodiment method of performing grant free transmission 550. Initially, the method begins in block 552 (it is inherent the UE is receiving grant free configuration (configuration information). Then, in block 554, the UE determines whether grant free transmission is currently allowed. Grant free transmission may be prohibited because of reliability criteria, a prohibition on grant free use by logical channels, or based on implementation criteria.
Wherein or more resources allocated to logical channels based at least on the received configuration information, wherein the grant- free scheduling mode is enabled for the one or more logical channels.
([0029]; The LCP 318 (logical channel prioritization) performs uplink scheduling for logical channel A 312, logical channel B 314, and logical channel C 316. The LCP 318 generates MAC PDUs of various sizes (assign one or more resources), which may then be separated for grant free transmission and grant based transmission. Some logical channels may have latency requirements which are respected by the LCP 318 during scheduling. Some logical channels may disallow grant free transmission (based at least on the received configuration) by the LCP 318. A protocol layer, including an LCP engine, generates PDUs from SDUs. When a MAC layer handles packet data, the SDUs may be referred to as packets. Some PDUs, for example large PDUs, such as MAC PDU 1 320, are assigned for grant based transmission, while other PDUs, for example small PDUs, such as MAC PDU 2 322, are assigned for grant free transmission. The packets are passed to the PHY layer. MAC PDU 1 320 is passed to a grant based PHY 324, while MAC PDU 2 322 is passed to a grant free PHY layer 326.( in accordance with a logical channel prioritization procedure, of a grant-free uplink resource to one or more logical channels)
[0051]; On the other hand, when grant free transmission is currently allowed ( as mentioned above: wherein the grant free scheduling mode is enabled for the one or more logical channel) , the UE proceeds to block 556. In block 556, the UE collects data eligible for grant free transmission.
[0053]; In block 564, the UE determines whether the GFTB is approved for transmission. The GFTB may be approved for transmission when there is a grant free uplink opportunity. When the GFTB is approved for transmission, the UE proceeds to block 568.)
Tenny does not teach Over radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information for each logical channel, Separate configuration information for each logical channel, wherein the separate configuration information for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode.
Ryoo teaches Over radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information for each logical channel,
Ryoo [0152]; (1) The eNB provides a default priority for each logical channel to the UE. This may be performed through a LogicalChannelConfig Information Element (IE) of RRC signaling.
Separate configuration information for each logical channel,
Ryoo [0398]; (8) UL resources may be separated into (i) UL grant-based resources which are allocated by transmitting UL resource allocation information, that is, UL grant through a control channel such as a PDCCH to the UE by the eNB in every resource allocation and (ii) UL grant-free-based resources which are resources allocated in advance by periodically allocating UL resources through RRC signaling regardless of the generation of data of the UE rather than the method by which the eNB allocates UL resources by transmitting the UL grant to the UE in every resource allocation. Accordingly, the eNB may configure the UE to transmit and receive data generated in a particular logical channel through UL grant-based resources and to transmit and receive data generated in another logical channel through UL grant-free-based resources.
wherein the separate configuration information for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode.
Ryoo [0426]; If UL resources having the TTI smaller than “timeParameter” are allocated, the corresponding logical channel may be transmitted and received through the corresponding UL resources. [0427] If UL resources in which the time corresponding to the number of OFDM symbols included in a predetermined unit (for example, allocated UL resources) is shorter than “timeParameter” are allocated, the corresponding logical channel may be transmitted and received through the corresponding UL resources.
Ryoo [0428]; Refers to time of a particular TTI [0429] Refers to a particular value of time corresponding to the number of OFDM symbols included in a predetermined unit (for example, allocated UL resources) [0430] In this example, the UL resource allocation scheme is expressed as “ulGrantMode”. In this example, the UL resource allocation scheme may be one of “ulGrantBased”, “ulGrantFree”, and “both”.
and specifies one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations for the logical channel.
Ryoo [0178] A. If the UE receives UL grant having a TTI of 1 ms from the eNB, the UE carries data on
the UL grant through the LCP operation in an order of the priority A>B>C>D given for logical channels
A, B, C, and D.
