DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 5/1/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1, 6, 11, and 15-16 have been amended. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the independent claims on page 6-8:
Applicant argues that the prior art relied upon in the preceding office action does not teach the following limitations of the presently amended claims:
"wherein the ultrasonic waves are generated by an ultrasonic head positioned adjacent to an outer surface of tubing that acts as a channel for fluid to flow from the dialysis machine to the device, wherein the ultrasonic head and tubing are configured such that the ultrasonic waves travel through the fluid along the tubing to the circuitry."
See examiner's rejection as necessitated by the amendment, below, which details the newly relied upon prior art which is relied upon for anticipating/teaching the aforementioned presently amended claimed subject matter.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding dependent claims on page 9:
Applicant argues that their preceding arguments render the independent claims allowable, and consequently likewise the dependent claims are allowable.
See examiner's rejection as necessitated by the amendment, below, detailing the prior art which discloses/teaches the limitations of the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6-8, 11-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100106028 A1, henceforth written as Penner, in view of US 20170141601 A1, henceforth written as Halliburton.
Regarding Claim 1,
Penner discloses:
A device comprising:
(implanted medical device 12; fig 8-9; paragraph 24 noting that the specific configuration and function of device 12 may vary depending on the particular therapeutic needs of the patient)
a fluid connection to a [therapeutic device];
(paragraph 24+44+48+55; interior lumen 160 contains a liquid material such as saline which facilitates fluid communication between a proximal section 154 of catheter 148, a distal section 150 of catheter 150, and an implanted device 12; fig 8-9; paragraph 6+52 noting that the therapeutic device can be used to perform other functions within the body and/or provide therapy to the patient and may include catheterization in conjunction with this therapy)
and circuitry for converting kinetic energy of ultrasonic waves transmitted to the device through the fluid connection into electrical energy,
(paragraph 27-31; ultrasonic target transducer 58 and rechargeable battery 46 of device 12, therein the claimed circuitry, are utilized for converting the acoustic signal 162, therein ultrasonic waves, which are transmitted through interior lumen 160 via a liquid material into electrical energy to charge device 12; fig 8-9)
wherein the ultrasonic waves are generated by an ultrasonic head positioned adjacent to an outer surface of tubing that acts as a channel for fluid to flow from the [therapeutic device] to the device,
(paragraph 27-31+53-54; ultrasonic acoustic signal 162 is generated by charging element 152, therein the claimed ultrasonic head, and transmitted through interior lumen 160, considered the claimed channel of the elongate shaft 158 of catheter 148, via a liquid material; fig 8 best illustrates the adjacency of element 152 to the outer surface of shaft 158, considered the claimed tubing)
wherein the ultrasonic head and tubing are configured such that the ultrasonic waves travel through the fluid along the tubing to the circuitry.
(fig 8-9 demonstrate the transmission of signal 162 through shaft 158 via a liquid material to reach the target transducer 58 of implanted device 12)
Penner discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
a fluid connection to a dialysis machine
-- tubing that acts as a channel for fluid to flow from the dialysis machine to the device,
However Halliburton teaches:
[an implanted device] in fluid connection to a dialysis machine [via] tubing that acts as a channel for fluid to flow from the dialysis machine to the device
(implanted medical device 600 is in fluid communication with a dialysis machine, such as machine 100 in fig 2, via device 600’s in-line blood temperature sensor being received in the vasculature of the patient which receives dialysate from machine 100 via a venous needle 203 penetrating the patient’s vasculature and the tubing interconnecting machine 100 and needle 203; fig 2+6; further noting that implanted medical device 600 is desirably enabled to receive wireless energy, including kinetic energy, from machine 100 for recharging its battery)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Penner’s invention of conveying ultrasonic waves through a fluid dispensed by a catheter to recharge an implanted device in the catheterization therapeutic delivery procedure taught by Halliburton, such that Penner’s implant 12 is recharged via Penner’s signal 162 being transmitted by Halliburton’s dialysate liquid as conveyed by Penner’s catheter 148, control element 152, power source 156, and controller 170 receiving Halliburton’s dialysate liquid dispensed by Halliburton’s hemodialysis machine 100, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which guides a recharging signal to an implanted medical device while a chronic catheterization therapy such as haemodialysis is provided to a patient, see Penner paragraph 24+52, Halliburton paragraph 14, and MPEP 2143(i)(f).
