DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 03/26/2026 have been entered.
Claims 1, 14 and 20 have thereby been amended.
Claims 21-28 have been added.
Claims 1-3, 9-14 and 20-28 are being examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-11, 14, 20-24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “the first exemplary device” of Bosshard (US 20070112326) in view of “the second exemplary device” of Bosshard (US 20070112326) in further view of Oda (US 20200345941).
Regarding claim 1, the first exemplary device of Bosshard (drawn to Figs. 2a-c) discloses a syringe, comprising: a syringe body (1) defining a cavity (2) and a port in fluid communication with the cavity (port at cannula 14; para. [0055], port of reservoir 2 connected to cannula 14 is where medicament is expelled from); a movable plunger disposed within the cavity (plunger disk 3+5 driven by plunger piston 4) and comprising a plunger shaft (Fig. 2a: 4), wherein the plunger and cavity define a volume and the port is in fluid communication with the volume (Fig. 2b: volume of medicament 13 defined by reservoir 2 and plunger element 3, exiting from port at cannula 14); a biasing member coupled to the plunge (biasing member 6 coupled to 4 and 5 of plunger), wherein the biasing member is configured to urge the plunger toward the port (Figs. 2a-c: spring 6 pushes 3 towards 14) to allow for continuous fluid delivery through the port (para. [0055], spring 6 drives the plunger to expel the syringe contents through the cannula; para. [0046] and Figs. 1a-b: spring 6 driving the delivery at a constant conveying rate Q) a locking member releasably attached to the plunger shaft (locking latch 7; para. [0054], sentence 6). The first exemplary device of Bosshard, however, does not disclose a damping mechanism, or teach that the locking member is attached to the plunger shaft via interference fit.
The second exemplary device of Bosshard (drawn to Figs. 3a-b) teaches the syringe assembly further comprising a damper coupled to the plunger (Fig. 3a: damper mechanism 15), and configured to control a rate of the fluid delivery (para. [0059], sentences 9-14: the damper mechanism slows the plunger displacement to control its speed). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the damping mechanism taught by the second exemplary device of Bosshard into the first exemplary device of Bosshard, such that the damping mechanism within box 15 is inserted at/around spring 6 of the first embodiment, in order to control the flow of the medicament from the syringe to counteract sudden movements of the spring, and to be able to deliver a dose over a longer period of time (Bosshard: para. [0059], last three sentences). This combination of the Bosshard first and second embodiments, however, fails still to explicitly teach that the locking member is attached to the plunger shaft via interference fit.
Oda teaches an analogous biased syringe assembly, comprising a locking member releasably attached to the plunger shaft via interference fit (Figs. 5 and 7: locking member 282 releasably attached to plunger shaft 270, by interference fit via the friction fitting of 282 into channel 272 in shaft 270). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking mechanism of the Bosshard-Bosshard device by incorporating the interference fit pin-channel locking mechanism of Oda, in order to provide a tighter and more secure locking mechanism in which the shaft is unable to accidentally slip out when engaged.
Regarding claim 2, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 1, as described above, wherein the biasing member comprises a spring (spring 6; para. [0054], sentence 5).
Regarding claim 9, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 1, wherein the damper is configured to control a velocity of the plunger relative to the syringe body (Bosshard 2nd exemplary device: para. [0059], sentences 9-14: the damper mechanism slows the plunger displacement to control its speed).
Second Exemplary Embodiment of Bosshard
Regarding claim 10, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 9, as described above, wherein the damper comprises a damper channel (Fig. 3a: channel 20), wherein the damper channel permits flow from the damper to an environment (Fig. 3a: environment, chamber 18; flow from the damper volume through the bore to the environment described in para. [0059], sentences 8-9 and 14).