In view of Ryoo, Tenny is modified such that the configuration information is traveled through RRC, and the separate configuration for each logical channel specifies grant-free scheduling mode.
Tenny and Ryoo are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above for the UE to receive the configuration through RRC and the separate configuration information of each logical channel for the grant-free mode based on priority of each logical channel to maintain the low latency (Ryoo [0038]).
Tenny does not teach specifies one or more allowed numerologies.
Loehr teaches specifies one or more allowed numerologies.
Loehr [0239]; As explained before, the uplink scheduling assignment is numerology layer specific, and
the LCP procedure shall take this into account by prioritizing during the LCP procedure the data from
those logical channels that are associated with the intended numerology layer of the received uplink
scheduling assignment. In particular, the radio resources allocated by the received uplink grant are to
be used preferably to transmit data from those logical channels associated with the
intended numerology layer. However, should radio resources remain after
having allocated radio resources for transmitting all pending data of logical channels of the
intended numerology layer, the remaining radio resources could also be used to transmit data of
logical channels that are associated with other numerology layers.
In view of Loehr, Tenny is modified such that uplink grant is assigned to the one or more logical channel
based on one or more allowed numerologies.
Tenny and Loehr are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to assign the uplink grant based on the allowed numerology of layers to improve the resource allocation and LCP procedure (Loehr [0223]).
Claims 22-28 and 30-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenny in view of Ryoo, in further view of Lu et al. (US 2017/0303266 A1) ( hereafter “Lu”) in further view of Loehr.
Regarding claim 22, Tenny in view of Ryoo teaches all limitation of claim 21. Tenny further teaches The UE of claim 21, wherein at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive configuration information. (Tenny, Fig. 7 , Step 554, [0048-0049]; FIG. 7 illustrates flowchart for an embodiment method of performing grant free transmission 550. Initially, the method begins in block 552 (it is inherent the UE is receiving grant free configuration (configuration information). Then, in block 554, the UE determines whether grant free transmission is currently allowed.)
Tenny does not teach configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and: the one or more allowed numerologies ;the one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations;
or a combination thereof; and assign, in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure, resources allocated by an uplink grant to the MAC-CE based on a numerology and an uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Lu teaches configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and: one or more allowed numerologies ; or one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations;
or both; (Lu [0058]; In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process. That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI (Mapping between MAC-CE and one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations). The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI.
and assign, in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure, resources allocated by an uplink grant to the MAC-CE based on an uplink transmission time duration.
(Lu [0057-0058]; In this embodiment, if there exists an uplink grant of the L_Cell and the uplink grant is capable of accommodating the triggered MAC CE, the uplink grant of the L_Cell may be allocated for the MAC CE( resource allocated by an uplink grant to the MAC-CE). Hence, the MAC CE may be transmitted via the L_Cell, and reliability of transmission of the MAC CE may be improved.
In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process (in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure) . That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI , and at least one of the following: the one or more allowed numerologies; and the one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations. ) . The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI.
In view of Lu, Tenny is modified such that there is a configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Tenny and Lu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant to determine whether there exists an uplink grant of a serving cell in a licensed and unlicensed band when an MAC control element is triggered to decrease the unnecessary latency (Lu [0014]).
Tenny does not teach resources allocated by an uplink grant based on a numerology.
Loehr teaches resources allocated by an uplink grant based on a numerology.
Loehr [0239]; As explained before, the uplink scheduling assignment is numerology layer specific, and
the LCP procedure shall take this into account by prioritizing during the LCP procedure the data from
those logical channels that are associated with the intended numerology layer of the received uplink
scheduling assignment. In particular, the radio resources allocated by the received uplink grant are to
be used preferably to transmit data from those logical channels associated with the
intended numerology layer. However, should radio resources remain after
having allocated radio resources for transmitting all pending data of logical channels of the
intended numerology layer, the remaining radio resources could also be used to transmit data of
logical channels that are associated with other numerology layers.