Regarding claim 2, Penner in view of Halliburton discloses:
The device of claim 1, further comprising: a power storage element to store the electrical energy.
Penner: (rechargeable battery 46; fig 9)
Regarding claim 3, Penner in view of Halliburton discloses:
The device of claim 1, further comprising: one or more sensors;
Penner: (paragraph 53, device 12 includes pressure sensor (not enumerated/illustrated); paragraph 39, device 12 monitors, therein comprising a sensor, the power/intensity of the received acoustic signal))
and a communications module;
Penner: (paragraph 39; where device 12 includes an ultrasonic transducer, such as in the embodiment of fig 8-9, the device communicates a signal, therein comprising a communications module, back to the catheter to be used for adjusting the intensity/power of the ultrasonic signal and/or position of the catheter)
wherein the one or more sensors and the communications modules are powered by the electrical energy.
Penner: (paragraph 3-4+27; implanted device 12 and its electrical components are powered by battery 46)
Regarding claim 4, Penner in view of Halliburton discloses:
The device of claim 3, wherein the communication module broadcasts readings from the one or more sensors to the dialysis machine or to a cloud-based server.
Examiner notes that in light of the modification made in claim 1 above, Penner’s catheter 148 conveys dialysate from Halliburton’s dialysis machine 100 from its connection to Halliburton’s tubing, such that Penner’s catheter 148 may be considered a component of the claimed dialysis machine.
Penner: (paragraph 39; device 12 communicates a signal to the catheter, and therein the claimed dialysis machine, indicative of whether an acoustic signal receive by device 12 is within an acceptable range)
Regarding claim 6, Penner in view of Halliburton teaches:
The device of claim 1, wherein the ultrasonic head is part of the dialysis machine;
Examiner notes that in light of the modification made in claim 1 above, Penner’s catheter 148 conveys dialysate from Halliburton’s dialysis machine 100 from its connection to Halliburton’s tubing, such that Penner’s catheter 148 may be considered a component of the claimed dialysis machine. Accordingly, as Penner’s ultrasonic head, the charging element 152, is coupled to the proximal section 154 of catheter 148 it is likewise considered a part of the claimed dialysis machine.
wherein the ultrasonic head is positioned such that the ultrasonic waves travel in a direction parallel to a direction of fluid flow through the tubing.
Penner: (fig 8-9 best illustrate the manner that ultrasonic signal 162 generated by element 152 travels parallel to the flow of signal conveying fluid)
Regarding claim 7, Penner in view of Halliburton teaches:
The device of claim 6, wherein the device is connected to the dialysis machine via tubing carrying the fluid connection.
Examiner notes that in light of the modification made in claim 1 above, Penner’s implanted device 12 is fluidically connected to the claimed dialysis machine via Penner’s shaft 160 and Halliburton’s tubing (not enumerated) connecting to Halliburton’s machine 100.
Regarding Claim 8,
Penner in view of Halliburton discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The device of claim 7, -- wherein the fluid connection comprises a dialysate.
Halliburton: (paragraph 27; dialysate (not enumerated/illustrated) is pumped from dialysis machine 100; fig 1-2)
However, Penner in view of Halliburton is silent regarding:
wherein the dialysis machine is a peritoneal dialysis machine
Critically examiner notes that Penner discloses in paragraph 24+52 the compatibility of its invention with other forms of providing therapy to a patient.
However, Halliburton teaches an alternative embodiment:
wherein the dialysis machine is a peritoneal dialysis machine
(paragraph 25+44; the dialysis system used may be a hemodialysis machine as illustrated, or a peritoneal dialysis machine)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the hemodialysis machine taught Halliburton for the peritoneal dialysis machine taught as an alternative embodiment of Halliburton in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can recharge an implanted medical device during peritoneal dialysis treatment as they are art recognized equivalents known for the same purpose of treating a patient and distributing energy to an implanted medical device, see paragraph 44 of Halliburton, paragraph 24+52 of Penner, and MPEP 2144.06(II).
