Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: the last line of Claim 1 recites “when the vacuum is reduced to a level below that of the container”. It shall be amended as “ when the vacuum is reduced to a vacuum level below that of the container”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2007/106676 to Bergman.
In Reference to Claim 11
Bergman discloses a sealable tray, comprising: a container (Fig. 1, 110) having a shape for containing product; a seal (Fig. 17, 720); and a lid (Fig. 1, 104) configured to seal the tray via coupling with the seal and the container, wherein the container includes: a port (Fig. 1, 128) configured to, at least, introduce a vacuum for the sealable tray; and, a vacuum release (Paragraph 27, a button on the top of the valve to release the vacuum) located on a surface of the container, wherein the vacuum release is configured to release the vacuum for the sealable try, the sealable try configured for sealing by pressing together the container (Fig. 1, 11), the seal (Fig. 17, 720), and the lid (Fig. 1, 104) and creating the vacuum using the port thereby causing the container, the seal, and the lid to couple together to seal the sealable try.
The Office considers “upon sealing the sealable tray, the sealable tray is configured for replacement in a freeze drying apparatus, and upon being placed in the freeze drying apparatus, the container is configured to open when the vacuum is reduced to a level below that of the container” as intended use of the recited apparatus. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since the contain has the recited structure, it must meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2114))
In Reference to Claim 13
Bergman discloses one or more fasteners (Fig. 1, 144) configured to maintain sealing of the sealable tray by fastening the lid (Fig. 1, 104) to the container (Fig. 1, 110)
In Reference to Claim 14
Bergman discloses the shape of the container is an elongated rectangle shape (As showed in Fig. 1)
In Reference to Claim 15
Bergman discloses the shape of the container is circular shape (As showed in Fig. 15)
In Reference to Claim 16
Bergman discloses container (Fig. 1, 110) having a shape for containing product; a seal (Fig. 17, 720) and a lid (Fig. 1, 104) configured to seal the tray via coupling with the seal and the container, wherein the container includes: a port (Fig. 1, 128) configured to at least introduce a vacuum for the sealable tray; and a mechanical latch (Fig. 1, 144), the sealable tray is configured for sealing by coupling together the container (Fig. 1, 110) the seal (Fig. 17, 720) and lid (Fig. 1, 104) and maintaining a sealed state of the sealable tray using the mechanical latch (Fig. 1, 144).
The Office considers “upon sealing the sealable tray, the sealable tray is configured for replacement in a freeze drying apparatus, and upon being placed in the freeze drying apparatus, the container is configured to open when the vacuum is reduced to a level below that of the container” as intended use of the recited apparatus. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since the contain has the recited structure, it must meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2114))
In Reference to Claim 18
Bergman discloses one or more fastener (Fig. 1, 142) configured to maintain sealing of the sealable tray by fastening the lid to the container
In Reference to Claims 19 and 20
Bergman discloses the seal (Fig 17, 720)
Bergman does not teach the seal is integral with either tray or the lid.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the sealing being integral with either the tray or the lid , since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5,7,9-10, and 21-23 are allowed.
Claims 12 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
The amendment to Claim 1-3,5,7,9-10 filed on 11/6/25 is persuasive. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-10 are allowed.
The argument to Claims 11 and 16 is based on the amended claim. The argument is moot in terms of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 1/7/25