In view of Loehr, Tenny is modified such that uplink grant is assigned to the one or more logical channel
based on one or more allowed numerologies.
Tenny and Loehr are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to assign the uplink grant based on the allowed numerology of layers to improve the resource allocation and LCP procedure (Loehr [0223]).
Regarding claim 23, The UE of claim 22, wherein at least one processor (Tenny, Fig. 10, Ref. 604) is configured to cause the UE to receive the configuration from a network device. Tenny, Fig. 7 , Step 554, [0048-0049]; FIG. 7 illustrates flowchart for an embodiment method of performing grant free transmission 550. Initially, the method begins in block 552 (it is inherent the UE is receiving grant free configuration (configuration information). Then, in block 554, the UE determines whether grant free transmission is currently allowed.
Tenny does not teach the mapping relationship.
Lu teaches the mapping relationship. (Lu [0058]; In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process. That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI (Mapping between MAC-CE and one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations). The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI.
In view of Lu, Tenny is modified such that there is a configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Tenny and Lu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant to determine whether there exists an uplink grant of a serving cell in a licensed and unlicensed band when an MAC control element is triggered to decrease the unnecessary latency (Lu [0014]).
Regarding claim 24, The UE of claim 22, wherein at least one processor (Tenny, Fig. 10, Ref. 604).
Tenny does not teach the UE to perform the logical channel prioritization procedure based on the mapping.
Lu teaches the UE to perform the logical channel prioritization procedure based on the mapping.
(Lu [0057-0058]; In this embodiment, if there exists an uplink grant of the L_Cell and the uplink grant is capable of accommodating the triggered MAC CE, the uplink grant of the L_Cell may be allocated for the MAC CE( resource allocated by an uplink grant to the MAC-CE). Hence, the MAC CE may be transmitted via the L_Cell, and reliability of transmission of the MAC CE may be improved.
Lu [0058]; In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process (logical channel prioritization procedure based on mapping) . That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI . The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI. )
In view of Lu, Tenny is modified such that there is a configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Tenny and Lu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant to determine whether there exists an uplink grant of a serving cell in a licensed and unlicensed band when an MAC control element is triggered to decrease the unnecessary latency (Lu [0014]).
Regarding claim 25, Tenny teaches The UE of claim 22, wherein at least one processor (Tenny, Fig. 10, Ref. 604) is configured to cause the UE to generate a transport block (TB). (Tenny [0021]; Based on the condition of the queues, the UE may issue a scheduling request to a network to receive an uplink grant. When an uplink grant is received from the network, the UE populates the data transmission from data in the queues, filling the transport block size in the grant with data from the logical channels in order of priority (UE to generate a TB). The data is then transmitted in an uplink transmission).
However, Tenny does not teach the mapping relationship.
Lu teaches the mapping. (Lu [0057-0058]; In this embodiment, if there exists an uplink grant of the L_Cell and the uplink grant is capable of accommodating the triggered MAC CE, the uplink grant of the L_Cell may be allocated for the MAC CE( resource allocated by an uplink grant to the MAC-CE). Hence, the MAC CE may be transmitted via the L_Cell, and reliability of transmission of the MAC CE may be improved.
Lu [0058]; In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process (based on mapping) . That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI . The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI. )
In view of Lu, Tenny is modified such that generating of transport block is based on configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Tenny and Lu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to generate TB based on configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant to determine whether there exists an uplink grant of a serving cell in a licensed and unlicensed band when an MAC control element is triggered to decrease the unnecessary latency (Lu [0014]).
Regarding claim 26, The UE of claim 22, wherein at least one processor (Tenny, Fig. 10, Ref. 604) is configured to cause the UE to perform the logical channel prioritization procedure without considering the mapping.
