DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/3/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 2/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 1-14 being examined and claims 15-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear how similar the geometric dimensions of the sub-micrometer nanostructures are required to be.
The term “substantially” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear how similar the geometric dimensions of the sub-micrometer nanostructures are required to be.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryan et al (US 20250067674 A1; hereinafter “Ryan”; priority filed on 3/11/2021).
Regarding claim 1, Ryan teaches a multi-layered nanostructure coating comprising (Ryan; Fig. 5): a metal layer (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B; para [94, 95]; the metallic material is also deposited on the substrate surface, forming a continuous layer of metallic material); a dielectric layer disposed on the metal layer (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B; para [79]; The monolayer of dielectric particles can be deposited on the surface of the substrate through a process known as self-assembled monolayer formation); and a nanostructure layer disposed on the dielectric layer, the nanostructure layer comprising sub-micrometer nanostructures that enhance fluorescence in a nucleic acid (NA) amplification reaction based on at least one of plasmonic material of which the sub-micrometer nanostructures are made and geometric dimensions of the sub-micrometer nanostructures (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B; para [39, 94, 141]; Following etching, the metallic material is deposited on to the dielectric cores). Ryan teaches depositing dielectric particles onto the metallic material on the substrate surface as seen in Fig. 5. Each of the particles are coated with metallic metal which is interpreted as the sub-micrometer nanostructures based on at least one of plasmonic material. Further, the particles can have different geometric shapes as described in para [141]. The limitation “that enhance fluorescence in a nucleic acid (NA) amplification reaction” is interpreted as intended use and/or functional language. The Courts have held that the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP § 2114. The multi-layered nanostructure coating disclosed by Ryan teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim and thus is configured for and capable of performing the intended use and/or function language of fluorescence enhancement in a nucleic acid (NA) amplification reaction as described in para [39].
Regarding claim 2, Ryan teaches the multi-layered nanostructure coating of claim 1, further comprising a base on which the metal layer is disposed (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B; para [94, 95]; the metallic material is also deposited on the substrate surface, forming a continuous layer of metallic material). The examiner interprets the substrate as the base.
Regarding claim 3, Ryan teaches the multi-layered nanostructure coating of claim 1, wherein the geometric dimensions allow for radiative coupling with fluorescent labels used in the NA amplification reaction (Ryan; para [39 140]; The shape of the nanostructures is also considered to impact the properties of the chip, and again can be tuned to impart the desired properties on the chip, i.e. LSPR at the required wavelengths). The limitation “allow for radiative coupling with fluorescent labels used in the NA amplification reaction” is interpreted as intended use and/or functional language. The Courts have held that the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP § 2114. The multi-layered nanostructure coating disclosed by Ryan teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim and thus is configured for and capable of performing the intended use and/or function language of allowing for radiative coupling with fluorescent labels used in the NA amplification reaction.
Regarding claim 4, Ryan teaches the multi-layered nanostructure coating of claim 3, wherein each sub-micrometer nanostructure has substantially similar geometric dimensions for narrowband fluorescence enhancement (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B). The examiner notes that the geometric shapes can be identical as depicted in Fig. 5A-B.
Regarding claim 5, Ryan teaches the multi-layered nanostructure coating of claim 3, wherein the sub-micrometer nanostructures have various geometric dimensions for broadband fluorescence enhancement (Ryan; para [62]; the chip may comprise a number of regions in which the features and properties of the nanostructures of one region differ to the features and properties of the nanostructures of a second region).
Regarding claim 7, Ryan teaches the multi-layered nanostructure coating of claim 1, wherein the plasmonic material comprises a metal or a doped semiconductor (Ryan; para [17]; A nanostructure comprises a dielectric core partially coated in a metallic plasmonic material).
Regarding claim 8, Ryan teaches an amplification reaction chamber of a gene analysis system (Ryan; Abstract; para [20, 39]; The chip may be any physical entity, for example may take the form of a slide, a dish, a lateral flow strip, a multi-well plate for example a standard multi-well plate), the amplification reaction chamber comprising: an interior surface within which a nucleic acid (NA) amplification reaction is performed (Ryan; para [39, 270]; the chips of the present invention are capable of simultaneously enhancing fluorescence from fluorophores with maximum excitation wavelengths in different spectral regions…the analyte itself comprises a fluorophore. For example the analyte may be a protein fusion or may be a nucleic acid labelled with a fluorophore, for example via amplification and incorporation of labelled probes); and a multi-layered nanostructure coating conformally applied to at least a portion of the interior surface (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B) and comprising sub-micrometer nanostructures that enhance fluorescence in the NA amplification reaction based on at least one of plasmonic material of which the sub- micrometer nanostructures are made and geometric dimensions of the sub-micrometer nanostructures (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B; para [39, 141]. Ryan teaches particles coated with metallic metal which is interpreted as the sub-micrometer nanostructures based on at least one of plasmonic material. Further, the particles can have different geometric shapes as described in para [141]. The limitation “that enhance fluorescence in a nucleic acid (NA) amplification reaction” is interpreted as intended use and/or functional language. The Courts have held that the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP § 2114. The multi-layered nanostructure coating disclosed by Ryan teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim and thus is configured for and capable of performing the intended use and/or function language of fluorescence enhancement in a nucleic acid (NA) amplification reaction as described in para [39].