Regarding claim 11, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 10, as described above, wherein the damper channel permits a first damper flow rate at a first plunger position (the first plunger position being more distal, as depicted by the position of 17+4 in Fig. 3b) and a second damper flow rate at a second plunger position (the second plunger position being more proximal, as depicted by the position of 17+4 in Fig. 3a), wherein the second damper flow rate is greater than the first damper flow rate (para. [0059], third-to-last sentence: the speed of the plunger piston 4 decreases exponentially as it is advanced, meaning at the more distal position as depicted in Fig. 3a, the rate of the advancement of 17+4 is faster than the rate of advancement in the most distal position as depicted in Fig. 3b. As seen in Figs. 3a-b, the position of 17+4 is directly related to the volume of the damper fluid 16 in chamber 19. Therefore, if 17+4 is advancing faster at the more proximal position depicted in Fig. 3a, the rate of the damper fluid flowing out of chamber 19 must also be faster than the rate of its flow in Fig. 3b where the rate of 17+4 advancing is also reduced).
Regarding claim 14, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 1, as described above, wherein the locking member is configured to prevent movement of the plunger relative to the syringe body (Fig. 2a: locking member 7+8 engages with notch of piston 4 to prevent advancement of plunger; para. [0054], sentences 6 and 8).
First Exemplary Embodiment of Bosshard with Locking Mechanism
Regarding claim 20, the first exemplary device of Bosshard discloses a syringe, comprising: a syringe body (1) defining a cavity (2) and a port in fluid communication with the cavity (port at cannula 14; para. [0055], port of reservoir 2 connected to cannula 14 is where medicament is expelled from); a movable plunger disposed within the cavity and coupled to a plunger shaft (plunger disk 3+5 driven by plunger shaft 4), wherein the plunger and cavity define a volume and the port is in fluid communication with the volume (Fig. 2b: volume of medicament 13 defined by reservoir 2 and plunger element 3, exiting from port at cannula 14); a biasing member coupled to the plunger (biasing member 6 coupled to 4 and 5 of plunger), wherein the biasing member is configured to exert a biasing force on the plunger to advance the plunger toward the port (Figs. 2a-c: spring 6 pushes 3 towards 14; para. [0055], spring 6 drives the plunger to expel the syringe contents through the cannula) a locking member releasably attached to the plunger shaft (locking latch 7; para. [0054], sentence 6). The first exemplary device of Bosshard, however, does not disclose a damping mechanism, or teach that the locking member is attached to the plunger shaft via interference fit.
The second exemplary device of Bosshard (drawn to Figs. 3a-b) teaches the syringe assembly comprising a damper coupled to the plunger (Fig. 3a: damper mechanism 15), and configured to exert a damping force on the plunger (para. [0059], sentences 9-14: the damper mechanism slows the plunger displacement to control its speed), wherein the basing member and the damper cooperatively provide a constant velocity for the plunger even when the biasing force and the damping force are non-linear (para. [0020], sentence 1; claim 10). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the damping mechanism taught by the second exemplary device of Bosshard into the first exemplary device of Bosshard, such that the damping mechanism within box 15 is inserted at/around spring 6 of the first embodiment, in order to control the flow of the medicament from the syringe to counteract sudden movements of the spring, to make the delivery rate constant as is ideal, and to be able to deliver a dose over a longer period of time (Bosshard: para. [0059], last three sentences). This combination of the Bosshard first and second embodiments, however, fails still to explicitly teach that the locking member is attached to the plunger shaft via interference fit.
Oda teaches an analogous biased syringe assembly, comprising a locking member releasably attached to the plunger shaft via interference fit (Figs. 5 and 7: locking member 282 releasably attached to plunger shaft 270, by interference fit via the friction fitting of 282 into channel 272 in shaft 270). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking mechanism of the Bosshard-Bosshard device by incorporating the interference fit pin-channel locking mechanism of Oda, in order to provide a tighter and more secure locking mechanism in which the shaft is unable to accidentally slip out when engaged.
Regarding claim 21, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 1, as described above, but fails to explicitly disclose, as currently combined, that the biasing member is disposed between the damper piston and the plunger.
