DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/19/2026.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 4-5, 16-20 is withdrawn in view of reconsideration of reference(s) to Balinski et al. (US 2013/0312202 A1). Rejections based on the cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Balinski et al. (US 2013/0312202 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Balinski et al. discloses a method of controlling a load volume of laundry in a laundry drying appliance (paragraphs [0004], [0019]), the method comprising the steps of: sensing a condition of the laundry drying appliance that is indicative of the load volume of laundry in the laundry drying appliance by receiving and processing one or more electrical signals from one or more sensors or electrical components positioned within the laundry drying appliance (paragraphs [0004], [0032]); determining the load volume of laundry in the laundry drying appliance based on the condition of the laundry drying appliance that is indicative of load volume (paragraph [0032]); and determining if the load volume of laundry present in the laundry drying appliance exceeds a pre-determined maximum load volume value for a particular drying cycle of the laundry drying appliance (paragraphs [0088], [0089]); responsive to the pre-determined maximum load volume value being exceed, one or more of autonomously changing the drying cycle to a different drying cycle or terminating the drying cycle (paragraph (paragraphs [0088], [0089]).
Regarding claim 2, Balinski et al. discloses displaying an overload warning on a control panel 78 of the laundry drying appliance if the pre-determined maximum load volume value is exceeded (Figs. 3-7, full, overfilled).
Regarding claim 3, Balinski et al. discloses highlighting and enabling a recommended cycle setting on a control panel of the laundry drying appliance if the pre-determined maximum load volume value is exceeded (Figs. 14-16, paragraphs [0085], [0087], [0088], modification cycle).
Regarding claims 16-24, Balinski et al. discloses a laundry drying appliance 10 (Fig. 1) comprising: a cabinet 25 with an opening enabling access inside the cabinet; a door 25 coupled with the cabinet, the door covering the opening; a heating unit 63 (Fig. 2) configured to heat air inside of the cabinet; a tub 22 suspended within the cabinet (Fig. 1), a drum 18 configured to receive laundry to be dried in the laundry drying appliance; a control panel 220 with a user interface that is configured to permit user selection of a desired drying cycle (Figs. 14-17); and a controller 68 integrated with or arranged in electronic communication with the control panel, wherein the controller 68 is programmed to process one or more electrical signals that are received from one or more sensors 66, 76 or electrical components positioned within the cabinet to detect a condition of the laundry drying appliance that is indicative of load volume, to determine the load volume of laundry in the drum based on the condition of the laundry drying appliance that is indicative of the load volume (paragraph [0032]), and determine if the load volume of laundry present in the drum exceeds a pre-determined maximum load volume value for the desired drying cycle (paragraphs [0088], [0089]). Wherein the control panel is configured to display (Figs. 7-8, via indicator 78) an overload warning if the pre-determined maximum load volume value is exceeded (Figs. 3-7, overfilled); wherein the control panel is configured to highlight a recommended cycle setting if the pre-determined maximum load volume value is exceeded (Fig. 18, paragraphs [0049], [0088]). Wherein the controller is further programmed to autonomously change the drying cycle to a different drying cycle responsive to the pre-determined maximum load volume value being exceeded (paragraph [0088] discloses cycle time is changed and/or make one or more modifications to the selected treating cycle). Wherein the controller is further programmed to terminate the drying cycle responsive to the pre-determined maximum load volume value being exceeded (paragraph [0089] discloses user unable to control any aspect of the selected treating cycle, i.e. the selected treating cycle won’t performed/terminated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balinski et al. (US 2013/0312202 A1) in view of Didier et al. (EP 0159202 A1).
The method of Balinski et al. as above includes all that is recited in claims 6-7 except for further comprising the steps of: processing one or more signals indicative of drum motor current draw to obtain a measured motor torque value; and comparing the measured motor torque value to one or more motor torque benchmark values. Didier et al. discloses processing one or more signals indicative of drum motor current draw to obtain a measured motor torque value; and comparing the measured motor torque value to one or more motor torque benchmark values (Didier, translation, Abstract, Description, paragraphs 5-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Balinski et al. to include processing one or more signals indicative of drum motor current draw to obtain a measured motor torque value; and comparing the measured motor torque value to one or more motor torque benchmark values as taught by Didier et al. in order to efficiently control the clothes treating process. With regard to claim 7, Balinski et al. disclose determining whether the load volume of laundry in the laundry drying appliance corresponds to a large load, a medium load, or a small load, or an overloaded condition (Figs. 3-7, 14-17). As Didier et a. discloses determining the load based on themeasued motor torque value, it would have been obvious to one obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the method of Balinski et al. to determine whether the measured motor torque value is greater than the one or more motor torque benchmark values to determine whether the load volume of laundry in the laundry drying appliance corresponds to a large load, a medium load, or a small load, or an overloaded condition.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY