DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D, and Species D1 in the reply filed on 1/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2014238915A, refer to English machine translation by EPO.
Regarding claim 1, JP2014238915A discloses a battery (see Title) comprising:
a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode substrate layer and a negative electrode active material-coated negative electrode mixture layer on the negative electrode substrate layer (negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer formed on a negative electrode current collector [0015]);
a positive electrode facing the negative electrode (positive electrode [0015]), the positive electrode comprising:
a positive electrode substrate layer (positive electrode current collector [0015]);
a positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer provided on the positive electrode substrate layer (positive electrode active material layer [0015]); and
a barrier layer configured to suppress transfer of ions from the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer (protective layer formed in a portion adjacent to the positive electrode active material layer [0015]-[0018]; protective layer has lower electron conductivity, is semiconductive, contains a photocurable resin [0027]-[0033] and, thus, configured to suppress ion transfer); and
a separator provided between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (separator [0015]),
wherein the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer comprises a first area at a center area of the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer and a second area at an edge of the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer (Fig. 1-14 show positive electrode having a planar shape with a first area and a second area), and
wherein the barrier layer covers at least a portion of the second area and is further configured to limit direct transfer of the ions from the first area to the negative electrode (Fig. 13(b) shows resin 13P,13P’ covering at least a portion of the second area (edge) of the electrode active material; protective layer has lower electron conductivity, is semiconductive, contains a photocurable resin [0027]-[0033] and, thus, configured to suppress ion transfer).
Regarding claim 2, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2014238915A further discloses the second area comprises at least a portion from an upper edge area of the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer to a side surface of the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer extending from the upper edge area (see Fig. 13(b)).
Regarding claim 3, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2014238915A further discloses a thickness of the second area is smaller than a thickness of the first area (see Fig. 13(b)).
Regarding claim 4, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Further regarding claim 4 reciting “the second area is formed by etching at least a portion of an upper edge of the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer or is thinner than the center area of the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer”, product-by-process limitations are not given patentable weight since the method does not provide additional structure to the product claim (see MPEP 2113 and 2114). Nevertheless, Fig. 13(b) of JP2014238915A discloses an etched-like portion formed at an upper edge of the active material layer.
Regarding claim 5, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2014238915A further discloses a length of the second area is 5% to 10% of a length of the first area (protective layer is 5 to 8 mm [0050], dimensions of positive electrode L1 and L2 are 85 mm [0085] such that the length % is between 5.9% and 9.4%).
Regarding claim 6, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2014238915A further discloses the barrier layer is provided on at least a portion of the positive electrode substrate layer (see Fig. 13(b)).
Regarding claim 9, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2014238915A further discloses the barrier layer comprises at least one material among a metal nitride or a polymer material (a photocurable resin [0027]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 10, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Further regarding claim 10 reciting “the barrier layer is deposited by any one of chemical layer deposition, physical vapor deposition, or atomic layer deposition”, product-by-process limitations are not given patentable weight since the method does not provide additional structure to the product claim (see MPEP 2113 and 2114).
Regarding claim 9, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2014238915A further discloses a width of the negative electrode active material-coated negative electrode mixture layer corresponds to a width of the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer (Fig. 8 shows widths of negative electrode and positive electrode corresponding to each other).
Regarding claim 12, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2014238915A further discloses the battery is a jelly-roll type battery or a stack type battery (laminated [0015]).
Regarding claim 13, JP2014238915A discloses a battery (see Title) comprising:
a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode substrate layer and a negative electrode active material-coated negative electrode mixture layer on the negative electrode substrate layer (negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer formed on a negative electrode current collector [0015]);
a positive electrode facing the negative electrode (positive electrode [0015]), the positive electrode comprising:
a positive electrode substrate layer (positive electrode current collector [0015]);
a positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer provided on the positive electrode substrate layer (positive electrode active material layer [0015]); and
a barrier layer configured to suppress transfer of ions from the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer (protective layer formed in a portion adjacent to the positive electrode active material layer [0015]-[0018]; protective layer has lower electron conductivity, is semiconductive, contains a photocurable resin [0027]-[0033] and, thus, configured to suppress ion transfer); and
a separator provided between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (separator [0015]),
wherein the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer comprises:
a main area configured to store cations and comprising a transfer area configured to transfer the cations to the negative electrode (Fig. 1-14 show positive electrode having a planar shape with a main area); and
an additional area extending from the main area and configured to store the cations (Fig. 1-14 show positive electrode having a planar shape with an additional area), and
wherein the barrier layer covers the additional area and is configured to suppress the cations stored in the additional area from being directly transferred to the negative electrode (Fig. 13(b) shows resin 13P,13P’ covering at least a portion of the second area (edge) of the electrode active material; protective layer has lower electron conductivity, is semiconductive, contains a photocurable resin [0027]-[0033] and, thus, configured to suppress ion transfer).
