Detailed Action
This is the final office action for US application number 17/980,283. Claims are evaluated as filed on August 28, 2025.
The present application is being examined under the pre- AIA first to invent provisions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 28, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections in this office action have been amended to address the amended claims. Examiner asserts that Melkent, Garamszegi, Beardsley, and Chin teach all the newly-amended limitations and are capable of performing the functions as claimed. Examiner directs Applicant to the rejection below for a more in-depth description of the limitations.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that each of the applications in the chain of benefit claims share the same specification and drawings as the present application and therefore support whatever subject matter is supported by the present application (Remarks p. 6), Examiner notes that this is incorrect. Review of Application No. 60/796,921 shows Figs. 1A-4D with somewhat different content than any of the present application’s Figs. 1A-9 and missing much of the content of the current applicant’s figures. Review of the specification of Application No. 60/796,921 reveals that there is no incorporation by reference to any other application. Further, even a cursory review shows that the 11 pages of specification in Application No. 60/796,921 simply do not contain all the information of the 19 pages of the specification of the present application. In regards to Application Numbers 11/799,576, 14/228,639, 14/883,609, 15/609,277, and 16/662,820, as noted below, such fail to provide adequate support in the same manner as detailed below for the instant application.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that there are other such referenced “retractors” disclosed in the specification of the instant application including retractor 200 shown in Figs. 2A-2C (Remarks p. 7), Examiner agrees that there are retractors other than 500, 700, and 800 disclosed, but notes that there appears to be no disclosure of the other disclosed retractors being used with structures from the incorporated U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 11/528,223. If such disclosure exists, Examiner requests identification of the location where such can be found.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that if Examiner disagrees with the above, that the species requirement was improper and should be withdrawn as none of the originally presented claims were directed to any particular species present in the application (Remarks p. 7), Examiner notes that it is impermissible to provide new matter rejections prior to a restriction/election requirement and thus Examiner has no means to ensure that originally presented claims are directed to anything in the present application and the implication of such is beyond the scope of examination permitted/performed by the Office. That is, the burden of providing claims that are supported by the original disclosure rests on Applicant. Original claim 1 was drawn to system with an extension and a pedicle screw, which appears to be intended to read on any of the disclosed extension system species despite the apparent shortcomings of the disclosure in supporting the limitations that define these structures. Review of the species election requirement dated March 12, 2025 shows that there were 8 extension systems and 5 blade systems identified. As identified by the Examiner, paragraphs 73 and 75 disclose that structures from the incorporated U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 11/528,223 are used with retractors 500, 700, and 800, i.e. blade species 4) Figs. 4A-E and 9 and 5) Figs. 6A-7B. As Applicant has been unable to identify support for elected blade species 2) Figs. 2A-C used with their elected extension system 7) Fig. 12 of 11/528,223, it is unclear why Applicant chose such an election. However, it appears that Applicant could have properly elected any of the extension system species with blade species 4) Figs. 4A-E and 9 or 5) Figs. 6A-7B in view of paragraphs 73 and 75 and thus the election requirement was proper. Examiner notes that paragraphs 73 and 75 are the only support that was able to be identified in the very limited time allotted to Examiners for examination; however, any others supported in locations in the original disclosure that were unable to be identified by the Examiner could have been properly elected and support for such identified.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that the amendments to claim 1 overcome the rejection in view of Melkent as there is no disclosure of post 332 configured to extend proximally out of the body when attached to the vertebral body a Melkent’s anchor is not intended to be used minimally invasively or to retract tissue and so there would be no reason to have Melkent’s post 332 extend that far (Remarks p. 8-9), Examiner notes that the below rejection has been amended to reflect the amended claim limitations and rely on the embodiment of Melkent Figs. 27-29, which is specifically disclosed in paragraph 77 to “includes a length along longitudinal axis 421 such that its proximal end is positioned adjacent to or extends through the incision or opening provided to access the spinal column. Extended post 432 facilitates positioning of a plate member about the coupling member 430, and guides the plate member through the incision to a location adjacent the vertebral body to which anchor member 70 is engaged. Surgical instruments for holding the plate can be eliminated, reducing crowding in the operative space formed by the incision.”
With regards to Applicant’s argument that that the amendments to claim 1 and new claim 21 overcome rejection in view of Chin as the opening at the lower end of Chin’s 120 is larger than the head of the screw (Remarks p. 9-10), Examiner agrees and notes that Chin is cited in the below rejections as a teaching of providing an intermediate retractor blade.
