DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendment application filed April 27, 2026.
Status of Claims
Applicant amended the claims. Claims 1-3,5-10,12-14 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments, filed 4/27/26, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made based on Perilli in view of Long in view of Narula.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,6-10,13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perilli et al (US Publication 20190312890) in view of Long et al (US Publication 20190005237) in view of Narula et al (US Patent 11563755).
In reference to claim 1, Perilli teaches a security management method of an environment in which a plurality of environments are connected to each other through a network, the security management method comprising:
detecting a security anomaly occurring through an attack surface existing in a device included in each of the plurality of environments or in a network connection section between the plurality of environments; (see at least ¶ 18, which teaches detecting a cyber attack in a network environment)
collecting attack data related to the detected security anomaly and analyzing an attack type based on the collected attack data; (see at least ¶s 23-24, which teaches collecting attack characteristics and analyzing the type of attack)
dynamically combining response techniques based on the analyzed attack type; (see at least ¶ 33, which teaches determining a combination of response strategies based on the attack characteristics) and
wherein the dynamically combining of the response techniques based on the analyzed attack type comprises: analyzing an attack type of each of a plurality of security threats included in the security anomaly from the collected attack data, and combining the response techniques (see at least ¶ 33, which teaches analyzing the attack based on the collected attack characteristics, and further teaches combining response strategies according to the stage of the attack to perform a comparative analysis between the techniques).
performing an automatic response to the security anomaly based on the combined response techniques (see at least ¶ 34, which teaches using the response strategies against the cyber attack).
Perilli fails to explicitly teach Internet of blended environment (loBE). However, Long teaches identifying and protecting against cyber attacks, and discloses different types of environments with IoT networks and smart networks. (see Long, at least Background and ¶ 28). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Perilli based on the teachings of Long for the purpose of improving defense against malicious and harmful attacks on networks.
Perilli fails to explicitly teach wherein the dynamically combining of the response techniques comprises: combining the response techniques using a response model that dynamically combines the response techniques to correspond to linkage of the plurality of security threats, wherein the dynamically combining of the response techniques using the response model comprises: modeling a workflow of the response techniques by connecting inputs and outputs between the response techniques; and generating a dynamic playbook corresponding to the modeled workflow.
However, Narula teaches dynamically generating incident specific remediation strategies for responding to network security incident (see Narula, at least Abstract & Background). Narula discloses analyzing attack types and feeding attack data into a machine model (see Narula, at least column 7 lines 1-35 column 8 lines 32-55). Narula also discloses combining response techniques based on a model and worlfow and generating a dynamic playbook based on the modeled workflow (see Narula, at least column 11 lines 16-56 & column 12 lines 36-67). Narula further discloses a playbook generating engine which combines action/response sequences and updates the playbooks based on previous responses (see Narula, at least column 9 lines 20-50). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Perilli based on the teachings of Narula for the purpose of improving remediation strategies when responding to network security incidents.
In reference to claim 2, this is taught by Perilli, at least ¶s 19-20, which teaches detecting the cyber attack through a device in the network environment, and through log data associated with the attack.
In reference to claim 3, this is taught by Perilli, at least ¶s 20,26, which teaches comparing the attack type with prior attacks, and correlating the attack to previously related attack information.
In reference to claim 6, this is taught by Perilli, at least ¶ 32,34, which teaches updating the engine configuration according to the attack type and response.
In reference to claim 7, this is taught by Long, at least ¶ 28, which teaches at least smart grid and medical networks. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Perilli based on the teachings of Long in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
Claims 8-10,13-14 are slight variations of claims 1-3,6-7 above, and are therefore rejected based upon the same rationale.
Claims 5,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perilli et al (US Publication 20190312890) in view of Long et al (US Publication 20190005237) in view of Narula et al (US Patent 11563755) in further view of Atencio et al (US Publication 20200135049).
In reference to claim 5, this is taught by Perilli, at least ¶ 33, which teaches using the cyber security engine and combining response strategies that correlate to other cyber attacks.
Perilli fails to explicitly teach combining the responses “…based on a cyber kill chain stage of each…”. However, “Official Notice” is taken that cyber kill chain is a term of the art which is old and well known in the field of cyber security, where each stage of a cyber kill chain is used for responding to a cyber attack. Furthermore, Atencio teaches evaluating security threat responses based on a comparison with Cyber Kill Chain concepts (see Atencio, at least ¶s 89,90,96). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Perilli to include cyber kill chain analysis for the purpose of better understanding the scope of the attack and responding accordingly.
Claim 12 is slight variations of claim 5 above, and is therefore rejected based upon the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Form 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ramy M Osman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
June 24, 2026