(Tenny [0030]; An embodiment provides for the logical channel prioritization aspects of uplink scheduling, and may, in some embodiments, be compatible with a model from LTE. A UE uplinks data from one or more service carries over a logical channel. In conventional grant based operation, the scheduler requests a grant from a network. Next, the network issues a grant, including parameters of a transport block (TB) that the UE will be approved to send. Then, the UE populates the TB according to the priorities of the channels. Each logical channel may have its own queue of data to be scheduled. Data may be processed from the queues based on priority, so higher priority data is transmitted sooner. Different UEs may implement the uplink details differently, albeit resulting in the same scheduling output for a given set of inputs.)
(Tenny, Fig. 7, step 556 and 568, [0052]; On the other hand, when grant free transmission is currently allowed, the UE proceeds to block 556. In block 556, the UE collects data eligible for grant free transmission (UE perform the prioritization without mapping))
[0054]; In block 568, the UE passes the data from the GFTB to the PHY for grant free transmission. The method then ends in block 570.)
Regarding claim 27, The UE of claim 22, wherein at least one is configured to cause the UE to generate a transport block (TB) without considering the mapping.
(Tenny [0031]; Some logical channels may have a requirement on latency. In an example, latency requirements of logical channels are satisfied in a grant free approach. Some logical channels may be forbidden from grant free use. For example, some logical channels may require the use of grants to prevent contention and guarantee service. In an embodiment, configuration for constructing a grant free uplink transport block is known to the UE in advance (generate a transport block (TB) without considering the mapping ). The configuration may, for example, be received in a previous message from the communications controller. Alternatively, the configuration is installed on the UE. The configuration may include modulation and coding state (MCS) configuration, maximum TB size, and other characteristics for grant free uplink.)
Regarding claim 28, Tenny teaches The UE of claim 22, to receive configuration information. (Tenny, Fig. 7 , Step 554, [0048-0049]; FIG. 7 illustrates flowchart for an embodiment method of performing grant free transmission 550. Initially, the method begins in block 552 (it is inherent the UE is receiving grant free configuration (configuration information). Then, in block 554, the UE determines whether grant free transmission is currently allowed.)
Tenny does not teach wherein the one or more allowed numerologies, or the one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations, or both comprises all numerologies, or all uplink transmission time durations, or both.
Lu teaches wherein the one or more allowed numerologies, the one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations, or the combination thereof comprises all numerologies, all uplink transmission time durations, or the combination thereof.
(Lu [0058]; In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process. That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI. The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI( the one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations comprises all uplink transmission time duration (the current TTI and the subsequent).
In view of Lu, Tenny is modified such that there is a configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Tenny and Lu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant to determine whether there exists an uplink grant of a serving cell in a licensed and unlicensed band in all TTI when an MAC control element is triggered to decrease the unnecessary latency (Lu [0014]).
Regarding claim 30, The method of claim 29, further comprising: receiving configuration information. (Tenny, Fig. 7 , Step 554, [0048-0049]; FIG. 7 illustrates flowchart for an embodiment method of performing grant free transmission 550. Initially, the method begins in block 552 (it is inherent the UE is receiving grant free configuration (configuration information). Then, in block 554, the UE determines whether grant free transmission is currently allowed.)
Tenny does not teach configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and: the one or more allowed numerologies; the or one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations;
or both; and assigning, in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure, resources allocated by an uplink grant to the MAC-CE based on a numerology and an uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Lu teaches configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and: one or more allowed numerologies ;one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations;
or a combination thereof; (Lu [0058]; In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process. That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI (Mapping between MAC-CE and one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations). The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI.
and assign, in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure, resources allocated by an uplink grant to the MAC-CE based on an uplink transmission time duration.
(Lu [0057-0058]; In this embodiment, if there exists an uplink grant of the L_Cell and the uplink grant is capable of accommodating the triggered MAC CE, the uplink grant of the L_Cell may be allocated for the MAC CE( resource allocated by an uplink grant to the MAC-CE). Hence, the MAC CE may be transmitted via the L_Cell, and reliability of transmission of the MAC CE may be improved.
In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process (in accordance with the logical channel prioritization procedure) . That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI , and at least one of the following: the one or more allowed numerologies; and the one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations. ) . The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI.