With regards to Applicant’s argument in regards to new claim 21 that the c-ring like clip 60 of Melkent cited as corresponding to the “first attachment” does not “surround at least a portion of the shank…below the head” and instead is positioned so as to surround a portion of the head (Remarks p. 10), Examiner notes that such has not been asserted and is therefore moot. Further, Examiner notes that the first attachment was interpreted as corresponding to 334, 60 in the non-final office action dated May 28, 2025 and is similarly interpreted below as corresponding to 434, 60; where, when the screw pivots from the position shown in Fig. 14, the lower surface of 434 appears to ‘surround at least a portion of the shank…below the head’ as provided in claim 21.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 60/796,921, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 60/796,921 fails to provide adequate support for at least a system with a first extension and pedicle screw assembly as provided by claims 1 and 21.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application Numbers 11/799,576, 14/228,639, 14/883,609, 15/609,277, and 16/662,820, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application Numbers 11/799,576, 14/228,639, 14/883,609, 15/609,277, and 16/662,820, fail to provide adequate support in the same manner as detailed below for the instant application for claims 1-7, 9-18, and 21.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
As to claims 1-7 and 9-18, the specification appears to lack proper antecedent basis for “wherein the first extension is coupleable to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that the first attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw” of claim 1. That is, such does not appear to be described in the specification, shown in the drawings, or originally claimed or in that of U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 11/528,223, which has been incorporated by reference. Thus, the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the invention of claim 1. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling this limitation unless support for this limitation can be identified.
As to claim 2, the specification appears to lack proper antecedent basis for the first attachment “extending around the shank of the first pedicle screw” of claim 2 lines 1-2. That is, such does not appear to be described in the specification, shown in the drawings, or originally claimed or in that of U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 11/528,223, which has been incorporated by reference. Thus, the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the invention of claim 2. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling this limitation unless support for this limitation can be identified.
As to claims 13-18, the specification appears to lack proper antecedent basis for “wherein the second extension is coupleable to the second pedicle screw assembly by the second attachment such that the second attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the second pedicle screw” of claim 13. That is, such does not appear to be described in the specification, shown in the drawings, or originally claimed or in that of U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 11/528,223, which has been incorporated by reference. Thus, the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the invention of claim 13. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling this limitation unless support for this limitation can be identified. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling this limitation unless support for this limitation can be identified.
As to claim 14, the specification appears to lack proper antecedent basis for the second attachment “around the shank of the second pedicle screw” of claim 14 lines 1-2. That is, such does not appear to be described in the specification, shown in the drawings, or originally claimed or in that of U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 11/528,223, which has been incorporated by reference. Thus, the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the invention of claim 14. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling this limitation unless support for this limitation can be identified.
As to claim 21, the specification appears to lack proper antecedent basis for “the first extension is coupleable to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that a perimeter of the opening surrounds at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw below the head” in lines 7 and 8. That is, such does not appear to be described in the specification, shown in the drawings, or originally claimed. Thus, the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for “the first extension is coupleable to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that a perimeter of the opening surrounds at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw below the head” in lines 7 and 8. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling claim 21 unless support for this limitation can be identified.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the first extension is coupleable to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that the first attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw” of claim 1, the first attachment “extending around the shank of the first pedicle screw” of claim 2 lines 1-2, “wherein the second extension is coupleable to the second pedicle screw assembly by the second attachment such that the second attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the second pedicle screw” of claim 13, the second attachment “around the shank of the second pedicle screw” of claim 14 lines 1-2, and “the first extension is coupleable to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that a perimeter of the opening surrounds at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw below the head” of claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claims 1-7 and 9-18, “wherein the first extension is coupleable to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that the first attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw” of claim 1 appears to be new matter. That is, such does not appear to be described in the specification, shown in the drawings, or originally claimed or in that of U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 11/528,223, which has been incorporated by reference. Thus, the invention of claim 1 constitutes new matter. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling this limitation unless support for this limitation can be identified.
As to claim 2, the first attachment “extending around the shank of the first pedicle screw” of claim 2 lines 1-2 appears to be new matter. That is, such does not appear to be described in the specification, shown in the drawings, or originally claimed or in that of U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 11/528,223, which has been incorporated by reference. Thus, the invention of claim 2 constitutes new matter. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling this limitation unless support for this limitation can be identified.