Regarding claim 9, Ryan teaches the amplification reaction chamber of claim 8, wherein the multi-layered nanostructure coating comprises: a base (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B; para [94, 95]; substrate); a metal layer disposed on the base (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B; para [94, 95]; the metallic material is also deposited on the substrate surface, forming a continuous layer of metallic material); a dielectric layer disposed on the metal layer (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B; para [79]; The monolayer of dielectric particles can be deposited on the surface of the substrate through a process known as self-assembled monolayer formation); and a nanostructure layer disposed on the dielectric layer and comprising the sub-micrometer nanostructures (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B; para [39, 94, 141]; Following etching, the metallic material is deposited on to the dielectric cores). Ryan teaches depositing dielectric particles onto the metallic material on the substrate surface as seen in Fig. 5. Each of the particles are coated with metallic metal which is interpreted as the sub-micrometer nanostructures based on at least one of plasmonic material.
Regarding claim 11, Ryan teaches the amplification reaction chamber of claim 8, wherein the geometric dimensions allow for radiative coupling with fluorescent labels used in the NA amplification reaction (Ryan; para [39 140]; The shape of the nanostructures is also considered to impact the properties of the chip, and again can be tuned to impart the desired properties on the chip, i.e. LSPR at the required wavelengths). The limitation “allow for radiative coupling with fluorescent labels used in the NA amplification reaction” is interpreted as intended use and/or functional language. The Courts have held that the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP § 2114. The multi-layered nanostructure coating disclosed by Ryan teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim and thus is configured for and capable of performing the intended use and/or function language of allowing for radiative coupling with fluorescent labels used in the NA amplification reaction.
Regarding claim 12, Ryan teaches the amplification reaction chamber of claim 11, wherein the sub-micrometer nanostructures have substantially similar geometric dimensions for narrowband fluorescence enhancement (Ryan; Fig. 5A, 5B). The examiner notes that the geometric shapes can be identical as depicted in Fig. 5A-B.
Regarding claim 13, Ryan teaches the amplification reaction chamber of claim 11, wherein the sub-micrometer nanostructures have various geometric dimensions for broadband fluorescence enhancement (Ryan; para [62]; the chip may comprise a number of regions in which the features and properties of the nanostructures of one region differ to the features and properties of the nanostructures of a second region).
Regarding claim 14, Ryan teaches the amplification reaction chamber of claim 8, wherein the plasmonic material comprises a metal or a doped semiconductor (Ryan; para [17]; A nanostructure comprises a dielectric core partially coated in a metallic plasmonic material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan in view of Chou et al (US 20150253321 A1; hereinafter “Chou”).
Regarding claim 6, Ryan teaches the multi-layered nanostructure coating of claim 1, wherein the metal layer is composed of aluminum (Ryan; para [75, 95]; the metallic material is selected from the group comprising or consisting: silver, gold, copper or aluminium…the metallic material is also deposited on the substrate surface).
Ryan does not teach the dielectric layer is composed of aluminum oxide.
However, Chou teaches an analogous art of a nanosensor (Chou; Abstract) comprising a dielectric layer (Chou; Fig. 1G; para [64]; dielectric nanostructures) wherein the dielectric layer is composed of aluminum oxide (Chou; Fig. 1G; para [116, 123]; The protrusion comprises a dielectric or semiconductor material selected from the group consisting of aluminum oxide). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the dielectric material of Ryan to be aluminum oxide as taught by Chou as this is a known and suitable element for the dielectric material in the art. One would have a reasonable expectation of success by substituting the dielectric material of Ryan to the claimed limitation of Chou, because Chou teaches the dielectric nanostructures improve the assay’s detection sensitivity. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B).
Regarding claim 10, Ryan teaches the amplification reaction chamber of claim 9, wherein the metal layer is composed of aluminum (Ryan; para [75, 95]; the metallic material is selected from the group comprising or consisting: silver, gold, copper or aluminium…the metallic material is also deposited on the substrate surface).
Ryan does not teach the dielectric layer is composed of aluminum oxide.
However, Chou teaches an analogous art of a nanosensor (Chou; Abstract) comprising a dielectric layer (Chou; Fig. 1G; para [64]; dielectric nanostructures) wherein the dielectric layer is composed of aluminum oxide (Chou; Fig. 1G; para [116, 123]; The protrusion comprises a dielectric or semiconductor material selected from the group consisting of aluminum oxide). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the dielectric material of Ryan to be aluminum oxide as taught by Chou as this is a known and suitable element for the dielectric material in the art. One would have a reasonable expectation of success by substituting the dielectric material of Ryan to the claimed limitation of Chou, because Chou teaches the dielectric nanostructures improve the assay’s detection sensitivity. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B).
Conclusion
/A.Q.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796 /DUANE SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1759