In view of Lu, Tenny is modified such that there is a configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Tenny and Lu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant to determine whether there exists an uplink grant of a serving cell in a licensed and unlicensed band when an MAC control element is triggered to decrease the unnecessary latency (Lu [0014]).
Tenny does not teach resources allocated by an uplink grant based on a numerology.
Loehr teaches resources allocated by an uplink grant based on a numerology.
Loehr [0239]; As explained before, the uplink scheduling assignment is numerology layer specific, and
the LCP procedure shall take this into account by prioritizing during the LCP procedure the data from
those logical channels that are associated with the intended numerology layer of the received uplink
scheduling assignment. In particular, the radio resources allocated by the received uplink grant are to
be used preferably to transmit data from those logical channels associated with the
intended numerology layer. However, should radio resources remain after
having allocated radio resources for transmitting all pending data of logical channels of the
intended numerology layer, the remaining radio resources could also be used to transmit data of
logical channels that are associated with other numerology layers.
In view of Loehr, Tenny is modified such that uplink grant is assigned to the one or more logical channel
based on one or more allowed numerologies.
Tenny and Loehr are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to assign the uplink grant based on the allowed numerology of layers to improve the resource allocation and LCP procedure (Loehr [0223]).
Regarding claim 31, Tenny teaches the method of claim 30, further comprising: receiving the configuration from a network device. Tenny, Fig. 7 , Step 554, [0048-0049]; FIG. 7 illustrates flowchart for an embodiment method of performing grant free transmission 550. Initially, the method begins in block 552 (it is inherent the UE is receiving grant free configuration (configuration information). Then, in block 554, the UE determines whether grant free transmission is currently allowed.
Tenny does not teach the mapping relationship.
Lu teaches the mapping relationship. (Lu [0058]; In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process. That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI (Mapping between MAC-CE and one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations). The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI.
In view of Lu, Tenny is modified such that there is a configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Tenny and Lu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant to determine whether there exists an uplink grant of a serving cell in a licensed and unlicensed band when an MAC control element is triggered to decrease the unnecessary latency (Lu [0014]).
Regarding claim 32, Tenny teaches The method of claim 30, further comprising: performing the logical channel prioritization. (Tenny [0035]; A scheduler operates on MAC SDUs similarly to logical channel prioritization)
Tenny does not teach the UE to perform the logical channel prioritization procedure based on the mapping.
Lu teaches the UE to perform the logical channel prioritization procedure based on the mapping.
(Lu [0057-0058]; In this embodiment, if there exists an uplink grant of the L_Cell and the uplink grant is capable of accommodating the triggered MAC CE, the uplink grant of the L_Cell may be allocated for the MAC CE( resource allocated by an uplink grant to the MAC-CE). Hence, the MAC CE may be transmitted via the L_Cell, and reliability of transmission of the MAC CE may be improved.
Lu [0058]; In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process (logical channel prioritization procedure based on mapping) . That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI . The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI. )
In view of Lu, Tenny is modified such that there is a configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Tenny and Lu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant to determine whether there exists an uplink grant of a serving cell in a licensed and unlicensed band when an MAC control element is triggered to decrease the unnecessary latency (Lu [0014]).
Regarding claim 33, Tenny teaches the method of claim 30, comprising generating a transport block (TB). (Tenny [0021]; Based on the condition of the queues, the UE may issue a scheduling request to a network to receive an uplink grant. When an uplink grant is received from the network, the UE populates the data transmission from data in the queues, filling the transport block size in the grant with data from the logical channels in order of priority (UE to generate a TB). The data is then transmitted in an uplink transmission).
However, Tenny does not the mapping relationship.
Lu teaches the mapping. (Lu [0057-0058]; In this embodiment, if there exists an uplink grant of the L_Cell and the uplink grant is capable of accommodating the triggered MAC CE, the uplink grant of the L_Cell may be allocated for the MAC CE( resource allocated by an uplink grant to the MAC-CE). Hence, the MAC CE may be transmitted via the L_Cell, and reliability of transmission of the MAC CE may be improved.