As to claims 13-18, the specification appears to lack proper antecedent basis for “wherein the second extension is coupleable to the second pedicle screw assembly by the second attachment such that the second attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the second pedicle screw” of claim 13 appears to be new matter. That is, such does not appear to be described in the specification, shown in the drawings, or originally claimed or in that of U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 11/528,223, which has been incorporated by reference. Thus, the invention of claim 13 constitutes new matter. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling this limitation unless support for this limitation can be identified. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling this limitation unless support for this limitation can be identified.
As to claim 14, the second attachment “around the shank of the second pedicle screw” of claim 14 lines 1-2 appears to be new matter. That is, such does not appear to be described in the specification, shown in the drawings, or originally claimed or in that of U.S. Patent Application Serial Number 11/528,223, which has been incorporated by reference. Thus, the invention of claim 14 constitutes new matter. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling this limitation unless support for this limitation can be identified.
As to claim 21, “the first extension is coupleable to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that a perimeter of the opening surrounds at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw below the head” in lines 7 and 8 appears to be new matter. That is, such does not appear to be described in the specification, shown in the drawings, or originally claimed. Thus, “the first extension is coupleable to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that a perimeter of the opening surrounds at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw below the head” in lines 7 and 8 constitutes new matter. As there appears to be no figure showing the screw in the attachment nor a detailed description of the relative positioning or relationship, Examiner suggests cancelling claim 21 unless support for this limitation can be identified.
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 13 is unclear with regards to “the second pedicle screw assembly” in line 6 and if this is intended to refer to the “a second pedicle screw assembly” of line 4 or the “a second pedicle screw assembly” of claim 12 from which claim 13 depends. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “The system of claim [[12]]1, further”.
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for its/their dependence on one or more rejected base and/or intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Melkent et al. (US 2006/0084980, hereinafter “Melkent”).
As to claim 1, Melkent discloses a system (Figs. 27-29) comprising: a first extension (430, 60) having a proximal end and a distal end (Figs. 27-29), the first extension having a first attachment (434, 60) at the distal end (Figs. 27-29); and a first pedicle screw assembly (70, 50) including a first pedicle screw (70, Fig. 27) having a head (72) and a shank (74), the shank being capable of being implanted in a vertebral body of a patient (Figs. 27-29, ¶54), wherein the first attachment includes an opening (defined by 60 and 434, best shown in alternate embodiment Figs. 1 and 14, where ¶79 discloses that 430 is configured as disclosed for 34 and 334) larger than the shank of the first pedicle screw and smaller than the head of the first pedicle screw (defined by 60 and 434, best shown in alternate embodiment Figs. 1 and 14, where ¶79 discloses that 430 is configured as disclosed for 34 and 334), and wherein the first extension is capable of coupling to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that the first attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw in an attached position (Figs. 28 and 29, shown for alternate embodiment in Fig. 1 and 5, where ¶79 discloses that 430 is configured as disclosed for 34 and 334), such that the proximal end of the first extension is capable of extending proximally out of the body of the patient when the shank is implanted in the vertebral body and the first extension is coupled to the first pedicle screw assembly in the attached position (Figs. 27-29, ¶77).
As to claim 2, Melkent discloses that the first attachment creates a closed loop defining the opening and extending around the shank of the first pedicle screw (formed by 434 and extending around the shank prior to insertion of 50, Figs. 28 and 29, shown for alternate embodiment in Fig. 1 and 5, where ¶79 discloses that 430 is configured as disclosed for 34 and 334).
As to claim 3, Melkent discloses that the first extension is a blade (along flats 456s, Figs. 27-29, ¶81).
As to claim 4, Melkent discloses that the blade includes a plurality of holes (448s, at 356s as shown in Fig. 26 for an alternate embodiment, Figs. 26 and 29, ¶s 52, 73, and 77; where ¶77 discloses that 432 is similar to 332 except for the length, ¶73 discloses 348 are opposite windows) spaced apart along a longitudinal axis of the blade (Figs. 26 and 29).
As to claim 5, Melkent discloses that the blade is a flexible blade (at and around 450, Figs. 27-29, where ¶79 discloses that 430 is configured as disclosed for 34 and 334, ¶75 discloses reduced wall thickness so that a predetermined level of torque applied to 352 will sever 352 from 333 as well as varying the wall thickness to vary the amount of torque required).