Oda teaches a damper piston disposed within the damper (see annotated Fig. 7 below), wherein the biasing member is disposed between the damper piston and the plunger (see annotated Fig. 7 below). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Bosshard-Bosshard-Oda device by further incorporating the damper piston taught by Oda, where the fixed end of the spring 6 is in Bosshard. It would further have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have performed a rearrangement of parts of the combination, such that the spring of Bosshard is pushed forward to compress it, as is taught by Oda, rather than released from a stretched state (see MPEP 2144.04 VI.C.). This rearrangement/reversal of parts would allow the device to function the same way, but would allow for a greater degree of user control in the compression of the spring, rather than a single release motion. In doing such, this combination would result in the biasing spring 6 being disposed between the plunger (3+5) and damper piston (incorporated from Oda, placed at the fixed proximal end of the Bosshard 6/15).
Annotated Fig. 7, Oda
Regarding claim 22, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 1, as described above, further comprising a top portion coupled to the plunger shaft and configured to be actuated to advance or retract the plunger (Bosshard: Figs. 2a-c: left-portion of 4 being the top portion, which is actuated via the locking mechanism 7 and moves back and forth).
Regarding claim 23, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 22, as described above, wherein the locking member is disposed between the top portion and an upper portion of the syringe body (Bosshard: Figs. 2a-c: 7 is disposed between the left-portion of 4 and the left-most-potion of body 1).
Regarding claim 24, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 20, as described above, wherein the biasing member comprises a spring (Bosshard: Figs. 2a-c and 3a: biasing spring 6, para. [0054], sentence 5).
Regarding claim 28, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 20, as described above, wherein the locking member is configured to release from the plunger shaft to allow the plunger to advance (Bosshard: Figs. 1a-c: the release of pin 7 in the notch of 4 allows 4+3+5 to advance; Oda: Figs. 5, 7 and 8: the release of pin 282 from hole/channel 272 within shaft 270 allows 270 to advance as seen in Fig. 8).
Claims 3, 13, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “the first exemplary device” of Bosshard (US 20070112326) in view of “the second exemplary device” of Bosshard (US 20070112326) in further view of Oda (US 20200345941) in further view of Niklaus (US 20140364808).
Regarding claim 3, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 2, as described above, and although the spring appears to be a helical spring, Bosshard fails to explicitly disclose the biasing member as a helical spring.
Niklaus teaches an analogous syringe assembly with a biasing spring, wherein the spring comprises a helical spring (Niklaus: spring 32; para. [0037], sentence 1). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the biasing spring in the first exemplary device of Bosshard by incorporating the helical spring shape taught by Niklaus, in order to best fit and apply an even force to the cylindrically shaped elements of the syringe and plunger assembly.
Regarding claim 13, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 1, as described above, but fails to disclose a flow controller connected to the port of the syringe.
Niklaus teaches an analogous syringe assembly with a biasing spring, further comprising a flow controller (dosing unit 60) in fluid communication with the port (Fig. 3(a): dosing unit 60 in fluid communication with port at 13), wherein the flow controller restricts the rate of the fluid delivery (Fig. 3a: 60 restricts the rate of fluid delivery because only a certain amount from 10 may pass through it at a given time; para. [0046]; para. [0047], sentences 1-3). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the syringe assembly of the first exemplary device of Bosshard by incorporating the flow controller/dosing unit taught by Niklaus, in order to deliver a more exactly measured dose to a patient, and to be able to vary those doses (Niklaus: para. [0006], second-to-last sentence).
Regarding claim 25, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 24, as described above, and although the spring appears to be a helical spring, Bosshard fails to explicitly disclose the biasing member as a helical spring.
Niklaus teaches an analogous syringe assembly with a biasing spring, wherein the spring comprises a helical spring (Niklaus: spring 32; para. [0037], sentence 1). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the biasing spring in the first exemplary device of Bosshard by incorporating the helical spring shape taught by Niklaus, in order to best fit and apply an even force to the cylindrically shaped elements of the syringe and plunger assembly.
Regarding claim 27, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 20, as described above, but fails to disclose a flow controller connected to the port of the syringe.