Regarding claim 14, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2014238915A further discloses the additional area comprises a barrier receiving area having a thickness that is smaller than a thickness of the main area, and wherein the barrier layer is provided in the barrier receiving area (see Fig. 13(b)).
Regarding claim 15, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2014238915A further discloses the barrier layer covers at least a portion of the positive electrode substrate layer (see Fig. 13(b)).
Regarding claim 18, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2014238915A further discloses the barrier layer comprises a metal nitride or a polymer material (a photocurable resin [0027]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 19, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Further regarding claim 19 reciting “the barrier layer is deposited by any one of chemical layer deposition, physical vapor deposition, or atomic layer deposition”, product-by-process limitations are not given patentable weight since the method does not provide additional structure to the product claim (see MPEP 2113 and 2114).
Regarding claim 20, JP2014238915A discloses an electronic device (mobile phone, laptop computer, PDA, robots, electric vehicle, backup power supply [0002]; robot, electric car, backup power source [0110]) comprising:
a processor (mobile phone, laptop computer, PDA, robots, electric vehicle, backup power supply [0002]; robot, electric car, backup power source [0110]); and
a battery configured to supply power to the processor (mobile phone, laptop computer, PDA, robots, electric vehicle, backup power supply [0002]; robot, electric car, backup power source [0110]);
wherein the battery comprises:
a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode substrate layer and a negative electrode active material-coated negative electrode mixture layer on the negative electrode substrate layer (negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer formed on a negative electrode current collector [0015]);
a positive electrode facing the negative electrode (positive electrode [0015]), the positive electrode comprising:
a positive electrode substrate layer (positive electrode current collector [0015]);
a positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer provided on the positive electrode substrate layer (positive electrode active material layer [0015]); and
a barrier layer configured to suppress transfer of ions from the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer (protective layer formed in a portion adjacent to the positive electrode active material layer [0015]-[0018]; protective layer has lower electron conductivity, is semiconductive, contains a photocurable resin [0027]-[0033] and, thus, configured to suppress ion transfer); and
a separator provided between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (separator [0015]),
wherein the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer comprises a first area at a center area of the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer and a second area at an edge of the positive electrode active material-coated positive electrode mixture layer (Fig. 1-14 show positive electrode having a planar shape with a first area at a center area and second area at an edge), and
wherein the barrier layer covers at least a portion of the second area and is further configured to limit direct transfer of the ions from the first area to the negative electrode (Fig. 13(b) shows resin 13P,13P’ covering at least a portion of the second area (edge) of the electrode active material; protective layer has lower electron conductivity, is semiconductive, contains a photocurable resin [0027]-[0033] and, thus, configured to suppress ion transfer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2014238915A, refer to English machine translation by EPO, as applied to claims 1-6, 9-15, 18-20 above, in view of Kim et al. (US 2009/0111011A1).
Regarding claim 7, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, JP2014238915A does not further disclose an insulation layer configured to suppress movement of electrons, wherein the insulation layer is provided inside or outside at least a portion of the barrier layer.
Kim discloses a positive electrode plate including a coating portion formed on a surface of a positive electrode collector and an insulating member adhered to appositive electrode non-coating portion and adjacent to ends of the positive electrode coating portion, wherein the insulating member includes an adhesive layer 26a and an insulating film 26b ([0043]-[0047], Fig. 2C). Kim further discloses the adhesive layer may be formed of an ethylene-acrylic ester copolymer, a rubber-based adhesive, or an ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer ([0045]). Kim teaches improved efficiency and stability (Abstract, [0060]).
JP2014238915A and Kim are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely protective films applied to positive electrodes covering a portion of the active material layer and current collector.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP2014238915A to include an adhesive layer ‘inside’ the protective layer because Kim teaches improved adhesion as well as improved battery characteristics.
Regarding claim 8, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses the insulation layer covers at least a portion of the positive electrode substrate layer (Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 16, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, JP2014238915A does not further disclose an insulation layer configured to suppress movement of electrons, wherein the insulation layer is provided inside or outside at least a portion of the barrier layer.
Kim discloses a positive electrode plate including a coating portion formed on a surface of a positive electrode collector and an insulating member adhered to appositive electrode non-coating portion and adjacent to ends of the positive electrode coating portion, wherein the insulating member includes an adhesive layer 26a and an insulating film 26b ([0043]-[0047], Fig. 2C). Kim further discloses the adhesive layer may be formed of an ethylene-acrylic ester copolymer, a rubber-based adhesive, or an ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer ([0045]). Kim teaches improved efficiency and stability (Abstract, [0060]).
JP2014238915A and Kim are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely protective films applied to positive electrodes covering a portion of the active material layer and current collector.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JP2014238915A to include an adhesive layer ‘inside’ the protective layer because Kim teaches improved adhesion as well as improved battery characteristics.
Regarding claim 17, JP2014238915A discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim further discloses the insulation layer covers at least a portion of the positive electrode substrate layer (Fig. 2C).
Conclusion
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 2/17/2026