As to claim 6, Melkent discloses that the blade includes a living hinge (450, where ¶79 discloses that 430 is configured as disclosed for 34 and 334, ¶75).
As to claim 7, Melkent discloses that a central longitudinal axis (421), wherein the first extension is on a first side of the central longitudinal axis (Figs. 27-29).
As to claim 9, Melkent discloses that the first attachment further includes a relief region (64, best shown in alternate embodiment Fig. 1) capable of allowing the head of the first pedicle screw through the opening capable of separating the first extension from the first pedicle screw (¶s 72 and 73).
As to claim 10, Melkent discloses that the first attachment includes a concave surface (defined by 60, best shown in alternate embodiment Fig. 14) capable of mating with the head of the first pedicle screw (best shown in alternate embodiment Fig. 14, ¶s 72 and 74).
As to claim 11, Melkent discloses that the first pedicle screw is a polyaxial screw (Fig. 27, ¶s 34 and 73).
As to claim 12, Melkent discloses a second pedicle screw assembly (70, 50, best shown in alternate embodiment Fig. 13, ¶59).
As to claim 13, Melkent discloses a second extension (430, 60, Figs. 27-29, best shown in alternate embodiment Fig. 13, ¶59) having a proximal end and a distal end (Figs. 27-29, best shown in alternate embodiment Fig. 13, ¶59), the second extension having a second attachment (434, 60) at the distal end (Figs. 27-29, best shown in alternate embodiment Fig. 13, ¶59); and a second pedicle screw assembly (70, 50) including a second pedicle screw (70, Fig. 27) having a head (72) and a shank (74), wherein the second extension is capable of coupling to the second pedicle screw assembly by the second attachment such that the second attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the second pedicle screw (Figs. 28 and 29, shown for alternate embodiment in Fig. 1 and 5, where ¶79 discloses that 430 is configured as disclosed for 34 and 334).
As to claim 14, Melkent discloses that the second attachment creates a closed loop around the shank of the second pedicle screw (formed by 434, Figs. 28 and 29, shown for alternate embodiment in Fig. 1 and 5, where ¶79 discloses that 430 is configured as disclosed for 34 and 334).
Claim(s) 1, 12-14, and 21 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) and 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Garamszegi et al. (US 2005/0261687, hereinafter “Garamszegi”).
As to claim 1, Garamszegi discloses a system (Figs. 1-4) comprising: a first extension (left 310 as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3) having a proximal end and a distal end (Fig. 3), the first extension having a first attachment (327) at the distal end (Figs. 3 and 4, ¶42); and a first pedicle screw assembly (110, 320) including a first pedicle screw (110) having a head (210, 320) and a shank (205), the shank being capable of being implanted in a vertebral body of a patient (¶28), wherein the first attachment includes an opening larger than the shank of the first pedicle screw and smaller than the head of the first pedicle screw (Fig. 4), and wherein the first extension is capable of coupling to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that the first attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw in an attached position (Fig. 4) and a perimeter of the opening surrounds at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw below the head (when 110 pivots relative to the position shown in Fig. 4 such that the shank contacts the edge of the opening, Fig. 4), such that the proximal end of the first extension is capable of extending proximally out of the body of the patient when the shank is implanted in the vertebral body and the first extension is coupled to the first pedicle screw assembly in the attached position (if the incision is so positioned, the first extension is so capable due to the structure shown in Fig. 4, Fig. 4).
As to claim 12, Garamszegi discloses a second pedicle screw assembly (110, 320, ¶s 27 and 28 disclose multiple extensions and screws).
As to claim 13, Garamszegi discloses a second extension (left 310 as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3, ¶s 27 and 28 disclose multiple extensions and screws) having a proximal end and a distal end (Fig. 3), the second extension having a second attachment (327) at the distal end (Figs. 3 and 4, ¶42); and a second pedicle screw assembly (110, 320, ¶s 27 and 28 disclose multiple extensions and screws) including a second pedicle screw (110) having a head (210) and a shank (205), wherein the second extension is capable of coupling to the second pedicle screw assembly by the second attachment such that the second attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the second pedicle screw (Fig. 4).
As to claim 14, Garamszegi discloses that the second attachment creates a closed loop around the shank of the second pedicle screw (Fig. 4).