Regarding Claim 11,
Penner discloses:
A method comprising: receiving ultrasonic waves via a fluid connection to a [therapeutic device],
(paragraph 24+44+48+55; interior lumen 160 contains a liquid material such as saline which facilitates fluid communication between a proximal section 154 of catheter 148, a distal section 150 of catheter 150, and an implanted device 12; fig 8-9; paragraph 6+52 noting that the therapeutic device can be used to perform other functions within the body and/or provide therapy to the patient and may include catheterization in conjunction with this therapy)
wherein the ultrasonic waves are generated by an ultrasonic head positioned adjacent to an outer surface of tubing that acts as a channel for fluid to flow from the [therapeutic device] to a device,
(paragraph 27-31+53-54; ultrasonic acoustic signal 162 is generated by charging element 152, therein the claimed ultrasonic head, and transmitted through interior lumen 160, considered the claimed channel of the elongate shaft 158 of catheter 148, via a liquid material; fig 8 best illustrates the adjacency of element 152 to the outer surface of shaft 158, considered the claimed tubing)
wherein the ultrasonic head and tubing are configured such that the ultrasonic waves travel through the fluid along the tubing to circuitry of the device;
(fig 8-9 demonstrate the transmission of signal 162 through shaft 158 via a liquid material to reach the target transducer 58 of implanted device 12)
and converting, using the circuity, kinetic energy of the ultrasonic waves into electrical energy.
(paragraph 27-31; ultrasonic target transducer 58 and rechargeable battery 46 of device 12, therein the claimed circuitry, are utilized for converting the acoustic signal 162, therein ultrasonic waves, which are transmitted through interior lumen 160 via a liquid material into electrical energy to charge device 12; fig 8-9)
Penner discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
a fluid connection to a dialysis machine
-- tubing that acts as a channel for fluid to flow from the dialysis machine to a device,
However Halliburton teaches:
[an implanted device] in fluid connection to a dialysis machine [via] tubing that acts as a channel for fluid to flow from the dialysis machine to the device
(implanted medical device 600 is in fluid communication with a dialysis machine, such as machine 100 in fig 2, via device 600’s in-line blood temperature sensor being received in the vasculature of the patient which receives dialysate from machine 100 via a venous needle 203 penetrating the patient’s vasculature and the tubing interconnecting machine 100 and needle 203; fig 2+6; further noting that implanted medical device 600 is desirably enabled to receive wireless energy, including kinetic energy, from machine 100 for recharging its battery)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Penner’s invention of conveying ultrasonic waves through a fluid dispensed by a catheter to recharge an implanted device in the catheterization therapeutic delivery procedure taught by Halliburton, such that Penner’s implant 12 is recharged via Penner’s signal 162 being transmitted by Halliburton’s dialysate liquid as conveyed by Penner’s catheter 148, control element 152, power source 156, and controller 170 receiving Halliburton’s dialysate liquid dispensed by Halliburton’s hemodialysis machine 100, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which guides a recharging signal to an implanted medical device while a chronic catheterization therapy such as hemodialysis is provided to a patient, see Penner paragraph 24+52, Halliburton paragraph 14, and MPEP 2143(i)(f).
Regarding claim 12, Penner in view of Halliburton discloses:
The method of claim 11, further comprising: storing the electrical energy in a power storage element.
Penner: (rechargeable battery 46; fig 9)
Regarding claim 13, Penner in view of Halliburton discloses:
The method of claim 12, wherein the device comprises: further comprising: one or more sensors;
Penner: (paragraph 53, device 12 includes pressure sensor (not enumerated/illustrated); paragraph 39, device 12 monitors, therein comprising a sensor, the power/intensity of the received acoustic signal))
and a communications module;
Penner: (paragraph 39; where device 12 includes an ultrasonic transducer, such as in the embodiment of fig 8-9, the device communicates a signal, therein comprising a communications module, back to the catheter to be used for adjusting the intensity/power of the ultrasonic signal and/or position of the catheter)
the method further comprising powering the one or more sensors and the communications modules using the stored electrical energy.
Penner: (paragraph 3-4+27; implanted device 12 and its electrical components are powered by battery 46 storing the claimed electrical energy)
Regarding claim 14, Penner in view of Halliburton discloses:
The method of claim 13, wherein the communication module broadcasts readings from the one or more sensors to the dialysis machine or to a cloud-based server.
Examiner notes that in light of the modification made in claim 1 above, Penner’s catheter 148 conveys dialysate from Halliburton’s dialysis machine 100 from its connection to Halliburton’s tubing, such that Penner’s catheter 148 may be considered a component of the claimed dialysis machine.
Penner: (paragraph 39; device 12 communicates a signal to the catheter, and therein the claimed dialysis machine, indicative of whether an acoustic signal receive by device 12 is within an acceptable range)
Regarding claim 16, Penner in view of Halliburton discloses:
The method of claim 11, wherein the ultrasonic head is part of the dialysis machine;
Examiner notes that in light of the modification made in claim 1 above, Penner’s catheter 148 conveys dialysate from Halliburton’s dialysis machine 100 from its connection to Halliburton’s tubing, such that Penner’s catheter 148 may be considered a component of the claimed dialysis machine. Accordingly, as Penner’s ultrasonic head, the charging element 152, is coupled to the proximal section 154 of catheter 148 it is likewise considered a part of the claimed dialysis machine.
wherein the ultrasonic head is positioned such that the ultrasonic waves travel in a direction parallel to a direction of fluid flow through the tubing.
Penner: (fig 8-9 best illustrate the manner that ultrasonic signal 162 generated by element 152 travels parallel to the flow of signal conveying fluid)
Regarding claim 17, Penner in view of Halliburton teaches:
The method of claim 16, wherein the device is connected to the dialysis machine via tubing carrying the fluid connection.
Halliburton: (fig 2 best illustrates the tubing (not enumerated) which carries dialysate from machine 100 into a patient, therein carries the fluid connection toward the implanted, blood-communicating, medical device 600)
Regarding Claim 18,
Penner in view of Halliburton discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The method of claim 17, -- wherein the fluid connection comprises a dialysate.
Halliburton: (paragraph 27; dialysate (not enumerated/illustrated) is pumped from dialysis machine 100; fig 1-2)
However, Penner in view of Halliburton is silent regarding:
wherein the dialysis machine is a peritoneal dialysis machine
Critically examiner notes that Penner discloses in paragraph 24+52 the compatibility of its invention with other forms of providing therapy to a patient.
However, Halliburton teaches an alternative embodiment:
wherein the dialysis machine is a peritoneal dialysis machine
(paragraph 25+44; the dialysis system used may be a hemodialysis machine as illustrated, or a peritoneal dialysis machine)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the hemodialysis machine taught Halliburton for the peritoneal dialysis machine taught as an alternative embodiment of Halliburton in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can recharge an implanted medical device during peritoneal dialysis treatment as they are art recognized equivalents known for the same purpose of treating a patient and distributing energy to an implanted medical device, see paragraph 44 of Halliburton, paragraph 24+52 of Penner, and MPEP 2144.06(II).
Claim(s) 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penner in view of Halliburton as applied to preceding claims above, and further in view of "Acoustic Energy Transfer: A Review," in IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics, vol. 60, no. 1, pp. 242-248, Jan. 2013, doi: 10.1109/TIE.2012.2202362. (Year: 2012), henceforth written as AET Review.
Regarding Claim 5,
Penner in view of Halliburton discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The device of claim 1 wherein the circuitry comprises: a piezoelectric transducer; --
(target piezoelectric transducer 58; fig 3)
Examiner notes that Penner is silent regarding certain aspects of this circuitry which contribute to converting signals received by transducer to electrical power stored in a battery and used to power other electrical components.
However, Penner in view of Halliburton is silent regarding:
wherein the circuitry comprises--a rectifier; and one or more capacitors to store the electrical energy
However, AET Review teaches the following regarding standard practices of acoustic energy transfer devices comprising
a rectifier; and one or more capacitors to store the electrical energy
(Section I part B, “A rectifier and a capacitor provide a usable steady dc voltage that drives a load”; fig 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply AET Review’s teachings of standard circuitry for acoustic energy transfer devices to the circuitry of the implanted device, such that Penner’s piezoelectric transducer is electrically connected to AET Review’s rectifier and capacitor, in order to advantageously arrive at invention which can provide a usable steady dc voltage to drive a load for certain electrical implements in the invention, see Section I part B of AET review and MPEP 2141.
Regarding Claim 15,
Penner in view of Halliburton discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The method of claim 11 wherein step of converting the kinetic energy of the ultrasonic waves into electrical energy is performed by the circuitry, the circuitry comprising: a piezoelectric transducer--
(target piezoelectric transducer 58; fig 3)
Examiner notes that Penner is silent regarding certain aspects of this circuitry which contribute to converting signals received by transducer to electrical power stored in a battery and used to power other electrical components.
