DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II, corresponding to claims 8-12, in the reply filed on 12 November 2025 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending, with claims 1-7 and 13-20 withdrawn from consideration for being drawn to a non-elected invention and/or species.
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 10 and claims dependent thereon is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10 and claims dependent thereon, the limitation "the body is configured for physical and electrical coupling with an electronic device" is indefinite. It is unclear if said limitation requires the body to be configured in such a manner that any physical and electrical coupling can be achieved with an electronic device (e.g., the body is constructed in such a manner that physical and electrical couplings between an electronic device and the sensor(s) of the medical device can be achieved) or requires that the body is configured such that the body itself may be physically and electrically coupled with an electronic device (e.g., the body is constructed in such a manner that an electronic device may be physically and electrically coupled to said body). If the latter, it is further unclear in what manner the body is electrically coupled, as the body itself is neither claimed nor disclosed as being electronic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0184912 A1 (Al-Ali).
Regarding claim 8, Al-Ali discloses a medical device (e.g., Figs. 2, 9, etc.) comprising:
a body (main valve body 220) defining a passage therethrough (lumen 218);
a first connector at a first end of the body (Luer lock nut 228 with an O-ring 230);
a valve at a second end of the body (threaded fitting 202 containing a compressible cylindrical gasket 204, wherein as the gasket 204 is axially compressed by the fitting applying a compressive axial force, it collapses around a microcatheter or guidewire 206 locking it in place and preventing blood or other fluids from backflowing through the access port 208, as described in, e.g., ¶ [0047]);
the body being configured to receive an elongated, flexible member (microcatheter or guidewire 206) through the valve and through the passage (e.g., Fig. 2; ¶ [0047]; etc.); and
at least one sensor configured to measure a parameter of a fluid contained within the body (pressure transducer 216, 216-I, or 216-M).
Regarding claim 9, Al-Ali discloses the sensor(s) includes a pressure sensor (pressure transducer 216, 216-I, or 216-M).
Regarding claim 10, Al-Ali discloses the body is configured for physical and electrical coupling with an electronic device (external device, such as a microcomputer or signal processing electronics) (e.g., ¶ [0063] body 220, or a sensor housing (housing 902) thereof, comprises an opening allowing for a wired connection to external electronics).
Regarding claim 11, Al-Ali discloses the first connector is configured as a Luer lock (Luer lock nut 228; ¶ [0051]; etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Al-Ali discloses the device further comprises at least one port in fluid communication with the passage (sidearm 210 and/or sidearm 212).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Ali in view of US 5,795,325 A (Valley).
Regarding claim 10, Al-Ali discloses the limitations of claim 10, as discussed above. In particular, Al-Ali discloses the body is configured for physical and electrical coupling with an electronic device (e.g., main valve body 220, or sensor housing 902 thereof, is constructed in such a manner that an external electronic device, e.g., microcomputer or signal processing electronics, can be physically and electrically coupled to the sensor of the medical device).
Alternatively/Additionally, Al-Ali discloses any well-known structure(s) allowing for a wired connection to external electronics may be utilized (¶ [0063]). Valley discloses a body (hub 308) configured for physical and electrical coupling with an electronic device (hub 308 includes an electrical connector 324 enabling communication of a pressure signal to an electronic pressure monitor 353; col. 17, lines 23-51; etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the medical device of Al-Ali with the body being configured for physical and electrical coupling with an electronic device (e.g., the body having an electrical connector to which a wire/cable can be physically/electrically coupled) as a simple substitution of one suitable configuration/arrangement allowing for a wired connection to external electronics for another to yield no more than predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892.
/Meredith Weare/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791