As to claim 21, Garamszegi discloses a system (Figs. 1-4) comprising: a first extension (left 310 as shown in Fig. 3, Fig. 3) having a proximal end and a distal end (Fig. 3), the first extension having a first attachment (327) at the distal end (Figs. 3 and 4, ¶42); and a first pedicle screw assembly (110, 320) including a first pedicle screw (110) having a head (210, 320) and a shank (205), wherein the first attachment includes an opening larger than the shank of the first pedicle screw and smaller than the head of the first pedicle screw (Fig. 4), and wherein the first extension is capable of coupling to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that a perimeter of the opening surrounds at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw below the head (when 110 pivots relative to the position shown in Fig. 4 such that the shank contacts the edge of the opening, Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-14, and 21 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Beardsley et al. (US 2008/0119849, hereinafter “Beardsley”).
As to claim 1, Beardsley discloses a system (Figs. 1A-1C and 2A-20) comprising: a first extension (12d) having a proximal end (12a, Fig. 1A) and a distal end (12b, Fig. 1A), the first extension having a first attachment (16) at the distal end (Figs. 1A-1C); and a first pedicle screw assembly (14b) including a first pedicle screw (14b, Figs. 1A-1C, ¶40) having a head (upper portion of 14b as shown in Fig. 1C, Fig. 1C) and a shank (lower portion of 14b as shown in Fig. 1C, Fig. 1C), the shank being capable of being implanted in a vertebral body of a patient (Figs. 5A-10, ¶s 39 and 40), wherein the first attachment includes an opening (defined by lower portion of 16, Fig. 1C, ¶40) larger than the shank of the first pedicle screw and smaller than the head of the first pedicle screw (Fig. 1C), and wherein the first extension is capable of coupling to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that the first attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw in an attached position (Figs. 1A-1C), such that the proximal end of the first extension is capable of extending proximally out of the body of the patient when the shank is implanted in the vertebral body and the first extension is coupled to the first pedicle screw assembly in the attached position (Figs. 5A-10, ¶41).
As to claim 2, Beardsley discloses that the first attachment creates a closed loop defining the opening and extending around the shank of the first pedicle screw (Figs. 1A-1C).
As to claim 3, Beardsley discloses that the first extension is a blade (Figs. 1A-1C).
As to claim 5, Beardsley discloses that the blade is a flexible blade (at and around 18, Figs. 1A-1C, ¶46 discloses reduced wall thickness, etc. to provide a weak spot to allow extensions to be separated when a predetermined force is applied thereto).
As to claim 6, Beardsley discloses that the blade includes a living hinge (18, ¶46).
As to claim 7, Beardsley discloses that a central longitudinal axis (L), wherein the first extension is on a first side of the central longitudinal axis (Figs. 1A-1C).
As to claim 10, Beardsley discloses that the first attachment includes a concave surface (Fig. 1C) capable of mating with the head of the first pedicle screw (Fig. 1C, ¶40).
As to claim 11, Beardsley discloses that the first pedicle screw is a polyaxial screw (Fig. 1C, ¶40).
As to claim 12, Beardsley discloses a second pedicle screw assembly (14b, Figs. 5A-10).
As to claim 13, Beardsley discloses a second extension (12d) having a proximal end (12a, Fig. 1A) and a distal end (12b, Fig. 1A), the second extension having a second attachment (16) at the distal end (Figs. 1A-1C); and a second pedicle screw assembly (14b) including a second pedicle screw (14b, Figs. 1A-1C, ¶40) having a head (upper portion of 14b as shown in Fig. 1C, Fig. 1C) and a shank (lower portion of 14b as shown in Fig. 1C, Fig. 1C), wherein the second extension is capable of coupling to the second pedicle screw assembly by the second attachment such that the second attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the second pedicle screw (Figs. 1A-1C).
As to claim 14, Beardsley discloses that the second attachment creates a closed loop around the shank of the second pedicle screw (Figs. 1A-1C).