However, Penner in view of Halliburton is silent regarding:
wherein the circuitry comprises--a rectifier; and one or more capacitors to store the electrical energy
However, AET Review teaches the following regarding standard practices of acoustic energy transfer devices comprising
a rectifier; and one or more capacitors to store the electrical energy
(Section I part B, “A rectifier and a capacitor provide a usable steady dc voltage that drives a load”; fig 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply AET Review’s teachings of standard circuitry for acoustic energy transfer devices to the circuitry of the implanted device, such that Penner’s piezoelectric transducer is electrically connected to AET Review’s rectifier and capacitor, in order to advantageously arrive at invention which can provide a usable steady dc voltage to drive a load for certain electrical implements in the invention, see Section I part B of AET review and MPEP 2141.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penner in view of Halliburton as applied to claim 8 & 18 above, and further in view of US 20110190692 A1, henceforth written as Manda.
Regarding Claim 9,
Penner in view of Halliburton discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The device of claim 8, wherein the device comprises one or more sensors; and
Penner: (paragraph 53; pressure sensor in device 12)
[having] dialysate within a catheter of a patient
Examiner notes that in light of the modification made in the preceding claims above, Penner’s catheter 148 conveys Halliburton’s dialysate into a patient.
However, Penner in view of Halliburton is silent regarding:
wherein the one or more sensors comprises a pressure sensor for sensing pressure of the dialysate within a catheter of a patient.
However, Manda teaches a implantable medical device with sensors
wherein the one or more sensors comprises a pressure sensor for sensing [fluid] pressure within a catheter of a patient
(paragraph 20+50; implantable medical device 12 includes a pressure sensor 30 to measure a pressure of the fluid within a lumen of a catheter for identifying cuts/occlusions in the catheter; fig 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Manda's teachings of an implanted medical device using a pressure sensor to detect malfunctions in an in vivo catheter to the implanted medical device and catheter disclosed by Penner in view of Halliburton, by electronically connecting Manda's pressure sensor 30 to Penner’s implanted device 12 in a similar manner to Manda's disclosure such that it may measure the dialysate pressure in Penner’s catheter 148, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can detect malfunctions such as damage to and blockage of the claimed catheter, see paragraph 49-51 of Manda, such malfunctions which impose risks of inadequate treatment and death for a patient.
Regarding claim 10, Penner in view of Halliburton and Manda discloses:
The device of claim 9, wherein the device is implanted in the body of the patient.
Penner: (implanted device 12; fig 8-9)
Regarding Claim 19,
Penner in view of Halliburton discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim:
The method of claim 18, wherein the one or more sensors comprises a pressure sensor; and
Penner: (paragraph 53; pressure sensor in device 12)
[having] dialysate within a catheter of a patient;
Examiner notes that in light of the modification made in the preceding claims above, Penner’s catheter 148 conveys Halliburton’s dialysate into a patient.
And broadcasting the sensed [parameters] via the communication module
Penner: (paragraph 39; device 12 communicates a signal to the catheter indicative of whether an acoustic signal receive by device 12 is within an acceptable range)
However, Penner in view of Halliburton is silent regarding:
wherein the one or more sensors comprises a pressure sensor for sensing pressure of the dialysate within a catheter of a patient.
However, Manda teaches a implantable medical device with sensors
wherein the one or more sensors comprises a pressure sensor for sensing [fluid] pressure within a catheter of a patient
(paragraph 20+50; implantable medical device 12 includes a pressure sensor 30 to measure a pressure of the fluid within a lumen of a catheter for identifying cuts/occlusions in the catheter; fig 1)
and broadcasting the sensed pressure via the communication module.
(paragraph 20+27-28+36+67-68; pressure data from sensor 30 is communicated via a telemetry module 44 to a programmer 20 for the awareness of a clinician or patient; fig 1-2)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Manda's teachings of an implanted medical device using a pressure sensor to detect malfunctions in an in vivo catheter to the implanted medical device and catheter disclosed by Penner in view of Halliburton, by electronically connecting Manda's pressure sensor 30 to Penner’s implanted device 12 in a similar manner to Manda's disclosure such that it may measure the dialysate pressure in Penner’s catheter 148, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can detect malfunctions such as damage to and blockage of the claimed catheter, see paragraph 49-51 of Manda, such malfunctions which impose risks of inadequate treatment and death for a patient.
Regarding claim 20, Penner in view of Halliburton and Manda discloses:
The method of claim 19, wherein the device is implanted in the body of the patient.
Penner: (implanted device 12; fig 8-9)
Conclusion
/FORREST B DIPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783