Lu [0058]; In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process (based on the mapping) . That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI . The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI. )
In view of Lu, Tenny is modified such that generating of transport block is based on configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Tenny and Lu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to generate TB based on configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant to determine whether there exists an uplink grant of a serving cell in a licensed and unlicensed band when an MAC control element is triggered to decrease the unnecessary latency (Lu [0014]).
Regarding claim 34, The method of claim 30, further comprising performing the logical channel prioritization procedure without considering the mapping. (Tenny [0030]; An embodiment provides for the logical channel prioritization aspects of uplink scheduling, and may, in some embodiments, be compatible with a model from LTE. A UE uplinks data from one or more service carries over a logical channel. In conventional grant based operation, the scheduler requests a grant from a network. Next, the network issues a grant, including parameters of a transport block (TB) that the UE will be approved to send. Then, the UE populates the TB according to the priorities of the channels. Each logical channel may have its own queue of data to be scheduled. Data may be processed from the queues based on priority, so higher priority data is transmitted sooner. Different UEs may implement the uplink details differently, albeit resulting in the same scheduling output for a given set of inputs.)
(Tenny, Fig. 7, step 556 and 568, [0052]; On the other hand, when grant free transmission is currently allowed, the UE proceeds to block 556. In block 556, the UE collects data eligible for grant free transmission (UE perform the prioritization without mapping))
[0054]; In block 568, the UE passes the data from the GFTB to the PHY for grant free transmission. The method then ends in block 570.)
Regarding claim 35, The method of claim 30, further comprising generating a transport block (TB) without considering the mapping. (Tenny [0031]; Some logical channels may have a requirement on latency. In an example, latency requirements of logical channels are satisfied in a grant free approach. Some logical channels may be forbidden from grant free use. For example, some logical channels may require the use of grants to prevent contention and guarantee service. In an embodiment, configuration for constructing a grant free uplink transport block is known to the UE in advance. The configuration may, for example, be received in a previous message from the communications controller. Alternatively, the configuration is installed on the UE. The configuration may include modulation and coding state (MCS) configuration, maximum TB size, and other characteristics for grant free uplink.)
Regarding claim 36, Tenny teaches the method of claim 30 , receiving configuration information. (Tenny, Fig. 7 , Step 554, [0048-0049]; FIG. 7 illustrates flowchart for an embodiment method of performing grant free transmission 550. Initially, the method begins in block 552 (it is inherent the UE is receiving grant free configuration (configuration information). Then, in block 554, the UE determines whether grant free transmission is currently allowed.)
Tenny does not teach wherein the one or more allowed numerologies, or the one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations, or both comprises all numerologies, or all uplink transmission time durations, or both.
Lu teaches wherein the one or more allowed numerologies, the one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations, or the combination thereof comprises all numerologies, all uplink transmission time durations, or the combination thereof.
(Lu [0058]; In an implementation, if there exists no the uplink grant of the L_Cell in the system after MAC CEs and data of priorities higher than that of the MAC CE are allocated with the uplink grant, the transmission of the MAC CE will not be taken into account in the LCP process. That is, in such a case, even though the MAC CE is triggered, it will not be allocated with the uplink grant within the current TTI. The MAC CE is transmitted until after there exists the uplink grant of the L_Cell, or the MAC CE is cancelled within a subsequent TTI( the one or more allowed uplink transmission time durations comprises all uplink transmission time duration (the current TTI and the subsequent).
In view of Lu, Tenny is modified such that there is a configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and the uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant.
Tenny and Lu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of uplink grant based on logic channel prioritization.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Tenny in the manner described above to configuring a mapping between a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) and uplink transmission time duration of the uplink grant to determine whether there exists an uplink grant of a serving cell in a licensed and unlicensed band in all TTI when an MAC control element is triggered to decrease the unnecessary latency (Lu [0014]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone number of 703-
756-1834.
Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct
uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478