As to claim 21, Beardsley discloses a system (Figs. 1A-1C and 2A-20) comprising: a first extension (12d) having a proximal end (12a, Fig. 1A) and a distal end (12b, Fig. 1A), the first extension having a first attachment (16) at the distal end (Figs. 1A-1C); and a first pedicle screw assembly (14b) including a first pedicle screw (14b, Figs. 1A-1C, ¶40) having a head (upper portion of 14b as shown in Fig. 1C, Fig. 1C) and a shank (lower portion of 14b as shown in Fig. 1C, Fig. 1C), wherein the first attachment includes an opening (defined by lower portion of 16, Fig. 1C, ¶40) larger than the shank of the first pedicle screw and smaller than the head of the first pedicle screw (Fig. 1C), and wherein the first extension is capable of coupling to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that a perimeter of the opening surrounds at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw below the head (when 14b pivots relative to the position shown in Fig. 1C such that the shank contacts the edge of the opening, Figs. 1A-1C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Garamszegi et al. (US 2005/0261687, hereinafter “Garamszegi”) in view of Chin (US 2005/0065517).
As to claims 15-18, Garamszegi discloses the invention of claim 13. As to claim 16, Garamszegi discloses that the first and second pedicle screw assemblies capable of being coupled via an intervening structure (120, Fig. 1, ¶s 27 and 28 disclose multiple extensions and screws, ¶30). As to claim 17, Garamszegi discloses that the intervening structure is shaped to be received within a first channel (defined by 330, Fig. 1, ¶s 32 and 33) defined by the head of the first pedicle screw (Figs. 1, 3, and 4) and a second channel (defined by 330, Fig. 1, ¶s 32 and 33) defined by the head of the second pedicle screw (Figs. 1, 3, and 4). As to claim 18, Garamszegi discloses that the intervening structure includes first and second rod portions (portion of 120 shown in Figs. 3 and 4 for each of the multiple extensions and screws of ¶s 27 and 28, Figs. 3 and 4, ¶s 27 and 28) shaped to be received within the respective first and second channels (Figs. 3 and 4, ¶s 32 and 33).
Garamszegi is silent to an intermediate retractor blade.
Chin teaches a similar system (Figs. 1A-13) comprising: a first extension (120 of 94a, Figs. 2A, 2B, 7, and 8) having a proximal end and a distal end (Figs. 2A and 2B), the first extension having a first attachment (lower portion of 120 as shown in Figs. 2A-3C) at the distal end (Figs. 2A and 2B); and a first pedicle screw assembly (140 of 94a) including a first pedicle screw (140, ¶51) having a head (141) and a shank (lower portion of 140 as shown in Figs. 2A-3C), wherein the first extension is capable of coupling to the first pedicle screw assembly by the first attachment such that the first attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the first pedicle screw (Figs. 3A-3C, ¶51); a second pedicle screw assembly (140 of 94d, Figs. 2A, 2B, 7, and 8); a second extension (120 of 94c, Figs. 2A, 2B, 7, and 8) having a proximal end and a distal end (Figs. 2A and 2B), the second extension having a second attachment (lower portion of 120 as shown in Figs. 2A-3C) at the distal end (Figs. 2A and 2B); and a second pedicle screw assembly (140 of 94c) including a second pedicle screw (140, ¶51) having a head (141) and a shank (lower portion of 140 as shown in Figs. 2A-3C), wherein the second extension is capable of coupling to the second pedicle screw assembly by the second attachment such that the second attachment encircles at least a portion of the shank of the second pedicle screw (Figs. 3A-3C, ¶51); further comprising an intermediate retractor blade (110 of 94b, Figs. 2A, 2B, 7, and 8). As to claim 16, Chin teaches that the intermediate retractor blade is capable of being coupled to the first and second pedicle screw assemblies via an intervening structure (170, 162a, 162b, Fig. 9-9B, ¶s 60 and 63). As to claim 17, Chin teaches that the intervening structure is shaped to be received within a first channel defined by the head of the first pedicle screw and a second channel defined by the head of the second pedicle screw (Figs. 2A, 2B, and 9-9B). As to claim 18, Chin teaches that the intervening structure includes first and second rod portions (162a, 162b) shaped to be received within the respective first and second channels (Fig. 9-9B, ¶s 60 and 63).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to modify the system as disclosed by Garamszegi by adding an intermediate retractor blade on each of the first and second extensions as taught by Chin in order to variably elongate the overall length of the system to reach locations of pathology within a patient's body that are at different distances from the patient's skin with an exposed length of the system above the skin that remains the same so that the surgeon has a consistent height of the system above the skin surface which may otherwise vary with different patient body habitus (Chin ¶50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775