Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3 were amended. Claims 4-6 were cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 7 are pending and examined in this action.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: a pressurizing member lacks antecedent basis in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a pressurizing member in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7,097,373 to Mochizuki in view of US 6,113,293 to Shanke and US 2005/0207818 to Tsuchiya, and US 2007/028739 to Kawaguchi.
In re Claim 1, Mochizuki teaches a sheet cutter (see Figs. 1-7) comprising:
a fixed blade (see Figs. 1-7, #5), comprising a fixed blade edge (blade edge #5a), and provided on a separation side of the sheet cutter in a cutting direction (see position of #5 in Figs. 1-7);
a movable blade (see Figs. 1-7, #4) comprising:
a movable blade edge (see Figs. 1-7, #4f) opposed to the fixed blade edge in the cutting direction (see Figs. 4-5, “Y”), the cutting direction crossing a conveying direction; and
a sliding surface on a conveyance source side of the movable blade in the conveying direction, the movable blade causing the sliding surface to slide on the fixed lade edge (see Figs. 1-7, showing blade #4 sliding along blade #5);and
a rack holder for reciprocating the movable blade along the cutting direction (see Figs. 1-7, movable blade unit #4), the rack holder including:
a movable blade holder (see Figs. 1-7, movable blade unit #4 supports movable blade #4a); and
an urging member for urging the movable blade to the conveyance source side in the advancing direction (see Figs. 1-7, movable blade pressing spring #4b),
wherein the separation side is a side toward which the movable blade is moved away from the fixed blade in the cutting direction (see Figs. 4-7, separation side is in the direction Y towards the top of the paper); and
wherein the movable blade edge is formed into an inverted V shape extending from both ends toward a center portion of the movable blade edge (see Figs. 4-7, #4f, showing the movable blade edge is formed into an inverted V shape extending from both ends toward a center portion of the movable blade edge).
Mochizuki is silent as to the urging member at a center portion of the movable blade; and wherein the movable blade holder comprises a plurality of grooves that are formed in a front end surface of the movable blade holder on a conveyance destination side of the movable blade, each of the plurality of grooves having an opening facing towards the conveyance destination side.
However, Shanke teaches that it is known in the art of sliding blade to provide a spring at the center portion of the movable blade (see Shanke, Fig. 5, #70). In the same field of invention, sliding blades, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to provide the spring in at the center of the blade, as taught by Shanke. Doing so is the substitution of one known spring arrangement for another known spring arrangement to bias the blade (see MPEP 2143, I, B). here, the force exerted on the blade by the spring ensures consistent pressure on the blade thus allowing looser "fit" manufacturing tolerances for the cutter mechanism (see Shanke, Col. 4, ll. 50-56).
However, Tsuchiya teaches that it is known in the art of sliding blades to provide the movable blade holder with a plurality of grooves (see Tsuchiya, Fig. 5, #86 and Para. 0051/0059) that are formed in a front end surface of the movable blade holder (see Tsuchiya, Fig. 5, #86 and Para. 0051/0059), each of the plurality of grooves having an opening (see Tsuchiya, Fig. 5, #86 and Para. 0051/0059).
In the same field of invention, sliding blades, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, replace the moving structure of modified Mochizuki, in re Claim 1, with the rack system of Tsuchiya. Doing so is the substitution of one known driving structure for another known driving structure to cause the movable blade to move (see MPEP 2143, I, B). Doing so allows the movable blade to move (see Tsuchiya, Fig. 5, #86 and Para. 0051/0059).
The plurality of grooves in Tsuchiya face away from Z1 direction, the conveyance destination side of the blade, as opposed to facing the conveying direction.
Kawaguchi teaches that structure used to move the blade can be placed on the conveyance destination side of the blade (see Kawaguchi, Fig. 1, showing the spring #16 is located on the conveyance destination side of the blade). In the same field of invention, structures for moving blades, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to place the structure used to move the blade on either side (the examiner notes that there are only two sides a person of ordinary skill in the art can choose), since it has been held that rearranging the parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Here placing the rack/grooves on the side of the blade where the workpieces is heading, as opposed to where the workpiece is coming from, is within the level of ordinary skill in the art and does not change the function of the structure. Namely, whether the rack attached to one side or the other side of the movable blade, the function remains the same, moving the blade
In re Claim 2, modified Mochizuki, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the urging member comprises: a first end abutting the movable blade holder (see Shanke, Fig. 5, #70); and a second end abutting a conveyance destination side of the movable blade in the conveying direction (opposite side of #70).
In re Claim 3, modified Mochizuki, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the urging member is a pressurizing spring (see Shanke, Fig. 5, spring #70).
In re Claim 7, modified Mochizuki, in re Claim 1, teaches a printer (see abstract), comprising:
a recording sheet to be advanced toward a forward side in an advancing direction (see Figs. 1-7, #10); and
a cutter according to claim 1 (see discussion above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments replacing “urging” and “pressurizing” resulted in an interpretation under 35 USC 112(f). The three prong test is satisfied. The claims uses the generic place holder term “member” (Prong A) for performing the functional language of urging (Prong B), and the generic placeholder (member) is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. “Pressurizing” is additional functional language and is not a structural limitation.
Applicant amended Claim 1 to claim the plurality of grooves having an opening facing towards the conveyance destination side. In other words, the “opposite” side of Tsuchiya. The Examiner notes that there are only two sides that the grooves can be located: on the conveyance destination side or on the conveyance origin side. Such a choice, rearranging the parts of an invention, involves only routine skill in the art. Changing the location of the grooves from one side to another does not change the function of the structure in moving the blade one way and then another way. Here placing the rack/grooves on the side of the blade where the workpieces is heading, as opposed to where the workpiece is coming from, is within the level of ordinary skill in the art and does not change the function of the structure. Namely, whether the rack attached to one side or the other side of the movable blade, the function remains the same, moving the blade.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724