DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the Rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 based on Wang, the Applicant states that the prior art fails to disclose the newly amended limitation, ”Identifying based on, comparison of the performance coefficient and a threshold value, an anomaly of the at least one object, wherein the threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object” as recited by claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains the 103 rejection.
In the previous action filled 10/01/2025, the Examiner acquiesces “Wang as modified by Dalfra does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method includes determining whether the performance coefficient meets a threshold value," relying upon Zhang to teach wherein a performance coefficient meets a threshold value. In their remarks, the Applicant does not dispute the prior art’s disclosure of a performance coefficient meeting a threshold. The Applicant does however argue that Zhang does not disclose the newly amended limitation, ”wherein the threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object” as recited by claim 1. The Examiner does not rely upon Zhang to disclose the above limitation. Although Wang as modified by Dalfra does not disclose using threshold value in the above manner, Wang does disclose ”A threshold to be applied to a test statistics […]. The threshold may be adjusted to achieve different sensitivity” in paragraph [0159] and “The threshold adjustment may depend on […] the past history” in paragraph [0160]. Wang discloses determining a threshold value based on recorded historical data. As explained in greater detail in the previous action filled 10/01/2025, the aforementioned historical data incudes a pattern generated from a variation in a material property parameter [0134]. Wang discloses the limitation “wherein the threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object,” recited by amended claim 1.
The Applicant further purports that as the threshold value of Zhang is not determined in the same manner as above, Zeng is unable to disclose or suggest “Identifying based on, comparison of the performance coefficient and a threshold value, an anomaly of the at least one object,” as recited by claim 1. In light of the Examiner’s argument above, the Examiner respectfully reminds the Applicant that it has been held that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of one reference may be bodily incorporated into the other to produce the claimed subject matter but simply what the combination of references makes obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. In re Bozek, 163 USPQ 545 (CCPA 1969). Although Wang does not disclose, “determining whether the performance coefficient meets a threshold value,” the art does disclose “wherein the threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object.” Zhang discloses comparing a performance coefficient to a threshold in order to identify an anomaly [0636]. The combination of Wang as modified by Dalfra and further in view of Zhang make obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art “determining whether the performance coefficient meets a threshold value.” The Examiner maintains the art rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10-11, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang(US20200300972A1) in view of Dalfra(US20210263131A1), and further in view of Zhang(US20220237414A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses
A method of managing objects by an electronic device, comprising: monitoring (“In one embodiment, the present teaching discloses a method, apparatus, device, system, and/or software (method/apparatus/device/system/software) of a wireless monitoring system”[0057]), using an ultra-wide band (UWB) sensor of the electronic device (“The wireless signal may comprise: transmitted/received signal, EM radiation, RF signal/transmission, […] UWB) “[0059]) , at least one object over a time period (“ A characteristics and/or a spatial-temporal information (STI, e.g. motion information) of the object and/or of the motion of the object may be monitored based on the TSCI.”[0057]); based on the monitoring of the at least one object, extracting a variation in a material property parameter of the at least one object (“The expression may comprise placement, placement of moveable parts, location, position, orientation, identifiable place, region, spatial coordinate, presentation, state, static expression, size,”[0058]) […];generating a pattern based on the variation in the material property parameter (“A first part of the task may comprise at least one of: preprocessing, processing, signal conditioning, […], motion estimation, motion change detection, motion pattern detection, motion pattern estimation, motion pattern recognition, vital sign detection,”[0134]); determining a performance coefficient from the generated pattern (“The method of the wireless monitoring system of clause 1 or clause 2: wherein at least one of: the first information (info) and the second info, comprising at least one of: […] standard deviation, correlation, correlation coefficient, median, mode”[0353]) and identifying […], an anomaly of the at least one object (“The characteristics and/or STI (e.g. motion information) may comprise: location, location coordinate, change in location […], complex motion, and/or combination of multiple motions, event, signal statistics, signal dynamics, anomaly […] based on an analysis of the feature”[0125]), wherein the threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object (”A threshold to be applied to a test statistics […]. The threshold may be adjusted to achieve different sensitivity” [0159] & “The threshold adjustment may depend on […] the past history” [0160])
Wang discloses the extracting, generating, and identifying steps of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the material property parameter comprises a dielectric constant of the at least one object. Dalfra discloses the method wherein a material property parameter includes a dielectric constant of the at least one object(“the radar identifies a material type of a detected object through a dielectric constant and/or surface morphology of the detected object”[0020])
Dalfra teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teachings of Dalfra to incorporate the features of measuring the dielectric constant of a material through radar so as to gain the advantage of increasing available monitoring data [0080, Dalfra]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Wang discloses wherein a threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method includes determining whether the performance coefficient meets a threshold value. Zhang discloses the, comparison of the performance coefficient and a threshold value (“determine whether the one or more confidence values are below a threshold”[0636]).
Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra with the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the features of comparing a performance coefficient and a threshold value so as to gain the advantage of simplifying programming [0187, Zhang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 3, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang discloses the method wherein, the extracting of the variation, comprises: identifying the at least one object (“ A characteristics and/or a spatial-temporal information (STI, e.g. motion information) of the object and/or of the motion of the object may be monitored based on the TSCI.”[0057]) based on a reflected UWB signal received at the UWB sensor from the at least one object (“The wireless monitoring system comprises: a transmitter, a receiver, and a processor. The transmitter is configured for transmitting, using N1 transmit antennas” [0035]); generating noise free data of the reflected UWB signal and a binary image of the noise free data by pre-processing the reflected UWB signal (“process the raw signal by removing/suppressing influence of the dominant periodic signal (e.g. filter the raw signal, or estimate the dominant periodic signal and subtract it from the raw signal)”[0273]); and determining the variation in least one of the material property parameter from the noise free data and the binary image (“s5b: compute characteristics of the next dominant periodic signal based on the processed raw signal. The characteristics may be computed based on frequency transform, trigonometric transform, fast Fourier transform (FFT), wavelet transform, ACF, etc.”[0294]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang discloses the method wherein, the generating of the noise free data of the reflected UWB signal and the binary image of the noise free data, comprises: generating the noise free data of the reflected UWB signal by removing a direct current (DC) noise and a carrier signal in the reflected UWB signal (“process the raw signal by removing/suppressing influence of the dominant periodic signal (e.g. filter the raw signal, or estimate the dominant periodic signal and subtract it from the raw signal)”[0273]); filtering the noise free data by removing a low frequency time component from the noise free data (“An operation, pre-processing, processing and/or postprocessing may be applied to data […] feature extraction, decomposition, projection, orthogonal projection, non-orthogonal projection, over-complete projection, eigen-decomposition, singular value decomposition (SVD)”[0144]); performing a background subtraction on the filtered noise free data using wavelets data (“ An operation, pre-processing, processing and/or postprocessing may be applied to data […] discrete time FT (DTFT), discrete FT (DFT), fast FT (FFT),wavelet transform,”[0144]); and generating the binary image of the noise free data using an output obtained from the performing of the background subtraction on the filtered noise free data (“process the raw signal by removing/suppressing influence of the dominant periodic signal (e.g. filter the raw signal, or estimate the dominant periodic signal and subtract it from the raw signal).”[0273]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang disclose the method further comprising, […], detecting the anomaly of the at least one object (“The characteristics and/or STI (e.g. motion information) may comprise: location, location coordinate, change in location […], complex motion, and/or combination of multiple motions, event, signal statistics, signal dynamics, anomaly […] based on an analysis of the feature”[0125]).
Wang discloses wherein a threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method includes determining whether the performance coefficient meets a threshold value. Zhang discloses, determining that the performance coefficient meets the threshold value (“determine whether the one or more confidence values are below a threshold”[0636]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang disclose all of the limitations of Claim 5. Wang as modified by Dalfra fails to limit or disclose updating a database when a performance coefficient fails to reach a threshold. Zhang discloses the method further comprising, determining that the performance coefficient does not meet the threshold value (“wherein the one or more actions include transmitting a notification to one or more medical systems indicating that the one or more confidence values associated with the one or more objects are below the threshold”[0639]), updating the generated pattern to a database (“to process a request, a request may be entered into a database, a machine learning model may be located from model registry 3724 if not already in a cache, a validation step may ensure appropriate machine learning model is loaded into a cache”[0572]).
Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra with the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the features of updating a database when a performance coefficient fails to reach a threshold so as to gain the advantage of simplifying programming [0187, Zhang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang disclose the method further comprising, a functional state of the at least one object based on the material property parameter and a motion parameter of the at least one object (“The expression may comprise placement, placement of moveable parts, location, position, orientation, identifiable place, region, spatial coordinate, presentation, state, static expression, size,”[0058])
Wang as modified by Dalfra does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method includes, using an artificial intelligence (Al) engine. Zhang discloses the method wherein, classifying, using an artificial intelligence (Al) engine (“ In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 300 provides an input image to one or more neural networks that process said input image and identify or otherwise classify one or more objects”[0097]) […]; and storing, in the database, the generated pattern and the functional state of the at least one object corresponding to the generated pattern (“to process a request, a request may be entered into a database, a machine learning model may be located from model registry 3724 if not already in a cache, a validation step may ensure appropriate machine learning model is loaded into a cache”[0572]).
Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra with the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the features of classifying functional states with an artificial intelligence engine and uploading the generated pattern to a database so as to gain the advantage of improving accuracy [0554, Zhang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang discloses the method wherein, the monitoring of the at least one object, comprises: transmitting, using the UWB sensor (“The wireless monitoring system comprises: a transmitter, a receiver, and a processor. The transmitter is configured for transmitting, using N1 transmit antennas” [0035]), a reference UWB signal towards the at least one object; and receiving (“The wireless signal may comprise: transmitted/received signal, EM radiation, RF signal/transmission, […] reference signal”[0059]), using the UWB sensor, a reflected UWB signal corresponding to the transmitted reference UWB signal from the at least one object (“ The receiver is configured for: receiving, using N2 receive antennas”[0035]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses
An electronic device for managing objects, the electronic device comprising: an ultra-wide band (UWB) sensor (“The wireless signal may comprise: transmitted/received signal, EM radiation, RF signal/transmission, […] UWB) “[0059]); a memory storing one or more instructions (“a memory communicatively coupled with the processor and a set of instructions stored in the memory.”[0057]); and a processor communicatively coupled to the UWB sensor and the memory (“A time series of channel information (CI) of a wireless multipath channel (channel) may be obtained (e.g. dynamically) using a processor”[0059), wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: monitor (“In one embodiment, the present teaching discloses a method, apparatus, device, system, and/or software (method/apparatus/device/system/software) of a wireless monitoring system”[0057]), using the UWB sensor (“The wireless signal may comprise: transmitted/received signal, EM radiation, RF signal/transmission, […] UWB) “[0059]), at least one object over a time period (“ A characteristics and/or a spatial-temporal information (STI, e.g. motion information) of the object and/or of the motion of the object may be monitored based on the TSCI.”[0057]); based on the monitoring of the at least one object , extract a variation in a material property parameter of the at least one object (“The expression may comprise placement, placement of moveable parts, location, position, orientation, identifiable place, region, spatial coordinate, presentation, state, static expression, size,”[0058]) […];generate a pattern based on the variation in the material property parameter (“A first part of the task may comprise at least one of: preprocessing, processing, signal conditioning, […], motion estimation, motion change detection, motion pattern detection, motion pattern estimation, motion pattern recognition, vital sign detection,”[0134]) […]; determine a performance coefficient from the generated pattern (“A first part of the task may comprise at least one of: preprocessing, processing, signal conditioning, […], motion estimation, motion change detection, motion pattern detection, motion pattern estimation, motion pattern recognition, vital sign detection,”[0134]) and identify, […] an anomaly of the at least one object (“The characteristics and/or STI (e.g. motion information) may comprise: location, location coordinate, change in location […], complex motion, and/or combination of multiple motions, event, signal statistics, signal dynamics, anomaly […] based on an analysis of the feature”[0125]) wherein the threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object (”A threshold to be applied to a test statistics […]. The threshold may be adjusted to achieve different sensitivity” [0159] & “The threshold adjustment may depend on […] the past history” [0160]).
Wang discloses the extracting, generating, and identifying steps of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the material property parameter comprises a dielectric constant of the at least one object. Dalfra discloses the device wherein a material property parameter includes a dielectric constant of the at least one object(“the radar identifies a material type of a detected object
through a dielectric constant and/or surface morphology of the detected object”[0020]).
Dalfra teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teachings of Dalfra to incorporate the features of measuring the dielectric constant of a material through radar so as to gain the advantage of increasing available monitoring data [0080, Dalfra]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Wang discloses wherein a threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method includes determining whether the performance coefficient meets a threshold value. Zhang discloses the, comparison of the performance coefficient and a threshold value (“determine whether the one or more confidence values are below a threshold”[0636]).
Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra with the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the features of comparing a performance coefficient and a threshold value so as to gain the advantage of simplifying programming [0187, Zhang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 13, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang discloses the device wherein, the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device further to: identify the at least one object (“ A characteristics and/or a spatial-temporal information (STI, e.g. motion information) of the object and/or of the motion of the object may be monitored based on the TSCI.”[0057]) based on a reflected UWB signal received at the UWB sensor from the at least one object (“The wireless monitoring system comprises: a transmitter, a receiver, and a processor. The transmitter is configured for transmitting, using N1 transmit antennas” [0035]); generate noise free data of the reflected UWB signal and a binary image of the noise free data by pre-processing the reflected UWB signal (“process the raw signal by removing/suppressing influence of the dominant periodic signal (e.g. filter the raw signal, or estimate the dominant periodic signal and subtract it from the raw signal)”[0273]); and determine the variation in least one of the material property parameter from the noise free data and the binary image (“s5b: compute characteristics of the next dominant periodic signal based on the processed raw signal. The characteristics may be computed based on frequency transform, trigonometric transform, fast Fourier transform (FFT), wavelet transform, ACF, etc.”[0294]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang discloses the device wherein, the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device further to: generate the noise free data of the reflected UWB signal by removing a direct current (DC) noise and a carrier signal in the reflected UWB signal (“process the raw signal by removing/suppressing influence of the dominant periodic signal (e.g. filter the raw signal, or estimate the dominant periodic signal and subtract it from the raw signal)”[0273]); filter the noise free data by removing a low frequency time component from the noise free data (“ An operation, pre-processing, processing and/or postprocessing may be applied to data […] feature extraction, decomposition, projection, orthogonal projection, non-orthogonal projection, over-complete projection, eigen-decomposition, singular value decomposition
(SVD)”[0144]); perform a background subtraction on the filtered noise free data using wavelets (“ An operation, pre-processing, processing and/or postprocessing may be applied to data […] discrete time FT (DTFT), discrete FT (DFT), fast FT (FFT), wavelet transform,”[0144]); and generate the binary image of the noise free data using an output obtained from the background subtraction performed on the filtered noise free data (“process the raw signal by removing/suppressing influence of the dominant periodic signal (e.g. filter the raw signal, or estimate the dominant periodic signal and subtract it from the raw signal).”[0273]).
Regarding claim 15, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang disclose the device further comprising, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device further to: […]detecting the anomaly of the at least one object (“The characteristics and/or STI (e.g. motion information) may comprise: location, location coordinate, change in location […], complex motion, and/or combination of multiple motions, event, signal statistics, signal dynamics, anomaly […] based on an analysis of the feature”[0125]).
Wang as modified by Dalfra does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the device includes, using an artificial intelligence (Al) engine. Zhang discloses the device wherein, based on determining that the performance coefficient does not meet the threshold value (“wherein the one or more actions include transmitting a notification to one or more medical systems indicating that the one or more confidence values associated with the one or more objects are below the threshold”[0639]), updating the generated pattern to a database (“to process a request, a request may be entered into a database, a machine learning model may be located from model registry 3724 if not already in a cache, a validation step may ensure appropriate machine learning model is loaded into a cache”[0572]).
Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra with the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the features of a thresholded performance coefficient and updating a database when a performance coefficient fails to reach a threshold so as to gain the advantage of simplifying programming [0187, Zhang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 16, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang disclose the device wherein, the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device further to: […] a functional state of the at least one object based on the material property parameter and a motion parameter of the at least one object (“The expression may comprise placement, placement of moveable parts, location, position, orientation, identifiable place, region, spatial coordinate, presentation, state, static expression, size,”[0058]);
Wang as modified by Dalfra does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the device includes, using an artificial intelligence (Al) engine. Zhang discloses the device wherein, classify, using an artificial intelligence (Al) engine (“ In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 300 provides an input image to one or more neural networks that process said input image and identify or otherwise classify one or more objects”[0097]), […] and store, in the database, the generated pattern and the functional state of the at least one object corresponding to the generated pattern to the database (“to process a request, a request may be entered into a database, a machine learning model may be located from model registry 3724 if not already in a cache, a validation step may ensure appropriate machine learning model is loaded into a cache”[0572]).
Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra with the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the features of classifying functional states with an artificial intelligence engine and uploading the generated pattern to a database so as to gain the advantage of improving accuracy [0554, Zhang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 18, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang disclose the device wherein, the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device further to: transmit, using the UWB sensor (“The wireless monitoring system comprises: a transmitter, a receiver, and a processor. The transmitter is configured for transmitting, using N1 transmit antennas” [0035]), a reference UWB signal towards the at least one object; and receive(“The wireless signal may comprise: transmitted/received signal, EM radiation, RF signal/transmission, […] reference signal”[0059]), using the UWB sensor, a reflected UWB signal corresponding to the transmitted reference UWB signal from the at least one object (“The receiver is configured for: receiving, using N2 receive antennas”[0035]).
Claims 2, 9, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang(US20200300972A1) as modified by Dalfra(US20210263131A1) and Zhang(US20220237414A1), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Proud(US20140247148A1)
Regarding claim 2, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang discloses the method wherein, the material property parameter and a motion parameter of the at least one object (“A first part of the task may comprise at least one of: preprocessing, processing, signal conditioning, […], motion estimation, motion change detection, motion pattern detection, motion pattern estimation, motion pattern recognition, vital sign detection,”[0134]).
Wang as modified by Dalfra does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method includes an artificial intelligence (Al) engine configured to monitor a functional state. Zhang discloses the method comprising determining, using an artificial intelligence (Al) engine, a functional state of the at least one object (“ In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 300 provides an input image to one or more neural networks that process said input image and identify or otherwise classify one or more objects”[0097])
Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra with the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the features determining a functional state so as to gain the advantage of improving accuracy [0554, Zhang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Wang as modified by Dalfra and further modified by Zhang does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method includes generating at least one recommendation. Proud discloses the method comprising, generating at least one recommendation based on the recommendation state of the at least one object (“Observation or recommendations can be presented based on historical information and live information.” [00135]); and providing the at least one recommendation to a user of the at least one object (“In one embodiment, a breakdown of recounting data that has been collecting is presented for analysis of that data.”[0135]).
Proud teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra and further modified by Zhang with the teachings of Proud to incorporate the features of generating and presenting a recommendation to a user so as to gain the advantage of improving end user monitoring capabilities [00135, Proud] Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 9, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang and further modified by Proud disclose the method wherein, the motion parameter comprises a polynomial phase signal (PPS) parameter of the at least one object (“estimating the influence of the first repetitive motion based on at least one of: […], polynomial interpolation piecewise polynomial interpolation, polynomial fitting, polynomial fitting with adaptive order, polynomial fitting“[0309]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang disclose the device wherein, a functional state of the at least one object based on the material property parameter and the motion parameter (“A first part of the task may comprise at least one of: preprocessing, processing, signal conditioning, […], motion estimation, motion change detection, motion pattern detection, motion pattern estimation, motion pattern recognition, vital sign detection,”[0134])
Wang as modified by Dalfra does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the device includes an artificial intelligence (Al) engine. Zhang discloses the device comprising, determine, using an artificial intelligence (Al) engine (“ In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 300 provides an input image to one or more neural networks that process said input image and identify or otherwise classify one or more objects”[0097])
Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra with the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the features determining a functional state so as to gain the advantage of improving accuracy [0554, Zhang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the device includes generating at least one recommendation. Proud discloses the device wherein, generate at least one recommendation based on the functional state of the at least one object (“Observation or recommendations can be presented based on historical information and live information.” [00135]); and provide the at least one recommendation to a user of the at least one object(“In one embodiment, a breakdown of recounting data that has been collecting is presented for analysis of that data.”[0135]).
Proud teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang with the teachings of Proud to incorporate the features of generating and presenting a recommendation to a user so as to gain the advantage of improving end user monitoring capabilities[00135, Proud]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 17, Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang and further modified by Proud disclose the device wherein, the motion parameter comprises a polynomial phase signal (PPS) parameter of the at least one object (“estimating the influence of the first repetitive motion based on at least one of: […], polynomial interpolation piecewise polynomial interpolation, polynomial fitting, polynomial fitting with adaptive order, polynomial fitting “[0309]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang(US20200300972A1) in view of Dalfra(US20210263131A1) and further in view of Zhang(US20220237414A1) and Proud(US20140247148A1)
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses
A method of managing objects by an electronic device, the method comprising: Monitoring (“In one embodiment, the present teaching discloses a method, apparatus, device, system, and/or software (method/apparatus/device/system/software) of a wireless monitoring system”[0057]), over a time period using a ultra-wide band (UWB) sensor (“The wireless signal may comprise: transmitted/received signal, EM radiation, RF signal/transmission, […] UWB) “[0059]), a variation in a material property associated with at least one object (“The expression may comprise placement, placement of moveable parts, location, position, orientation, identifiable place, region, spatial coordinate, presentation, state, static expression, size,”[0058]); […] parameter of the at least one object indicative of an extent of the variation of the material property and the movement associated with the at least one object (“estimating the influence of the first repetitive motion based on at least one of: […], polynomial interpolation piecewise polynomial interpolation, polynomial fitting, polynomial fitting with adaptive order, polynomial fitting “[0309]); determining a pattern […] (“A first part of the task may comprise at least one of: preprocessing, processing, signal conditioning, […], motion estimation, motion change detection, motion pattern detection, motion pattern estimation, motion pattern recognition, vital sign detection,”[0134]), determining a performance coefficient from the determined pattern (“The method of the wireless monitoring system of clause 1 or clause 2: wherein at least one of: the first information (info) and the second info, comprising at least one of: […] standard deviation, correlation, correlation coefficient, median, mode”[0353]), identifying, […], an anomaly of the at least one object (“The characteristics and/or STI (e.g. motion information) may comprise: location, location coordinate, change in location […], complex motion, and/or combination of multiple motions, event, signal statistics, signal dynamics, anomaly […] based on an analysis of the feature”[0125]) […] wherein the threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object (”A threshold to be applied to a test statistics […]. The threshold may be adjusted to achieve different sensitivity” [0159] & “The threshold adjustment may depend on […] the past history” [0160])
Wang does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method includes, extracting a dielectric constant. Dalfra discloses the method comprising extracting a dielectric constant (“the radar identifies a material type of a detected object through a dielectric constant and/or surface morphology of the detected object”[0020])
Dalfra teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with the teachings of Dalfra to incorporate the features of measuring the dielectric constant of a material through radar so as to gain the advantage of increasing available monitoring data [0080, Dalfra]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Wang discloses wherein a threshold value is determined based on at least one previous pattern of the at least one object, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method includes determining whether the performance coefficient meets a threshold value. Zhang discloses the, comparison of the performance coefficient and a threshold value (“determine whether the one or more confidence values are below a threshold”[0636]).
Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra with the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the features of comparing a performance coefficient and a threshold value so as to gain the advantage of simplifying programming [0187, Zhang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the method includes, extracting a dielectric constant. Proud discloses the method comprising providing to a user, at least one performance recommendation of the at least one object corresponding to the determined pattern (“In one embodiment, a breakdown of recounting data that has been collecting is presented for analysis of that data. Observation or recommendations can be presented based on historical information and live information.”[0135]).
Proud teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang with the teachings of Proud to incorporate the features of presenting a recommendation to a user so as to gain the advantage of improving end user monitoring capabilities[00135, Proud]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 20, Wang as modified by Dalfra and further modified by Zhang and Proud disclose all the limitations of claim 19. Wang as modified by Dalfra do not explicitly disclose the use of an AI engine or providing a performance Zhang recommendation. Zhang discloses, determining, using an artificial intelligence (Al) engine, a functional state of the at least one object based on the material property and a movement associated with the at least one object (“ In at least one embodiment, a system performing at least a part of process 300 provides an input image to one or more neural networks that process said input image and identify or otherwise classify one or more objects”[0097])
Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra with the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the features determining a functional state so as to gain the advantage of improving accuracy [0554, Zhang]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang do not explicitly disclose the providing a performance recommendation. Proud discloses, wherein the providing of the at least one performance recommendation comprises: […] generating the at least one performance recommendation based on the functional state of the at least one object (“In one embodiment, a breakdown of recounting data that has been collecting is presented for analysis of that data. Observation or recommendations can be presented based on historical information and live information.”[0135]).
Proud teaches in the same field of endeavor of remote observation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang as modified by Dalfra and Zhang with the teachings of Proud to incorporate the features of generating and presenting a recommendation to a user so as to gain the advantage of improving end user monitoring capabilities [00135, Proud]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646