Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 4/23/26.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn. A new basis for rejection appears below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 6 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda, US20160197334A1, provided on Applicant’s IDS filed 5/5/2023.
Regarding claim 1, Ueda teaches an aluminum battery [0001], comprising:
a shell (case (14)) having an internal space [fig. 2];
an electric core (electrode group (12))[0093] disposed in the internal space [fig. 2],
wherein the electric core comprises a pole sheet group (current collector connection portions (26)(28))[fig. 2], and the pole sheet group has a pole lug (conductive spacer (30))[fig. 3];
a pole tab (connection member (70) comprising lead (62) and rivet (52))[0109][fig. 6A][fig. 3A] partially exposed from the shell [fig. 6A] and extended from the internal space to an outside of the shell (river comprising internal (52a) and external (52c) portions)[fig. 6A]; and
a joint (fastening members (34)(38)) penetrating the pole lug (30)[fig. 3] and the pole tab in the internal space (portions of connecting member (62)(52a) withing case (14))[fig. 3A][fig. 6A] to join and electrically connect the pole lug and the pole tab [fig. 3A][0103].
wherein a thickness of the electric core is between greater than 1 cm and less than 3 cm (metal porous body current collector 0.01 cm – 1 cm)[0071] Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of Americav.Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
wherein a thermal conductivity of the joint is greater than 237 W/m*K (inherent property of aluminum)[0056].
Regarding claim 2, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further, Ueda teaches wherein the joint comprises a rivet, a screw, or a combination thereof [0079].
Regarding claim 3, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further Ueda teaches wherein the pole lug (30) and the pole tab (62) respectively have holes, and joining performed by the joint comprises riveting, fixing, or a combination thereof [0079][fig. 3A].
Regarding claim 6, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further Ueda teaches wherein a material of the joint comprises metal, and an electrical conductivity of the metal is at least greater than 3.78∗107 S/m (inherent property of aluminum)[0073].
Regarding claim 7, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 6.
Further Ueda teaches wherein the metal comprises gold, copper, silver, aluminum, or a combination thereof (aluminum)[0073].
Regarding claim 8, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further Ueda teaches wherein the pole sheet group comprises a plurality of positive pole sheets and a plurality of negative pole sheets, the negative pole sheets are aluminum pole sheets, and the positive pole sheets are nickel pole sheets (first and second collectors)[0096].
Regarding claim 9, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further Ueda teaches wherein the number of the joints penetrating the pole lug and the pole tab is greater than or equal to one (34)(38)[fig. 3].
Regarding claim 10, combined Ueda teaches the aluminum battery according to claim 1.
Further Ueda teaches wherein the joint (34)(38) is not in direct contact with the shell (14)[fig. 2].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724