Niklaus teaches an analogous syringe assembly with a biasing spring, further comprising a flow controller (dosing unit 60) in fluid communication with the port (Fig. 3(a): dosing unit 60 in fluid communication with port at 13), wherein the flow controller restricts the rate of the fluid delivery (Fig. 3a: 60 restricts the rate of fluid delivery because only a certain amount from 10 may pass through it at a given time; para. [0046]; para. [0047], sentences 1-3). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the syringe assembly of the first exemplary device of Bosshard by incorporating the flow controller/dosing unit taught by Niklaus, in order to deliver a more exactly measured dose to a patient, and to be able to vary those doses (Niklaus: para. [0006], second-to-last sentence).
Claims 12 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “the first exemplary device” of Bosshard (US 20070112326) in view of “the second exemplary device” of Bosshard (US 20070112326) in further view of Oda (US 20200345941) in further view of “the third exemplary device” of Bosshard (US 20070112326).
Regarding claim 12, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 9, as described above, but fails to teach the dampening caused by a change in diameter of the cavity walls.
The third exemplary device of Bosshard (drawn to Figs. 4a-b) teaches the syringe assembly with another damping mechanism wherein the damper comprises a cavity wall (Figs. 4a-b: walls of damper cylinder 15 around cavities 19 and 18) and the cavity wall has a first diameter (Fig. 4a: wall of 15 to the left of sloped point 21 with smaller diameter) that applies a first damping force at a first plunger position (Fig. 4a: wall with first diameter contacting and applying force to 17) and a second diameter (Fig. 4a: wall of 15 to the right of sloped point 21 with larger diameter) that applies a second damping force at a second plunger position (Fig. 4b: wall with second diameter no longer contacting and applying force to 17), wherein the first damping force is greater than the second damping force (para. [0060], third-to-last sentence, the damping force greatly reduced or even eliminated at the second, more distal position in Fig. 4b). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the damping mechanism of the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard by incorporating the change in diameter of the cavity walls taught by the third exemplary device of Bosshard in order to dampen and control the driving of the plunger from the syringe in a more simple manner while avoiding long periods of resetting the damping mechanism for the next delivery as required by the second exemplary device using the bore dampening (para. [0059], sentences 14-17).
Regarding claim 26, the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard in further view of Oda teaches the syringe of claim 20, as described above, but fails to teach the dampening caused by a change in diameter of the cavity walls.
The third exemplary device of Bosshard (drawn to Figs. 4a-b) teaches the syringe assembly with another damping mechanism wherein the damper comprises a cavity wall (Figs. 4a-b: walls of damper cylinder 15 around cavities 19 and 18) and the cavity wall has a first diameter (Fig. 4a: wall of 15 to the left of sloped point 21 with smaller diameter) that applies a first damping force at a first plunger position (Fig. 4a: wall with first diameter contacting and applying force to 17) and a second diameter (Fig. 4a: wall of 15 to the right of sloped point 21 with larger diameter) that applies a second damping force at a second plunger position (Fig. 4b: wall with second diameter no longer contacting and applying force to 17), wherein the first damping force is greater than the second damping force (para. [0060], third-to-last sentence, the damping force greatly reduced or even eliminated at the second, more distal position in Fig. 4b). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the damping mechanism of the first exemplary device of Bosshard in view of the second exemplary device of Bosshard by incorporating the change in diameter of the cavity walls taught by the third exemplary device of Bosshard in order to dampen and control the driving of the plunger from the syringe in a more simple manner while avoiding long periods of resetting the damping mechanism for the next delivery as required by the second exemplary device using the bore dampening (para. [0059], sentences 14-17).
Third Exemplary Embodiment of Bosshard
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/26/2026 have been fully considered, and are moot in light of the amendments to claims 1, 14 and 20, as well as new claims 21-28, for which Oda is now relied upon to teach the limitations of the interference fit locking mechanism, and arrangement of the biasing spring in between the damper piston and plunger. As one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the locking mechanism of a pin friction fit into a small channel within a biased shaft to be an interference fit locking mechanism, and this would have been an obvious incorporation into the Bosshard embodiments, claims 1-3, 9-14 and 20-28 stand rejected in further view of Oda, as described above.
Conclusion
/K.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783